Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

"BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

Item# 167981
"The BatteryMINDER Plus is a 3-mode maintenance charger/desulfator that extends performance and life of all types and sizes of 12 Volt lead acid batteries, including all starter, deep cycle, maintenance-free, sealed AGM, gelled or dry-type batteries, regardless of size or make. The Model 12117 automatically dissolves harmful power-robbing sulfation using safe, low voltage, patented high-frequency pulse technology. UL listed. Conditioner Yes, Overcharge Protection Yes, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Power Cord ft. 11, Power Source 120VAC, Desulfates Yes, Amps 1.33, Charges Yes, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 4, Maintains Yes, Trickle Charge Amps 5mA-1A determined by battery demand, Works With 12V lead-acid battery. Full-time battery monitoring automatically tests battery every microsecond, supplying only the current needed to maintain battery at full charge Charges and maintains from 1 to 4 batteries at a time 12V batteries parallel-connected or 6V batteries series-connected Does not overcharge, regardless of time connected High-frequency pulses safely remove sulfate from battery's plates that prevent the batteries from holding a full charge No need to add water to maintenance-type batteries during long, non-use storage Stops boil-out and ends water loss Isolation transformer and smart chip technology ensures safe, long-term performance Automatic reset thermostat prevents damage to charger when unit is connected to faulty battery Weatherproof when used with an approved outdoor electrical receptacle conformal-coated circuitry ensures trouble-free life even in high-moisture marine environments Blinks when charged Allows battery to be stored safely at 0 to 120F Made to ISO 9002 Quality Certified Standards Comes complete with Quick connect/disconnect battery clips Not for use with aircraft batteries"
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(271 Reviews) 271
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (271 reviews)
5 stars
240
4 stars
28
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
269 of 271(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 106 Answers
Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Review 21 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
February 4, 2014
By wallzwallz
from Cape Cod,MA
"Bought 2 for my boat, will be buying more for generators and seldom used machines"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Maintainer

,
February 4, 2014
By LanceH
from Los Angeles
"Dandy product, works well. You can see the lights change as it charges up the battery and then maintains it. Put this on 1 of my cars where I figured the battery was getting old, when running it showed around 15 volts. After a week on this it is now showing 14.7 volts while driving around. I'm switching it around to different vehicles when they aren't going to be used for a week or more to help them all out."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

esstential for off-season batteries

,
February 4, 2014
By Vermonta
from northern VT
"I own 8 of these- some handle one battery and some handle as many as four.
Easily doubles the life of a battery used seasonally.
If you use this item on a small battery- such as a motorcycle battery, it is better to do 2 days on followed by one week off, as the small batteries will not function well if you disconnect after a long period of use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

One bad one good

,
February 4, 2014
By DustyF
from Calder, ID
"Ordered two. One worked, one didn't. 50% fail rate is not good."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Restores batteries

,
February 4, 2014
By CM23
from Delano, MN
"Restores batteries, even large agricultural batteries that you are sure need replacing. I thought this product would never charge some of the old batteries I had laying around, but it has worked on every one. Wish I had bought this much sooner."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best low-priced battery charger EVER!

,
February 4, 2014
By CincyMark
from Cincinnati, OH
"If you want a charger that keeps your deep cycle or extra batteries ready to go, this is the one to get! Hook it up, make sure the green light is on, and forget about it! It will fully charge a battery in 2-3 days, and then go into desulphating mode automatically with minimal amp draw. I've used it to bring back weak desulphated batteries & even maintain 3 identical deep cycle batteries hooked up in parallel simultaneously!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Will save you money to use

,
February 4, 2014
By Tmmi
from Nc
"This unit is very safe and easy to use. The indicator light makes this better then some other units. Using this charger keeps my vehicle batteries fresh when I don't use them out of season. It will save you from replacing your battery earlier then needed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

batteryMinder

,
February 4, 2014
By neil316
from pennsylvania
"excellent product. bought 3 of these to maintain atv & lawn mower batteries at my vacation home in the mountains. Weather this winter hit -40 degrees fahrenheit a few days and I never had a problem starting my equiptment. two batteries are over 5 years old and crank like new! Just connect and forget!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still working after 8 years of use!

