Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362

Item# 167501
All-season package has a weather guard engine and covered outlets on control panel. Wheel kit with never-flat tires, battery charger and 5-gallon fuel tank with gauge. U.S.A. Not available for sale in California. Surge Watts: 6,250, Rated Watts: 5,000, Start Type: Electric, Engine: 1450 Series OHV, Run Time: 10 Hours @ 1/2 Load, Receptacles (qty.): 3, Fuel Type: Gasoline, Fuel Capacity (gal.): 5, Dimensions L x W x H (in.): 26 x 22 x 22 Two 120V, 20 Amp duplex and one 120/240V locking plug outlet Includes wheel kit
Average Customer Rating:
4.913 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (23 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 23(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Review 1 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved the Day

,
October 29, 2007
By DGIL
from IL
"Power went out and water was coming in. Was able to hook up several homes to power sump pumps and refrigerators. Very good on gas as well. Had more than enough power"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great generator

,
November 1, 2007
By TractorBob
from Fence lake, New Mexico
"We bought one of these and are very pleased with it. Our old one could not keep up with the aircompressor and trailer ac. This one does fine. The only thing you have to remember is to open the fuel tank vent. I put it in the barn and the temp dropped that night and the tank sucked together. I just opened the valve and put it in the sun and it came back to normal. I think it would be better if it had a vented cap that was automatic. All in all it is a great generator!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use generator

,
April 14, 2008
By AndyD
from Beacon, NY
"I found this generator very easy to start and use. Just check the oil and go. The electric start kicked it over immediately and it was stable in a few seconds. It has plenty of power for almost any job and the big gas tank runs a full work day without needing a refill. It's a bit noisy so point it away from the work location or house."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Briggs & Stratton 6250 W Generator

,
April 14, 2008
By aford
from Eastern Pennsylvania
"After 60 hrs wothout power last December, I purchased the titled generator from Northern Tool. It was delivered quickly and easy to set up. I used it for the first time in March when the power was out again for 48 hrs. The handle and wheels made it easy to move from my garage to the front porch. It started right up and carried the load of three refrigerators and my oil burner easily. Fuel consumption was decent, noise level fair. I expect to use this machine for a long time with minimum maintenance. The rental charges I paid back in December would have almost paid for this new generator."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

generator

,
April 14, 2008
By krecords
from seattle
"Worked perfect out of the box. Electric start on this small a unit is hard to find and the price was excellent. Have started it at least 50 times with no hesitation, I did manage to blow the circiut breaker once or twice but otherwise all seems fine. PS add oil when you get it or it will not start!:)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Loud but GOOD

,
April 21, 2008
By 1Billy1
from Plainfield, Illinois
"This Generator works great however it is exceptional loud especially under a load! However I would still urge anyone needing a good generatio to buy this one!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked great

,
April 21, 2008
By EnergyNGE
from Roanoke, VA
"We purchased this in December 07 for my ailing father who was unable to pull his generator. It has worked flawlessly even since. The electric start has always worked. This unit has given him peace of mind knowing his medical equipment will always work."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Power Source

,
April 23, 2008
By TXFramer
from Mesquite, Texas
"I purchased ths product to run power at the job site. The utility company refused to turn on the power for two weeks. I needed to get the job done, so I purchased this product to run the power for the compressor and 3 to 4 air powered tools. Aside from the high gas prices, this generator worked very well. It was able to handle the job. I highly recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

life saver

,
August 18, 2008
By pjdavid
from jax,fl
"this generator is large enough to run most everything in your house.with the exception of the central ac.it has helped me on numerous power outages and never let me down."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable power

,
August 18, 2008
By BuilderBob
from Chicago, IL
"The steps to start and use the generator are simple and logical. The electric start is a real charm, my wife can start the generator. I used it for four strait days last year. I powered essential circuits in my house and supplies feeds to each of my neighbors, they bought gas so we both benefitted."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

power up!

