Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts

Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts

Item# 166112
This rugged Powerhorse Portable Generator keeps your refrigerator, lights, TV and more running smoothly in the midst of a power outage. Clean power output, with less than 5 total harmonic distortion at full load, safely runs sensitive electronics. Key features like a full bank of outlets, a voltmeter and full-efficient OHV engine also make this model ideal for jobsites and outdoor projects. A FREE wheel kit completes the package. Combine these features with rigorous U.S.-based testing, dedicated customer/tech support and incredible value, and you'll own one of the most reliable generators in the industry. Not for sale in California. Battery Included No, Battery Required No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 28 x 18 x 18, Engine Displacement cc 208, Fuel Capacity gal. 4.0, Fuel Type Gasoline, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Noise Level dB 70, Rated Watts 3,100, Receptacles qty. 10, Run Time 10 hrs. at 1/2 load, Start Type Recoil, Surge Watts 4,000, Engine Powerhorse OHV. Eight 120V, 20 Amp outlets One 12V DC outlet One 120V/240V, 30 Amp locking outlet Two 13.5 Amp breakers Voltmeter Free wheel kit Safe for sensitive electronics with less than 5 THD @ 100 load
Average Customer Rating:
4.798 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (84 reviews)
5 stars
70
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
83 of 84(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
47 Questions | 82 Answers
Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Review 21 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great generator unbeatable price

,
November 20, 2012
By Rich28
from New York, NY
"I bought the Powerhorse 4000 in the wake of Hurricane Sandy. While I didn't lose power, so many friends and family in the area did. I wanted to be prepared just in case I wasn't so lucky in the future. Northern Tool shipped out the generator the next day after I placed the order, I was very impressed considering every generator retailer in the north east is completely out of stock.
The Powerhorse 4000 came with a great manual that explained everything you needed to know about this model and generators in general. While there were no directions for installing the wheel kit, but there was a very descriptive exploded diagram and it was pretty self explanitory and went together easily. One of the features I like best are all the instructions on stickers attached directly to the unit. In case you can't find your manual everything you need to know is right there in front of you.
I filled the generator with oil & gas, and like almost every other reviewer has mentioned it started with 1 pull. I was again impressed. I tested the generator under load for about an hour. It ran my refrigerator/ freezer, a handful of lights, a 46" TV, PS3, and laptop easily. I tested all the outlets including the 12V DC, and they all worked perfectly. As a matter of fact the entire generator worked perfectly. I couldn't find a single negative thing to say about it. After testing the unit, I followed the detailed long term storage instructions, and now have the generator stored and ready to go in case of an emergency.
I highly recommend the Powerhorse 4000, it lives up to all the 5 star reviews, and Northern Tool has it at an unbeatable price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-5points
15out of 35found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Peace of mind at a great price!

,
November 13, 2012
By goatman66
from Ocean City, MD
"Bought this generator on a friend's recommendation in anticipation of Hurricane Sandy to keep the fridge, space heater and some lights going. Arrived in 3 days and started up right out of the box! Thankfully Sandy didn't knock out my power, but now have peace of mind that I'm prepared for the next big one! Great generator for the price!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-12points
7out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Powerhorse 4000

,
November 11, 2012
By derftegel
from Maryland
"Ordered unit and received promptly in 3 days. Installed wheel kit, read directions, filled with gas and oil and pulled rope starter. Rope would not budge. Called support and was instructed to take to repair shop. Still in shop and needs new motor. Hope to give a good review if all goes well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator

,
November 8, 2012
By HandyMan999
from New Jersey
"I got this generator last year few months before we got hit with hurricane Irene. I decided not to waste my time with extension cords and installed a generator transfer switch. We lost power the moment Irene hit. I had this generator running nonstop for three days. Few weeks ago we got hit with hurricane Sandi, this time we lost power for 5 days. This generator performed flawlessly, it always started on the first pull and ran like a champ. It powered my sub pump, furnace, refrigerator, freezer, TV, DVD, few lights and outlets throughout the house and few other things. I couldn’t be happier with my purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hurricane Sandy

