Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"

"Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"

Item# 166112
"This rugged Powerhorse Portable Generator keeps your refrigerator, lights, TV and more running smoothly in the midst of a power outage. Clean power output, with less than 5 total harmonic distortion at full load, safely runs sensitive electronics. Key features like a full bank of outlets, a voltmeter and full-efficient OHV engine also make this model ideal for jobsites and outdoor projects. A FREE wheel kit completes the package. Combine these features with rigorous U.S.-based testing, dedicated customer/tech support and incredible value, and you'll own one of the most reliable generators in the industry. Not for sale in California. Run Time 10 hrs. at 1/2 load, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Surge Watts 4,000, Noise Level dB 70, Battery Included No, Engine Displacement cc 208, Start Type Recoil, Dimensions L x W x H in. 28 x 18 x 18, Receptacles qty. 10, Engine Powerhorse OHV, Battery Required No, Fuel Capacity gal. 4.0, Fuel Type Gasoline, Rated Watts 3,100. Eight 120V, 20 Amp outlets One 12V DC outlet One 120V/240V, 30 Amp locking outlet Two 13.5 Amp breakers Voltmeter Free wheel kit Safe for sensitive electronics with less than 5 THD @ 100 load"
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (90 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
89 of 90(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 84 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Review 21 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhouse Generator

,
April 23, 2013
By
from North Jersey
" I bought a 3100 watt Powerhouse generator about a month before Hurricane Sandy hit last year, what a life saver. Running it for 4 hours, two times per day we kept our food cold, house warm and cell phones charged.
The generator is surprisingly quiet, easy on gas and easy to start. (My wife could do it, first pull). The biggest problem I had was my elderly neighbors weren't prepared so it was on constant rotation between three houses. The wheel kit is a must have option.
I'm especially glad I went for the low distortion generator set, it seems like half the usage was charging phones and computers. I was glad I didn't have to worry about damaging them.
Changed the oil, drained the fuel and ran it dry after Sandy, all ready for this years event. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Generator

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Texas
" I bought this to run lights and space heaters at my hunting lease. It heats about a 200 sq ft space and keeps lights on plus a small radio. Also charges my phone in a pinch. Awesome product - it made many 33 - 34 degree nights a balmy 70 with music! In addition, it's quiet enough that we still saw hogs and deer. Product did exactly what it states and is a great buy. I only wished I could have afforded a larger model. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

powerhourse 4000 generator

,
April 16, 2013
By
from saint petersburg,fl
" So far to date No problems at all, starts on first pull all the time. I use this for my 18' travel trailer, runs the small a/c and lights, sorta quiet, built a generator box for this and really helped with the noise at camp. First do some research on the building the box.
Enjoy!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best generator for the price

,
March 21, 2013
By
from St. Cloud, MN
" Bought this generator because it's big enough to keep things running during a power outage (sump pump, etc.) and small enough that I can take it along on hunting trips. Started up right away and was very pleased with the noise level. Much quieter than I thought it would be. Looking forward to using it for years to come. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator for the price

,
March 11, 2013
By
from Warminster, PA
" I purchased this generator last year and have used it for one significant power outage since purchase. It worked well during that five and a half day power outage. It typically starts after a small number of pulls. I am using fuel stabilizer now to keep it from suffering from fuel instability and lacquering gumming up the works. I am now trying to run the generator ~10 minutes once a month. About a month ago it became difficult to start, i.e., it wouldn't start. This past weekend I made sure the oil level was full and it was. I then removed the spark plug and cleaned it with a metal brush. Checked the gap and put it back in. I then tried to start the generator and it started aftter about 6 pulls. Now that I've got it running, I will continue to run it on a monthly basis and contjnue to keep the fuel stabilized.
I am very happy with this generator. One reason I purchased it is it has a large number of 120V plugs so if I use it to run tools at an off-site worksite, I can keep many tools plugged in without unplugging and plugging things all the time. Many generators do not have enough 120V plugs to reach the rated Watts of the generator. This one doesn't have that problem.
The only thing missing that would be nice would be if Northern Tool added an electric start but that isn't too much of a problem since this generator typically starts after just a few pulls. Other than that, this is a great generator for the money and the features. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Camping generator

