Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i

FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i

Item# 16673
The Honda EU2000I Inverter Generator represents the leading edge of portable power technology. With a lightweight, compact design, this versatile generator provides easy portability for camping, recreation and home backup power. The Honda EU2000I features a smooth-running Honda engine that is reliable and super quiet, producing less noise than a normal conversation. This CARB compliant model meets strict standards and can be sold in California. Engine OHC, Engine Displacement cc 98, Surge Watts 2,000, Start Type Recoil, Rated Watts 1,600, Receptacles qty. 2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 1/8 x 11 2/5 x 16 3/4, Fuel Capacity gal. 1, Fuel Type Gasoline, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Noise Level dB 59, Parallel Ready Yes, Run Time 9 5/8 hrs. @ 1/4 load. Great portability for recreation, camping and home backup power Eco-throttle system provides excellent fuel efficiency by allowing the engine to run only as fast as needed for any given load Inverter technology provides clean, stable power for safely running sensitive electronics Quality Honda 98cc OHC engine provides reliability Two 20 Amp, 120V outlets Electronic ignition and automatic decompression for easy starts Oil Alert shuts down engine when oil level drops too low Super-quiet 53-59dB operation is quieter than normal conversation 2000 surge watts, 1,600 rated watts, 120 Volts Runs 4 to 9.6 hours on single tank Twin 20 Amp, 120V outlets Equipped with circuit breakers, USDA-qualified spark arrestor mufflers and automatic voltage regulators CARB compliant can be sold in California
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (28 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 of 28(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

First On-Line Purchase From Northern Tool

,
July 25, 2014
By Harvmiester
from Fort worth, TX
"Purchase On-line went smoothly even with discount coupon. Unit arrived ahead of schedule and in good shape. It took a few tugs on the pull starter to get fuel up into the carb. After that, it started on the first pull and works great.
Overall a good experience with Northern Tool.
Thanks"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda is the best!

,
June 26, 2014
By Caliduc
from Fresno, CA
"This generator is the best I have ever had. Runs flawlessly and VERY quiet. Very fuel efficient. The generator performed as it should and I couldnt be happier. Honda quality is all I should have to say!!
I ran the unit on and off for two campers for 3 days and it still never needed gas!
I would highly recommend this product.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
June 5, 2014
By RH234
from San Jose, CA
"The Honda EU2000i is a very reliable generator. It is nice and quiet. You can talk near it without needing to shout!! A good steady power output. Each of my 24 service technicians has one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator

,
June 4, 2014
By SRF74
from Colorado
"I use this generator at the race track to run a small compressor, a fan, small electric tools, charge batteries, etc. I used to haul around a 150 pound plus 7K generator that was noisy and way more than I needed. This generator does what I need and is very quite."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything As Expected

,
May 4, 2014
By PhenixCityGuy
from Phenix City, Alabama
"The Honda Generator arrived in perfect condition. Soon after it arrived our electricity went out. I poured in fuel and oil and it started right up. The only issue was with pouring in oil. I'll need to use a funnel with a hose and release next time. Otherwise, I found it easy to use and very quite. I plan on using it for backup power for our refrigerator during power outages, and for camping."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It just hums away

,
February 25, 2014
By ColUSAF
from Columbia, MD
"This tiny generator is the Rolls Royce of small, liftable, electronic friendly 4-stroke gas powered electric generators. You can add an accessory box and put two of these on-line together to nearly double capacity, and you can add a bigger gas tank accessory for longer runs. It just works. Remember to change the oil when needed. This generator is a work horse, and you can run it every day. It is especially useful for computers, TV, amateur radio, and camping. Use as an emergency backup to supply necessary electricity for your natural gas furnace blower, gas stove, and water heater (you need to have an electrician wire a disconnect panel if you use it with house wiring)."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-9points
16out of 41found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best

,
February 4, 2014
By CM2010
from Long Island, NY
"Plain and simple, this generator gives quiet, dependable, reliable performance when you need it most. The signal is clean and you get over 10 hours runtime on a tank of gas. After being without power for 10 days, and gas being unavailable this became critical.
Highly Recommended."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda generator

,
February 4, 2014
By Kenmjohn
from Oak Park, Mn 56357
"This a very good generator for small jobs. It starts easy and is light to carry. It is quiet and convenient to use. I can put it in the back of my pickup and have electricity any where I can drive. I have also put it in the loader bucket of the tractor to take to where it was needed. I have used it in power outages for my house. It can power the basic things to keep the house going, like the sump pump, furnace, freezer and refrigerator. They are on the same side of the circuitry."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda Inverter Generator

