Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA

Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA

Item# 1677822
Compact, powerful automatic charger can be carried for easy on-the-spot charging of 6V and 12V batteries. Also has an engine start feature for emergency starts. Not available in CA and OR. Charger Type Automatic, Clamp Material Plated steel, Settings qty. 4, Trickle Recharge Time hours at amps 2-12 at 2, Amps 100/15/2, Overcharge Protection Yes, Recharge Time hours at amps 2-4 at 15, Amp Charge Rate 100, 15, 2, Cable Gauge 10, Dimensions L x W x H in. 9 x 10 x 4 1/2, Power Cord ft. 6, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 2, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Volts 6, 12, Works With 6, 12V batteries, Cable Length in. 72, Case Material Steel. 2 Amp trickle charge - charges a small 12V battery in 2 to 12 hours 15 Amp fast charge - charges a battery in 2 to 4 hours 100 Amp engine start - for emergency starting 2 LEDs signal full charge and check battery Solid state circuitry Fully automatic charger will no not overcharge batteries Rugged, durable metal case Top-mounted carry handle Portable and compact
Average Customer Rating:
4.792 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (24 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 24(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Review 1 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money

,
March 3, 2014
By Doc2014
from Rochester
"I can't comment on longevity as I just purchased this prior to the winter. My last Schumacher charger was handed down from my dad and was at least 20 years old. The only reason it failed is because it fell off the shelf and broke. Being in MN a battery charger and jumper cables are, or should be, part of every persons garage. This winter is no exception - record setting winter low temps. The 100 amp worked great to get my truck going on a -24 winter morning. My neighbor has used it once and the trickle charger (2 amp) has also worked great on the battery for my snow plow. It's already paid for itself by avoiding me getting frustrated!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery charger

,
February 5, 2014
By Timmy87
from Dewitt,ar
"I have one of these iv had for several years and used quite a bit. Works great every time I use it. Very happy"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome product does its purpose

,
February 4, 2014
By Alexander123
from miami florida
"Great product does exactly what it claims to do I totally recommend this product"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Battery Charger

,
February 4, 2014
By JimsKaraoke2
from Holiday Florida
"This Is A Great Battery Charger it chrges very fast and it took 30 minutes to charge a battery that was totaly dead ; I have had other chargers and they didn't work great , I would buy another one if this one breaks down and I recommend it to all .. JimBo"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best charger's i have owned!

,
August 22, 2013
By ghstrdr230
from Rochester, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I own allot of professional charger's being a mechanic and my fiance bought me one of these chargers for a gift and it works just as good if not better then my large snap-on and mac tools ones i usually only buy snap-on or mac tools but when my girl got me this charger it works great from using it on my riding mower to charge the battery or to start it straight up and its a 19hp machine but turns over from a dead battery to starting in seconds, i even started my ex-federal Ford Crown Victoria police interceptor car with this charger being i forgot a light on in the car and didn't use the car for 4 days and came out to a dead battery whoops, but it happens and im glad my girl got this unit for me it was a excellent machine for the price i would definitely recommend it to all my friend's and customers alike, thank you."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
May 14, 2012
By MattMann
from Chicago, IL
"Small, and lighter than my huge 400 Watt, on wheels, 25 yr old charger, but works just as well. I like the feature that recognizes hooking up the leads wrong, since I lost my last charger by someone in the household doing exactly that."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

,
January 20, 2012
By papaj524193
from Balch Springs ,Tx
"have used for the last couple of years. wihout any problems"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for the money

,
January 16, 2012
By Hinspect
from Lenoir City, TN
"I carefully compared all of the chargers in this class and this one was far the best for the price and category. The selector switch could be bigger but this is still the nicest charger."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery Charger 100/15/2

,
January 9, 2012
By Rayko
from Magnolia, Texas
"I needed a Battery Charger with a larger range of Charging Capacities, and capable of doing both 12v and 6v batteries. This was the perfect solution.
The first one we purchased, the Ammeter Gauge stopped working, and became stuck on 5 amps. We returned it, and, as usual, Northern Tool exchanged it quickly and easily. Northern Tool is always a pleasure to do business with.
The second one worked fine. However, you should be aware that given the broad range of amperages this machine is capable of delivering, the Ammeter becomes inherently inaccurate with the lower charging rates, most especially at the 2 amp level.
It is important to read the Operating Manual (at least once) so you have a good understanding of how the charger works. I am a firm believer in Never Assume Anything. Read the Instructions.
I not only would recommend this Charger to anyone looking for a good quality unit, but also would recommend Northern Tool, they are a great company to do business with."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is great !

