Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"

"Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"

Item# 166114
"This Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start is more than enough to handle the power tools on a jobsite or to run essential household appliances during emergency outages. Clean worry-free electricity, with less than 5 total harmonic distortion at full load, is safe for sensitive electronics. Specially formulated engine mounts minimize vibration and an oversized muffler reduces noise levels. Includes voltmeter. Electric start with recoil back up electric start requires battery, Item# 33528, sold separately A FREE wheel kit completes the package. Combine these features with rigorous U.S.-based testing, dedicated customer/tech support and incredible value, and you'll own one of the most reliable generators in the industry. Not for sale in California. Fuel Type Gasoline, Rated Watts 7250, Dimensions L x W x H in. 29 x 22 x 28, Noise Level dB 75, Engine Powerhorse OHV, Start Type Electric w/recoil backup, Surge Watts 9000, Battery Required Yes, Battery Included No, Fuel Capacity gal. 6.6, Run Time 8 1/2 hrs. @ 1/2 load, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Receptacles qty. 11, Engine Displacement cc 420. Less than 5 THD at 100 load Auto-idle engine Eight 120V, 20 Amp outlets One 120V, 30 Amp locking plug One 120V/240V, 30 Amp locking plug One 12V DC outlet Requires battery Item# 33528 for electric start Free wheel kit"
Average Customer Rating:
4.631 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (122 reviews)
5 stars
94
4 stars
21
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
3
114 of 122(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
87 Questions | 132 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Review 1 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

voltage

,
December 3, 2015
By
from hertford, nc
I own a Powerhorse 9000 portable generator and am unable to get a clear answer as to what the voltage dial should read with no load on the unit. My unit runs at 195 volts indicated. Should the speed be adjusted and how and where on the unit can this be done?
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great generator at a great price

,
November 3, 2015
By
from Honey Brook, PA
After thoroughly investigating all types and brands of generators, I choose the Powerhorse 9000 for it's capabilities and value. The less than 5% total distortion is perfect for my sensitive equipment. There is enough wattage to run what I need in the house. Easy setup and started with 2 pulls. Low idle is a great feature when no load is present. Battery works perfect too. We are prone to power outages all year round. We purchased the 2 way Powerhorse log splitter about 6 years ago and it runs like new to this date after heavy use. Northern tool customer service is awesome. Thank you.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it.

,
September 12, 2015
By
from St.Pete,FL
I bought this generator Sept 09 2015. very pleased.there was a funnel for putting in oil
and all needed hardware.
I put in oil and gas but it did not start, looking at the
tank made me feel I may not have put in enough gas
so I added more, She started right up so I am thinking
tank may have been made so as to not take in any
sediment. I did a load test by adding a couple of heating appliances, blow dryer an toastR oven
that was2700 watts volts a bit over 120.
Next day I made up a cord set, shut off the mains an plugged into dryer outlet, I had a large t.v. on and
some fans, turned on the fridge and big burner on stove that glowed like the China syndrome! went out an checked voltage a hair over 240.
I am VERY pleased with this generator
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Small Quality Issues

,
August 30, 2015
By
from Florida
Issue 1. No mention during the sale that a battery would be an additional purchase. Be prepared to spend another $80.
Issue 2. The battery hold down strap is too short to span the proper size battery. I had to create a new one.
Issue 3. Be prepared to use a crescent wrench during assembly. Some of the nuts are neither SAE nor Metric. I am a mechanic with a ton of wrenches and still had none that fit some of the nuts; particularly the nuts securing the axles to the frame.
Issue 4. One of the wheels has some really crazy camber because the bracket that's welded to the frame for one of the axles was misaligned.
Issue 5. There is no battery ground cable supplied with the unit. I had to create one of those also.
All the above are annoyance items, but they speak to the lesser quality of the unit. I have not yet powered up the unit. I hope the poor quality trend of the assembly does not continue through to the operation. I've given this unit a 4 rating because it appears that those who have put the generator to use have found it to be strong and reliable. We'll See.
If that is true, I will issue another review in support of
the unit. If not, the review will be very descriptive of the failures.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
11out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Powerhouse Products

