Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"

"FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"

Item# 167222
"This Generac GP7500E Portable Generator is easy to use in a variety of applications and offers affordable reliability. The 420cc Generac OHV engine has electric start and includes the required battery. 7.5 gallon steel fuel tank with fuel gauge gives you 12 hours run time at 50. Hardened steel tube cradle folding, lockable handles. Low tone muffler low oil shutdown. Circuit breaker protected outlets. 9 1/2in. solid wheels let you bring the power anywhere. Not available for sale in CA. Battery Included Yes, Battery Required Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 30 x 24 x 26 1/2, Engine Generac OHV, Engine Displacement cc 420, Fuel Type Gasoline, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Rated Watts 7,500, Receptacles qty. 5, Surge Watts 9,375, Fuel Capacity gal. 7.5, Run Time 12 hrs. @ 1/2 load, Start Type Electric, recoil backup."
Average Customer Rating:
4.759 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(253 Reviews) 253
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (253 reviews)
5 stars
204
4 stars
41
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
2
246 of 251(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Product

,
October 12, 2014
By Typical10
from Texas
"I bought this generator to power my travel trailer in remote areas. When I received the unit it was easy to unpack and put together. Once the wheels were on and the battery was hooked up, I put oil and gas in it and it fired right up. The following week I put it to use on a three day camping trip on the Texas coast. I ran it for 55hrs straight only turning it off to refuel. It did not disappoint and worked as intended. I ran the AC in my 32 ft travel trailer the whole time without a hitch. I am very happy with my decision to buy this product. I would have given it five stars if not for the noise. It was a little louder than I anticipated but nothing I cant deal with. I will probably make an insulated container to quite it down."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As advertised so far!

,
June 20, 2014
By DPB71
from Northwest, NJ
"Arrived in good condition. Directions made it easy to put together. Added oil, hooked up battery, added gas and it fired right up! Plugs right into my house and runs everything."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac Inspires Confidence

,
June 2, 2014
By 1bobbyz
from Medina, Mn
"Upon reciept of my Generac Generator I was immediatlly impressed with the Quality of construction and the engineering that went into it that makes assembly and use very easy. The little assembly that was neccesary was accomplished in 15 minutes and it started without a hitch.
I have great confidence that my generator will perform when called upon and I would recommend this generator to anyone without reservation.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad and Upset !!!!

,
April 20, 2014
By Skip78
from Maple Plain MN
"Put it together and hooked up to a transfer switch that came from northern tool. The generator did not put out power at all!! Had my father in law who is a lineman checked it out. Very very upset with this generator!!!! Now i have to take it to a Acme repair place witch is a low star ratting for repairing stuff. Not a happy camper at all with this! But still hopping for the best Northern is a great place to shop!!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac Generator

,
February 5, 2014
By PB001
from Ortonville, MI
"The Generac came a promised. Shipped on Time. Driver helped me unload, setup very easy. Would recommend to anyone!!! Even got a follow-up call!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

power is back on

,
February 4, 2014
By Shaatl
from Eastern Kansas
"Have an "all electric" house. After a two day outage in the winter, I had to do something. Northern had the perfect answer. The Generac has the power to keep the house warm and cookin'. Had double throw switch installed to protect the linemen. Have had to use it several time since, always starts easy and runs great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac GP7500E

,
December 2, 2013
By MDH3
from Rochester, NY
"Received the generator in perfect condition. Filled it with oil and fuel. The supplied battery had more than enough power to start it immediately. Runs smooth. I have another generator (5500 watt) that was twice the price and the GP7500 is no louder. This generator is priced well below most other brands in it's size class. The electric start is a great feature.
I can easily power my whole house including a 3/4 hp well pump, fridge, boiler and All the lights. The power output is steady and fairly clean. I run a UPS on my home entertainment system just to protect it but it is probably not needed with this generator.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hurricane Sandy

,
November 7, 2012
By DFB433
from New Jersey shore
"I took delivery of this unit the day before Sandy hit our area. We lost power about six hours into the hurricane and I set up on my patio running one line to my neighbors refrigerator and three lines to my house to run the large fridge, a microwave, a radio, and some lamps. The generator never missed a beat, running 12 hours on and 12 off for eight days in a row. Don't forget to check the oil before each run. It used about one third of a quart after the first break in shift but settled in after that. On day nine (just before getting our power back) we had a failure. The generator no longer had any electrical output. You couldn't reset the circuits and the fuse was fine so I took it back to the dealer for warranty repair. By the time I got home our power had just come on so I breathed a sigh of relief. I don't know what we would have done without that generator."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

JUNK

,
September 23, 2012
By HOG611
from LOUISIANA
"I BOUGHT A GENERAC UNIT AS A STANDBY GENERATOR. I COULD NOT AFFORD A BIG UNIT FOR THE WHOLE HOUSE SO I BOUGHT A LARGE PORTABLE UNIT. HEAVY DUTY COMMERCIAL ALL THE GABB. IT LASTED 22 TOTAL HOURS THE GENERATOR PART OF IT WENT OUT, $610.00 TO REPAIR WITH NO HELP FROM GENERAC"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+23points
27out of 31found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

reliable

,
August 21, 2012
By hunterx
from Harrisburg, Pa
"I have not used this for extended use but use it as a power outage back up. I run it once a month to test and for small projects wherever I can. It always fires right up and produces enough power to run a fridge, 3 chest freezers, furnace and my well pump as well as a couple outlets for lights. Downfall...you have to charge the battery off a separate cord, one charge has lasted me 9 months so far though."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Im stupid.

