Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

Item# 167981
"The BatteryMINDER Plus is a 3-mode maintenance charger/desulfator that extends performance and life of all types and sizes of 12 Volt lead acid batteries, including all starter, deep cycle, maintenance-free, sealed AGM, gelled or dry-type batteries, regardless of size or make. The Model 12117 automatically dissolves harmful power-robbing sulfation using safe, low voltage, patented high-frequency pulse technology. UL listed. Conditioner Yes, Overcharge Protection Yes, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Power Cord ft. 11, Power Source 120VAC, Desulfates Yes, Amps 1.33, Charges Yes, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 4, Maintains Yes, Trickle Charge Amps 5mA-1A determined by battery demand, Works With 12V lead-acid battery. Full-time battery monitoring automatically tests battery every microsecond, supplying only the current needed to maintain battery at full charge Charges and maintains from 1 to 4 batteries at a time 12V batteries parallel-connected or 6V batteries series-connected Does not overcharge, regardless of time connected High-frequency pulses safely remove sulfate from battery's plates that prevent the batteries from holding a full charge No need to add water to maintenance-type batteries during long, non-use storage Stops boil-out and ends water loss Isolation transformer and smart chip technology ensures safe, long-term performance Automatic reset thermostat prevents damage to charger when unit is connected to faulty battery Weatherproof when used with an approved outdoor electrical receptacle conformal-coated circuitry ensures trouble-free life even in high-moisture marine environments Blinks when charged Allows battery to be stored safely at 0 to 120F Made to ISO 9002 Quality Certified Standards Comes complete with Quick connect/disconnect battery clips Not for use with aircraft batteries"
Average Customer Rating:
4.852 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(398 Reviews) 398
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (398 reviews)
5 stars
348
4 stars
44
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
395 of 398(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Review 21 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder

,
February 11, 2015
By GPA1
from Texas
" Using it on my riding mower and so far have had no issues with dead or weak battery. Plan on using it on my 1956 Ford station wagon. Extremely satisfied. Easy to hook up to the battery. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator

,
February 11, 2015
By JDinBrady
from Brady, TX
" Bought two of these to replace another brand that I wasn't sure was working correctly. I use one full time on a large mower/brush cutter and use the other one to keep the batteries on my deer feeders working when there's not enough sun in the winter for my solar charger. Have also used one to keep a motorcycle battery and a tractor charged. These work great and you never have to worry about having a fully charged battery. Definitely recommend to all to get at least one. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery maintenance

,
February 11, 2015
By SH1711
from Atlanta
" I haven't had it long; however, it appears to be working well. I think it's a great product for the price.
Many others are much more expensive and do the same thing.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good deal

,
February 10, 2015
By semperfiguy48
from Vermont
" Needed some type of device to keep my RV battery charged up over the long Vermont winters. This battery minder was the best deal I could find and is working as advertised. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great charger/maintainer!

,
February 9, 2015
By RiverRunner
from Tallahassee, Florida
" Bought this to use as float charger for grandson's battery ATV, my lawnmower, dump trailer, tractor, etc. It charges and maintains without worry of overcharging. For the price, best investment in awhile. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 9, 2015
By Yoda55
from Peaster, TX
" Works really well on any size battery to maintain or charge. Compact size allows it fit anywhere "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as it should

,
February 9, 2015
By tklop
from Wauseon, OH
" does what it says it should do and keeps the Goldwing ready to go at all times "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great charger/maintainer at a great price!

,
February 8, 2015
By IndustrialMechanic
from Louisiana
" I have this unit and the Battery Minder 1500, the only differences between the two are the addition of the temp sensor and the additional .2 amp charge on the 1500. Both units will desulfate, charge and maintain batteries at peak levels. I also really like the constant desulfation, I have a CTEK unit as well and have found that they only desulfate for a short period during the charge state. This is fine for a new battery but doesn't cut it with an old sulfated battery. I was impressed enough with this little charger to give two as Christmas gifts to family members who are also mechanics. I would recommend this to anyone who is trying to get the maximum life out of their batteries. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder Charger/Maintainer

,
February 7, 2015
By DT64
from Indiana
" I've used this charger for about 2 weeks...it appears to working OK. Its well made and its currently charging 4 (12V deep cycle) batteries that I'm using for my solar battery bank. (keeps all four batteries at 13.5 volts! There's a button on the charger you can push... that places the charger in 'maintenance' mode.
It would be nice if this feature included another light to indicate the position of this switch (on or off) as you have no indicator that this feature is actually engaged...with the current control switch.
Looks like a great product!...fast shipping from Northern Tool. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder

,
February 5, 2015
By JP2345
from Denver, NC
" Got this unit to maintain my boat, motorcyce, and tractor batteries during off season. It seems to be doing a great job but will know more in the spring. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Saver

,
February 5, 2015
By CT12
from Oklahoma
" Great item. It's much better and cheaper than replacing a lawn mower battery year after year. Simple and easy to use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stay at Full Charge

,
February 4, 2015
By BTUBOY
from Iowa
" This charger was exactly what I was looking for and what I expected! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fairly low priced battery Charger/Desulfator

,
February 3, 2015
By Ram01
from Houston area
" The battery charger works as described and do better then other chargers of comparable price and size, the desulfator brings back your battery if is not to long gone (2 to 3 years old) I think is a great buy for the price specially if you catch it on sale! do not have experience with car batteries but is great for lawn tractors, motorcycles etc.
will buy again!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
February 3, 2015
By DrKen
from Snowflake, AZ
" I love this little charger. It works great. Keeps the batter for my log splitter ready for use. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
February 1, 2015
By BrettT
from Wanesboro, VA
" Good charger for trickle charge.I seems to be well built. I just started using it so I can't say much more. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charger/Maintainer

,
February 1, 2015
By RogVH
from Monroe, MI
" I like that it indicates that it is charging or maintaining so I know the status of the battery. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Be Patient

,
January 31, 2015
By Ordinary88
from Portland, OR
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" This will do the job you bought it for, but don't expect it to do other chores. Bought to maintain dual trailer batteries - as it WILL NOT bring a severely discharged battery to life. I had batteries that were down to about 7 volts and this charger would not start, but it's not supposed to. You have to bring the battery up to about 10 volts with another charger, THEN this will kick in. And it will take days to get them to full charge, maintenance level - but then it just keeps them charged and ready to go. I need to keep my batteries fresh in the winter before heading out in Spring, and this does that!! IT WILL NOT charge your battery overnight so you can get to work, use your 10amp/2amp for that. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

battery minder

,
January 30, 2015
By peotis
from varina, virginia
" Did what it was supposed to do. No problems so far. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works good

,
January 30, 2015
By ToyGuy1
from Oregon Coast
" The charger itself is great, the accessories seem to be a bit expensive and lacking (ability to charge multiple batteries). You are able to make jumpers for much less than you able to purchase (for mower, jet-ski, generator batteries). if just using for a single battery "perfect". "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
January 29, 2015
By kkstout
from Central Kentucky
" This is not the 1st one of this brand of battery tender I have owned. We have a couple of these that we have used for keeping the battery charged on our motorcycle and our ATV for the past 2 yrs and have been very pleased with the service of the tenders. We purchased this one to put on a vintage vehicle that needs to be started every 3 or 4 weeks. This tender is a solid performer over and over and if we ever need another, we will definitely purchase again! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.