Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity

Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity

Item# 16620
This Powerhorse chipper/shredder is a great way to quickly turn yard waste into ground cover for gardens or trees. The highly effective cutting mechanism uses 2 hardened chipping knives, 10 hammers and 10 shredding blades. Dual feed use the drop-in shredding hopper for brush and leaves and the dedicated chipper chute for sticks and branches. Not for sale in California. Engine Powerhorse, Rear Wheel Size in. 10, Shredder Yes, Tire Size in. 10, Vacuum No, Max. Cutting Thickness in. 3, Chipper Yes, Engine Type OHV 4-stroke, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.95, HP 7, Material Type Steel, Displacement cc 208, Dimensions L x W x H in. 36 7/32 x 28 11/32 x 55 15/16, Application Chipper/shredder, Max. RPM 3,600. Durable 208cc gas engine with low-oil shutdown for additional engine protection 10in. pneumatic tires roll well over mixed terrain Easily to maneuver with a well-balanced low center of gravity and built-in handle Portable design is easy to load onto a transport vehicle or roll to the work area Dual feed unit with drop-in shredding hopper and chipper chute Highly effective cutting mechanism handles branches up to 3in. in diameter Cutting mechanism uses 2 hardened chipping knives, 10 hammers and 10 shredding blades Heavy flywheel creates the inertia needed to power through all kinds of wood Low discharge chute lets you add mulch directly beneath trees Belt drive for smooth operation and extra engine protection Easy to access dip stick makes checking oil easy
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 of 18(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Review 1 for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine

,
June 26, 2014
By Reaper54911
from Appleton, WI
"This Chipper shredder is a beast! It has turned 2 acres of brush, small trees and a billion leaves into useable mulch. The chipper makes excellent "playground" mulch, really small,fine mulch excellent for home use. The shredder portion turns all those leaves into great mulch for use on gardens or other plantings. The only thing you have to watch is the feed speed when chipping larger branches, 2 inches or bigger and you have to hold the branch back so it doesn't feed too fast or it will jam up."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

REview of my Powerhorse Chipper Shedder

,
May 26, 2014
By mdvs42
from South Carolina
"I had looked at several models of chipper shredders from very expensive to the cheapest and found this model at Northern tool, its not the most expensive nor the cheapest but is a quality tool for the money. i read many review on it, and for the most part were praises on the Powerhorse. The negatives were most in part due to operator error. It was easy to assemble with minor tools and 30 minutes. Put gas and oil in it and fired it up.
It will handle up to 3" limbs (some more expensive models can only go 2") that was plus for me.
The hopper could be designed a bit better, it doesn't want to "feed" material through as good as I would like it to, but works none the less. If your looking for a medium priced quality shredder this one does the job for home, farm cleanup. I would recommend this for the money.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Idiot Tested Tough

,
April 24, 2014
By Bumbler
from Wichita, Ks
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I was shredding Vines and using a 2 by 4 to push them when it fell into the shredder. About a foot or more of the 2x4 was shredded before the engine jammed and stopped. Lucky the belt didn't break or burn up. Took the hopper off and picked all the wood chunks out of the shredder, didn't see anything bent, missing or out of balance. Now I use a cross can't fall in."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOODSMAN

,
March 9, 2014
By PEARLMASTER
from va
"HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR A GOOD CHIPPER FOR A WHILE.DEBATING ON THE RENTAL OR BUYING .PURCHASED THE POWER HORSE. IT WAS EASY TO PUT TOGETHER, MAYBE 20 MIN OR SO. FIRED THAT PUPPY UP, STARTED ON THE FIRST PULL. WAS VERY IMPRESSED WITH THE POWER IT HAS. IT TURNED SAPLINS AND TREE LIMBS INTO CHIPS SO FAST!! AS FAST AS I COULD FEED IT . IT SEEMS TO LIKE THE BIGGER LIMBS THE BEST. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A CHIPPER THATS A BEAST THAN THIS IS THE ONE!! HOPE IT CONTINUES TO PERFORM THE WAY IT HAS, GOT ABOUT 3-4 ACRES TO CLEAR"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Way better than my last chipper

,
February 4, 2014
By TripleDaddy
from Texas
"Great chipper compared to my last one which was a cheaper brand. This one takes the limbs and chips them up with almost no hassles. I did have trouble finding the hardware for the handle when I was assembling it. The bag of bolts and other hardware had fallen into the chipper during shipping and was in the chipping area. I found it the first time I turned it on; it was not a pretty sound. It starts easy and the instructions are good."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This chipper works great.

