Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP6500E Portable Generator - 8125 Surge Watts, 6500 Rated Watts, Model# 5941

FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP6500E Portable Generator - 8125 Surge Watts, 6500 Rated Watts, Model# 5941

Item# 167220
This Generac GP6500E Portable Generator is easy to use in a variety of applications and offers affordable reliability. The 389cc Generac OHV engine has electric start with battery included. 6.8 gallon steel fuel tank with fuel gauge gives you 10 hours run time at 50. Hardened steel tube cradle folding, lockable handles. Low tone muffler low oil shutdown. Circuit breaker protected outlets. 9 1/2in. solid wheels let you bring the power anywhere. Start Type Electric w/recoil backup, Battery Included Yes, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Rated Watts 6,500, Run Time 10 hrs. at 50, Surge Watts 8,125, Battery Required Yes, Receptacles qty. 5, Fuel Capacity gal. 6.8, Engine Generac OHV, Fuel Type Gasoline, Dimensions L x W x H in. 28 3/4 x 26 3/4 x 25, Engine Displacement cc 389. Four 20 Amp 120V receptacles, one 30 Amp 120/240V locking plug receptacle
Average Customer Rating:
4.789 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(128 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (128 reviews)
5 stars
102
4 stars
25
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
126 of 127(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP6500E Portable Generator - 8125 Surge Watts, 6500 Rated Watts, Model# 5941
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP6500E Portable Generator - 8125 Surge Watts, 6500 Rated Watts, Model# 5941
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great generator

,
February 4, 2014
By dal2011
from stonington, ct
"Great generator to have for piece of mind. A dependable unit which is efficient on gas. Smooth running and easy to start. I do recommend using a gas additive for stabilizing the alcohol content of today's gas. Built solid and easy to move around with the wheel and handle kit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP6500E Portable Generator - 8125 Surge Watts, 6500 Rated Watts, Model# 5941
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac GP6500E Portable Generator Best Generator

,
February 4, 2014
By Gary59
from Fairbanks, Indiana
"I purchased the Generac GP6500E two years ago after a winter power outage. Since then I have had 4 outages. I can not speak highly enough for the reliability of the generator. Not only do I rely on the generator for power outages, I also use the generator wherever power is not available such as camping, remote sites for building. The price is very resonable. The best way to describe this generator is well built, rugged, reliable, which creates ease of mind. I will recommend this product to anyone that is looking for a generator."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP6500E Portable Generator - 8125 Surge Watts, 6500 Rated Watts, Model# 5941
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Portable Generator

,
October 15, 2012
By philyk9
from Niangua, MO
"I have had this generator for a while now and used it a few times. Power outages, welding, Running a well, cutting metal with a saw saw. Easy set up, starts everytime with the electrical start. But the pull start works well too. Pretty good on fuel consumption and the breakers on the generator work very good. For the power ease and dependability, the price is excellent. Only reason for not 5 stars is the wire to the electric start was cut clean before I even opened the box. Poor packing maybe? I simple wire jump and it works fine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP6500E Portable Generator - 8125 Surge Watts, 6500 Rated Watts, Model# 5941
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac 6500E Generator

,
October 8, 2012
By devious
from Swisher, Iowa
"Was very happy the way the shipping company called to tell when they would deliver. Have now used this generator to power an RV and now I have a transfer switch wired into my house to run 5 circuits including the water well. Works just super. This will be a relief this winter because we have alot of power shortages."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP6500E Portable Generator - 8125 Surge Watts, 6500 Rated Watts, Model# 5941
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

