Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002

Item# 166502
The All Power America portable generator comes with a mobility kit for easy maneuverability on the jobsite. Not for sale in California. Customers are responsible for checking local codes and regulations. Surge Watts: 3,500, Rated Watts: 3,000, Start Type: Recoil, Engine Displacement (cc): 196, HP: 6.5, Engine: OHV 4 stroke, Run Time: 9, Receptacles (qty.): 3, Noise Level (dB): 68, Fuel Type: Gas, Fuel Capacity (gal.): 4, Low Oil Shutdown: Yes, Battery Required: No, Battery Included: No, Dimensions L x W x H (in.): 25.83 x 18.33 x 18.70 3500 surge Watts; 3000 rated Watts 6.5 HP OHV 4-stroke engine Two 120V AC outlets One 120/240V locking outlet One 12V DC (8.3A) outlet 25 Amps @ 120V; 12.5 Amps @ 240V 4-gallon fuel tank provides up to 9 hours run time @ 1/2 load Includes mobility kit with 8in. semi pneumatic wheels and handle EPA approved
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (28 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
22 of 28(79%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Review 1 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

All Power America Portable Generator

,
November 16, 2010
By WayneH
from Woodbury, MN
"This is a great generator for the price. Easy to set up and started on the first try.
We had a power outage about a month after purchasing the generator. I was able to run my furnace, refrigerator and most of the lights in the house with ease. While others in the neighborhood were sitting in the cold and dark, I was warm and watching TV!
Not the quietest generator out there, but it works well and is super easy to maneuver."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought to build barn

,
September 1, 2010
By Darryl123
from Raleigh NC
"Starts on first pull ,also very easy to pull. It is very quiet.The only thing I would change is to have a lock on the handle in the up position because when you try to back it up it tries to rool over."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

,
August 30, 2010
By Antonio1
"Easy to take along anywhere! It is not loud and it sure does the work!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Maintenance needed

,
July 6, 2010
By Canyoncamper
from Inez, Texas
"I bought this generator a couple of years ago for a power source at a weekend cabin. I have to say this is one of the most fuel efficient generators I have seen. It will run 12 hours easy on a tank while pulling a 12,000 btu A/C. The down sides of this generator are that it uses oil and all of the mounting bolts have rattled loose. You have to keep tightening them and about every 16 hours add oil. This past weekend the generator just quit running. I finally figured out the there was something wrong with the oil alert switch, so I disconnected it and it started right back up. It runs now, but if it gets low on oil, it could be a problem. Keep an eye on it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

All-power 3002

,
June 18, 2010
By drhal
from Ohio
"A very nice looking generator. Once it was serviced, it started on the second pull. Unfortunately, after 10-15 minutes, the engine stops. It can be started again, but runs another 10-15 minutes and stops again."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
MountainMan2007
Daniel, Wyoming 
 
Please wait while more information about MountainMan2007 is loaded.
Additional information about MountainMan2007 could not be loaded.
Low oxygen sensor problem.
August 28, 2010
"Generators with oxygen sensors will only run for a short period of time indoors or at higher elevations. I have a place in Wyoming at 8,000 foot elevation and can't get anything with an oxygen sensor to run more then a few minutes there. It should run fine outdoors in Ohio."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Generator

,
February 24, 2010
By Troy1950
from Fort Worth
"Purchased 2 years ago for power outage and not used until last week during our 12 and 1/2 inch snow storm in Fort Worth. Started up on the first pull and ran with no problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

3500 heavenly watts

,
February 22, 2010
By dmill
from Spring, TX
"I purchased this generator before hurricane Ike. We were without electrical power for almost three weeks. This little generator saved our lives. We ran it approximately 20 out of 24 hours every day. It only went through about 6 gallons of gas per day. We ran a window mount A/C unit, a refridgerator, four fans, a television and a few lamps. It worked like a champ. The only drawback is that it did use a lot of engine oil and seemed to have an unacceptable amount of crankcase blowby which sucked oil up into the air filter housing. Luckely it had a low oil shutoff switch that helped protect the engine. The pull start pullcord also had issues of not retracting back into the housing after each pull. I had to take this assembly apart multiple times to realign the weghts and springs. However, I would recommend this generator to anyone. For the price range, it held up great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Good Generator for the Mony

