Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Lincoln Electric AC-225 230V Stick Welder - 225 Amp Output, Model# K1170

Lincoln Electric AC-225 230V Stick Welder - 225 Amp Output, Model# K1170

Item# 167743
The Lincoln electric AC-225 compact stick welder produces an extremely smooth AC arc for welding a wide variety of materials including carbon, low alloy and stainless steels as well as cast iron. Ideal for home, farm, shop, repair and maintenance, build-up welding and light fabrication. Easy to install with attached input power cable and NEMA 6-50P plug, plus it's easy to operate a full range 40-225 Amp selector switch quickly sets the welding current and ensures a uniform arc each and every time you weld. Smooth arc makes it easy to weld with different electrodes, including mild steel, low hydrogen, stainless steel and hardfacing electrodes. Weldable Metals Carbon, low alloy, stainless steel, cast iron, Welding Amperage Range 40 - 225, Welds Up To in. 1, Power Cord ft. 6, Electrode Cable Length ft. 10, Range Selection 40-225, Amps 225, Amperage Adjustments 40-225, Clamp Cable Length ft. 10, Welding Processes Stick welding, Duty Cycle 225A/25V/20, Volts 230, Phase Single, Electrode Size in. 3/32 to 5/32, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 x 17 1/4 x 24. 225 Amp AC output is enough for 3/16in. 4.8mm diameter general purpose mild steel electrodes and 5/32in. 4.0mm sizes of other electrodes NEMA rated, UL listed and CSA approved
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lincoln Electric AC-225 230V Stick Welder - 225 Amp Output, Model# K1170
Review 1 for Lincoln Electric AC-225 230V Stick Welder - 225 Amp Output, Model# K1170
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent heavy welder

,
April 24, 2013
By aswilson03
from Lake City, IA
"I purchased this welder to repair thicker materials, and I wanted a welder that would penetrate thick metals so they would not break again at the weld. This welder exceeded my expectations and was very easy to use, the voltage settings are simple to set, this is an excellent welder if you are a beginner or have very little experience, the only down side is that the leads could be a little longer, other than that I was very satisfied with this purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lincoln Electric AC-225 230V Stick Welder - 225 Amp Output, Model# K1170
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Basic Welder

,
April 23, 2013
By Treadmark
from Tampa, Fl.
"This is a great basic welder. I've made many repairs to plowing equipment (tractor attachments) and to snow plows. I have constructed several trailers, from the ground up with this welder.
The only thing I would suggest is to get a wheel kit. Mine got pretty heavy trying to drag it around the garage.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lincoln Electric AC-225 230V Stick Welder - 225 Amp Output, Model# K1170
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lincoln A/C 225 welder

,
August 20, 2012
By smitty40
from Bahamas
"I have been using this same basic welder model with some variation since 1952. I just replaced my old model after about twenty years of steady use. The 225 holds an even, steady amperage for smooth A/C welding. It is light enough that it can be easily moved around the shop and even at age 72 I can load it on and off a pickup bed. I have been in maintenance, repair and fabrication for sixty years and find the Lincoln 225 to be a reliable machine for any and all basic maintenance needs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lincoln Electric AC-225 230V Stick Welder - 225 Amp Output, Model# K1170
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
May 14, 2012
By TXok1
from Amarillo, Texas
"I've used this welder on steel ranging from lightweight up to heavy weight 3/8" stuff. Does an excellent job every time."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lincoln Electric AC-225 230V Stick Welder - 225 Amp Output, Model# K1170
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

K1170 Welder

,
May 14, 2012
By Patches79
from Madison, Wisconsin
"Bought this last year and found it easier to use than my wire feed. Fairly new at welding but have good luck with this unit. Dad was a master welder and has a unit just like it only many years older. The power range is huge and gives it more capability than my wire feed ( 90 amp- 120 volt). It would be nice to have it more portable, but I just put it on a small moving dolly and can move it around the garage well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lincoln Electric AC-225 230V Stick Welder - 225 Amp Output, Model# K1170
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lincoln Arc

,
January 16, 2012
By Chacto
from ND
"Very versatile, dependable been a great addition to my garage"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lincoln Electric AC-225 230V Stick Welder - 225 Amp Output, Model# K1170
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great welder

,
May 28, 2011
By DanM7788
from Ohio
"My brothers have had a Lincoln buzz box welder for almost 40 years and it still works great. I learned how to stick weld with it before going to vocational school for welding and have always like Lincoln welders. This welder will last for years if you take care of it. There is really not that much that can go wrong with one of them. A really great buy for the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lincoln Electric AC-225 230V Stick Welder - 225 Amp Output, Model# K1170
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welder for the money!

,
November 23, 2010
By SargentR
from Nortern Maine
"I have had one for years, and have many friends that own them. Super reliable, and are great for home and farm. You cant beat the price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lincoln Electric AC-225 230V Stick Welder - 225 Amp Output, Model# K1170
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Welder

,
August 30, 2010
By Mtbexpert1
from ORANGE COUNTY
"Extreamly user friendly just turn the dial and your done.
its one of the most quiet machines around. im not joking. i mean its a little HUM. you microwave is louder.
the most durable welder you might ever buy. i have one thats 26 yEARS OLD. IT IS EXACTLY THE SAME COMPONENTS INSIDE AS BACK THEN. JUST NEW STICKERS ON IT.
IT KEEPS GOING AND GOING.
CONS
ONLY ONE BAD THING ABOUT THIS WELDER IS WEIGHT AT ABOUT 110. BUT WITH THIS WELDER YOU CAN HAVE REALLY LONG LINES AND NEVER MOVE IT AGAIN
IM A PROFESSIONAL WELDER DAY IN AND DAY OUT. YOU CAN COUNT ON THIS MACHINE FOR 16 GAUGE UP TO THICK HEAVY 1/2 INCH PLATE.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.