Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"

"FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"

Item# 16673
"The Honda EU2000I Portable Inverter Generator represents the leading edge of portable power technology. With a lightweight, compact design, this versatile generator provides easy portability for camping, recreation and home backup power. The Honda EU2000I features a smooth-running Honda engine that is reliable and super quiet, producing less noise than a normal conversation. This CARB compliant model meets strict standards and can be sold in California. Engine Displacement cc 98, Start Type Recoil, Noise Level dB 59, Fuel Capacity gal. 1, Surge Watts 2,000, Receptacles qty. 2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 1/8 x 11 2/5 x 16 3/4, Rated Watts 1,600, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Parallel Ready Yes, Fuel Type Gasoline, Run Time 9 5/8 hrs. @ 1/4 load, Engine OHC. Great portability for recreation, camping and home backup power Eco-throttle system provides excellent fuel efficiency by allowing the engine to run only as fast as needed for any given load Inverter technology provides clean, stable power for safely running sensitive electronics Quality Honda 98cc OHC engine provides reliability Two 20 Amp, 120V outlets Electronic ignition and automatic decompression for easy starts Oil Alert shuts down engine when oil level drops too low Super-quiet 53-59dB operation is quieter than normal conversation 2000 surge watts, 1,600 rated watts, 120 Volts Runs 4 to 9.6 hours on single tank Twin 20 Amp, 120V outlets Equipped with circuit breakers, USDA-qualified spark arrestor mufflers and automatic voltage regulators CARB compliant can be sold in California"
Average Customer Rating:
4.964 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (56 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
56 of 56(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet and Easy to Transport

,
June 5, 2015
By RaceGuy
from St. Louis, MO
" Setup of the generator was fast and easy. Just needed to add oil and gas. Careful when topping off the oil as it is easy to spill, but Honda did think ahead and there is a little tray to catch any overflow. Generator started up with just a couple pulls the first time. Nearly every time after one pull was enough to get it started.
The generator is fairly light and easy to move around. I primarily use this generator for motorcycle track days. I am using it to run tire warmers (~1000 watts), multiple electronic devices, fans, etc... It is very quiet and the eco mode is fantastic. When there are large draws on the power you can hear it, but you can still have a normal conversation close to the generator. When the draw on power is reduced and it is on eco mode it automatically throttles itself back to were you may forget that it is running. Over the two days of use at light to medium power usage it only burned up 1 1/2 gallons of gas. This generator replaced a Champion 3500 that took up much more space in the trailer and was very noisy. The dB levels were the main driver for the purchase as the old generator was so loud it was hard to have conversations while it was running. So much so that I would have to constantly turn it off just to get some quiet. With the Honda I just let the thing run all day. Fellow riders near us are thankful for the new generator as well.
I would definitely recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda Generator

,
May 20, 2015
By rbrown0040
from Madison, AL
" Great generator. Quiet, starts easy. Worth the $. Honda jiust needs to improve the oil input and oil drain system. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda Generator

,
May 20, 2015
By Anonymous
from Flroida
" My old generator was a Honda and it still worked but it was a little load. I am So pleased with is new one.
Thank you so much for a fast delivery and awesome service.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's a Honda man!

,
April 22, 2015
By Buildyourownhome
from PA
" This is definitely the Cadillac of portable generators. It's light weight, quiet, efficient and produces clean power you can run your electronics safely with. Purchased it recently but I am hoping it will serve me well for the years to come with proper care and maintenance.
It is always a good practice to check the oil level before you pull that cord, right? If you agree do not go near the generator without a screwdriver; Because you won't be able to reach the dipstick without removing the plastic cover.
Also adding and draining oil is a hassle since access is so nicely tucked underneath everything. I understand there are aftermarket extension spouts you can purchase, will give that a try.
Otherwise, would have easily given 5 stars. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Water in Gas

,
April 15, 2015
By TxColdBrew2
from Cleburne, TX
" I have 4 honda generators; 3000i and three 2000i. I purchased two of the 2000i's last year and had both in the shop for not running within 60 days. If a honda won't start on the second pull, something is wrong with it and when they wont start at all, something is really wrong with it. I have never had a problem with my older 2000i. it was determined that there was water in the gas tanks on the new ones preventing them from starting/running. After a close look, the gas caps vent on the bottom through some small holes. When the cap is on, it is very close to the rubber overfill containment ring around the cap, this area holds water and when the generator is running, it sucks the water into the tank. Eventually it sucks enough water in where the generator will quit running. Bad design by honda when they changed the gas cap design. The old caps was smaller and didn't have the over tighten protection like the new ones do. I have had my older one for 5 years with no issues, then 2 newer ones are always getting water in them because when you are using them, they are not always out of the weather. Love honda products and love these generators but the cap design isn't a good one. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the extra money for a Honda

,
April 14, 2015
By sandbgrgirl
from NC
" We were looking for an inverter generator to run some sensitive electronic equipment and needed one that was super quiet to boot. We knew that Honda would be the best choice, but were hesitant to pay the higher price when there were other inverter generators on the market for about half the price. After trying out a Ryobi with comparable specs, we promptly returned the Ryobi and bought the Honda. The Honda starts easily, purrs like a kitten, is super quiet and keeps our equipment running without any issues or hiccups. We couldn't be happier that we spent the extra money and went with the Honda. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Total Reliability

,
April 6, 2015
By JNHunter
from Gray, ME
" I have been using these generators as rentals for years for personal and business applications and they have never once failed or broken down. They are incredibly easy to start and maintain and run most of the day on one tank of fuel under light loads. Saw the great deal on this Site and finally decided to buy one! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda EU2000i. Quiet and a One-Pull-Wonder!

