Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982

FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982

Item# 167932
This Generac GP3250 Generator is easy to use in a variety of applications and offers affordable reliability. Not for sale in California. Engine OHV, Engine Displacement cc 208, Fuel Type Gasoline, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Rated Watts 3,250, Receptacles qty. 3, Surge Watts 3,750, Dimensions L x W x H in. 23 x 22 1/2 x 21, Start Type Recoil, Fuel Capacity gal. 3.35, Battery Included No, Battery Required No, Run Time 10 1/4 hrs. @ 1/2 load. Two 20 Amp 120V receptacles, one 20 Amp 120/240 locking plug receptacle 2-pole, 14 Amp circuit breaker is provided with each receptacle to protect generator against electrical overload Hardened steel tube cradle Low-tone muffler
Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(114 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (114 reviews)
5 stars
91
4 stars
22
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
109 of 112(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Misleading Power Rating

,
August 26, 2014
By 93xLowRider
from Shakopee MN
"Purchased this unit to replace my existing portable generator while we were at the races last weekend. Hot summer day, camper has AC that worked fine with my old cheap generator. Looked at this unit, looked at the power rating and decided it was worth the extra money since my cheap generator didn't last that long. I know the brand Generac and they have a reputation for quality so I wasn't hesitant at all to get this one. Brought it back to the campground, filled it with gas and oil and fired it up. I let it run for a few minutes before plugging in my camper. Went into the camper and turned on the AC. Generator tripped the breakers and I was confused that this generator couldn't keep up with my AC. My cheap generator handled it no problem, it was a 3250 watt generator just like this one. Long story short, this generator is NOT a 3250 watt generator. It is actually TWO generators in one. I spoke at length with a Generac rep who informed me that the stated power rating was only when you factor in using two SEPARATE loads at 14 amps each. He went on to say that there is no way to couple the two internal windings to push all the current into one outlet. It was never designed to do that. I recommended to that rep that they should print stickers stating this fact and have all their distributors slap this disclaimer on all existing units in the field. If I would have known by reading on the box that this unit was really two generators in one (that's how they get the 220V output), I would not have purchased it. The Generac rep tried to defend the company by saying their manuals are all available online, and that I could have learned about this before buying it. I told him that wasn't practical in my situation when I'm standing in front of the box at a retail store. And to further frustrate me, once you open it and add gas, you cannot return it to the store. But there was a happy ending yesterday. I called the vendor where I purchased it and explained the entire situation to the store manager. He understood and agreed to take the unit back even though I used it, and gave me full credit towards another generator. I ended up buying the 4000W Sportsman Propane Powered generator because it TRULY puts out all power to one outlet. The bonus with the Sportsman unit is that they added a 30 amp R/V plug right on the front! So beware of this generator. If you're a person who needs more than 14 amps from one plug, this generator is NOT for you."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice generator

,
February 4, 2014
By Tomd85
from Staten Island,NY
"Great backup generator. Easy to start and just the right size for when the power goes out. Nice size gas tank gives you plenty of running time, Easy to move around with the handle and wheels"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Emergency Power

,
November 9, 2012
By Tcpaz
from West Babylon NY
"Generac GP3250.Ran this gen.for 8 days,9 to 12hrs a day after hurricane Sandy.Was able to run refridge/freezer, 2 small tv's, gas furnace, 3 lamps with low watt LED bulbs,lap top comp. & charge cell phones.Ran great.Fairley quiet,good on gas.Well worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remote Power

,
August 20, 2012
By Gatrp
from Mt. Pleasant MI
"Nice unit great on fuel - use to run my deer camp mainly and necessities when the power is out at the house -"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac 3250

,
August 15, 2012
By Chuck202
from Mason, MI
"This generator is everything I expected. Started on first pull. Easy to move around. Gas tank is appropiate size and includes a gauge."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable generator

,
May 15, 2012
By RS4532
from Niagara Falls New York
"great unit for money starts well and performs great would recommend unit"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac 3750

,
May 14, 2012
By Steve33
from Cranford, NJ
"The delivery was effortless... shipping included....it came on a pallet, loaded on a tailgate and the unit was placed in my garage...it's got wheels and is so easy and reliable to start..a great deal!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect timing

,
January 10, 2012
By gadgetlover64
from new britain ct.
"We had a hurricane last summer here in Connecticut and my mother in law who lives a couple of towns over lost power for 4 days. We own a single family home and my wife suggested I look into buying a generator. I am so glad I listened to her. I did some research on the internet decided on a brand and size i found the best deal at northern tool and purchased a 3250 watt generac. Two months later an October snow storm took out power in most of our county. An hour after we lost power i retrieved my new generator from my shed filled it up with gas and oil and fired it up. This saved our bacon. this power outage lasted one week, for us it was an inconvenience for others it was much worse the generac worked very well i had no problems with it I kept 2 refrigerators going plus various other things for 14 hours a day I turned it off at bed time I could not be happier with the purchase"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

,
January 9, 2012
By MNARDS
from New Jersey
"Bought it to use as a back up generator for power outages and have been using it to run my hobart mig 140! excellent powersource, quiet and great performance. Glad i made the purchase."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeping the lights on!

