Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline

Item# 165957
Reliable, single-phase, 100% copper-wound, brushless generator head for years of long lasting power. NorthStar®s V-mounts are designed to extend life by dampening and isolating engine vibration. The interlocking V-mounts have a rubber isolation mount made with a specially formulated vibration dampening elastomer that provides optimal flexibility and stiffness and interlocking brackets that protect the rubber mounts. This interlocking design allows NorthStar to use softer rubber, resulting in a smooth-running engine. Muffler drastically reduces engine noise level. Frame constructed from ERW hot-rolled steel tubing. The solid base provides a strong foundation for the generator and extends life by serving as a barrier between the ground and the generator. This prevents grass, dirt, dust and other debris from being sucked into the engine and the alternator. Shown with optional wheel kit, item# 165916 (sold separately). Not for sale in California. Surge Watts: 8,000, Rated Watts: 6,600, Start Type: Electric and recoil, Engine Displacement (cc): 389, Engine: Honda GX 390 OHV, Gross Torque: 20 ft-lb at 2,500, Run Time: 9 Hours at 1/2 Load, Receptacles (qty.): 5, Noise Level (dB): 74.5, Fuel Type: Gasoline, Fuel Capacity (gal.): 6.5, Low Oil Shutdown: Yes, Battery Required: Optional, Battery Included: No, Dimensions L x W x H (in.): 31 3/4 x 23 5/8 x 22 1/4 Two 15 Amp 120V receptacles Two 20 Amp 120V receptacle One 120/240V 30 Amp locking plug receptacle Uses NEMA 5-15R, NEMA 5-20R and NEMA L14-30R locking plug receptacles 55 Amps at 120 Volts or 27.5 Amps at 240 Volts Brushless generator heads are proven to be superior in efficiency, performance and lifespan compared to brush-style generator heads Less than 6% THD for use with power-sensitive equipment Cast iron sleeve 100% Copper windings Conveniently located control panel Push button circuit breakers Baked on poly coat paint prevents scratches and corrosion Plugs sold separately Optional wheel kit Item# 165916 sold separately Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.739 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 of 23(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Review 1 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NORTH STAR GENERATOR

,
June 10, 2011
By 1ROBOJOE
from PA.
" We purchased this North Star generator a few years ago. Up here in the mountains of PA when we lose power it usually takes a few days to restore it. It is sure nice to pull the generator outside, turn the key to start and WOW!! Instant electric. This model runs 2 oil fired furnaces, 2 refrigerators, electric hot waater tank, lights. Everything! Just amazing. A very good investment Also the Honda engine is very quiet and fuel efficent. It can go 10-12 hours on a tank of gas. Very pleased with Northern Toool Sales and Service. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

How NorthStar Generator Makes Life Easier in Storm

,
March 18, 2011
By Armen
from Highland, NY
" The inconveniences of frequent power failures in our home has been completely eliminated with our new North Star generator. It was easy to install. With both manual and electric start, it is very easy to start and operate. The North Star cart on which it is installed allows it to be easily be rolled out of the corner of the garage, where it is stored, to the garage entry. Thus fumes and carbon monoxide, generated while it is operating can be released to the out-of-doors, instead of into the house. This generator is very efficient, using very little gas to supply electricity for heat, water, refrigeration and light over the period of a power failure. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar generator

,
November 24, 2010
By Lindsay
from Vermont
" I've owned this generator for several years and quite frankly it's been the best insurance against losing power. It seems like I lose my electricity less since owning this generator....probably not really but it just seems like it since our lives are not totally disrupted as they were before owning a generator. It starts easily (usually one pull). My wife can easily start it.
I usually run it for a few minutes every week or so. I think that accomplishes two things. 1. makes sense to run it regularly and 2. It shows my wife how really easy it it use.
It is a bit heavy even on the wheeled cart but I guess it has to be with such high output.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great backup and site generator

,
July 20, 2009
By Toolie
from Maple Valley, WA
" Nice compact generator that is handy when needed. Have had this unit for three years and it has never let me down.
Even the wife can set it up and start it up if I'm not available.
Added the engine hour meter to track usage. Makes maintenance a breeze. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Generator

,
November 20, 2008
By dr7503
from Houston, TX
" I live in Houston, TX. During the recent Hurricane IKE My family was without power for a total of 14 days. We lived on our NorthStar generator. It started on the second pull and worked flawlessly during that time period. It saved our food that was in the freezers and refrigerators, it even ran our tankless water heater so we could take Hot Showers. Many of my neighbors also had generators but none had the power of my NorthStar. It is well built and the Honda engine worked great, very easy to start. I would highly recommend this unit "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid performance for four years

,
November 19, 2008
By NHtransfer
from Derry, NH
" I use this primarily as a backup generator for power outages, running it at least twice year for my peace of mind. With Stabil in the gas tank and motorcycle battery trickle charger hooked up, it has never given me any trouble on my periodic "does it still work checks", and of course when I really need it. I've tested it with a surge load of 60 amps, 240V without issues. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets the Job Done

,
November 18, 2008
By stony
from Carson City NV
" This generator has been very reliable. Starts easy ,runs smooth and supplies the advertised power. Works best as a fixed generator as it is on the heavier side. Wheel kit makes it handle much easier and ground portable.
Would recommend as a great job site or home back up generator. Also a great price value to output capability. This generator gets year round use at a historical site outside of Fallon NV..Handles the changing weather very well.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Years of service