,
February 23, 2015
By GKdeSoCal
from Tustin Ranch, CA
" Finally! I got to use the Honda EU2000i generator at a state beach campground here in SoCal that didn't have hook-ups. We went trailer camping with a bunch of other friends with their trailers and they were amazed how quiet this thing is in Eco Mode! I left in this mode all day and only a couple times did it have to kick in to supply a little more power. It kept the 12v system charged through the night. We spent the better of three nights camping in our trailer and I didn't even use 2 gallons of gas. I'm glad I spent the extra moola for this Honda gem! My one and only gripe is for what it costs, they should include the fairly cheap 12v charging cord. I bought an inexpensive 2 stroke gen (small, but loud) a few years ago and it came with a cord that is actually better than the Honda version! Go figure... "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Should have bought years ago.

,
February 9, 2015
By G73759
from Medford, OK
" The small size does not keep the unit from doing the job. Bought for a specific need but have used it for several projects since. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda generator

,
January 29, 2015
By james21
from memphis TN
" Product is lightweight and should be great for camping trips and sporting events. All my other Honda products have been of excellent quality and see no reason for this to be different. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-7points
4out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda

,
January 17, 2015
By Dari
from Chillicothe, Il
" Great alternative to a big heavy generator. Easy to move around. Runs quite. This thing has many uses. Would recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

We can stay warm in power outage.

,
January 1, 2015
By 1PapaJim
from PA
" We will stay warm even if the power goes out. This generator is able to power both of my boilers, blower fan, circulating pumps, some lights and enough left to run the Computer and TV. The water pump is too much with everything else on but can run the water pump by itself when needed. Will consider the companion to piggyback in the future. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not a hitch.

,
December 24, 2014
By steelbreed
from virginia
" The order was handled perfectly, shipping was timely,
the product was just as advertised. And instructions were complete and thorough, easy to understand. Started on second pull after filling the tank. Couldn't be happier. With the product or the service.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for me

,
December 24, 2014
By diffin
from up of michigan
" I have this setup to provide backup power to my home heating system (boiler) and feel very much at ease. The generator is easy to start and operate. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Engineered and built to last

,
December 18, 2014
By sactownjazz
from Sacramento, CA
" The Honda Inverter/Generator is well worth the extra $$. I have two and both have been converted to run on Natural Gas, Propane or Gasoline. I also put a electro mechanical timer to track when I should change the oil. Don't forget a high amp diode to prevent 12V back feed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great everyday use

,
December 6, 2014
By Steve413
from Kentucky
" I purchased this to supplement my larger generator when I did not need as much power. Very handy to take to the farm for all of the small jobs. Works great, as I knew it would. We use the at our volunteer fire department and they always preform and are unbelievably reliable. Best price you'll find at Northern. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
November 21, 2014
By EthanF
from West Jordan, UT
" Bought this to run my air compressor for on site work. Its so quiet!!! A plus that I wasn't shopping for. Its powerful enough to run my compressor and many chargers for drills etc. I can use to run my whole trailer with lights, tv, microwave. Works wonders, is fuel efficient, and quiet. Highly recommend to anyone looking for reliable energy!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
November 17, 2014
By damdfw
from Dallas, TX
" I love this Generator. It is quite and just what I needed for around the hunting lease. Northern tool has a great price and it was quickly delivered. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet and starts every time

,
November 16, 2014
By camaroz28
from Wisconsin
" I purchased this generator to provide backup power to my furnace during the winter, and my freezer during the summer months. I purchased a furnace transfer switch from Northern Tool and this generator provides plenty of power for the task. I have owned other cheaper brands, but they were much louder, and were not very reliable. The Honda seems to be a much better machine, you get what you pay for. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000 Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000i"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

20,000 running hours on my 8 year old Honda

,
November 13, 2014
By CabinLiving
from Ohio
" I purchased a Honda EU2000i generator from Northern Tool about 8 years ago. I run it about 50 hours a week, every week, for the last 8 years. So I guess mine has about 20,000 hours on it by now. The only thing I've done to it is change the oil regularly, clean the air filter once in a while and I had to replace the pull cord about 3 years ago because it snapped. Mine runs about 10 hours on a gallon of gas.
This week it's been making a strange noise and blowing a lot of blue smoke out when starting. I've ordered a new one from Northern Tool today. Hope it gets here before my old one dies.
If my generator was a car that ran for 20,000 hours traveling at a speed of 50 miles an hour, the car would have 1 Million miles on it's odometer. That why I'm buying another one.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.