,
May 21, 2015
By
from Minnesota
Our cabin was without power for days last summer. My son picked up the Powerhorse 9000 and after prep it started first pull. Ran everything 120/240VAC without a hiccup until utility power was restored 5 days later.
My son now lives rural and took the PH 9000 home. I replaced with a new PH 9000 immediately. After prep, it started first pull. I loaded the generator with every thing I could plug in. Just goes and goes.
My trust in Powerhorse started with the bi-directional wood splitter many years ago. Starts every time and works like a Budweiser Clydesdale horse. Just goes and goes, never complains, and the side wings are a back saver.
I'm thankful for availability to these great reliable Powerhorse products. I wish they would make a gas weed wacker . . . that starts every time.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

service truck unit

,
March 18, 2015
By
from CHARLESTON, WV
Very well made and rugged.
We put it on the back of our service truck and it handles all we give it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Powerhorse 9000 Failed

,
March 4, 2015
By
from Central Virginia
Purchased during outage, the only generator in town. Worked OK during that outage. It has a 2 year warranty. After 2 years and one month of very light duty, there was no generator output, motor ran fine. Very little troubleshooting information available. From NT, got a link for generator resistance measurements (all OK). As a shotgun try, replaced the voltage regulator module - no help. There is NO full schematic available for more complete trouble shooting. To fix, NT would replace the control/output panel (~ $150) and/or the entire generator (over $500). Add in labor and it could total nearly the price of a new unit! Consider this to be a disposable generator of questionable quality. I gave it 2 stars only because it got me through the initial power outage.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Powerhorse Product ExpertsJune 23, 2015
We apologize for the issues you are experiencing with your generator. We take great pride in our Powerhorse Products products and are confident that our Product Support Team can assist you with any testing and repairs that are needed. Our Product Support Team can be reached at 1-866-443-2576.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

More power for your $$

,
February 11, 2015
By
from Upstate, NY
When we lose power, pipes can freeze and break in a few hours. And with a breeders license we are required to keep our kennels above 40°F (we use min of 52°). With this generator we can maintain a near normal life throughout the storm.
With assembly and fluid install, we were up and running in less than ½ hour. The unit looks great and has a low noise level. And with the <5% distortion, we have no worries with computer or other expensive electronic equipment.
The only way you will get more bang for your buck is to buy a used one and HOPE it works as well.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Generator

,
January 16, 2015
By
from San Antonio TX
I purchased this item to power a welder (210V) and a 5th wheel Travel Trailer. Although I had to change the plugs to be consistent with amperage and voltage requirements the unit performs flawlessly. It's only fair to say that I have only been able to run it a few times. It starts and runs quickly and reliably.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not pleased

,
January 9, 2015
By
from Rustburg, Va
Nice generator but I would recommend purchasing the extended warranty.
We had a power outage for about four (4) hours. First time I ran it with a real load. The generator ran great for 1 ½ hours and then the motor locked up completely. I returned to the service center at the local northern tool for repair. They installed a new motor and returned to it me six weeks later. The technician was very friendly and reassured me that it was repaired correctly. And it was. But they appear to be having problems with the engines on these units. Buy the extended warranty!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

9000 Watt High Value Power Source!

,
January 5, 2015
By
from Roanoke, VA
This was the second one we've purchased. One for home and one for cabin use. Have used non stop for several days with no issues. Easy to start (I dont use battery) and it handles our water heater and pump, fridge and freezer, along with several rooms of lights with AV equipment. Overloaded the wattage rating once by accident, it didnt stop it! Our lights got dim but it kept going. Great price and value in this machine, loaded with features costing far more on other units!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value!

,
December 13, 2014
By
from NC
Bought two for my two sons......haven't needed them yet. Great deal compared to other generators of same specs.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse 900 / New Owner

,
December 7, 2014
By
from Hillsborough, NC
I purchased the Powerhorse 9000 generator online with local store delivery.
I bought the 9000 for home backup mainly, and portable use if I need it. This is my first experience with a portable generator.
I use the pull start, works fine for me and I don't need the electric start at this time. Easy starting.
I have tested the generator with small electric tools and a portable electric heater. The 9000 has performed as advertised. I also tested the 9000 with my house hookup. ( The house receptacle was installed by an electrician for safety reasons )
I have run my deep well pump and my electric water heater ( SEPARATELY ) with the 9000, no problems at all. These 2 are my " heavy users ". Again, the generator ran and performed flawlessly. I don't think I need to test the general house items, lights, microwave, TV etc. I intend to "exercise" the 9000 once a month with the portable heater. ( 5 minute warm up-10 minute run time-5 minute running cool down. Allow the engine to cool after shut down. I know I bought the correct backup generator for my specific needs. I definitely recommend this generator.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not happy with the reliability of this generator