,
November 7, 2012
By NJPeter
from New Jersey
"I bought this 2 years ago and only used it once for a brief 6 hour outage. Well with Hurricane Sandy, it really got a workout. We were without power for 6 days and this was a life saver. It started up great every time and ran for hours at a time. Never had any issue. We had lights, refrigerator, TV, Modems, charging for computers, iphones, and ipads. It even handled the sump pump and our water pump. Since we are on well water, we had no water unless the pump was plugged in. We did have to turn off other items to run the water pump. Other than that, it was the best."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

trade off

,
November 6, 2012
By Pappymac
from wv
"The generator is great has got me out of trouble in June and this October mess. I got to small of generater. The 4000 keeps the frig,freezer,TV,computer and 3 lights going, but when you add a water pump, hot water heater, and out side light, you have got to trade off and switch things around. It is a great generater still, not that hard on gas or noise."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

review

,
November 4, 2012
By Chimney1
from Stamford, CT
"I got this generator after the last black out last year, It came very fast and I filled it with oil, cranked it a few times and never put gas in it, and stored it, this Hurricane Sandy, we lost power the eve of the storm, so I pulled it out, filled it with gas and ran the extension cords, we hooked up 2 refrigerators, 2 fish tanks, a 52" big screen TV and DVD player, an ejector pump for a basement toilet, and few lights, every thing worked perfectly, for 4 days, I found it was earlier to use 2 1/2 gal gas cans to fill it (only ran for about 6-8 hours and we let it run dry over night then filled it and ran it again and used it to make coffee every morning too.) Great unit, in the spring when I update my service I will install the generator disconnect panel and have it installed as it should be. after my power came on my bother took it and ran it for 3 more days....worked great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
20out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Powerhorse 4000

,
November 3, 2012
By Lilbase
from Bushkill,PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"i purchased the ph 4000 last February 2012. Didn't get to fully use it until a power outtage one day in September 2012. The ph 4000 started right up on the first pull and it not as noisy as most generators. I only used it for a few hours. But not until hurricane Sandy this October 2012, did I put the ph 4000 to the test. We were forced to rely on it continuously night and day for a total of 6 days. The ph 4000 ran smoothy and I needed to do an oil change after the second day. Although, I changed the oil, the low oil indicator light has remained on, even though the low oil level was correct. I love my ph 4000."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

this generator is a WORKHORSE

,
November 3, 2012
By keithfromNJ
from NJ
"I just bought this machine for my home during hurricane Sandy. I am MORE than impressed with its performance. So far it has handled everything I have thrown at it. I am running multiple lamps, tv, microwave, fridge, and 4 zone oil fired hot water boiler!! It is very quiet and seems very dependable. And the best feature is it uses very little gas. The other night I lent it to a neighbor. I topped of the fuel at 10pm and stopped by and topped it off at 6am on my way to work and was stunned to see it only used about 3 gallons of fuel.I have already ordered 2 more machines. One for my Mom and one for my Father In Law. I dont think you will regret purchasing this unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator!!!

,
November 3, 2012
By Eliminator109
from Milford, Pa.
"Hurricane super storm Sandy knocked out my power for 4 1/2 days. This Powerhorse 4000 ran 2 refrigerators, a few lights, and my toaster and coffee pot. When I had cable I also used my TV. A good 11 hours out of a tank of gas and still had fuel. Ran constantly the whole time just shutting it down to refuel and change the oil. She did everything I asked, flawlessly!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Godsend

,
November 2, 2012
By Hurricaine911
from New Jersey
"I bought this unit after Irene. It powered my sumppump, fridges, freezer and some lights. For me and my family it defeated Sandy's rath. Thank you NorthernTool for making this great product affordable."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

sandy

,
October 31, 2012
By d196
from port jeff L.I n.y
"lent to my brother whos in miller place running all from the boiler refrig satt tv an lights its a godsend only house on the block with juice thank god for 4000 watt powerhouse generator i give it 6 stars u cant go wrong Dstefens"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-20points
15out of 50found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generator 4000, watts of fun

