Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts

Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts

Item# 166113
This durable Powerhorse Portable Generator provides 7000 surge watts of clean power to run power tools or keep most household appliances running during emergency outages. The fuel-efficient OHV engine is easy to start and runs smoothly. Auto voltage regulation and less than 5 total harmonic distortion provides clean electricity that is safe for sensitive electronics. A FREE wheel kit completes the package. Combine these features with rigorous U.S.-based testing, dedicated customer/tech support and incredible value, and you'll own one of the most reliable generators in the industry. Not for sale in California. Battery Included No, Battery Required No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 29 x 22 x 28, Engine Displacement cc 420, Fuel Capacity gal. 6.6, Fuel Type Gasoline, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Noise Level dB 74, Rated Watts 5,500, Receptacles qty. 10, Start Type Recoil, Surge Watts 7,000, Engine Powerhorse OHV, Run Time 12 1/2 hrs. @ 1/2 load. Eight 120V, 20 Amp outlets One 120V/240V, 30 Amp locking plug One 12VDC outlet Voltmeter Free wheel kit
Average Customer Rating:
4.675 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (40 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
38 of 40(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Review 1 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME

,
February 5, 2014
By meltil
from Max Meadows, VA
"I bought this generator in the middle of a bad snow storm and the power was out. The store gave me a good deal on it and it works great, it runs the whole house with ease."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolMay 13, 2014
This review and all prior reviews are from the non-electric start model. All other features of this generator are exactly the same.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Generator

,
February 4, 2014
By Ryan207
from Mid, Maine
"A quality generator. I've used it for power tools and air compressors while rehabbing a camp, and used it for back up power during a recent power outage. It hasn't let me down. It starts easily even in bitter cold and has plenty of power. It's sound level is moderate, it's no Honda in terms of sound but much quieter than the old Coleman generator I replaced. A little heavy on the fuel usage but a good deal overall. Wait for the periodic deals Northern Tool runs on these generators and save yourself $50. It would have still been a good deal at full price though."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hard working generator

,
September 19, 2013
By RHH1973
from Cumming,Ga
"Working on the farm using a power saw, electric impact and air compressor. It never missed a beat.Would recommend it for any job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator

,
September 17, 2013
By Brent123
from Lynchburg, VA
"I bought this generator over a year ago after a derecho came through my area. I had this thing running full blast for over a week before the power came back on and it never skipped a beat! I have used it multiple times since then for my camper and it has the smoothest pull start of any motor i've ever owned."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

7000 watt Power Horse Generator

,
April 23, 2013
By Gene47
from New York LI
"I have had this unit for about 6 months now, I haven't really had to use it in an emergency situation yet. (believe it or not didn't even loose power in Sandy). But I have been starting it up about once a month just to excercise the engine and the generator head. It always starts and runs with no problem at all. I did have to change the spark plug after only one week (cheap no name plug). But never had any trouble since. For the price I think the generator is well worth buying. I had it hooked up to my house, and ran my oil burner, fan, lights and an 18000 btu ac and it held up just fine. It's fairly quiet, seems well made."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome! Now if I only use it.

,
March 12, 2013
By Andycapp
from Beach Pk, Il
"Bought this gen. a year after I really needed it. Since then I haven't needed it yet. But, I do start it up now & then just to hear it run. 1 pull to choke it. 2nd pull 1/2 choked & its running. Plugged a few things in just to see if could kick the circuit. 2 refrig, 1 freezer, 5 lamps, Tv w/DVD player & my PC. Oh yeah! a 220 amp air compressor & it was like asking: So? what else ya got? I feel better about going big than not going big enough. I'm real happy with this & my neighbor? He's happy too. Would I recommend this Gen? YOU BET!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great so far

,
January 11, 2013
By beerdranker
from broken arrow, ok
"Bought this unit after many storm related power outages here in OK. Thankfully haven't had to use it yet for that in the year that I have owned it. I have used it many times at my remote cabin property for construction needs. Has run every tool including my cantankerous old air compressor without even breaking a sweat. Only complaints are the rubber feet fell off right away. And the handles seem a bit cheesy. Aside from that very happy so far."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse 7000

,
November 29, 2012
By SudT
from NEw York
"I bought this generator after the freak October Snowstorm of 2011 that knocked out my power for a week. I have had to use it twice since then, the most recent being the 10 days of no power after Sandy. It worked flawlessly, powered everything I needed. Well pump, heat, hot water, fridge, freezer and TV. Was so nice being able to take hot showers during the outage. Definitely recommended."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

powerhorse 7000 geenerator

,
November 15, 2012
By jaracing101
from Pa.
"recieved my generator today on 11/15 put the wheel kit together. prepped the generator with fuel and oil. hit the choke and it started first pull. I let it run for a few minutes and plugged in a power saw and performed flawlessly. I wish i had it during sandy but generators here in the east now are worth their weight in gold now. I will soon be hooking up a transfer switch when they too become available so the gen can power home essentials. I am impressed with the quality of the unit and the way it runs and it looks like it will last a long time. thank you northern tool. And I do highly recomend the powerhorse 7000."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
7out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best purchase I ever made

,
November 10, 2012
By SkynyrdFan
from New Jersey
"After the storm of October 2011, I decided to pick up a generator (just in case). I put it together and left it sitting, without fuel, in my garage. When Sandy was projected to hit the East Coast, I fueled it up and started it on two pulls. At this point, it has been running 24x7 (except for fueling and oil changes) for 12 days. Ample power for a fridge, freezer, some CFL lights, couple of TV's, a few laptops, a pellet stove and a fan. If we want to use the microwave, we disconnect the fridge. With that load, I have been getting about 12 hours between fueling.
Product far exceeded my expectations. For price and performance, I highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
18out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works GREAT!!!