First impressions

,
July 22, 2012
By Bassmonkey
from Central NH
"Haven't run the generator yet, but wanted to give my first impressions, and update them when I do have to use the unit.
First, the buying experience with Northern Tool was excellent, as was the freight delivery, which was on time, and the delivery man was very helpful and friendly.
The generator arrived in good condition, and I read through the manual immediately after unpacking and before assembling. The wheel and handle kit attach easily with wrenches. Easy battery attachment with this electric-start model. The battery is supposed to be charged, but I haven't started the generator yet to check - it comes with a charging cord.
One reason I haven't started it is that the manual specifies different motor oil weights for different temperature ranges, and I don't know when I'll need to run the thing. Also, the bottle of oil that comes with the unit does not specify it's weight, so I can't tell if I have 10W-30, straight 30W, or 5W-30 synthetic. A simple addition to the label on the oil bottle is needed.
Another minor disappointment: the manual states that the generator must be grounded via a 10-gauge stranded cable to a brass or copper grounding rod inserted into the ground. But the generator does not come with the cable. I haven't been able to find one available for sale on any web site I've checked, or by running a Google search. It's a pretty simple thing to make yourself out of the proper gauge cable and a suitable grounding rod (which I already have in a convenient location), but why the unit does not come with this necessary cable is beyond me.
Overall, I'm impressed with the attention to detail on this generator. The wheels are fairly cheap plastic, but should be enough to move the unit around and last a long time. i'm glad to avoid pneumatic tires, after having several wheel barrow and snowthrower tires go flat and need Tire Slime to again hold air. No metal touches the ground, only rubber and plastic, so corrosion issues should be minimized. the motor sits on rubber mounts on the frame, so vibration should be limited. Easy access to the oil drain and add points. But the manual directs the user to attach the battery charge cable to the top of the gas tank - beware that the proper charge point is one the front control panel under the start/stop switch.
Hope to update this review soon after testing the generator."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP6500E Portable Generator - 8125 Surge Watts, 6500 Rated Watts, Model# 5941
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac 6500e

,
January 17, 2012
By OLIVEROC3
from Leeds NY
"Recieved my generator in excellant condition,took all of 20 min. to assemble.I used it on a job in 5 deg.f weather for 3 days.It cranked very slow off of the batt but did start and ran all day every day with no problems.It is fairly quiet for its size and seemed to be pretty good on fuel.I would reccomend this model to any one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP6500E Portable Generator - 8125 Surge Watts, 6500 Rated Watts, Model# 5941
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

should of bought awhile ago

,
January 12, 2012
By gigman
from worcester, ma
"have a 10 year old generator which worked really well but showing its age. i decided to purchase a generac after much research for backup, but after our last storm and the headache of apx 25 pulls i broke out the new generac. now my wife will even start it and the old beast is now collecting dust"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP6500E Portable Generator - 8125 Surge Watts, 6500 Rated Watts, Model# 5941
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator

,
October 17, 2011
By ArkansasTraveler
from Arkansas
"A bad winter storm knocked out the power to our home. I hooked up this generator and ran my whole house 24/7 for three weeks without a glitch. I only shut it down to refuel and to change the oil as recommended. It ran my gas heat, coffee pot, TV and a few lights all at the same time. If this one ever quits, I'll buy another Generac for sure!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+34points
40out of 46found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
BjJr
texas 
 
Please wait while more information about BjJr is loaded.
Additional information about BjJr could not be loaded.
Would buy another brand
January 25, 2012
"Do yourself a favor and avoid this brand as they will not support their product. I purchased a generac generator because it was highly recommended by a friend. It arrived in an un-damaged box strapped to a wooden pallet but when I started to assemble it I noticed damage to the starter housing. When I contacted generac they had me take it to one of their service centers, they informed me that if the repair wasn’t approved by the manufacturer that I would be charged, needless to say this concerned and infuriated me. When I contacted generac again they tried to blame the shipper for the damage and told me that it would depend on what the repair shop said. After the service center examined the generator and agreed that the damage had to have occurred prior to being packaged and shipped generac still refused to repair the generator. It hasn’t run and hasn’t even had fluid in it; and they refuse to make it operational. They say that I have to go through the shipper to get it repaired. Well it’s going back to generac and I will be buying another brand, maybe a Briggs and Stratton. They don’t even seem to care that they will be losing a customer. So do yourself a favor and avoid this brand as they will not support their product."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)