Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schumacher Speedcharge Battery Charger, Model# SC-12000A

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Schumacher Speedcharge Battery Charger, Model# SC-12000A

Item# 167734
This Schumacher high-frequency, fully automatic charger features advanced control technology that delivers more usable power with high-speed charging for 6 and 12V batteries. Charges regular automotive, motorcycle, farm equipment, lawn tractor and deep-cycle batteries. UL listed and approved. Includes: Voltmeter/tester, Touchpad control with LED display, Works With: 6, 12 volt batteries, Amp Charge Rate: 120 Amp engine start, 15-40 Amp fast charge and 2 Amp slow charge, Cable Length (in.): 6 ft, Power Cord (ft.): 6 Microprocessor control keeps batteries maintained Built-in voltmeter/tester Correct-connection protection Desulphation/restore mode rejuvenates older batteries 6ft. output leads Sure-grip clamps for both top- and side-mount posts UL listed and approved Model SC-12000A
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Schumacher Speedcharge Battery Charger, Model# SC-12000A
Review 1 for Schumacher Speedcharge Battery Charger, Model# SC-12000A
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

no Amp meter and cannot overide it mind

,
December 21, 2009
By SpeedyBob
from south east MN
" Everything good except no AMP meter,
poor fan - bearings squeek in cold weather, and
cannot over-ride to do whhat you want.
Best if sometimes used with an old fashioned transformer type booster
- boost until charger gets hot charger
Lack of and Amp meter is puzzeling - extra button
push whould have cost almost nothing - but then
you may not like what you see.
Bob "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Schumacher Speedcharge Battery Charger, Model# SC-12000A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for a backyard mechanic.

,
October 20, 2009
By twjw
from Northern panhandle of WV
" I use it to maintain both 6 & 12 volts. Very well laid out. Easy to use,set and walk away. A+++++ "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Schumacher Speedcharge Battery Charger, Model# SC-12000A
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Battery Charger

,
October 19, 2009
By fourstar127
from Eastern Utah
" This charger works well if you just want to charge a battery. Because of it's electronics, you can't force a charge on it as you can with some of the older type chargers. I had to get another charger so I could do that. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Schumacher Speedcharge Battery Charger, Model# SC-12000A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice

,
July 13, 2009
By BusBoy4050
from So. Maryland
" Easy to use push button control panel, has display showing voltage or battery percent charged, many functions for 6v - 12v, large or small batteries, will even show you a error for a bad battery so you know its junk, I like the fact that you can hookup & walk away, will not overcharge. I exploded a tractor battery with my old charger because I forgot about for 3 days. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Schumacher Speedcharge Battery Charger, Model# SC-12000A
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

SC-1200A Charger

,
November 17, 2008
By jamesld
from Belgrade, Montana
" I use it to maintain the batteries on all my vehicles. I like the layout of the front panel. It works very well and is a great value. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Schumacher Speedcharge Battery Charger, Model# SC-12000A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

World-Class Charger

,
January 21, 2008
By BigEarl
from Vancleave, MS
" This portable charger can replace many roll-about chargers. Advantages include ease of use, adapts to regular, deep cycle, gel-cell battery charging and automotive in-place alternator analysis. A special five-second 120 amp starting boost current is available. But best of all, charge times are only 1/2 or 1/3 of non-electronic chargers. Battery voltage and percent charge digital displays are provided. Selecting the battery type provides appropriate charge voltage limits and battery charge current. Charger has been used on mowers, snowmobiles, cars, pickups, and trucks/heavy equipment using 8D batteries, in both hot and cold temperature extremes. Charger is not waterproof, of course, but because of size, is easy to shield from rain when used out of doors. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Schumacher Speedcharge Battery Charger, Model# SC-12000A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I wanted

,
January 14, 2008
By InstrGuy
from Dayton, OH area
" I looked for a year for this charger. Wanted more charge capacity than the typical 10-12 Amp charge rate of most available small chargers. At 40 Amps, the SC-12000A has the power to quickly charge discharged batteries and is smart enough to quit when it's done. I bought five of them initially, used them for a month or two, and purchesed five more. Knowledgeable visitors to my facility comment on how heavy this unit is compared with the typical small charger. I like the information display and the three button control system. My only negative is that the little plastic hooks you wind up the cords on are pretty flimsy. Schumacher must like these, they've used them for years and they haven't held up for years. Other than that, I'll buy more units if I need more chargers. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Schumacher Speedcharge Battery Charger, Model# SC-12000A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
January 14, 2008
By BufordT
from Los Alamos, NM
" Does exactly what it says it will. Light weight but powerful. Nice readouts are helpful. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Schumacher Speedcharge Battery Charger, Model# SC-12000A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly reccommend

,
March 7, 2007
By Senior
from Cold, wet, snowy, northwestern, Pa.
" This charger is high quality, in a compact case.The ability to correctly charge all types of auto batteries is well worth the great price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.