,
August 20, 2008
By eyewontcry
from Florida
"easy to read owners manual, easy maintenance, easy to operate! I used this product during the hurricanes in FL (Jean and Frances)and others! but when I was out of power for 14 days,. my Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator — 6250 Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362 came into play! it was dependable and all I had to do was fill it with fuel and change the oil according to the manual. kept my family cozy while in hot and undesirable conditions, I still own it and I was ready to use it for Fay. highly recommended!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

portapowr

,
August 27, 2008
By 4evrweldn
from Richmond, VA
"I bought this generator when I needed some portable power. Working in remote areas, I found that I wouldn't always have a 120VAC plug around. This generator unit is quite noisy, but setting that aside it's great. I've been able to run my portable 5cfm air compressor, electric grinder, 140 mig welder, and 1000 watt work lights. No hesitation with push-button starting so I've never had to use the secondary pull-start. Sturdy design that feels solid, even the no flat tires. It's a bit much for one person to load on a truck weighing in at 160-170 pounds. Four 120VAC plugs and one 240VAC twist lock plug. One extra is a LED light that shines on the plugs for night use. Quick connect trickle charger for when you don't plan on using it for a while.
On the down side:
Noisy, but helps when turned away from the work area
Heavy to lift but easy to roll around on the wheels
It would be nice to have built on hooks for lifting the generator vertically
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hurricane tough

,
September 28, 2008
By Texican
from Conroe, TX
"We bought this product to be used as an emergency home generator. Hurricane Ike was the ultimate test. It ran 7 days with stops only for oil changes and gas refills with no problems.
It is a bit noisy - but you don't have it in the house with you. I appreciated the moderate volume because I knew when I woke up in the middle of the night that someone hadn't stolen it. We ran a side by side refridge or our upright freezer, 3 fans, a dish network receiver, TV, a 60 watt light, and a computer/monitor with no strain. If you count the watts, no problem.
It consumed approximately 10 gallons of gas every 24 hours - better than the manufacturers estimate. The electro-start is a huge convenience and the envy of my over-50 neighbors. If you want a workhorse for a good price, this is the one.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Briggs & Stratton 6250 Watt Generator

,
November 17, 2008
By wayhollis
from East Central Ohio
"This generator is really a good piece of equipment. The unit is well constructed, heavy , and has all the options found in much more expensive generators. I really like the large wheels and the convienent folding handle. This generator weighs in at 190 pounds, but moving it around is a breeze. This generator came complete with a float charger to keep the battery charged, the controls and outlets are easy to get at and have waterproof covers over them. The fuel tank has an empty-full guage in the lid. I would recommend this generator as a great buy for the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A+++

,
November 18, 2008
By Elect
from Columbus, Ohio
"I deal with generators on a daily basis. This unit is one user friendly piece of equipment. Easy start, easy to maintain and compared to other generators was no louder than the normal. As far as portables go, for the price, you will not find better. I was also impressed with the way I was kept informed with arrival time and date. A all around pleasurable experience. Thanks!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator!!

,
July 20, 2009
By Rizz
from King of Prussia, PA
"I've had this generator now for two years. I use it for back-up power for my home.
It starts first try every time. It runs smooth, not too loud, and puts out a clean and steady electrical output.
I turn it on, plug in my electrical plug, and when utility power is out – I have power to my house to keep the critical appliances and some lights on.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

generator

,
July 20, 2009
By DeerHunter1
from North Carolina
"I've had my generator for 4 months and it has started everytime, even when I haven't used it for a couple weeks. It runs everyday stuff (lights, tools,etc) with no problem. Now I've hooked it up to my camper ( 27 footer) and am running a/c and all appliances and it is working great. It uses more fuel with the a/c but you've got to expect that. Highly recommend !!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable Generator

,
November 2, 2009
By Natchez
from Natchez, MS
"I recently purchased this portable generator and I have had occassion to use this tool on several occassions. The generator starts easily and the noise level is in the medium range. I am able to run the necessary appliances in my home during storm and power outages. The unit is very dependable and the maintenance required is minimal.. I keep stabilizer in the fuel during times that the unit is not in use and I have had no issues with startup. I would recommend this tool to friends for their purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Briggs portable

,
November 4, 2009
By 1fender
from Paw Paw Il.
"Compact unit. Very well balanced, easy to move around. Electric start a huge plus for elderly. trickle charger great to ensure fast starts in any condition. recoil start easy to pull if needed. Perfect for keeping the essentials up and running during power outages, or tools out on the job site. Quiet ,reliable performance."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Briggs & Stratton Portable Generator - 6250 Surge Watts, 5000 Rated Watts, 1450 Series OHV Engine with Electric Start, Model# 030362
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A generator that delivers what it says ;;

,
February 15, 2010
By Rolly7170
from West Central Iowa
"We were without electricity for a few days recently during the major ice storm; This Generator worked perfect ;; It carried everyting in the house (furnace,deepfreeze,big refrigerator,lights tv, toaster,microwave and the 220 volt well pump and never missed a beat;; We never turned any circuits off at any time and just let it work to see if it handled everything ok;;This is a good reliable unit that fits our needs ;; I do kind of wish it had a throttle control to slow it down when it is not working , but that is a minor detail;;;;"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.