,
February 16, 2010
By Stargazer47
from North Georgia
"I purchased this as a backup power supply for our mobile home. It compares very well to the Generac/Honda unit we have at our primary residence. Assembly consists of mounting the handle and wheels on the frame. Took about 20 minutes. Everything else is assembled. Added oil and it started on 3 rd pull. Runs quiet compared to the Generac we use at our other place. I really cant tell any quality difference btw it and much more expensive Honda unit. Gave it a test run and the only thing I would suggest is that you add load in stages. Once I did that it ran 2 refrigerators and the blower on our gas furnace plus lights and TV just fine. You really cant do any better for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable 3500 watts generator

,
October 5, 2009
By Jmannn
from Sugar Land, TX
"This little machine is a fine thing! ....... was at Northern Tool when they brought in six new ones on a pallet....... bought it a week before hurricane Ike hit Houston. Carried it around in the Surburan until the power went off...... assembled it via flashlight, added oil, gas and one pull it ran for ten hours straight.......... changed oil and it ran for another 10 hours....... right out of the box..... since then it has powered everything it was asked to do..... Did trip breaker once powering 32 foot travel trailer with electric skillet, microwave, TV and A/C running.......... a bit over the rated design........ would recommend to anyone wanting a light weight easy to handle power package with wheels......."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth the buck

,
July 21, 2009
By A123
from Chicago
"This little generator packs a punch for the price, it starts easy and run great, I had a 25 cubic ft. refidgeator ,1/3 hp. sup pump, 46 in plasum T.V and dvd player, 16 cubic ft. frezzer, and a couple of 60 watt lights running on this, @ the same time, durring a storm outtage in the rain , I tied an unbrella to it to keep some of the ran off of it , it ran for 36 hr stright befor power can back on. It's small and eazy to move around. I didn't think it could handle the load but it had no problem.** Now hears the bad news, the only problem with this is the handle bracket bent where it connects to the genearator ,when i moved it for the first time. I had to reinforce the mounting so it dident bend anymore. Other that that this bad boy has been working great for the past 3 years, and it's keep in an unheated shed....."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good value with a few flaws

,
July 20, 2009
By gman863
from Houston/Sugar Land, TX
"I bought this last September the day after Hurricane Ike hit Houston. Kudos to Northern Tool for not only opening their store on generator power but bringing in an emergency shipment of generators within hours after the hurricane-force winds subsided.
Given the low price, I had low expectations of only running my refrigerator, a few lights and a fan or two. When I got it home and assembled it, I was pleasently surprised. It started easily, is no louder than my lawn mower and was able to handle all of the following:
-- 25 cubic foot side by side refrigerator
-- 8,000 BTU window a/c
-- 35" TV
-- 4 lamps (flourescent light bulbs) and my notebook PC charger
A five gallon can of gas lasted about 14 hours.
A few words of warning; however:
-- The handle and engine mount bolts loosen easily and can fall off. Use Loctite or other thread sealer when assembling and check for loose bolts on a regular basis.
-- Use fuel stabilizer and start/run it for a few minutes at least once a month. If not, the carb will get gummed up and it will be a pain to start it.
-- DO NOT store the generator on its side! Given its shape this may look like an option - however placing it on its side in storage lets the oil drain out and leaves a huge mess on the garage floor.
For now, I'm happy. I just hope I don't have to use it again anytime soon as a result of another hurricane."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

America Portable Generator - Model # APG3002

,
July 20, 2009
By mahrjh
from Charlotte, NC
"I bought one of these (Model #APG3002) two years ago for use at my Hunt Club.
This generator is the easiest starting (never pulled it more than one time per start) and the quietest (doesn't keep me or others in camp awake) It runs my air conditioner and all my lights with absolutely no problem. It will run all night (8-10 Hours) on less than 4 gallons of gas. I'm seriously thinking about getting another if I can convince my wife I have a real need for it other than just because I like it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great generator