,
October 2, 2013
By BobInConcord
from Concord, NC
"I lost much or all of four trees during a major wind and rain storm. The damage was so bad that I had to buy a pole saw before I could cut my way into the larger branches where I could safely use a chain saw. I bought this chipper to give it a try figuring if it worked, fine; if not, return it and apply the money against the $1500 a professional company wanted. It works fantastic. I did also need a reciprocating saw to cut the 3" or smaller branches off the larger pieces. This chipper is fun and easy to use. It's a little heavy to drag up hill after several hours of cutting, sawing and chipping. But with this chipper I also saved on buying mulch this fall."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition for a homeowner!

,
July 5, 2013
By SteveInCopperasCoveTX
from Copperas Cove, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Chipper worked excellent for me and chipped up the pile of branches in the pic and another pile in no time at all. Assembly was easy and the engine started on the first pull. No longer will I haul branches and limbs to the curb for the city to pick up."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great chipper!

,
October 11, 2014
By mojan
from saint paul, mn
"The mulcher is useless, but the chipper is top notch. Tears through 3" limbs. Can clog up with too much green limbs covered in leaves. This is probably true of any chipper and not exclusive to this one. A tip for anyone who needs it - the engine has a shutoff for low oil. Took me a good bit of diagnosing when the motor kept intermittently shutting off on me. I took apart the carb and fuel tank before I discovered the low oil shutoff was my problem. Happy chipping!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, not yet great.

,
August 3, 2014
By OldForrester45
from Raleigh, NC
"The side chipper is excellent. The top feed bin is just plain poor. Most brush is made up of twigs that have to be crushed or broken to feed in the side. They can be fed through the top if you feed the thickest end first and listen to the motor speed. If the motor labors, stop and pray. When (not "if") it jams you have to remove 4 bolts to get the bin off and get at the jam. Now you know why there were two 13mm wrenches in the tool kit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fits the bill

,
February 21, 2014
By seojeff
from Marietta, GA
"The Good:
Purchased this shredder to help clear approx 1/2 an acre of privet hedge that has grown up on my property over the years. I was hoping this unit would handle the soft green material and it does so very well. Even handles the hardwood limbs I've been feeding it. So far I'm happy - started on the 3rd pull.
The Bad:
So far the only thing that bugs me about this unit is that I wish the hopper was easier to access in order to clean out. You must remove 6 bolts in order to access the chamber to clean it out if you happen to get a little carried away. That said, if you follow the directions and only put limbs in the grinder and 'brush' in the top you'll be okay. I made the mistake of putting a small limb in the top and that cause the unit to bog down. One other issue - I did try several times to put dead leaves in the top and they didn't feed well. Perhaps I'm doing this wrong but I was afraid of clogging it up again so I stopped.
I considered the 'red brand' but went with this unit because it was available at a better price and I'm pleased. Looking forward to getting back out there tomorrow and grinding up more limbs!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Chipper/shredder

,
February 4, 2014
By Rayray78211
from San Antonio, Texas
"Using it to shred hay for winter use and I trim trees had to burn or take branches to dump. No I chip them for garden mulch"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent value

,
November 3, 2013
By ElvisID
from Georgia
"This is a great chipper/shredder for the money. There are a lot of units that hover around this price point with similar features. However, units that have this size engine and capacity are generally more expensive than this model.
Assembling the unit was easy and straightforward, although I was disappointed that many of the fasteners already had surface rust on them right out of the box. I may replace them with zinc bolts/nuts in the future.
I used it for around 3 hours today and shredded enough to make around 3 bushels of chips, with almost no problems. It kept going and going and taking everything that I threw at it. 3" diameter dry hardwoods to extremely green softwoods all fed and chipped flawlessly. The only time it jammed was my fault and not the chipper's. I used a push stick that was a bit too large to shove some leaves and twigs in the hopper, and it caught and sucked it in, which then jammed.
I will say that getting the jam cleared took 45 minutes. Most of that time was due to the fact that you have to unbolt the entire hopper to clear a jam, and then unbolt the discharge chute and screen to get at the other side. It was a royal pain, but a good enough lesson for me to not let my mistake happen again.
As I said, the unit worked perfectly, but keep in mind that you're buying a unit that's cheaper. The fit of the parts is not really exact and tends to get brute forced with bolts rather than dry fitting like they should.That being said, everything goes together just fine, but you do have to make sure certain parts like the discharge chute and screen are tight to get them to align properly.
Don't mistake this as a professional piece of equipment, but for a homeowner with a wooded acre or two to keep up, this will do a fantastic job. I'm very pleased with the purchase and would buy the same unit again vs a more expensive one with lesser specifications."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Chipper/Shredder

