Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1

FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1

Item# 167741
The Lincoln Easy MIG 180 Welder is an ideal choice for farm, light fabrication, auto or home projects. If you have access to industrial 208/230V power, you'll be able to weld up to 3/16in. for MIG welding or 1/2in. with gasless flux core welding. Compatible with the Lincoln Electric Magnum 100SG spoolgun Item# 44732, sold separately. Weld Thickness in. 1/2, Weldable Metals Steel, stainless steel, aluminum, Power Cord ft. 6, Regulator and Gas Hose Included Yes, Welding Wire Diameter in. 025-.045, Wire Feed Speed Control 50-500 IPM, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 5/8 x 10 1/8 x 14, Mig Ready Yes, Amps 180, Shielding Gas Required Yes, when welding MIG, Volts 230, Cart No, Clamp Cable Length ft. 10, Duty Cycle 30 @ 130A. Can set up for gas-free flux core welding or gas-shielded MIG welding for steel, stainless and aluminum 50-500 IPM wire feed speed control Fully adjustable drive system reduces wire tangle and crushing Brass-to-brass gun connection for enhanced conductivity Cast aluminum body with rigid drive aids wire alignment Easy-turn numeric drive tension indicator 30 duty cycle @ 130 Amps Quick, tool-less drive roll changeovers Includes welder, gun with 10-ft cable assembly, 0.025' and 0.035' contact tips, gasless and gas nozzles, spindle adapter for 8' dia. spools, shielding gas apparatus, sample spool of 0.025' MIG wire and sample spool of 0.035' flux cored wire
Average Customer Rating:
4.947 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The two shall become one!

,
April 24, 2013
By cummins24v
from MS
"My wife surprised me with this welder for my birthday and it is the best present ever! I learned how to weld in high school with an arc and wire feed welder and then my grandfather gave me his old arc welder. I love welding and can every once in a while obtain a nice looking bead. It is just so hard to weld anything thin with an arc welder. Once I got this wire feed welder, 90% of my beads look awesome and I can weld anything from thick to thin. My first project was building a lawn mower trailer for my 61" scag zero turn and it has held up great!
I highly recommend this welder. It is easy to use with a chart inside the door for the exact settings based on wire size, metal thickness and wire feed or mig welding. I would highly recommend only using Lincoln wire as I tried some cheaper stuff and it does not feed as well or put down as nice a bead. I have not gotten a gas bottle yet, but look to do so in the near future for even better looking welds. Also, the little guy is heavy! I have plans to build a cart which will make moving it around the shop much easier. All in all, would buy it again in a heartbeat!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trail Groomer (aka, The Centipede)

,
April 23, 2013
By TrailNut
from KS
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I designed and built this from about 20 discarded mower blades. It is designed to be towed behind an ATV and smooth out the trail while pushing the soil toward the center of the trail. It was also designed to be light enough to be loaded into the box on the ATV. Like a chain, there are 7 segments, each linked together by a single 6" bolt. I used the Easy MIG 180 in flux mode. It performed flawlessly."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shop tool

,
April 23, 2013
By johnnybarn
from Mississippi
"This is a great addition to farm or small shop. Works great and great company!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welder!

,
April 23, 2013
By Romans1013
from Rock Hill, SC
"Bought this unit several years ago and taught myself to weld within a few hours. The operation is smooth and I have not had any trouble with it at all. Get yourself an auto-darkening helmet, some gloves, plug it in and go!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Product!

,
April 23, 2013
By Dixieboy
from Texas
"You can't buy a better machine for the price. Easy to use, great instructions by a high quality company. Buy it!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Short History/and self xp of a Great product name.

,
April 23, 2013
By Love2weld
from WI
"I use a Lincoln every day at college and it is really easy and the welds are clean and not sporadic, says my teacher, whom has been doing his whole life.
I would strongly recommend getting one, good quality welds.
Works great.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great welder

,
August 22, 2012
By rednecks
from brick NJ
"this welder is great i have used to from welding small pipe to welding sheet metal on my truck"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy MIG 180

,
January 16, 2012
By mundo
from Cle Elum, WA
"A must tool for your shop. 'Easy" is correct.
Use same welder at my RV shop. Had to purchase
one for my home. Built a roll around cart for welder
and gas. Makes use very convenient.
Highly recommend for home, shop or handy-man!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
5out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Performance in a Little Package

,
January 9, 2012
By CamperDan
from Texas
"Welds as good as big roll-about Millers, but is small enough to carry around the shop and store on a shelf. Very impressed with this welder!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great welder..