,
June 2, 2012
By JEFFinCT
from CT
"Hey - First, this is a great generator, great price.. blah blah blah. Buy it. After you buy it, dont do what I did. They give you the oil, and I was stingy. I figured that I could see the oil level to be high and stopped pouring and tried to start it. - After a couple of ear-piercing gunshot backfires, I self-diagosed that maybe it was the LOW OIL SHUTOFF. It was. Added about 4 more drops of oil so that it was spilling onto the ground and it has worked great since.
It seems nobody on here has had this problem, but I did, so Im hoping this saves some other poor sap from getting frustrated like I was."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good at the start - but then started to leak Oil

,
May 7, 2012
By ErickT
from Wappingers Falls, NY
"Well when I got the product, I was extremely happy with initial assembly and it was very easy to get it started first time. Tested it out with my new connection (Interlock Switch) and everything was great...Ran it for about 20 minutes first time without and with load - all good. Then a month later I got it to start again and I notice an oil drop after running it for like 10 minutes (total of 30 minutes). After close investigation, I noticed that oil was coming out from the bottom of valve cap...After few phone calls to Generac, my generator has been taken to local Generac authorized service dealer (30 miles away). Luckily, I have a friend with a truck who did not mind to deliver it there for me...Otherwise you are out of luck...so now I am just waiting and see if this can get fixed, and I only got 30 or so minutes on mine and paid close to $1k for this. Lets see what happens..."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
HOG611
LOUISIANA 
 
Please wait while more information about HOG611 is loaded.
Additional information about HOG611 could not be loaded.
JUNK
September 23, 2012
"DON'T HOLD YOUR BREATH. MINE RAN A LITTLE LONGER THAN YOURS. A GRAND TOTAL OF 22 HOURS AND IT COST ME $610.00 WITH NO HELP FROM GENERAC"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

generac 9375 generator

,
January 16, 2012
By SCAVO
from Armonk, NY
"very good deal. great shipping, easy to understand instructions for setup and use. they even inlcude your first quart of oil and the battery comes fully charged. started on first shot and runs well. my electician has installed about 20 of these in the past two months. no problems with any of them. just ordered two more for neighbors. powering our well pump and 8 other circuits in the house. would buy again."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac Generator

,
January 12, 2012
By Vger
from Charlottesville, VA
"Generator unit is well built. The unit started with just a push of the start button, started immediately first time tried. So far I have only tested the unit for approx one hour. Tested all outlets 120v and 240v. Metered voltage was steady with only light load. Unit appears to be of good quality.
Purchased with manual transfer switch. Installation worked great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Generator to the rescue

,
January 9, 2012
By BKBM2
from Fairfield County, CT
"2011 brought Hurricane Irene and the October nor'easter, and I did not want to be without power ever again! Of course, the generator was on backorder until January...so I can't give it 5 stars at the moment, because I have only tested it to work, and not actually used it yet. I'm hoping it is one expensive investment I may NEVER have to use!! BUT it was highly recommended by a neighbor who has the Generac 6500 that he got in 1984 and has had great success with it. It starts with the first pull each time, and he runs virtually his entire house. Another friend also recommended it because of the great price, and his has been well received too. So with those great recommendations, I bought it, and my father upgraded his beat up Honda for the Generac 10,000!!! The only downside with mine is during the test with the set-up for my transfer switch, the battery did not work, which is the electric start for my unit. That will be important to me. Although it did start with the first pull with my test. So the battery has to be charged. Northern Tool was very pro-active with their emails giving me updates on my back ordered transfer switch and the unit itself. The cover arrived quickly tho! So based on my friend's recommendation, and their excellent luck with their respective units, and the test went very well. I would highly recommend this unit, and Northern Tool!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

,
January 9, 2012
By fjt123
from Michigan
"Easy set up. Good design--can be moved about easily.Haven't had to use it much but start up and test have been all positive."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Questionable Material

,
January 9, 2012
By Blaiser
from Connecticut
"I haven't had to use this generator yet...but my first impression is not good. I assembled it and started to roll it an one of the wheels shattered -- brand new, no impacts on it, nothing that could possibly cause it to break except for a manufacturing flaw.
I'm waiting for Generac to send me a replacement (they apologized and said they would ship one out immediately) but...........I'm not happy with the quality.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac 7500w

,
January 9, 2012
By Tincup11
from Litchfield, NH
"Easy assembly, light weight, simple to operate~
Perfect for the New England homeowner!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good generator

,
January 9, 2012
By AJG1
from Buckley, WA
"After alot of research I was comfortable with my choice to purchase this generator. The time it took to receive the unit after I ordered was a little longer than I would have liked. Unit arrived when Northern said it would and set up was very simple and quick. The battery came charged and the generator started right up and runs very smoothly. So far I am happy with the purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP7500E Portable Generator - 9375 Surge Watts, 7500 Rated Watts, Electric Start, Model# 5943"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good purchase

,
January 9, 2012
By Zeppi
from Annapolis, MD
"I'm very happy with my purchase and the Generac 7500 GP generator overall. Delivery was as promised, and the generator met all of my anticipated expectations. Assembly (although minimal) was easy. The generator comes portable and is easy to move. It started right up the first try, and runs with no issues. Fuel capacity is significant, 11+ hours between fill ups. It has not weathered a storm yet, but will come in very handy during the next power outage. It is sized to provide all the back up power I need, and creates a certain comfort knowing I have a contingency plan for extended power outages, which are never pleasant."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.