,
February 26, 2013
By
from Stockbridge ga
" It was a total suprise. I have been renting a Honda 3000 for the last 4 years when i would go camping. Finally decided to purchase a generator. Wanted the Honda but due to budget constraints it was just to pricey. Took a chance on the Powerhorse and to my suprise it was almost as quiet as the Honda and every bit as reliable. Before you spend 200$ on a Honda i would definitely consider the Power Horse. Its an amazingly quiet open air model. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great generator unbeatable price

,
November 20, 2012
By
from New York, NY
" I bought the Powerhorse 4000 in the wake of Hurricane Sandy. While I didn't lose power, so many friends and family in the area did. I wanted to be prepared just in case I wasn't so lucky in the future. Northern Tool shipped out the generator the next day after I placed the order, I was very impressed considering every generator retailer in the north east is completely out of stock.
The Powerhorse 4000 came with a great manual that explained everything you needed to know about this model and generators in general. While there were no directions for installing the wheel kit, but there was a very descriptive exploded diagram and it was pretty self explanitory and went together easily. One of the features I like best are all the instructions on stickers attached directly to the unit. In case you can't find your manual everything you need to know is right there in front of you.
I filled the generator with oil & gas, and like almost every other reviewer has mentioned it started with 1 pull. I was again impressed. I tested the generator under load for about an hour. It ran my refrigerator/ freezer, a handful of lights, a 46" TV, PS3, and laptop easily. I tested all the outlets including the 12V DC, and they all worked perfectly. As a matter of fact the entire generator worked perfectly. I couldn't find a single negative thing to say about it. After testing the unit, I followed the detailed long term storage instructions, and now have the generator stored and ready to go in case of an emergency.
I highly recommend the Powerhorse 4000, it lives up to all the 5 star reviews, and Northern Tool has it at an unbeatable price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-5points
15out of 35found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Peace of mind at a great price!

,
November 13, 2012
By
from Ocean City, MD
" Bought this generator on a friend's recommendation in anticipation of Hurricane Sandy to keep the fridge, space heater and some lights going. Arrived in 3 days and started up right out of the box! Thankfully Sandy didn't knock out my power, but now have peace of mind that I'm prepared for the next big one! Great generator for the price! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-12points
7out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Powerhorse 4000

,
November 11, 2012
By
from Maryland
" Ordered unit and received promptly in 3 days. Installed wheel kit, read directions, filled with gas and oil and pulled rope starter. Rope would not budge. Called support and was instructed to take to repair shop. Still in shop and needs new motor. Hope to give a good review if all goes well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator

,
November 8, 2012
By
from New Jersey
" I got this generator last year few months before we got hit with hurricane Irene. I decided not to waste my time with extension cords and installed a generator transfer switch. We lost power the moment Irene hit. I had this generator running nonstop for three days. Few weeks ago we got hit with hurricane Sandi, this time we lost power for 5 days. This generator performed flawlessly, it always started on the first pull and ran like a champ. It powered my sub pump, furnace, refrigerator, freezer, TV, DVD, few lights and outlets throughout the house and few other things. I couldn’t be happier with my purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hurricane Sandy

,
November 7, 2012
By
from New Jersey
" I bought this 2 years ago and only used it once for a brief 6 hour outage. Well with Hurricane Sandy, it really got a workout. We were without power for 6 days and this was a life saver. It started up great every time and ran for hours at a time. Never had any issue. We had lights, refrigerator, TV, Modems, charging for computers, iphones, and ipads. It even handled the sump pump and our water pump. Since we are on well water, we had no water unless the pump was plugged in. We did have to turn off other items to run the water pump. Other than that, it was the best. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

