Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts

Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts

Item# 166114
This 9000-Watt Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start is more than enough to handle the power tools on a jobsite or to run essential household appliances during emergency outages. Clean worry-free electricity, with less than 5 total harmonic distortion at full load, is safe for sensitive electronics. Specially formulated engine mounts minimize vibration and an oversized muffler reduces noise levels. Includes voltmeter. Electric start with recoil back up electric start requires battery, Item# 1661141, sold separately A FREE wheel kit completes the package. Combine these features with rigorous U.S.-based testing, dedicated customer/tech support and incredible value, and you'll own one of the most reliable generators in the industry. Not for sale in California. Battery Included No, Battery Required Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 29 x 22 x 28, Engine Displacement cc 420, Fuel Capacity gal. 6.6, Fuel Type Gasoline, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Noise Level dB 75, Rated Watts 7,250, Receptacles qty. 11, Surge Watts 9,000, Engine Powerhorse OHV, Start Type Electric, recoil backup, Run Time 9 1/2 hrs. @ 1/2 load. Less than 5 THD at 100 load Auto-idle engine Eight 120V, 20 Amp outlets One 120V, 30 Amp locking plug One 120V/240V, 30 Amp locking plug One 12V DC outlet Requires battery Item# 33528 for electric start Free wheel kit
Average Customer Rating:
4.661 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (109 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
19
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
103 of 109(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
89 Questions | 137 Answers
Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Review 1 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not happy with the reliability of this generator

,
May 26, 2014
By Vz6j5g
from Texas
"We purchased this generator to supply power to our race kart trailer that we use on the weekends. On hotter days, after approximately 6 - 7 hours, the voltage output drops down to 60 volts. On the first repair attempt, they replaced some type of idle control valve and the second repair they replaced the control head. Used it again this last weekend and once again, the generator failed us. We took it back to the authorized repair facility today for the third time under warranty. I asked for a complete new generator and they said it was their policy to repair it. I explained that are very dependant on this generator on the weekends and as of today it's has not been very reliable. Again asked for a complete new generator and they said they will try to test it again tomorrow to determine what options are available."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolJune 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We take great pride in the design and manufacturing of our products and we want you to have the same confidence in the quality of our products that we do. We are disappointed to learn of the issue you are having with the Powerhorse generator purchased in July 2012. Our policy is to service generators under the parts and labor warranty. That said, we are committed to providing our customers with the best service. Our customer service team will contact you shortly so we can learn how we might be able to better serve your needs. Thank you for your continued loyalty and for shopping at Northern Tool & Equipment.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse 9000

,
February 6, 2014
By FarmerFuzz
from New Carlisle, Ohio
"This is one fantastic generator. You won't find anything
anywhere close to it for the price. Look at all the features (all the outlets, auto idle, electric start, etc.).
And, the wheel kit is included.
Read all the terrific reviews (a lot of them).
I bought one and had my electrician hard-wire it into
my home. Just can't run the central air conditioning
with it (central air takes 10,000 watts by itself).
Just use common sense and it can run a lot of
items (I'm not kidding) at the same time. I love mine!!!
Thanks again, Northern Tool.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
18out of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhouse generator 9000 watts

,
February 5, 2014
By Mosler
from Lebanon,CT
"This generator can handle all my power needs. I live in the country and have electric hot water, well pump, kitchen appliances and stand up freezer, a two car garage, shed, plenty of outside lighting and more. No food had been lost during week long outages. I haven't had to go without any of my conveniences when the power goes out. Money well spent!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Portable Home Generator On the Market

,
February 4, 2014
By 1NorthernFan
from North Chesterfield, VA
"Comparing prices, running and starting watt output, options, quality and durability: You cannot beat this generator for back-up home power supply, short of spending several thousand on a non-portable whole house generator. So far it has fit my needs exactly. I knew what I needed to provide the most power I could get out of a portable and the 9000 met those needs and then some. GREAT GENERATOR. Get the recommended Transfer Switch for this generator and don't forget to ground the generator properly. I ran 10-3 UF-B direct burial wire to a good un-used shed 15' off the back corner of the house. Plenty of clearance to run the generator and I've rebuilt the shed with ventilation and security in mind for the generator. Give 7 foot clearance around the generator because of heat from the exhaust. Best investment I've made in years. I ran another run of 10-3 UF-B to my larger work shop shed so I can now power that shed when I want to get away from the wife. GREAT INVESTMENT!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for the Price

