Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"

"Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"

Item# 166111
"This versatile Powerhorse Portable Generator provides reliable power for emergencies or outdoor projects and does it quietly with a low 67dB noise level. Plus, you can count on it to generate clean electricity with a smoother output to safely run sensitive electronics, producing less than 5 total harmonic distortion at full load. A FREE wheel kit completes the package. Combine these features with rigorous U.S.-based testing, dedicated customer/tech support and incredible value, and you'll own one of the most reliable generators in the industry. Not for sale in California. Battery Included No, Battery Required No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 28 x 18 x 18, Engine Displacement cc 208, Fuel Capacity gal. 4.0, Fuel Type Gasoline, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Noise Level dB 67, Rated Watts 1,800, Receptacles qty. 5, Start Type Recoil, Surge Watts 2,200, Engine Powerhorse OHV, Run Time 10 1/2 hrs. @ 1/2 load. Four 120V, 20 Amp outlets One 12V DC outlet Voltmeter Efficient OHV engines with low oil shutdown Free wheel kit Safe for sensitive electronics with less than 5 THD at 100 load"
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (21 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 21(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Review 1 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great buy!

,
August 11, 2014
By wdwrkr51
from Snellville, GA.
"I like these Northern PowerHorse generators! I own two! This is a very good generator at a very good price. It is well designed and well made.
I have used mine for almost 100 hours already at my little campsite. It starts easily, and runs quietly and economically. The power output is stable and clean, meaning that I am able to power a computer and other electronics safely. I also charge batteries and run lights, fans, and a small microwave with this generator. I have used it to power my saws and drills as well.
I personally recommend changing the oil after ten to twenty hours of service, and converting over to using synthetic oil at that point. I recommend using 100% gasoline with no ethanol. I recommend using a good fuel stabilizer in your gasoline. I also recommend using a very small fan (much less than 100 watts) to blow cool air directly at the motor and generator head while it is running. Overkill? Maybe so, but I believe this generator will run for many hundreds of hours if you follow these practices.
I think this is the best buy available today in a small generator - for the money spent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fish house power

,
February 18, 2014
By screaminchicken
from Minneapolils, MN
"After three years of having this generator, It's finally getting it's first tune up. I use it primarily to power two wheeled fish houses simultaneously during ice fishing. It has run like a top for three years, starting on the first or second pull no matter the temperature and runs very quietly. Every 50 hours I change the oil, and about a year and a half ago I replace the spark plug. It finally needed to be choked (barely engaged, almost open) this last weekend in sub zero temps, I'll be changing the filter element, cleaning the carb a bit, and doing another plug/oil change. This is a screaming deal for a very dependable unit. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a recreational or decent backup power unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

powerhorse 2200

,
February 15, 2014
By slickster
from Baraga Mi.
"I bought this to have when the power goes out as it does often up here the U.P. It was delivered right to my door in a timely manner. I put a little gas in it and it fired right up. I ran the gas through it and am now ready for power outages. Just wanted enough to run a couple lights, the fridge, stove and TV. It sure runs good."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, dependable generator

,
February 4, 2014
By Suzanne1
from McKinney, Tx.
"What a great generator!! Easy for me to start, and starts on 1st or 2nd pull. It is relatively quiet and doesn't bounce around much at all.
This generator saved us during an ice storm recently when our power went out. It ran the fan on the wood burning stove, ran some lights, and ran the router for our wifi (so important when you have a teenager in the house!). I would definitely recommend this generator to anyone. By the way, I am a "handywoman" not "handyman".
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This unit really performs

,
October 22, 2012
By JohnHVA
from Virginia
"I bought this right after a huge windstorm. I got to the store and this was the only display model. Instead of being without, I bought it. I am so glad I did. I took it home (no box to take it out of). Filled with oil and gas, started on the second pull. I ran it about 18 hours a day for 3 days. It ran like a champ. I powered fridge, freezer, tv, fans and some lights all from this little machine. I have used it several times since when the power went out and it always performed flawlessly. A good machine for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
34out of 63found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little generator

,
October 8, 2012
By spendlifelucid
from River Ranch, Florida
"I bought this generator as a backup for my 3200 watt generator, which I use at my camp. It handles all the lights tv and a/c. It starts easy and runs quiet. I would definately buy another."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great small generator

,
August 20, 2012
By jo007athome
from Scottsboro, AL
"I bought this little guy to take camping and before it ever got to go to the woods we had a storm that knocked out the power for 7 days. I got out the big boy (Generac) and had difficulty starting and making it run. Wasn't too sure that this guy would do, but he powered fridge, freezer, assorted lights and even a nebulizer for my Mom who had COPD. Needless to say it totally proved itself . It's small but quite powerful."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Generator