trade off

,
November 6, 2012
By
from wv
" The generator is great has got me out of trouble in June and this October mess. I got to small of generater. The 4000 keeps the frig,freezer,TV,computer and 3 lights going, but when you add a water pump, hot water heater, and out side light, you have got to trade off and switch things around. It is a great generater still, not that hard on gas or noise. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

review

,
November 4, 2012
By
from Stamford, CT
" I got this generator after the last black out last year, It came very fast and I filled it with oil, cranked it a few times and never put gas in it, and stored it, this Hurricane Sandy, we lost power the eve of the storm, so I pulled it out, filled it with gas and ran the extension cords, we hooked up 2 refrigerators, 2 fish tanks, a 52" big screen TV and DVD player, an ejector pump for a basement toilet, and few lights, every thing worked perfectly, for 4 days, I found it was earlier to use 2 1/2 gal gas cans to fill it (only ran for about 6-8 hours and we let it run dry over night then filled it and ran it again and used it to make coffee every morning too.) Great unit, in the spring when I update my service I will install the generator disconnect panel and have it installed as it should be. after my power came on my bother took it and ran it for 3 more days....worked great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
20out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Powerhorse 4000

,
November 3, 2012
By
from Bushkill,PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" i purchased the ph 4000 last February 2012. Didn't get to fully use it until a power outtage one day in September 2012. The ph 4000 started right up on the first pull and it not as noisy as most generators. I only used it for a few hours. But not until hurricane Sandy this October 2012, did I put the ph 4000 to the test. We were forced to rely on it continuously night and day for a total of 6 days. The ph 4000 ran smoothy and I needed to do an oil change after the second day. Although, I changed the oil, the low oil indicator light has remained on, even though the low oil level was correct. I love my ph 4000. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

this generator is a WORKHORSE

,
November 3, 2012
By
from NJ
" I just bought this machine for my home during hurricane Sandy. I am MORE than impressed with its performance. So far it has handled everything I have thrown at it. I am running multiple lamps, tv, microwave, fridge, and 4 zone oil fired hot water boiler!! It is very quiet and seems very dependable. And the best feature is it uses very little gas. The other night I lent it to a neighbor. I topped of the fuel at 10pm and stopped by and topped it off at 6am on my way to work and was stunned to see it only used about 3 gallons of fuel.I have already ordered 2 more machines. One for my Mom and one for my Father In Law. I dont think you will regret purchasing this unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator!!!

,
November 3, 2012
By
from Milford, Pa.
" Hurricane super storm Sandy knocked out my power for 4 1/2 days. This Powerhorse 4000 ran 2 refrigerators, a few lights, and my toaster and coffee pot. When I had cable I also used my TV. A good 11 hours out of a tank of gas and still had fuel. Ran constantly the whole time just shutting it down to refuel and change the oil. She did everything I asked, flawlessly!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Godsend

,
November 2, 2012
By
from New Jersey
" I bought this unit after Irene. It powered my sumppump, fridges, freezer and some lights. For me and my family it defeated Sandy's rath. Thank you NorthernTool for making this great product affordable. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

sandy

,
October 31, 2012
By
from port jeff L.I n.y
" lent to my brother whos in miller place running all from the boiler refrig satt tv an lights its a godsend only house on the block with juice thank god for 4000 watt powerhouse generator i give it 6 stars u cant go wrong Dstefens "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-20points
15out of 50found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generator 4000, watts of fun

,
October 29, 2012
By
from Ansonia,CT
" I bought this generator 1yr. ago after Irene, but before
the October snow storm and It worked great.
I even ran a cord to my neighbors house for two elec.
heaters and now we are preparing for Sandy and I'm
all set to go,what a life saver, worth every penny.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4,000 Surge Watts, 3,100 Rated Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

generators

,
October 8, 2012
By
from new jersey
" Last year we got hit with Hurracane Irene we were out of power for days
This year we purchased 3 generators, one for us, one for our son, one for our daughter
All arrived on time-so far this year we didn't get to use any one of them!
But you never know we are all set, ready in case...
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-9points
3out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.