,
October 29, 2012
By Kev03
from Ansonia,CT
"I bought this generator 1yr. ago after Irene, but before
the October snow storm and It worked great.
I even ran a cord to my neighbors house for two elec.
heaters and now we are preparing for Sandy and I'm
all set to go,what a life saver, worth every penny.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

generators

,
October 8, 2012
By HH43
from new jersey
"Last year we got hit with Hurracane Irene we were out of power for days
This year we purchased 3 generators, one for us, one for our son, one for our daughter
All arrived on time-so far this year we didn't get to use any one of them!
But you never know we are all set, ready in case...
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-9points
3out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough and reliable, don't waste $ on Honda

,
September 28, 2012
By AnonymouslyDaniel
from Elizabehtown, KY
"I bought this generator about 18 months ago and put it on the back of my semi truck to run an air conditioner. I go down to Laredo, TX every week and use it all night long. I also use to run power tools. Has saved me several thousand dollars in diesel. Rattling around on a semi truck being exposed to road chemicals and spray is about the toughest application you can imagine. I finally had my first problem, a broken fuel line that was probably my fault anyhow from over zealous pressure washer. If you need a generator, you don't have to spend money to get a Honda unless fuel consumption and a little less noise are large issues."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very impressive

,
August 20, 2012
By theWalt
from Shawnee, KS
"I purchased this unit so when we go camping in our travel trailer we wouldn't be tied to specific sites and we could maintain our comfort even the park lost power. As it turns out we have not used it for that yet, but it came in very handy when we added a fence to our backward and the plug on the back of the house would not work. This generator kept up very well running circular saws, drills and 2 generators for several hours. A few times the circuit breaker tripped but after a quick reset it worked began workng again.The wheel kit is essential makes it manageable with just one person."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Powerhorse 4000 Watt Generator

,
August 20, 2012
By 2ocnorb
from Roanoke, VA
"I purchased this generator when the power went out after the derecho that blew through in late June ‘12. Easy setup, started on first pull. Had it wired it directly to my breaker box, and ran it continuously for 4 days. Had some trouble with the generator continually shutting off after a couple days. Determined that quite a bit of crankcase oil vapor is sucked from the crankcase through the ventilation tube into the carburetor. The air filter was saturated and dripped oil continuously. This caused the low-oil float to shut off the engine. I had to check and refill the crankcase every day. It also uses about 8 gallons of gas per day, running continuously. Overall a good generator. I was able to power three refrigerators/freezers, a 50" TV/blu-ray player, 40-gallon fish tank/filter/light, and a small window air conditioning unit in the bedroom. Paid for itself by saving me hundreds of $$ from food spoilage. I’ll be ready for the next storm!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator!

,
August 20, 2012
By Leadbottom
from Chesapeake Beach, MD
"I bought this generator to replace a smaller Honda. It is heavier but has wheels and many nice features. Starts first pull, is quieter and powers the whole (suburban) house. I have only run for 2 days but it only burned 3/4 tank of gas and everything ran (TVs, refer, AC and computer). Thanks Northern Tool for a great tool at a very fair price.
I speak with experience when I offer; for the price and utility I would recommend to anyone living where power can go out when the wind blows."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000

,
August 16, 2012
By mdale5050
from Taylorsville, North Carolina
"Great product. I use this around the house a lot. Recently I used my generator to build a hunting blind on my property. I was impressed with the ease of starting and how much it saved in manual labor. Wish I had bought one years ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 4000 Surge Watts, 3100 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

4000 watt powerhorse generator

,
August 14, 2012
By odin99
from ohio
"started on second pull ,runs good. I have not used it much yet but I plugged a refrigerator into it and that did not phase it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.