Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

"BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

Item# 167981
"The BatteryMINDER Plus is a 3-mode maintenance charger/desulfator that extends performance and life of all types and sizes of 12 Volt lead acid batteries, including all starter, deep cycle, maintenance-free, sealed AGM, gelled or dry-type batteries, regardless of size or make. The Model 12117 automatically dissolves harmful power-robbing sulfation using safe, low voltage, patented high-frequency pulse technology. UL listed. Conditioner Yes, Overcharge Protection Yes, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Power Cord ft. 11, Power Source 120VAC, Desulfates Yes, Amps 1.33, Charges Yes, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 4, Maintains Yes, Trickle Charge Amps 5mA-1A determined by battery demand, Works With 12V lead-acid battery. Full-time battery monitoring automatically tests battery every microsecond, supplying only the current needed to maintain battery at full charge Charges and maintains from 1 to 4 batteries at a time 12V batteries parallel-connected or 6V batteries series-connected Does not overcharge, regardless of time connected High-frequency pulses safely remove sulfate from battery's plates that prevent the batteries from holding a full charge No need to add water to maintenance-type batteries during long, non-use storage Stops boil-out and ends water loss Isolation transformer and smart chip technology ensures safe, long-term performance Automatic reset thermostat prevents damage to charger when unit is connected to faulty battery Weatherproof when used with an approved outdoor electrical receptacle conformal-coated circuitry ensures trouble-free life even in high-moisture marine environments Blinks when charged Allows battery to be stored safely at 0 to 120F Made to ISO 9002 Quality Certified Standards Comes complete with Quick connect/disconnect battery clips Not for use with aircraft batteries"
Average Customer Rating:
4.863 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(284 Reviews) 284
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (284 reviews)
5 stars
252
4 stars
28
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
281 of 284(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 108 Answers
Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Review 21 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BatteryMinder

,
April 17, 2014
By gt51
from Kansas City
" Very good product, excellent service from Northern Tools ship-to-store. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BatteryMinder Model#12117

,
April 13, 2014
By RJ0105
from Pinehurst, ID
" Very pleased
A friend had this & bragged about, so I bought one. Considering purchasing another.
This one was on sale, and made my mind up to purchase.
Thank you
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best tickle charger/desulfator

,
February 8, 2014
By Kenmjohn
from Oak Park, Mn 56357
" I like this unit well enough to have two of them. I prefer to charge only one battery at a time. I can charge the boat batteries, then the R/V batteries, then the tractors, then the lawn mowers and the four-wheeler. I bought extra connectors so I can just plug them in easily. I have had the batteries last much longer since using these battery minders. It is also nice to have the engines and crank and start without the boost from the big charger unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Charger

,
February 7, 2014
By cr363
from Gilbert, SC
" I have several of these. My first one is over 5 years old and has been in constant use since it was bought charging a battery used in an electric starter for a racing go kart. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BatteryMindDer Plus

,
February 6, 2014
By Doc2
from Tex
" I am a motor sport hobbyist and farmer. As a result I have quite a number of batteries. I purchased my first BatteryMindDer Plus, about 3 years ago to maintain a couple of batteries in my diesel tractors. They have been a life saver in keeping the batteries fully charged and prolonging the life of the batteries. Today I have five of these maintainers in use on various applications such as tractors, lawn tractors, and street rods. They have performed very well. I highly recommend them. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 6, 2014
By Dave167
from Prior Lake, MN
" Works so well I bought a second. They keep my tractor and classic car batteries in great shape over the winter. Come to think of it, I'll need a third for my motorcycle battery... "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

helps your battery- wallet- and sanity

,
February 5, 2014
By jayfish1
from nissouri
" What a great deal I got on the battery minder and they work awesome helps your battery by keeping them fresh - your wallet by saving and rejuvenating your batteries and your sanity cause we all know how mad you get when your battery is dead and it usually happens at the worse time "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery minder charger is great.

,
February 5, 2014
By Stimey1
from Morganton. NC
" I'll be the first to say it is the best little charger you will ever need. I have a friend that has one and this charger is so good that his cheap battery is over 9 years old and I'm a believer as your lucky to get 2 or 3 years out if a small lawn mower battery ( 300 cca ) it is so good at doing its job that I bought 3 of them. Go ahead get one as I have my experience on this as it works GREAT. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works perfectly..!

,
February 4, 2014
By BelleBoy
from Southern Maryland
" I'm using this to maintain the batteries on a bucket lift. I'll use the machine non-stop for two weeks at a time, but then it sits for maybe a couple of months. The on-board charger is great for an overnight charge, but doesn't allow trickle-charge for extended idle time. Since connecting the Battery Minder, the batteries have remained fully charged and ready for use. I am trusting the advertisement that the batteries are being de-sulphated. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good inexpensive charger

,
February 4, 2014
By Stromrider
from rual PA
" Nice charger that can also maintain and will also desulfate. Can charge and maintain multiple batteries. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value

,
February 4, 2014
By ok2eme
from Denison, TX
" Good unit for a unbelievable price. The long cord makes it very user friendly. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

batterie maintainer

,
February 4, 2014
By chasmack
from DeSoto, Mo.
" it does a good job of keeping the battery charged but it seams to over charge a small amount which discharges a small amount of acid out of the battery.
. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good description

,
February 4, 2014
By C7385
from Nebraska City, NE
" Very easy to use plug and play. I have my deep cycle marine batteries wired in a loop and I check them with a meter once a week and it work great! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
February 4, 2014
By wallzwallz
from Cape Cod,MA
" Bought 2 for my boat, will be buying more for generators and seldom used machines "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Maintainer

,
February 4, 2014
By LanceH
from Los Angeles
" Dandy product, works well. You can see the lights change as it charges up the battery and then maintains it. Put this on 1 of my cars where I figured the battery was getting old, when running it showed around 15 volts. After a week on this it is now showing 14.7 volts while driving around. I'm switching it around to different vehicles when they aren't going to be used for a week or more to help them all out. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

esstential for off-season batteries

,
February 4, 2014
By Vermonta
from northern VT
" I own 8 of these- some handle one battery and some handle as many as four.
Easily doubles the life of a battery used seasonally.
If you use this item on a small battery- such as a motorcycle battery, it is better to do 2 days on followed by one week off, as the small batteries will not function well if you disconnect after a long period of use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

One bad one good

,
February 4, 2014
By DustyF
from Calder, ID
" Ordered two. One worked, one didn't. 50% fail rate is not good. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Restores batteries

,
February 4, 2014
By CM23
from Delano, MN
" Restores batteries, even large agricultural batteries that you are sure need replacing. I thought this product would never charge some of the old batteries I had laying around, but it has worked on every one. Wish I had bought this much sooner. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best low-priced battery charger EVER!

,
February 4, 2014
By CincyMark
from Cincinnati, OH
" If you want a charger that keeps your deep cycle or extra batteries ready to go, this is the one to get! Hook it up, make sure the green light is on, and forget about it! It will fully charge a battery in 2-3 days, and then go into desulphating mode automatically with minimal amp draw. I've used it to bring back weak desulphated batteries & even maintain 3 identical deep cycle batteries hooked up in parallel simultaneously! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Will save you money to use

,
February 4, 2014
By Tmmi
from Nc
" This unit is very safe and easy to use. The indicator light makes this better then some other units. Using this charger keeps my vehicle batteries fresh when I don't use them out of season. It will save you from replacing your battery earlier then needed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.