,
November 18, 2008
By Dave1038
from Westminster, Md
" I've been using this generator for years as a stand by house generator and it has never failed me. We had an ice storm back in 2002 and (other than refueling) the generator ran for thirteen days straight. This is by far one of the best purchases I have ever made. When the power goes out, I wheel the generator along side the garage, plug it in, "one" pull on the cord and off it goes doing it's job. Interior lights, exterior lights, oil heat furnace, gas range, gas hot water, microwave, refrigerator, washer, gas dryer, water pump, kitchen, three bedrooms, basement, family room and garage. I will keep this generator forever!!
Thank you Northern Tool for selling excellent products! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough generator

,
November 18, 2008
By Walker74
from Slapout,Al.
" I have owned this generator for 11 years now and never had any problems at all.Other than changing the oil and sparkplug,never been a wrench on it.A few times it's had to run in heavy rain and sleet,and it still kept going.Great generator for the price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I always go to Norther Tool First

,
November 17, 2008
By Chappy8827
from Buckley, WA
" I have been purchasing from Northern Tool for years. When I needed a larger generator I went to Northern Tool online catalog and started to shop. When I decided on the unit that I wanted I compared it to other units online. I could find units that cost a little less but they were of lesser quailty. I highly recommend this generator and Northern Tool for you needs. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great source of Power

,
November 17, 2008
By NeedyConsumer
from Houston, TX
" Just add oil, gas, and a battery (if you want to use the electric start feature)
and your ready to go. Plenty of power for just about anything most people will need.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Norstar 8000 PPG Pro Series Generator

,
November 16, 2008
By flyingdude
from Connecticut
" I purchased this generator about six years ago. In that time it has actually been used twice as a backup in power outages. During the second usage it stopped producing electricity when a freezer was plugged into one of the duplex outlets located on the generator. The unit was by no means at peak load. The circuit breaker on the outlet didn't trip. The motor ran just fine. I just got a $456.00 bill for the repair. It seems a faulty capacitor was the problem. The generator has been kept in a dry enclosure and run periodically for as long as I have owned it. At the time of failure it had less than 50 hrs. total time, and was out of warranty. I thought a generator of this supposed quality would have lasted nearly forever, certainly more than 50 hrs. I will say the 13hp Honda motor is awesome. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hurricane Life Saver.

,
September 14, 2008
By MontBelvieuGuy
from Mont Belvieu / Baytown Texas 77520
" When living on the Texas Gulf Cost or better know as “Hurricane Ally” you will need a reliable alternative power source. The North Star Generator 13 HP, 8000 Watt, Gasoline generator has been a good power source for my home when the lights have gone out.
This generator will run my 3-ton A/C unit, water well, septic system and all of my other house hold equipment with no problems. I can run on about 5 gallons of fuel in a 6-8 hours period depending on what my generator is powering up. I must say that the red head Honda engine is a very reliable engine and it has always started with one or two pulls on the rope.
I bought my generator back in October of 1999 from here Northern Tool. All I have had done to it is normal maintenance items. Changing the oil, air filter and one spark plug, that’s it nothing else has broke or worn out. This generator is very well built and has paid it's self back many times over. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real lifesaver after hurricanes!

,
August 19, 2008
By AllieandJeff
from East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
" I purchased this generator shortly after my first hurricane experience, and it paid for itself in the days following Hurricane Frances. We were lucky, and only without power for 5 days after the storm (several co-workers were powerless for 2-4 weeks!). My nephew, an electrician, wired this into the breaker box in my home. This generator allowed me, and 5 of my co-workers, to survive and function for those 5 days. This 8.000 Watt generator allowed us to make coffee in the morning, cook in a microwave oven, run a window A/C unit so we could sleep. We had TV, computer access, and charged our cell phones every night. Since we are all hospital workers, our work schedule continued despite nearly everything else getting closed down in the aftermath of the storm.
This machine is very simple to operate, and runs for about 5 hours on 4-5 gallons of gas. Thanks to this generator, my home is a hurricane refuge for myself and my co-workers.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

8000w Northstar generator

,
August 11, 2008
By zmanbw
from Texas
" I purchased this generator after extensive comparison shopping. I use it to power a 20' enclosed equipment trailer w/ lights, A/C, air compressor & several pieces of automotive equipment. The Honda engine always starts almost immediately. It is relatively quiet (quieter than most others I looked at). Run time on a tank of fuel is very acceptable for the load I put on it. Very pleased. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Value of Reliability

,
April 15, 2008
By GolfEquipmentManager
from Santa Rosa,CA.
" We have used our Northstar Generator for 6+ yrs. to run welders,compressors and everything needed for field repair out on the golfcourse and once at the GM's house when the electricity was out for a week during a flood. It has always started, first time every time and has performed as expected without fail. With almost 300 pieces of large equipment this is one of the pieces I rely on to repair the rest. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Generator

,
January 21, 2008
By reggie1
from texas
" This is a powerful generator and very easy to start, the Honda engine is one of the best. It provides as much power as needed to run just about any tool or compressor. Great back up for power loss during storm. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great workhorse in every catagory... except noise!

,
January 21, 2008
By Greene
from Florida
" I had this This generator going on 3 years now & it lives up to it's word... great workhorse, and is very solid! I use it at least 3 days a week, with one of those days running it for at least 12 hours straight. I just had it in the shop for a tune up, and the mechanic showed me that everything is running great. The mechanic also said he's never seen anything seriously wrong with this generator... as long as you take care of it.
All features work - and still work almost 3 years later - as advertised!
I would recommend this unit to friends & family!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent tool

,
November 28, 2007
By george52
from roland, ar
" Live in a rural area where power outages are common and restoration takes time. Have owned this generator 6 years and it never fails me. First-pull start, clean power for my computers, a solid piece of equipment. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NorthStar Generator - 389cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

North Star Generator-13 HP,8,000 Watt Gasoline

,
October 30, 2007
By mot55
from White Plains, NY
" very good solid machine,easy starting and ease of manueveability Long running time under load is a must for me- priced right "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.