,
March 21, 2011
By kandyman1950
from Mtn city,tenn
"I ordered this charger/starter a few weeks ago and it is the best for the low price i paid for it ! I have bought from Northern Tools before and there great to deal with !!
This charger/starter is so easy to use and get's the job done !
You cannot go wrong with this item !
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use Battery Charger

,
August 30, 2010
By LCFConsulting
from Chicago, IL
"I have owned this charger for more that ten years. I use it all the time to charge marine, auto and tractor batteries. The automatic feature makes it safe to use if you forget to turn it off. Very dependable and tough."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

problems

,
June 2, 2010
By bill2716
from brownsville, ky.
"i have one of these and have used it a lot. the amp meters donot last very long. and the clamps are very cheep and light weight."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very reliable

,
February 23, 2010
By Braz67
from Holland Ohio
"This battery charger is the nicest, battery charger I've used! No issues with overcharging since it is automatic, and it's compact enough for storage when not used. The electronics in this charging unit are of quality parts, and plan on using the charger for many years to come! The 100amp quick start had fired my dead battery on my Crown Victoria right up! This was the best, most useful gift I have gotten!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Schumacher Battery Charger, Model# SE-1510MA

,
February 22, 2010
By Ed130
from S.E. Mass.
"I have been using this charger for several months. When I first got it I was dissappointed to see that it had no power switch. To turn it off i have to un-
plug it. I was also dismayed when the charge indicator stopped working about a month ago. I will be sending in a warranty claim and will report later how that was handled. Otherwise, it works os promised.
Ed
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
November 2, 2009
By Fleet
from California
"This is an excellent product, I have purchased both the 75 and 100 amp versions. It's fairly small for its power so it is easily stored in a car or garage. It has the three settings, trickle, normal, and crank. I have used it both for cars with normal batteries, and for my sailboat with deep charge batteries. It's great to be able to put the charger on the battery for about 5 minutes on normal charge on a dead battery to get it started, then switch to crank mode and start either my car or boat. Being able to get the vehicle with a dead battery running in 5 minutes then let the alternator take over makes dead batteries less of a nuisance. I gave one to my brother as a Christmas gift, and he loves it as well. It is a 'must have' product if you have cars or boats that are not used for long periods of time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good.

,
July 20, 2009
By LUCR
from Chowchilla, CA
"Good Amp rating. Compact size. Have not use it much, but looks like it made well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect !

,
July 20, 2009
By TonyG88
from Street Rod Builder and Homeowner, Kansas
"I found that this is the perfect battery charger for the small shop or home owners who have batteries that need to maintain a charge. It is constructed very well, easy to operate, and meets the needs of just maintaining a charge on my riding lawnmower or automobiles during periods of inactivity. Should the need arise, it is perfect for jumpstarting a vehicle with its 100 amp boost. However, it is heavy, but that comes with good construction and quality. I was a little dissapointed with the clamp grips being loose and moving around while clamping to the battery post, but a little GorillKa glue solved that problem. I am completely satisfied and would highly recommend this charger. The price is comperable to its quality and features,"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality

,
November 17, 2008
By selyorel
from southwest Nebraska
"I shop alot online and review different brands before I buy anything. Northern Tool is very descriptive and detailed. I use my battery charger in a small repair shop almost daily. It preforms excellent as I expect, and more to the point, as it was explained to preform. This charger is not a lightweight, it is heavy duty. I would recommend it to preform for any job."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
May 3, 2008
By Scooter1970
from Oostburg, WI
"I've used it on a regular battery and a deep cycle and it did its job. It's easy to work the buttons. Great product!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Schumacher Handheld Portable Charger - 100/15/2 Amp, Automatic, Model# SE-1510MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I need

,
April 22, 2008
By Roadsterracer
from Austin, TX
"This Schumacher SE-1510MA battery charger does just what I need it to, and I need something kinda unusual. I run a nitromethane burning drag race car, and need a lot of battery to start the engine and make a hot spark to fire off the nitro. I use a deep cycle gel battery, and it has a unique requirement.
The battery needs to be 'shocked' periodically by hitting it with a 100 amp charge for a few minutes to blow the crud off the cells and allow them to take a full charge. If not, the battery gets only a surface charge, and lets me down at the wrong time.
With the Schumacher SE-1510MA, I have the 100 amp charging ability that I need to keep the battery hot and ready to power my car for a whole event without having to recharge. After the race is over, I take the car back to the shop and hook up the charger, give it a hot shot, then let it charge slowly until it is done.
Works well for me. My wife bought this for me as a Christmas present.
You should be so lucky.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.