,
February 4, 2014
By BrotherDave
from North Carolina
"Superior product, well made and very quiet. Great for tailgating. As usual, store personnel were very knowledgable and helpful when picking this out."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

honda tuff

,
February 4, 2014
By hoofit99
from Glenwood, Wa.
"Worth the money, super quiet. Weve been using this generater for 2 years now on a daily basis and it hasn't even hicuped. Sometimes as much as 8 to 10 hours a day 7 days a week. Starts on the first pull even in freezing weather. Seriously."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As expected

,
February 4, 2014
By PG123
from Richmond, VA
"Runs like a champ. Fuel efficient, quiet, 10 hours on single tank. Must have for camping and tailgating.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Quality, Quiet, Portable generator

,
February 4, 2014
By scoglo
from Norfolk, Va
"Best on the market...... would recommend for anyone that needs electric power at the job site, camp site or home. This thing is so quiet I've had people walk into a campsite and ask where to get the battery powered fan and TV..... I also show them my refrigerator before I point out the generator. Excellent buy!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Generator

,
February 4, 2014
By samsun
from NC
"Works great with camper and during power outages! Would definitely recommend this product"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda 2000i

,
October 23, 2013
By Olderguy
from On the ranch, Texas
"You can't go wrong with this little workhorse! Being without power on the ranch is not an option. Although I have propane, diesel, and larger gasoline generators, the 2000i gets the most workout. From powering lights to work cattle at night to running hand tools for repairs in the field this quiet and portable generator has so many uses they're impossible to list. Even quiet enough to make a pot of coffee while we sit around the campfire to share some lies and enjoy the cowboy TV."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enclosure Solution

,
September 28, 2013
By Pennypinch
from Scranton PA
"I just want to inform buyers of this portable gen set that I found a very affordable way to store the generator. After very carefully measuring Quantum storage containers I found Northerm Item #278589 container fits this generator almost perfectly. The container is sturdy enough & will protect the generator from scratches in transpot & safe in storage. Other than the container lid (almost closes) the generator fits otherwise very nicely."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

genator

,
September 17, 2013
By Rick69
from pa
"this geniator was the best piece ofequip ipurchased last year your could not ask for a better mechine"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-5points
7out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hey... It's a HONDA!

,
September 17, 2013
By JRPhilly
from Philadelphia, PA
"I purchased this EU2000I and the "Companion" version so I could power my Travel Trailer with enough wattage to run the A/C. The two combined seem to handle the 30-amp service requirement well.
These are EXTREMELY quiet... for generators! I've never owned a BIGGER Honda, but I've heard the EU3000 and the EU6500 running, and I think those are a little quieter. Maybe it's something to do with the deeper tone of the bigger motor? Either way, you're not going to find many generators in this size/output that are much quieter.
I can't decide what impresses me most, though... the portability or the fuel efficiency. They're light enough for me to carry one in each hand and actually cover some distance. I used to DREAD moving my little 1800 Watt Coleman generator... It feels like it weighs more than two EU2000's combined!
Efficiency - I've yet to run either dry of fuel, but I'm always surprised at how little is required to top-off after a few hours of use. Plus, I have the option of running only one of the units when I don't need the A/C, or when running other, less power-hungry appliances.
My only advice for a new owner is to get in the habit of checking/changing oil often... Especially at first. Yes, these little Honda motors are the best, but they do use oil over time and the quality of any engine is only as good as the quality (and quantity) of the oil that's lubricating it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Expensive but worth it

,
September 17, 2013
By Timber50
from Arkansas
"I bought my Honda eu2000 generator, 10 or so years ago from Northern. Still starts easily, two people can stand, with the generator between them, and carry on a conversation, just talking normally, that's how quiet it is. Holds about one gallon of gas, and will run for six hours easily, idles down with no load to conserve fuel. can carry it one handed. And the best part, I got offered $800 for it recently. I mainly use it camping, and on my farm. Don't let the initial cost hold you back on this one,"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for everything

,
September 17, 2013
By kidd1timer
from Mantua,NJ
"I have been wanting to buy a generator for some time and finally justified it with "Superstorm Sandy". We had to use it for only a few hours after the storm. It is super quiet, starts easy, and doesn't take up a lot of space. I am using now for camping and to power a large shed(instead of running electric to it). Looking back..I should have bought the EU2000i companion just in case?"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU Series Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little Giant

,
September 17, 2013
By itsmenita66
from Spotsylvania, VA
"We have used this generator on many occasions when the power is out. It has absolutely no trouble powering many things at once in the house. We can run the refrigerator, coffee maker, tv, cable box and several lights, all at the same time. I have even used it to power a portable electric fireplace and it does this with no problem. I love this little Giant. It is also light and portable enough to move with ease."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.