,
February 4, 2014
By Toolroom
from Tucson, AZ
"I bought this generator to support my home during somewhat frequent power outages during the rainy season where I live. It has lived up to or exceeded my expectations. It starts easily, runs smoothly and provides steady power under all loads it's been subjected to. I run a couple of refrigerators, a freezer, two TVs and more. I could add plenty of other items but this unit is to get by, not support an entire home. I plan on getting a battery to enjoy the electric start capability since I'm not getting any younger. A great unit and a really great price. Compare it with others yourselves."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Weathers well

,
February 4, 2014
By Elwood
from Ohio
"Our generator lives outside and the few time we have had to use it the weather was severe. Twice during a summer storm and once at -18F we ran the generator for approximately 24 and 12 hours during the storms and 18 hours at -18F. Except for the gas guzzling the generator was very low maintenance."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power Plus

,
February 4, 2014
By william121
from west virginia
"I have used this generator for power support for my home and power tools and it has never failed to start or perform its really a wonderful item to have when there is a power outage!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

I might have gotten a lemon...

,
January 20, 2014
By woodbe
from The Perimeter
"...but I have had a lot of problems with this generator. Mine arrived with a slightly bent frame and a bad starter (replaced under warranty by me). After running under load for a few hours, it fell to idle and everything in the house 'browned out'. I had to remove the fuel tank to get access, and found a spring related to the engine governor had popped off at one end. I put it back on and bent the end so it wouldn't happen again. At the same time I also noticed that the adjustment screw for the governor was cranked up as far as it can possibly go. Later on -- still during the first time of use -- the automatic idle control stopped working, and it has never worked again.
During a subsequent power outage the engine governor system stopped governing, and the engine began to surge up and down in speed. Another fuel tank removal later, I flipped a lever back that appeared to have gone 'over center' and jammed things up. Perhaps a side effect of the maxed out adjuster? So I try turning the adjuster down to something resembling a normal setting. No can do - it doesn't make the necessary (and rated) voltage unless it's maxed.
But it did make volts, and it did keep the lights on the food cold, when it was running, so I lived with it. It got me through several outages, but never without some amount of fiddling around with governor and springs and whatnot. Good thing I'm handy.
Fast forward to the present time. I am good to my tools so I run the generator about once a month to keep it lubed and ready. The last time I started it, smoke immediately came out of the generator housing and the voltmeter went to zero.
Like I said, I may have gotten a lemon. But I have a Honda now, and the Powerhorse is up for sale. It looked as cheap as its price would lead one to believe, and in my case its performance matched both."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

New generator for gas furnace

,
December 18, 2013
By Sor8181
from Idaho
"Ok I read about 50 reviews and most loved this generator. So I bought one it arrived about 12 days later, I added oil and gas and one pull later it started up so I plugged an electric drill into the generator with and without the automatic idle control land it worked great . So today 3 days later I plug into my welder outlet in the garage and shut the main breaker off . The lights work my furnace in the garage works but my 220 volt air compressor won't run. So I unplug that cord and run the one to my house and flip the transfer switch to test my gas furnace and it won't work. It tries to lite but goes put after 2 seconds so now I have to test everything out to see what is going on. I had and older Colman power mate generator and it powered my furnace without problems but the. THD was to high to run my furnace or other electronics so I am thinking it had yo be the generator . I will write again when I find out what the problem is ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Generator

,
December 7, 2013
By Megapower
from Brown City, Michigan
"Just received my generator. Runs like a top. Love the idle speed feature. All voltages checked out to a "T". Can't wait to get my sparky to install my transfer switch on my service entrance so I can put it to the test."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

worth the cash, power to spare!