,
February 4, 2014
By biffydog
from Saginaw, Michigan
"I bought one of these eight years ago to maintain the battery in a Honda portable generator. In my area we don't lose power very often and I knew that the generator wouldn't get used much. In fact, it hasn't been used in the eight years that I have had this charger. But the charger has been plugged in and attached to the generator battery all that time. I don't keep gas in the generator but every so often I'll hit the key to check the battery and it always cranks. The charger doesn't over-charge the battery either because I haven't had to add water to the battery more than once during the last eight years. Eight years of life on a lead acid battery is pretty good service. I credit it to this charger. I have since purchased two others. I highly recommend them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Reliable Product

,
February 4, 2014
By valleylemon
from Houston Tx
"works great, they last forever, use on my atvs, generators and vehicles"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

essential for all batteries

,
February 4, 2014
By rpc5353
from Cow Town
"I use this on my ranch truck that often sits for months at a time but with this battery tender it fires up every time! I also use one on my motorcycle to keep the battery fresh. Batteries last longer and perform better with this product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excelent

,
November 13, 2013
By Berny
from NE
"I bought one years ago, and it is still working. I bought one last year.(still working) I am back to buy two more! I can put one on a farm tractor or truck, and come back 6 months later and know it will start. One tractor had weak batteries and I thought I would have to replace them. I put this on, and left it all winter. The tractor started all summer like I had new batteries. Winter time again, so I am back to buy more. Remember, charge batteries first if they are low. Second, the desulfinator is not strong. Expect it to take almost 2 months on a week battery. Just some FYI"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It just plain works!!!

,
November 12, 2012
By z71usa
from Oregon
"I've owned this product for 4+ years and I've never had any issues with it. I just ordered my second one last week. I'm also planning on wiring up my GPS 12v on my Honda VTX1800F to the battery using some of the components from this charging system. This is a great charger/maintainer, save your batteries from the recycle yard and get yourself one or more of these. You won't regret it one bit."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Revive batteries

,
October 18, 2012
By scham
from Spartanburg, SC
"I have used this product for two purposes. 1: is to keep SLA batteries charged and the other is to keep the battery in my sport car topped off during periods of non use...like winter.
Works every time.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

battery minder works great!

,
October 16, 2012
By Pike1
from Georgetown, Indiana
"I used the battery minder on a tractor battery which would not hold a charge longer than a few days. After using the battery minder on it all winter the battery has gone over a year not needing a recharge. It definitely brought the battery back from the dead."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rescue that weak Battery

,
October 9, 2012
By 1TNG
from Jamestown, RI
"This Charger desulphater is very easy to use and understand. All the instructions that you need to do charging or to desulphate a 12 volt battery are printed directly on the unit. No need to go looking for the direction sheet if you don't use it for a while.
Takes a little time to get the desired results but that is understandable. It took years to get the battery sulphated. Very happy with the results older marine battery from my boat brought back to useful life in about three weeks. A great find at Northern!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great charger

,
October 8, 2012
By muchdisappointment
from San Antonio TX
"These are the very best at charging, and more importantly maintaining a fully charged battery. I have a pickup that I rarely use, maybe once every month or two, and it has never failed to start while using this charger to maintain the battery. I also use it to keep my motor home batteries fully charge, and also the batteries for my hot rod and my riding mower charged."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

12v Battery Tender

,
October 8, 2012
By Wizard9
from Dallas, TX
"This product is designed to maintain the proper level of charge in a 12v battery, and it does that. It's easy to set up, connect, and easy to visually see that it's working."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

owner

,
October 8, 2012
By eked
from ellenburg depot ny
"very nice product easy to use quick service a pleasure doing business with. keep up the good work."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

don't leave it connected without plugging it in

,
October 8, 2012
By PhoenixWinchLLC
from Phoenix, AZ
"If you don't keep the unit powered but keep it connected to your battery, it will actually drain the battery, other than that, it's great for what it's intended for"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.