,
May 26, 2014
By
from Texas
We purchased this generator to supply power to our race kart trailer that we use on the weekends. On hotter days, after approximately 6 - 7 hours, the voltage output drops down to 60 volts. On the first repair attempt, they replaced some type of idle control valve and the second repair they replaced the control head. Used it again this last weekend and once again, the generator failed us. We took it back to the authorized repair facility today for the third time under warranty. I asked for a complete new generator and they said it was their policy to repair it. I explained that are very dependant on this generator on the weekends and as of today it's has not been very reliable. Again asked for a complete new generator and they said they will try to test it again tomorrow to determine what options are available.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+23points
30out of 37found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolJune 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We take great pride in the design and manufacturing of our products and we want you to have the same confidence in the quality of our products that we do. We are disappointed to learn of the issue you are having with the Powerhorse generator purchased in July 2012. Our policy is to service generators under the parts and labor warranty. That said, we are committed to providing our customers with the best service. Our customer service team will contact you shortly so we can learn how we might be able to better serve your needs. Thank you for your continued loyalty and for shopping at Northern Tool & Equipment.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse 9000

,
February 6, 2014
By
from New Carlisle, Ohio
This is one fantastic generator. You won't find anything
anywhere close to it for the price. Look at all the features (all the outlets, auto idle, electric start, etc.).
And, the wheel kit is included.
Read all the terrific reviews (a lot of them).
I bought one and had my electrician hard-wire it into
my home. Just can't run the central air conditioning
with it (central air takes 10,000 watts by itself).
Just use common sense and it can run a lot of
items (I'm not kidding) at the same time. I love mine!!!
Thanks again, Northern Tool.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
27out of 43found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhouse generator 9000 watts

,
February 5, 2014
By
from Lebanon,CT
This generator can handle all my power needs. I live in the country and have electric hot water, well pump, kitchen appliances and stand up freezer, a two car garage, shed, plenty of outside lighting and more. No food had been lost during week long outages. I haven't had to go without any of my conveniences when the power goes out. Money well spent!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Portable Home Generator On the Market

,
February 4, 2014
By
from North Chesterfield, VA
Comparing prices, running and starting watt output, options, quality and durability: You cannot beat this generator for back-up home power supply, short of spending several thousand on a non-portable whole house generator. So far it has fit my needs exactly. I knew what I needed to provide the most power I could get out of a portable and the 9000 met those needs and then some. GREAT GENERATOR. Get the recommended Transfer Switch for this generator and don't forget to ground the generator properly. I ran 10-3 UF-B direct burial wire to a good un-used shed 15' off the back corner of the house. Plenty of clearance to run the generator and I've rebuilt the shed with ventilation and security in mind for the generator. Give 7 foot clearance around the generator because of heat from the exhaust. Best investment I've made in years. I ran another run of 10-3 UF-B to my larger work shop shed so I can now power that shed when I want to get away from the wife. GREAT INVESTMENT!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for the Price

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Tucson, AZ
I bought this generator to support my home during somewhat frequent power outages during the rainy season where I live. It has lived up to or exceeded my expectations. It starts easily, runs smoothly and provides steady power under all loads it's been subjected to. I run a couple of refrigerators, a freezer, two TVs and more. I could add plenty of other items but this unit is to get by, not support an entire home. I plan on getting a battery to enjoy the electric start capability since I'm not getting any younger. A great unit and a really great price. Compare it with others yourselves.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Weathers well

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Ohio
Our generator lives outside and the few time we have had to use it the weather was severe. Twice during a summer storm and once at -18F we ran the generator for approximately 24 and 12 hours during the storms and 18 hours at -18F. Except for the gas guzzling the generator was very low maintenance.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Powerhorse Portable Generator - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts, Electric Start"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power Plus

,
February 4, 2014
By
from west virginia
I have used this generator for power support for my home and power tools and it has never failed to start or perform its really a wonderful item to have when there is a power outage!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.