,
May 15, 2012
By lawsclar
from Simpsonville, SC
"This chipper/shredder is a good value with the right balance of cost versus effectiveness. I think you’d be hard pressed to find a better price/performance ratio at any dealer with any brand. With minimal assembly required to get this machine operable you can be up and running in an hour or less. During assembly I did encounter paint clogging the threads where the handle bolted. This was quickly remedied by running an 8mm tap through each hole to clean out the paint. Once assembled moving it to the work location is made easy with the pneumatic tires and the sturdy handle. Just tilt it back and you’re off. The 7 horse engine starts easily and runs surprisingly slower and quieter than expected. I encountered no problems with limbs up to the rated 3 inch capacity being fed into the side chipper. Just feed the larger stuff a bit slower and the chipper will make short work of turning it into mulch. And speaking of mulch, I was pleasantly surprised at how fine the output was. It really makes nice mulch for the gardening enthusiast. Another point worth mentioning is this is a very stable machine. Not once during several hours of continuous use did this machine shift position or tilt. My only issue with the operation of this machine is the top loading mulching hopper. It will clog easily if the input material is not relatively free of short twigs and branches that can turn sideways and prevent gravity from doing its job. Because of this tendency to clog I penalize my rating of this chipper/shredder one star. I’m a picky consumer but feel good about this purchase and have no reservations in recommending this machine to anyone in the market for one. I rate it a strong 4 stars."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+57points
70out of 83found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

excellent but manual needs help

,
August 5, 2011
By ki0z
from st paul,mn
"The unit is very strong and the engine started on the second pull .It runs and sounds like a Honda. very impressed with operation ,very nice small chips. If you intend on being a BIG player in this market you are going to have to fix your manual. nothing shows tire pressure(30psi on the tire.) the assembly even with the addendum sheet in the box ,it still needs a closer look at the manual to assemble it. My rating a 5 but -1 for a poor manual.....! This is a great unit ,and good value....Time will tell the entire picture...My guess ,long and Happy."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Powerhorse chipper

,
June 13, 2011
By Yardworker28786
from Waynesville NC
"This chipper does all it says it will, The motor is easy to start and with 2 pulls it starts right up. It chips all that you put in it.(hardwood takes a little time to chip up so take you time.) build well out and easy to put together, come with tools to do the job. Has lock nuts to make it sure nothing comes apart. Dont over tighing the nuts for the wheels it will break.Over all great product for the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+33points
51out of 69found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Chipper Top, Shredder Flop

,
April 19, 2014
By Ulikiva
from Taylors, SC
"I am currently using this Unit the second Season.
The Engine always starts with the first Pull and runs stabil without any Problems.
The Chipper works great and takes Branches up to the specified Size, dry or fresh, without any Problems. Working with two People, one is preparing and reaching, the second one is feeding the Machine without idle Time is not a Problem. The Unit keeps up and is running stabil.
The Shredder on the other Hand is more or less useless. The Hopper is to high for an average Person to feed the Unit. The Plastic Safety Flap inside of the Hopper is so sturdy, that it needs to be pushed down by Hand to have the Material sliding in to the Shredder. You better use a Stick to do this, but don't have it get caught by the Shredder Wheel. The Results of shredding are poor as well. A good Portion of dry Leaves comes out the same Size it has been put in. I am considering to take the Hopper off and closing the Opening with a Sheetmetal Plate.
As I wrote in the Title already, Chipper Top, Shredder Flop.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dies often

,
March 30, 2014
By JIMROB
from Misouri City Tx
"This unit worked great the first 4 months. Then I started having issues with it dying all the time.At first it started dying after about 10 minutes, would restart and it would last another 10. Now it runs only about 2 minutes and dies again. Was really pleased with it at first, now I'm wondering if it was worth it. Of course it's inexpensive to start with so what should I expect. If you want to use it often and hope it lasts for years, upgrade"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Powerhorse Chipper/Shredder - 208cc Powerhorse OHV Engine, 3in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Works ... BUT

,
May 17, 2013
By JaHHHManiac
from Kingston, Jamaica
"How do you rate a product where the bearings shell out of the wheels on the third use? I built a wooden stand to let the new lawnmower wheels come up off the ground in use. However I notice that the new unit has pneumatic tyres, I truly hope these are an improvement not just a change.
On top of this the unit ceased to operate after 25 hours of use due to using GASAHOL - the small engine repairman said never to use alcohol in these engines but the manual contained not a word of caution!
OK, the price is right, but expect to have to do some serious maintenance on this unit over time unless all you do is shred leaves."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-6points
4out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.