,
November 9, 2012
By Siggy123
from Minnetonka, MN
"I've never owned a generator before but we moved to a new house in 2009 that has a problem with the power going out. We also live in a pretty low lying area so when it rains our sump pump is going constantly. We have a battery backup but last summer that failed during a storm and my husband and I were bailing water manually to keep the basement from going under water. After that we decided to buy a generator just in case as well as to run the TV, AC, fridge. This seemed to be a good unit based on the reviews and the price per watt so we bought this power horse generator from northern tools. We had to use it twice this past summer and it worked great both times. It's started right up on the first pull and ran pretty smooth. It's not super quiet when it runs but it's not overly loud either. You could have a conversation standing next to it. It also has lots of outlets, we used them all, and the generator had no problem. Very satasified so far, its worked great for us."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

My First Generator

,
October 8, 2012
By Magic56
from Oklahoma
"After reading a lot of reviews for generators I decided to buy the Powerhorse because of its good reviews and also because of the price. Assembly of wheels and handle kit was very easy.
I purchased this generator because I live in an area where power outages during the winter due to ice storms is very possible.
So far all I have done is put oil and fuel in it and run it for approximately an hour and tested it with several different types of appliances and it performed very well. I will update this review after I have had an occasion to use it properly.
At this point I would definately reccomend it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-20points
19out of 58found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

POWERHORSE 7000 WATT PORTABLE GENERATOR

,
August 20, 2012
By CHAS46
from EAST FALMOUTH, MA
"PURCHASED THIS PRODUCT TO REPLACE A 20 YEAR OLD 4,000 WATT GENERATOR. USED FOR FIRST TIME DURING POWER OUTAGE IN AUGUST 2012. CONNECTED TO GENTRAN SYSTEM TO POWER ESSENTIAL APPLIANCES SUCH AS FREEZER AND REFRIGERATOR AND OTHER LIGHTS AND APPLIANCES. IT TOOK QUITE A FEW PULLS TO START, BUT RAN VERY QUIET AND EFFICIENTLY. I AM VERY SATISFIED SO FAR AND FEEL COMFORTABLE IF IT IS NEEDED DURING A LONGER OUTAGE."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-2points
7out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Value

,
August 20, 2012
By 0707
from CT
"I bought this generator for 2 uses.
FIRST-Emergency power to the house: fridge, freezer, lights, sump pump, heating system (circulating hot water), TV (for news, etc.).
AND SECOND- for occasional power in one of my outbuildings.
So far, so GOOD!
Starts in 1 or 2 pulls, gotta love that! and powers everything on the house list with no problem.
I have not yet had occasion to run it non-stop for days on end (last power outage was a little over 24hrs.) so I can't speak to the long run. BUT so far it is a great unit at a great price. (and though I see a lot of "noise comments" it does not seem to be any noisier than other generators in this class size.)
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

,
August 15, 2012
By Hayo
from Georgia
"No problems, added oil and gas and it started right up. Took a little process of elimination to assemble as there was no instructions, but not a major problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect for my use

,
August 13, 2012
By johnnyq
from columbus, ohio
"Started on the first pull and has every time. We had a week long outage and this was used to power a building and two county sewer pumps.Neighbors that did not do this had their systems dug up and repaired. I have told several people of the wattage and to compare they have ordered one for themselves."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

just dont make them like they used to

,
July 26, 2012
By dave1111
from godley texas
"bought generator and i ran great for about a month. then it started running real rough. oil fuel and air are all good. tore down head and found that the exhaust spring keeps had broken, and the rocker arm spring cap was missing(although was never founf, not even metal shavings in oil) which caused the engine to push the exhaust out of the intake. i myself have really not had any luck with northern tool products. yes they are cheaper to purchase, but they are also cheap."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
13out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts,

,
July 12, 2012
By Themac
from Dayton, Ohio
"Received my new generator and connected to new Reliance transfer switch. Every thing worked out well. I am pleased with both units."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse Generator

,
May 14, 2012
By knockout
from madison, ms
"This is a GREAT generator!!!! No problems what so ever!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Powerhorse Portable Generator - 7000 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A trustworthy tool

,
May 7, 2012
By Jester112
from Asbury, NJ
"This product was recommended by a family friend and I'm glad we took their advice. We have already had to use our Powerhorse generator after our power had gone out. It was very easy to set up and have running fast! Our new generator is already helping us save money by keeping our refrigerator/freezer running during the outage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.