,
August 13, 2012
By JLNZ123
from ISLAND LAKE IL
"Yes it Works great
Quiet unit ,The Nabor's came over to see it
There Generators are Noise makers
But not this one .
Good one to pick up.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

versatile generator

,
May 17, 2012
By Navyret
from SC
"Bought this generator to use of course as a power source during power outages. In addition I wanted something small enough to put in the carry all on the three point hitch for my tractor. This generator is small enough to load but has more than enough amps to power my electric limb trimmer chain saw and Black and Decker clamp chain saw. The generator starts right up and runs flawlessly. Easy to move around with the handle and with the rubber feet on the front no worries about vibration causing it to "travel".
One of my better buys from Northern.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Quiet Small Generator

,
May 14, 2012
By carlcare
from South Carolina
"We use this generator for events for our food concession. It is quiet and dependable. It has twice the wattage of the Honda inverter type units for a lot less money. It will not run fryers ovens etc. but charges batteries and powers freezer/refrigeration and small pumps and our lighting. It is also attractive compared to other units. When I can afford it I will buy the 8000 watt version."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Starts Easy!!!!

,
May 8, 2012
By davel8n
from alabama
"Out of the box I fully choked it (80 degrees outside). It started very first pull. The bad news, it DID NOT have the power to start my air conditioner on my travel trailer. I turned everything off in rv, and just tried to start the a/c only, no go. It did have the power to run the fridge, tv and microwave at the same time. Power saw did not even slow it down. It does run fairly quiet. The brochure at Northern Tool store said it would run a/c unit on travel trailers. hope this helps you, good luck"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little generator

,
January 17, 2012
By nraff414
from Fenton, Michigan
"This generator was purchased as a gift for my mother in law. I was a bit leary of purchasing it from an out of state company (mail order), instead of a local store. But I went ahead and ordered it and I'm glad I did. The assembly was super easy! It started on the 4th pull. It would have started on the 1st pull if my husband would have flipped the "start" switch. It's much quieter than I expected and my mother in law loved it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

powerhorse

,
January 10, 2012
By huntrick
from Mesquite,Texas
"The Powerhorse portable generator I bought was amazing,took it home put it together filled it with gas and oil, choked it and it and pulled 1 time and it started.I bought it for a Elk hunting trip in the mountains Colorado.The powerhorse ran most of the day and night.I had bragged to my friend about it and it did not let me down. We ran it so much we changed the oil twice the frist week I had it.The powerhorse started and ran like a champ and help this trip be a great one,first powerhorse first Elk what a week."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

powerhorse 2200

,
January 9, 2012
By skoal
from norristown pa
"Needed a inexpensive portable generator and found the right one. Works great, easy to start, easy to maintain and was shipped to me fast from my friends at Northern Tool."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts,

,
January 9, 2012
By DWAP
from Bucks County, Pa
"Does the job and very good price but also very heavy. If you need to move it transport it much, you may want to spend the money for a lighter generator."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PowerHorse

,
October 10, 2011
By TexasEd
from Richmond, TX
"This is a handy unit, easy to move with the folding handle and wheel kit already on it. The engine fired right up and ran quietly and smoothly. We hooked it up to power the bounce house for the kids at vacation Bible School and they had a ball! After we were done, it was easy to shut off the fuel and let the carb run dry. Next day,turn on the gas and she cranked on the second pull. Very easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Damaged box and generator doesn't run

,
September 4, 2011
By Dragoneye
from New Jersey
"Received this generator in badly damaged box, however, the machine was in perfect condition. After adding gas and oil, I could not start the machine. The throttle linkage had a spring tangled all around the governor and wires were hanging down on the side by the control panel. I also found extra air filters in the filter box. I am a class "A" mechanic so I called northern and they are going to send me a new generator."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-9points
5out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome generator for the money.

,
March 23, 2011
By TaylorMade
from TN
"Had to buy in an emergency (power out, basement flooding). Picked this one because I could afford it. Thought for sure I'd be sorry. But it's been great. Easy to start, good on gas and quiet for this price point. Only things I'd like to have is a fuel gauge but looking in the tank is no big deal really. Oh and it did not come with oil in the engine. Luckily I had some on hand."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+25points
28out of 31found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great, Inexpensive and Energy Efficient Generator

,
September 13, 2010
By JamieSC
from Pelion, SC
"This is a pull start generator, using on average 2.5 gallons of gas for a typical overnight stay of 10.5 hours. This is a fairly quiet model, and it powers an A/C unit, several light fixtures, and a TV/Laptop Computer.
It is a great deal for the price!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 1800 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

reliable and economic

,
May 31, 2010
By manuel
from eagle pass, tx
"easy start, just turn the switch on, open the gas valve,turn the choke, it generates enough power to almost every small job, lightweigt
dependable,dont have to buy expensive ones, this all you need,lots of running time with the gas tank, easy ot find and low cost replacement parts, dont have to be a technician to service
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.