Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

"BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

Item# 167981
"The BatteryMINDER Plus is a 3-mode maintenance charger/desulfator that extends performance and life of all types and sizes of 12 Volt lead acid batteries, including all starter, deep cycle, maintenance-free, sealed AGM, gelled or dry-type batteries, regardless of size or make. The Model 12117 automatically dissolves harmful power-robbing sulfation using safe, low voltage, patented high-frequency pulse technology. UL listed. Conditioner Yes, Overcharge Protection Yes, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Power Cord ft. 11, Power Source 120VAC, Desulfates Yes, Amps 1.33, Charges Yes, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 4, Maintains Yes, Trickle Charge Amps 5mA-1A determined by battery demand, Works With 12V lead-acid battery. Full-time battery monitoring automatically tests battery every microsecond, supplying only the current needed to maintain battery at full charge Charges and maintains from 1 to 4 batteries at a time 12V batteries parallel-connected or 6V batteries series-connected Does not overcharge, regardless of time connected High-frequency pulses safely remove sulfate from battery's plates that prevent the batteries from holding a full charge No need to add water to maintenance-type batteries during long, non-use storage Stops boil-out and ends water loss Isolation transformer and smart chip technology ensures safe, long-term performance Automatic reset thermostat prevents damage to charger when unit is connected to faulty battery Weatherproof when used with an approved outdoor electrical receptacle conformal-coated circuitry ensures trouble-free life even in high-moisture marine environments Blinks when charged Allows battery to be stored safely at 0 to 120F Made to ISO 9002 Quality Certified Standards Comes complete with Quick connect/disconnect battery clips Not for use with aircraft batteries"
Average Customer Rating:
4.843 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(351 Reviews) 351
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (351 reviews)
5 stars
305
4 stars
40
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
348 of 351(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 113 Answers
Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Review 21 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BATTERY MINDER

,
January 18, 2015
By CONSTARA
from SILEX, MO
" Simple to use, kept the battery on my bike, fully charged and ready to go, during the coldest weather. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Charger/Maintainer

,
January 17, 2015
By triedtoomany
from Rowlett, Texas
" I bought one of these for one of my two collector cars. It works so well I bought another one. It is a good product. You just put it on the car and forget about it until you are ready to drive the car. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't go wrong with BatteryMinder

,
January 17, 2015
By Smithsonite
from West Central, MA
" I've owned their 8A 3-stage charger (with temp.sensor) for several years now, and it's paid for itself 100x over in the number of batteries it's saved. This one here is an excellent maintainer for all my traditional lead-acid batteries. It can be used on AGM batteries, but it's not optimized for that. BatteryMinder quality - can't go wrong. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

charger

,
January 17, 2015
By Wiggles
from NY
" good product, the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it doesn't come with a pigtail that hooks on battery besides using alligator clips. some ATVs and motorcycle batteries have difficult access. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
January 17, 2015
By seahawkfan
from Seattle
" I have a classic 55 Chevy and have used other chargers to keep battery maintained.
Other chargers either burn up battery or leave it wanting.
This does a great job, of maintaining battery and keeping it fresh.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
January 16, 2015
By k3uod
from Maryland
" I have used this on my lawn tractor battery and a half dozen 7.2 Ah UPS batteries. It works great.
So far, I have only used this on batteries that were in fair condition; so I don't really know how well the desulfator function works.
I liked the first one I bought so well that, when they went on sale, I bought another.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
January 16, 2015
By joexx
from "High in the Rockies"
" I've been buying these units for years. I have 3 of them now and they have never failed me. I've used these de-sulfators for years and they add many years life to old batteries. I still have the 2 original batteries in my truck from 2004. I have a tractor battery that is 12 years old. All of them get a dose from these maintainer/desulfators several times a year..
I highly recommend them. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery Minder # 12217

,
January 16, 2015
By Roothick
from New Jersey
" A Battery Minder will keep almost any battery at full charge, and extend its useful life.. the same as automatic chargers that cost 5 times more. And do so with only pennies in electricity costs per month, instead of dollars! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder

,
January 16, 2015
By d0328
from NH
" Great product for the price keeps all my batteries charged. Lawn mowers,campers and motorcycle batteries. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder

,
January 16, 2015
By Rickpools
from Southington, CT
" I own a swimming pool company in New England and sixteen of my vehicles sit idle for five months during the winter months. Some of my dumptrucks and heavy equipment have three 1000 cranking amp batteries in them. I attach the Northern Battery Minder to all of the batteries on the idle trucks and machinery. In the springtime, I have no trouble starting the engines now. Before I used the maintainers, I spent $1500.00 replacing dead batteries in one year! The maintainers are a lot cheaper than any of those batteries. I also use the maintainers on my lawn mowers, generators and spare batteries in the shop. I highly recommend them. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery tender

,
January 16, 2015
By Matt58
from Lagro, In.
" This batter tender works great. I purchased two of these and hooked up both of them and they worked as intended. I would recommend this product to a friend. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

First time user.

,
January 16, 2015
By Jefferson50
from Somerset,KY
" This is the first time I have used this type of charger. It's simple to set-up. I looked at several reviews and they were very positive. I can't comment about long term usage because I just started using it. I have high hopes that it will make my batteries last longer and perform better without concerns of overcharging. I am going to purchase the 6 volt version for my motorcycle battery. I think it will save me money in the long run because the 6 volt batteries for motorcycles are hard to find and can be expensive. At this time I can't find anything negative about this charger. I like it so far! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery charger maintainer

,
January 15, 2015
By Scubalover
from Southeast Florida
" I purchased this charger/maintainer several weeks ago and so far it has been working wonderfully and at a good price. I even recommended it to my girlfriends son for his battery. I would highly recommend this unit!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works!

,
January 13, 2015
By Stephen17
from Morristown, TN
" This product performs as advertised. I use it for three small utility batteries and have never had any problems. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, with the best price

,
January 13, 2015
By rbsev
from IL
" this is the best, most dependable battery tender out there, and Northern has the best price and service "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Desulfation at great price

,
January 12, 2015
By QAMan102
from Santa Cruz, Ca
" Well built, good design, easy to use, at great price. Already notice improvement in weak used 5yo battery after a week of this unit. Clear instructions. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Minding my battery's businesss

,
January 12, 2015
By Bobboda
from Detroit, MI
" Nice little unit that I'm hoping is "minding" a car battery while I'm away for a few months. AND, it's a "desulfator"! Whatever the heck that is. (I'll be more sure it's a good thing if/when the car starts in the spring!) - Great price and surprisingly fast shipping! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Device at a Great Sale Price!

,
January 11, 2015
By FPEng
from Philadelphia, PA
" I already have one BatteryMINDER Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator, which has done a good job maintaining my garden tractor batteries (I have 3 tractors) in the off-seaason. Since I started using my first one several years ago, I estimate I get one year+ extra battery life. I also like to put the cars on it several times per year just for the desulphation. Having a second unit will come in very handy! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BatteryMinder model # 12117

,
January 10, 2015
By rob39
from Danvers,MA
" I didn't think it would work well in cold weather. My battery stayed fully charged in 0 degree temps. I would recommend this product for anyone that uses batteries in the wintertime. Word of mouth has sold this product and other batteryminder items in this area. Holds up to the warranty and lasts. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Charger

,
January 10, 2015
By ELH2
from Lenoir, NC
" Have same kind of maintenance charger for boat batteries. I disconnect battery and put in basement, on charger, for winter months. Have had a 5 year battery now for 8 years and still going strong. BatteryMinder is well worth the price. Got this one for my riding lawnmower battery. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.