,
October 1, 2013
By themazk
from gloucester va.
"I have only ran this generator about an hour or so, just to test it out. Volt meter reads constant 218v. I hooked up my Fema stick welder, 230v @ 30 amps, turned it up to 140amps, ran 7018 and 6011 1/8" no problem, generator never even idled up! plugged in my 4.5" grinder, 120v @ 10 amps, the powerhorse kicks up ever so slightly lol, but the 230v welder does not even make it stutter! BUY IT NOW& get the extended warranty, it's worth the added protection incase a storm takes it out."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+18points
24out of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well Worth the Money

,
September 19, 2013
By Mike11247
from Richmond, VA
"I bought this generator in preparation for 2011 Hurricane Irene. I was very grateful that I had purchased it too since i lost power for 8 days. I couldn't beat the price either since 5000W honda generators at Home Depot were selling for the same price this was. I had no trouble running two 1/3hp sump pumps, 8000btu a/c unit, tv, fridge, 9 cu ft deep freezer, and a few other things without trouble. I used about 8-10 gallons a day."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
20out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC

,
September 18, 2013
By Brassdoc
from Cape Cod, MA
"For the money this is a fantastic generator. I test ran it for 48 hours and it performed great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
11out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb performance and value

,
September 17, 2013
By WOLFGUY99
from New Jersey
"Bought this during Hurricane Sandy in November 2012 and I cannot believe the effortless performance this unit provides not to mention the insanely low price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
6out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
July 18, 2013
By Whiteshark
from Joliet, IL
"Bought it over year and a half ago. works like a champ on all my jobs. I also use it for a backup at my house when power is out. It will power my entire house. Can't even tell main power is gone, except running out to fill it.
Electric start ( with battery) is great. I have a bad back and a pull start is hard for me. As others have stated, i wish it had gas gauge. if you are looking for a great back up generator or a big job generator, look no further. this one can handle it all.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
15out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
July 15, 2013
By bronicadave
from Golden Valley, MN
"Worked fine when we were without power for 5 days. Kept the critical equipment running to keep water out of the basement. Will add transfer panel so AC and furnace will be easy to power before next storm. Easy to use, starts easy, pretty clean power. I agree that a fuel gauge would have been nice. Otherwise a great value when compared to comparable power at 3 or more times the price.
Mike at the Minnetonka store was great to work with.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
April 25, 2013
By Stenz
from Maple Grove, MN
"Got great use out of this generator last summer. Never failed on me and am looking forward to using it again this next summer!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-10points
8out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice size generator for price

,
April 25, 2013
By KWG1988
from Sanford, NC
"I have not used this generator much but I have it if I need it.It cranks easily and runs good, I was skeptical of the powerhouse brand but it works as it should.I do try and run it periodically."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Product

,
April 23, 2013
By JDPT
from Sioux Falls SD
"Excellent generator at a great price. Makes my portable Makita air compressor sing and doesnt even "grunt" when the compressor cycles on. Will run multiple devices easily and when my power was out I simply plugged it in to the service box I had wired in, killed the main circuit breaker to my house and fired the generator up. 9000 watts of start up and 7000+ running watts wont run everything, but we were warm, had lights and the food in the freezers and refrigerators was unphased. Electric start is GREAT and any 12v motorcycle battery that fits the tray works fine for that. Auto idle is very nice when using light duty tools and switching it off is perfect for compressors and welders. Would be nice if it had a gas guage and hour meter but not the end of the world that it doesnt. Actually fairly quiet as compared to my old 4000 watt Generac with an 8 HP Briggs in it. Buy with confidence. Great machine!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Powerhorse Portable Generator with Electric Start - 9000 Surge Watts, 7250 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator

,
April 23, 2013
By ctp1
from Virginia Beach, Va
"This generator is fantastic. Starts on the first pull. We got it about a year ago to power the whole house when nor'easters and hurricanes blow though. We also use it to provide power when we are working in remote areas."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.