,
July 20, 2009
By boilerguy
from Denver NC
"Great price starts very easy light weight worked great for dry camping. overall good deal"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought to fight the 2009 flood

,
March 27, 2009
By ragtop67firebird
from Moorhead, Minnesota
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Great little generator. I went to the store looking to purchase a smaller (1000W) generator to power my sump pump in the event we lost power during the flood here in North Dakota. After reading some of the literature at the store about power required to operate various equipment we decided to go with this one. Once I got home and assembled it, (comes with a wheel kit), I filled the gas and oil, I tried starting it. It started on the first pull and ran smooth and quite. I now have piece of mind that I have power for my sump pump and many other uses around the house and shop.
It weighs around 100 pounds, my seven year old can pick it up by the handle and wheel it around.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Project Manager

,
March 22, 2009
By Electric
from Rockwall, TX
"Purchased this generator one week ago. I would highly recommend this generator to anybody. You cant beat the price. were using it on a construction site for temporary power to our cordless drill batteries, circular saw and small chipping hamer. It powered all these items at once. It did trip the breaker when the saw bound up on the 2x4 at the very end, other than that its a awesome little generator. Its lite weight, one person can life it into there truck. The tires are small, so I'm going to wield a bracket on the bottom to handle larger nobby tires for the job site right now while we are working in the dirt. TX has very muddy clay soil. Every sticks to everything. Make sure you use the oil specified 10W-30. I purchased a GFCI adapter and a power strip & zipped tied it you the frame for added outlets. Its not that load, the db compared to your garabage disposal."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Portable Generator

,
March 18, 2009
By arkie1
from Arkansas
"I bought this generator after the recent ice storm in Arkansas. They were sold out in my town, so I drove to the Northern tool in Memphis. When I arrived they had it gassed/oiled up and ready to go. It was the display model and had some of the newness (decals and warning stickers) peeling off, but it was a power source. We took it home fired it up and ran it for 6 days only stopping to change the oil. It worked like a champ and runs an honest 10 hours on a tank of gas. At one time we ran a full size fridge/freezer, microwave, tv, entertainment center, and a wood pellet stove. It never missed a beat and started on the second pull everytime. The one thing I don't like is that it will leak fuel from around the cap if it is full and you move it across bumpy ground. Other than that, its great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied

,
February 6, 2009
By 88fan
from Arkansas
"I bought this generator after an ice storm hit our area. I ran it for 5 days straight and the only time it was shut off was to change the oil after the first 15 hrs. or so.
It was quiet and ran flawlessly. I was running a refrigerator, 62" TV, satelitte, blower on my gas heat, lights, and cooking on an electric skillet. I also go to nascar races with my camper and this generator will work great. It proved to me there's no need to spend alot of money to get a good generator.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked great

,
November 18, 2008
By spike80
from Houston
"Worked great after huricane Ike. Used for 17 days. Operated 2 refrigerators, freezer, lights, fans, toaster. Started eazily. Ran 10 -12 hours on a tank of gas."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good gen

,
November 17, 2008
By tracman
from Granbury,Texas
"good gen for price. starts first or second pull. gets job done economically.enuff said..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for All Power America Portable Generator - 3500 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Model# APG3002
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poor response on Warranty Claim

,
November 17, 2008
By HouTexGuy
from Houston, TX
"I bought this generator in the aftermath of Hurricane Ike. It worked very well for me, and I was quite happy with it., for the price. It would stall every hour to two hours, but would start right back up. After my power was restored, I loaned the generator to a friend of a friend who was still without. Those people managed to burn it up - not sure whether it was due to defective equipment or their failure to keep it filled with oil. My problem with All Power America is that I have been unable to contact them on the warranty claim. I have emailed them without response, and have sat on call on their 800 number for at least half an hour."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.