,
January 9, 2012
By kdogg
from North Grafton, MA.
"After 2 years in the new house we found power outages to be common place. We usually enjoyed the time being unplugged for a while but with the new addition of our baby son the wife got very nervous during our first 24 hr black out. We now have the security of knowing the heat stays on, lights on and the fridge stays cold. This was priceless to my wife and I enjoy the use of the generator around the house for outside projects. It was one of the years best purchases!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent generator

,
January 9, 2012
By USSDogfish
from Upstate NY
"Fair price, fair power load, Good clean power, one person in good physical condition can load into truck. I wish it had a little more power for the weight of the unit"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect small generator

,
December 9, 2011
By Drsork
from Northern New Jersey
"Pressed this into service during the October snowstorm here in NJ. We were without power for five days and this was a real life-saver. We ran our sump pump, a fridge, a freezer, the fish tank filter, two space heaters and three ccfl lamps. It certainly wasn't the life of luxury, but we were warm (sort-of) could get around the house, dry and had fresh food. Since the storm we opted to buy an even larger Generac and a transfer switch, but in a pinch...this was terrific! As far as ordering from Northern Tool, this too was a no brainer. Best Price anywhere on this model, fast shipping and great LTL delivery. Bottom line, you can't go wrong on a Generac, and you won't go wrong ordering from Northern Tool!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gen For Price

,
November 11, 2011
By Anonymous
from Westchester, NY
"I bought this after Hurricane Irene and used it recently during the freak Snowtober storm in the Northeast. It's easy to use and setup. We mainly bought it to power the sump pump but it can also power a fridge, TV, laptops and lights in addition to the pumps. It's not as loud as the Coleman generator I borrowed during Irene. Just about 72dbs sound. Starts right up and idles nice. Ran about 8 hours half load. It was delivered right to the house via truck and came on a pallet. Some of the downsides are no load meter and the starter pull is at a weird angle and interferes with the generator frame so you don't get a full straight pull when starting. It started right up on the second pull out of the box. It's a great generator to have around for those occasional power outages that won't break the bank. With the extra savings, I'm going to purchase a transfer switch."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Model#5982 Generac Generator Portable

,
October 11, 2011
By Brian55
from Baltimore
"Just purchased this portable generator , put the oil in and gasand pulled the rope starter twice and it fired right up
The amount of amps is sufficient to run 3 cords and it worked flawlessly
now when my power goes out from hurricanes, I'll be able to power my sump pump and freezer
Would recommend this product"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great generator

,
October 10, 2011
By heavyet
from long island n.y.
"first the price was right, i looked at alot of differant ones and made my choice on this one. i owed a differant brand before and it served me well and i was hoping this one would be just as good. It came when they said it would and assembly took me 15 minutes.After i added the oil with the provided funnel it started right up and it was as quiet as my last one. Can't wait til the next storm to use it haha. thanks again."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Emergency Standby

,
October 10, 2011
By Edcaro
from Warrington, PA
"Needed this when everyone else did.....hurricane Irene! I was fortunate enough to not require this unit but it makes me feel more prepared. Thge minor assembly was quite simple, started immediately. I have followed recommendations and have run this generator every two weeks.
The only MINOR issue I had was that it must have contained sime oil. When I added the amount of oil shipped with the unit, it was overfilled. Easy to correct.
Just read all other reviews and you must conclude this is a good piece."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what it's supposed to be...

,
October 10, 2011
By PhillyBob
from Philadelphia
"The generator arrived a bit late but I bought it during a hurricaine so that's understandable. It appears to be of the very highest quality. Took a half hour to assemble. Instructions are clear and everything I needed was in the box except the gas. Started up first pull and easily handles a full size refridgerator/freezer, a sump pump and a bunch of lights. That's all we've tried so far. Waiting for the next storm! Highly recommend."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Disaster savior

,
August 30, 2010
By PrdTxn
from Luray, VA
"This generator came promptly and was very easy to unpack and prepare for use. Easy to move about to various locations and jobs on included wheels, this enhanced by light lifting weight and balance at the handle. Starts readily and runs well. Very well set-up for non-technically inclined persons, all instructions for use concise and understandable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Generator

,
August 23, 2010
By Gineaux
from Wheeling, WV
"Great price, cheap shipping, started first easy pull, sipped gas, plenty of outlets, good back up during the power outage, moved easy with wheels & handle, gives peace of mind, no negatives, I love it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP3250 Portable Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 5982
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Standby, easy to move

,
July 20, 2009
By rustii
from Two Harbors, MN
"Generac is a well known name in the standby generator market. This set will meet most emergency home power needs, plus the wheels and handle are very convenient, especially for persons that cannot lug a genset around. I purchased this product for my elderly parents."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.