Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SureCare Battery Maintainer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

SureCare Battery Maintainer

Item# 167951
Unique Current Control Circuit maintains power as it prevents electrolyte boil out of 12V maintenance-free batteries during long periods of non-use. LED indicator shows correct connections. Costs pennies to operate. Polarity, short circuit and temperature protected. 5-year Warranty. Maintains Yes, Trickle Charge Amps 25, Works With 12V maintenance free battery. Trickle Charges at 25A Does not work on Gel or Sealed Batteries Not for use with aircraft batteries
Average Customer Rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
17 of 19(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Review 1 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
November 13, 2013
By Jambocoo
from Sistersville, WV.
"Had one of these for the past 8 years to keep my lawn tractor battery in a stable condition year round. There is no doubt in my mind that is the reason I got 8 years out of a battery that should have been worn out in 5. Always a good start, never failed in summer or winter. I just ordered another one some time ago for my newest lawn tractor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic little product

,
March 17, 2011
By TexasTechE
from Mont Belvieu, Texas
"I have used this product for 7 years. It works great on lawn tractors, generators and stored vehicles. I recently purchased two additional SureCare Battery Maintainers to keep all of my batteries charged and ready for use. It is simple and works well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what you expect

,
March 14, 2011
By mountainguy
from CA
"Living in the mountains we have lots of things that get put away in the winter. These little guys make sure that come spring time, everything is still charged up and ready to go. Great product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SureCare Battery Maintainer

,
March 14, 2011
By TGM3680154
"The SureCare battery maintainer was a great purchase. It was priced right and is performing very well. I have had very good success with ordering products from Northern Tool + Equipment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bang for Buck

,
June 3, 2010
By MekJu
from Houston
"I bought this to maintain the battery in an old Jeep that I rarely drive. In almost a year of use, it has never failed to start. Previously the battery would be dead after just a couple of weeks. I nearly bought a charge maintainer that was about three times the price of this one, so I'm glad I opted for this instead."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surecharge Battery Maintainer

,
June 1, 2010
By ncchairman
from East Tennessee
"So simple to use but the reward is astonishing. After losing 3 RV batteries in as many years a friend suggested a surechare battery maintainer. I am happy to say that was the best advice he has ever gave me. I figure in the last 5 years this unit has saved me over 500 dollars in battery replacement. Keeping the battieries in my weekend toys hot and ready to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sure Care

,
May 24, 2010
By TAAG
from Discovery Bay, CA
"These little units are very effective. I had doubts about their output so I contacted the manufacter. Was assured that they would maintain a 12volt battery so long as the battery was first fully charged. That was surely the case. They are cost effective both in their production and in saving your battery life."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little maintainer

,
May 24, 2010
By Stamos
from Plymouth, MI
"My dad was the first to get one of these. He had a lot of equipment with batteries that wouldn't get used during the winter. If you let them go dead, you'll never get them back in full. So these maintainers worked out perfectly because you could just connect and leave connected without worrying about boiling or frying your batteries. He now has an entire series and I use one for my motorcycle battery."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

battery maintainer

,
February 15, 2010
By birgfeld
from searsport maine
"i have it hooked up to my old plow truck to keep the battery up to full charge. it is working out very well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sure Care for Sure

,
February 15, 2010
By BikeDude
from Lyman, Maine
"I store a vehicle for the winter. I was having trouble with the (new) battery draining over as little as 2 weeks due to the car's computer systems drawing small currents constantly. The battery would not even turn the engine over one revolution. I bought the Sure Care Battery Maintainer and connected it after I got the engine started and recharged the battery to full voltage. A couple of other reviews claimed it did not work. Reading the directions will inform the user that the battery must show at least 11VDC or it won't work. Maybe that's where the others found drained batteries after using it. My experience finds that it is well worth the money to preserve a battery over extended periods of time by using this product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SureCare™ Battery Maintainer

,
April 21, 2008
By nitramnaed
from Minneapolis, MN
"Bought this to maintain my mothers battery while she snowbirds for the winter. Car starts every spring. I would recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very easy to use, works great!

,
April 14, 2008
By nvhunter
from Pueblo, CO
"Bough this to keep the kid's ATV all charged up between rides. It's easy to use and works great. No more dead batteries!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SureCare Battery Maintainer

,
January 14, 2008
By godfather
from Surf City, NC
"I was very pleased witht the promptness of delivery of the battery maintainer used for my Jet Ski battery. It came promptly, no waiting and was exactly as described, high quality and works extremely well. I will purchase more from Northern Tool.
RGB
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Maintainer

,
October 8, 2007
By PtownBubba
from Illinois
"I have used this item for years. I put them on my old tractors,, that get little use, and this charger keeps the batteries topped off. The one tractor is a loader tractor that I use when the the truck plow can't move the heavy snow. The battery is always up, never need to jump it. If you have several vehicles that hibernate for periods of time, get a few of these and you may never have a dead battery again. There are more expensive ones for sale, they may do something more, but these particular ones work fine for my needs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doug

,
March 7, 2007
By 0419
from South Central Pennysvania
"I have 8 Batttery Tenders in use. I bought three of these, and one failed. Because there is no visual indication of the status (the LED does not indicate chargering v. maintenance v. operational), you do not know if the unit is really working. Directions say check to see if it is warm, to see if it is working. The unit that failed was warm, but not charging, and if fact drained the battery it was attached to. I would highly recommend you pay a few more dollars and get the Battery Minder Plus or Battery Minder that desulfinates your battery. Those units have LEDs which tell you what is going on with the unit and the battery."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just whats needed

,
March 7, 2007
By theduke
from NC coast
"If you want to be ready to go then this is the right priced item for keeping the battery up and ready when you are. Just bring gas and ready set go you are."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery Maintainer

,
March 6, 2007
By harleyhound
from Dallas, Tx
"Have used it on a motorcycle for several months with no problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more dead batteries

,
November 18, 2006
By Restorer
from Norway, Iowa
"I have purchased several of these units over the past three years. When ever I am not using a peice of equipment, I put a Sure Care Battery Maintainer on the battery. (Car, truck, snow blower, tractor, or fish finder.) No more dead batteries !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SureCare Battery Maintainer
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Trickle charger

,
November 16, 2006
By automandan
from NH
"Worked for about 2 hours, then quit. Northern Tool didn't even require me to send it back.. I ordered a different charger."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.