Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156

Item# 16687
This Sunforce 60 LED motion light can light any dark area and add extra security using the power of the sun. The amorphous solar panel charges no matter what the lighting conditions are, so the light works almost anywhere. Power Source Solar, Battery Type Ni-MH, Battery Required Yes included, Light Color LED, Battery Included Yes, Lights Included qty. Yes 1 60 LED, Application Outdoor, Solar Panel Wattage 1, Light Type LED, Dimensions L x W x H in. 8.85 x 5.7 x 8.1, Bulbs qty. 60. Provides security in dark areas 1W, 6V amorphous solar panel charges in all daylight conditions ABS plastic and aluminum housing materials provide added durability No main power or wiring required for easy installation 1 x 5 Pack of AA Ni-Mh rechargeable batteries included 60 super-bright LEDs Lumen output 850 8-hr. runtime
Average Customer Rating:
4.383 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (47 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
43 of 47(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Review 1 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great light

,
February 13, 2014
By grochef
from Seattle Area
"I mounted this beauty on our chicken coop, since it was much easier than running power from the house and across an undocumented propane line.
The light is nice and bright, allowing us to do whatever is needed (locking the chickens in for the night, adding food in the morning) during the VERY short hours of winter daylight in this area.
I think I may need to buy 1000 more!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Light

,
February 7, 2014
By bombard
from San Antonio, TX
"Got 3 of these for extra security, seem to be working well after a couple of weeks"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sunforce Solar

,
February 4, 2014
By txhammer
from Oxford,NC
"This is a great light and the price is right too! Works well and is great for security. I like the fact I can walk out to my shed and before I get with in 75 feet Pow the light comes on and does a good Job! I have bought a total of 4 and love em."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well built product, good illumination

,
February 4, 2014
By GoGreenBuyer
from Bucks County PA
"This is a solid product that works as advertised. Getting the settings the way you like them may take a little tuning over time, ie. when it comes on, how sensitive, etc. but it's really nice to have so much control. The light itself is very bright and works flawlessly. I use it at the end of our long driveway, attached to a tree back off the driveway a bit. When someone enters, it comes on. Helpful for taking garbage out and letting strangers know we may be looking."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Had them 15 months

,
February 4, 2014
By mewaters35
from Americus Georgia
"As stated I have had them for about 15 months, they light up about 50 yards out, I have bought 4 of these and the only things that I have had problems with are, VERY heavy rain has caused one of them to not work but after it dried out it continues to work well. Another one had about 3 led's out when I got it but it continues to work well with 57. I am planning on getting at least 4 more to put around my property lines, They work well at scaring off pest and other peoples dogs, and I have done nothing as far as maintenance. awesome product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar Light

,
February 4, 2014
By BB1234
from OKC
"Works Great in yard in rural setting -rain or shine or snow."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great light

,
September 18, 2013
By RCMO
from Missouri
"Used light for standalone carport where no power available. Lights up area under carport like daylight. Surprised me how bright it was. I Had another light previously that was not led and didn't illuminate area as well. Buy and you will like it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
13out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar security

,
September 17, 2013
By heckynorma
from dfw,Texas
"this light blinds you that's a great plus when using as security light for dark areas like back doors and alleys scares away stray animals and would be thieves and all with solar power remember to charge two days before use great buy for the price have two works awesome !"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am buying another one

,
September 12, 2013
By E4TA
from Crossville, IL
"Right now.....using them to light up my outside riding arena. Will probably buy more later. Will see how they hold up."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lights well

,
July 29, 2013
By 1651968512651651
from yucca Valley
"Lights a large area. Installed and charged a week Doing good so far."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

,
July 15, 2013
By RydersPa
from Smithville, AR
"I needed light for the back of my garage and it was going to cost over $100 to wire an outside light. Ordered one this spring and it worked great. Lots of light and simple to install. I just ordered 2 more for our patio. Great Product at a great price!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works!

