Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"

"Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"

Item# 167823
"This Schumacher onboard battery maintainer is fully automatic and is an excellent choice for charging and maintaining 12V batteries. The battery maintainer charges battery in 2-12 hours and automatically switches to float-mode battery monitoring when charging is complete. It provides reverse polarity and overcharge protection and works using standard 120V AC power. Since the maintainer uses short leads the maintainer design prevents potential tangling with moving parts. Includes mounting hardware and bracket. Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Amps 1.5, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 1, Conditioner No, Charges Yes, Maintains Yes, Trickle Charge Amps 1.5, Desulfates Yes, Overcharge Protection Yes, Power Source 120V, Works With 12V battery, Power Cord ft. 3/8. LED indicators provide status information All mounting hardware included"
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (16 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 of 16(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"
Review 1 for "Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winter 4 Wheeler

,
February 3, 2016
By
from Minnesota
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Between cold weather and excessive use of the winch plowing snow on my 4 wheeler, the battery would run low. I have installed the maintainer inside the tool box, drilled a hole to access the battery and just open the box when I am done plowing and plug it into my overhead trouble light. Works great. No dead battery the next morning.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Onboard Battery Maintainer

,
December 29, 2015
By
from Williamstown, WV
Bought this for my tractor after the battery ran down last winter and it would not start to plow the snow off the driveway. The tractor sits outside under a tarp when not in use. Installation was quick and easy. Plugged it in and right off it began charging. By the next day it was fully charged and sitting in maintain mode every since. Time will tell but pleased with results so far.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

battery tender

,
December 29, 2015
By
from os, wa
these little battery tenders are the greatest. small enough to fit in the almost impossible places, and yet big enough to do the job.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plug and Play

,
December 15, 2015
By
from Far West Texas
I own two maintainers and am purchasing a third. You can wire them to the battery of your vehicle, then secure them (hardware comes with it) so they don't flop around, plug them into AC for a week or more, and unplug when you're ready to drive. Simple, easy way to keep your battery charged indoors or outdoors. I run an extension cord from an outdoor covered parking plug to the maintainer inside my hood then close the hood tight. Works fine!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery chager

,
December 4, 2015
By
from La
These chargers work great for maintaining battery charge especially if there is a continuous small current draw on battery.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great! Very reliable!

,
May 6, 2015
By
from Indianapolis, IN
This was very easy to install. This was the second one of these I have purchased. The first one lasted four years with daily use. It's a great product.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery maintainer model number. SE – one – 12. S

,
March 19, 2015
By
from Canton, North Carolina
Since I have received this unit. I have alternated charging two batteries to see if the maintainer function is helping to rejuvenate the batteries. I have only been doing it about a month and right now it is hard to tell if the maintainer part of the unit is actually helping yet.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer

,
January 27, 2015
By
from Alabama
3rd one I've owned. Bought first 2 units 13 years ago for tractor and UTV. OEM Tractor battery (Korean made) lasted 11.5 years and UTV lasted almost 8. Keep them plugged up for long periods between use and keep batteries up in 100+ to sub freezing in open shed. They are weather proof, not water proof.
Purchased this one for 2nd tractor purchase this year.
Pro- IT WORKS!
Con- Power cord too short, new has plastic case.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sitting tractors

,
January 15, 2015
By
from Adrian, Mi
I am very happy with this product. I am using it on some tractors I have sitting for long periods during the winter months. It keep the batteries fully charged and ready to go even in the coldest temps. I really like the way you can mount it right inside the battery box and snake the tail (plug) out and leave it hooked up all the time. It even has a little green lite to tell you when it fully charged and just maintaining the battery. Nice product. I want to get one for every piece of equipment I have.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works As Stated

,
December 7, 2014
By
from Dallas, Tx.
This little battery charger is just what I needed to keep the small battery on my standby generator charged up and ready to go if and when a storm move's in and I lose all home power. Thank you Northern Tool.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

,
February 5, 2014
By
from Fresno, CA
I keep one of these on the boat to keep the battery charged strong for easy starts when we get to the lake.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Better off with nothing

,
January 3, 2013
By
from Middletown, OH
I keep a car at my vacation home in Florida and wanted to make sure the battery wouldn't die in between visits so I ordered this batter maintainer. We left our condo in August 2012, I plugged the battery maintainer in and went back to Ohio. We arrived New Year's day, 2013 and the battery was dead on my car. I have decided to simply disconnect the battery when I leave as I will never trust a battery maintainer again.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-24points
5out of 34found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Schumacher onboard

,
January 17, 2012
By
from Punxsutawney, PA
use this on a farm tractor that stays out in the cold winter. This product keeps the battery charged in sub zero weather even when tractor is not started in 2 or 3 weeks. tractor is always ready to go when needed.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This charger is a great deal!

,
January 9, 2012
By
from Maine, NY
We use our plow truck heavily and sometimes the alternator doesn’t have enough time to recharge the battery fully. This compact, onboard charger has bridged that gap. It was simple to install and maintenance free as well! We are very pleased with our purchase.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

compact maintainer

,
October 10, 2011
By
from rockland county new york
this unit is compact and perfect fit on our cutting mechine .it has increased the battery life on our machine. plan on installing more on other mechines.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Schumacher Onboard Battery Maintainer - 12 Volt, 1.5 Amp, Model# SE-1-12S"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Recommended

,
June 6, 2011
By
I have one of these on all my vehicles and i love them. I no longer worry about my car starting in winter and I dont have to disconnect the batteries to my hobby cars. the unit itself has a great design and is out of the way under the hood. i will buy another and so should you.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.