,
September 20, 2010
By hulie
"I have been welding and fabricating coreigated pipe mostly 16 gage and 14 galanized and aluminized metal also aluminum... i have the 180 pro, it is really easy to use very easy to switch over to flux core and gas sheilded i just welded a 1/4 round tube on a truck for a bumper and it penatrated with multi passes no problem.. i got the spool gun for mine looks easy to use... i want to try the stainless and copper brands of wire with this machine..... the only thing that is a little wierd and funny looking,.. Is the gun for the the gun is very small to look at for the cost of this set up i expected a full size torch handle but to tell ya the truth it is easy to get that under controll when you weld with it, does not effect the feal of the machine at all.... another thing this 30% duty cycle is bull i used this for a good hour with no problem i would stop and rest for a few min's to just see what the machine can do but no problem... every machine says duty i weld all day long with a miller 60% duty cycle all day long all year with no problems so i would say that is not an issue unless you are welding 1/2 " but would recomend this machine for all welding 16 gage up to 8... good deal.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lincoln Easy Mig 180

,
June 1, 2010
By DORII
from Ann Arbor, Mi
"I purchased this item last fall, and have been very happy with it. I used it to repair a trailer, weld up the supports. I used it to repair a plow. I used it for minor work on items around the house, and now all of the family members bring over everything they need repaired. I don't have a lot of experience in welding, but this has made all of my jobs very easy. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for an all around mig welder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

lincoln welder

,
June 1, 2010
By 6speedfuelinjectedcuda
from Ossipee, NH
"very well made product, I have owned the lincoln welder for over 10 years & have had no issues with the machine
have completed 3 car restorations with this unit & it shows no signs of stopping
i almost regret not having bought their companion plasma cutter
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lincoln Easy MIG 180

,
June 1, 2010
By gcubed
from Nampa, Idaho
"This is a GREAT home garage piece of equipment. The MIG 140 just didn't have the wide application range that this equipment has. You can say what you want but if the 140 is working for you great. I found that I had some applications (most of them) around the place that required equipment that had a bit more versatility than the smaller 120V equipment. So far I have only run into one aplication that I have been unable to use this wonderful equipment on and it wasn't the equipments fault, it was out of it's operating range (which, quite frankly is very wide). Great equipment if you have the 220 available. I use the Lincoln generator to power it.
You won't be dissappointed with the operation or range of this equipment. It also offers a means to use gas processes or non.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

mig 180 welder

,
June 1, 2010
By TheWad
from Duluth, MN...Winter wonderland
"This little hummer is fantastic...I can weld anything with it. The only thing is the duty cycle is cut a little short, but for home use it's great...who's in a hurry anyway."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product - 230 V 180 amp Lincoln MIG

,
May 31, 2010
By Ggray
from California
"I have 15 techs working for me and 5 are in service trucks - purchased this for a service truck with a generator.
Welder is easy to use and has plenty of power for all automotive jobs including liftgates on Straight Trucks.
ASE Master Med/Heavy truck tech and supervisor."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lincoln Mig 180 unit

,
February 23, 2010
By mabeliowa
"I have had nothing but good things to say about this unit (Lincoln 180 ) I have been using it for general fab work for 2 years now- and can vouch for it's fantastic performance, reliability, and ease of use.
It welds like a unit costing 3 times what I paid for it. - and in a very convenient small package. I can lift the unit with one arm- I think the gas bottle weighs more than the welder! So far I have run about 50 pounds of wire through it- with zero problems.
I would highly recommend this unit to both professionals and the back yard mechanics out there! You will not believe how well this little machine welds!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great starter and light duty welder

,
February 22, 2010
By ConvictedFabrication
from Crossroads TX
"I love this little guy. I think I paid a little more for it but for light duty work it dosnt get much better. I have had zero problems with it. I have never been able to overwork it. I even built a 10 x 12 ft duck blind for my boss with it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use wire feed

,
February 22, 2010
By RiverBill
from Riverside, Ca.
"This welder is grest, not too big for home use. I have built 2 sand rails using this welder and countless repairs on many home projects. Enough power for thick metal. I use it with Argon blended gas, good clean welds. I recommend getting a rolling cart, too heavy to carry around."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Lincoln Electric Easy MIG 180 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 180 Amp Output, Model# K2698-1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome machine

,
February 22, 2010
By raminator01
from Elizabethtown, PA
"I love this machine. I wish I had more projects to do with it. All around i use it for light stuff like automotive exhaust and even heavier things trailers. I'm already a welder but I watched the DVD too see if I could learn something new, and it was very informative."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.