,
June 20, 2013
By butterflybush
from SC
"I placed this light above my garage. My neighbors came home late at night and my light went on. Great sensitivity. It is not overly bright but then again I don't expect it to light up the neighborhood at that price. However, it does light up enough to cover my driveway. It didn't even charge a full day yet it was working. Furthermore, it was easy to install. The wire from panel to light is long."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Motion LIght?

,
June 4, 2013
By HDE1
from NY
"After installing light, I found that it could not be adjusted to turn on only at night. It turns on all the time!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-19points
7out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just got my 2nd one

,
April 27, 2013
By Axl24
from Ft Worth, TX
"I put my first one of these on the end of my house where there was no lighting or easily accessible wiring. I was so pleased with the performance, that I purchased a second one to replace a competitor's product on the back of my house, when theirs failed all too soon."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great lighting product

,
April 24, 2013
By Jeffbo57
from Northwest Washington State
"I needed a light on the side of my house next to a woodlot where I had no light previously...This light really does the trick...Nice sized light and a pretty big solar panel as well...easily mounts practically anywhere you can drive a screw (included) and has several settings for sensitivity, running time, etc....the sensor eye can even be moved around so it can see in areas where the light is not aimed...I'm getting another soon..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lot of light

,
April 6, 2013
By Patella
from Mobile, AL
"I have had several of these and they are really bright compared to other lights I have used. I live on about 20 acres and it is too much to run cable to all areas so I have used these to get light to remote areas. I had one that came on in the daytime no matter what the setting. Northern was good about the replacement but I made the mistake of waiting too long to install it and the total warranty ran out. I still felt that they were fair and responsive in dealing with the problem. For the price this light is really good."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
March 19, 2013
By StefanNY
from Saratoga, NY
"I tried more expensive solar spotlights and was never satisfied, so I was skeptical about the performance of the SUNFORCE because of its low price. I mounted the light on a shed that I do not have power to, and it works great. After tweaking the controls over a few nights I have the light working flawlessly. The manufacturer was also pleasant to deal with. I broke the solar panel mount, and they are sending me out a replacement free of charge. Great product. I plan on buying a few more of them to light up other areas on my property"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

sunforce solar light 60 led

,
January 29, 2013
By gerry21
from florida
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"i mounted the sunforce motion 60 led light to the side of the house and it works perfectly. it gives me the right amount of light that i am satisfy with. also somehow the wire came loose from the light and my son with the lawn mower cut the wire. i thank the company sunforce for sending me out of courtesy a new solar panel. i also thank northern tool for dealing with honest and reputable companies."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Initial Review

,
November 13, 2012
By CdrCGRet
from Southwest NH
"I ordered the product after reading all the reviews and it arrived promptly. My current installation (not pretty the way my wife would like it) has the unit so that it will light part of my driveway as well as the entrance to the house. At night the direction of the motion sensor and the sensitivity is set so the light will come on when pulling in the driveway or walking out the front door, but not when a car is driving down the road. In the 2 months I've owned it, this unit has met all my expectations. The light is bright enough to provide adequate light for the driveway (my wife's desire) and triggers when I desire it to. I have not yet seen any LEDs burn out. I plan to purchase a second unit to place at the end of my driveway shining toward the house to provide additional lighting. For me, the ability to place this where I want to without running wires is a definite bonus. I do have the current unit in a location where it gets 4-5 hours of direct sunlight right now. I'll be monitoring it during the coming winter to see how it holds up."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sunforce Solar Motion Light - 60 LED, Model# 82156
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar garage light

,
October 16, 2012
By SoCo7
from Minneapolis, MN
"My wife wanted a motion activated light just inside the garage that would turn on when she stepped through the door. I didn't have access to any power, but there is a window not to far away that I was able to run the solar panel quite a distance away from the light.
Easy to install, works great and the adjustable time the light stays on is great to have enough light to get to the garbage cans or the workbench and back inside before the light turns off."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.