Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

"BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

Item# 167981
"The BatteryMINDER Plus is a 3-mode maintenance charger/desulfator that extends performance and life of all types and sizes of 12 Volt lead acid batteries, including all starter, deep cycle, maintenance-free, sealed AGM, gelled or dry-type batteries, regardless of size or make. The Model 12117 automatically dissolves harmful power-robbing sulfation using safe, low voltage, patented high-frequency pulse technology. UL listed. Conditioner Yes, Overcharge Protection Yes, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Power Cord ft. 11, Power Source 120VAC, Desulfates Yes, Amps 1.33, Charges Yes, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 4, Maintains Yes, Trickle Charge Amps 5mA-1A determined by battery demand, Works With 12V lead-acid battery. Full-time battery monitoring automatically tests battery every microsecond, supplying only the current needed to maintain battery at full charge Charges and maintains from 1 to 4 batteries at a time 12V batteries parallel-connected or 6V batteries series-connected Does not overcharge, regardless of time connected High-frequency pulses safely remove sulfate from battery's plates that prevent the batteries from holding a full charge No need to add water to maintenance-type batteries during long, non-use storage Stops boil-out and ends water loss Isolation transformer and smart chip technology ensures safe, long-term performance Automatic reset thermostat prevents damage to charger when unit is connected to faulty battery Weatherproof when used with an approved outdoor electrical receptacle conformal-coated circuitry ensures trouble-free life even in high-moisture marine environments Blinks when charged Allows battery to be stored safely at 0 to 120F Made to ISO 9002 Quality Certified Standards Comes complete with Quick connect/disconnect battery clips Not for use with aircraft batteries"
Average Customer Rating:
4.843 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(351 Reviews) 351
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (351 reviews)
5 stars
305
4 stars
40
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
348 of 351(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 113 Answers
Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Review 1 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pontton boat

,
May 7, 2012
By blusbrother
from Atlantia Ga.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I have a pontoon boat with Brigg and Statton 48 volt motor, soI have 4 12volt marine battery. i use 4 BatteryMinder Carges the maintane the batter and thier small I do not have alot of room, so they fit my needs. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great charger that keeps my boat's batteries good

,
June 3, 2010
By tubergonz
from Denton, Tx
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I use this charger on the starting and deep cycle batteries on my boat. These batteries are three years old and are still charging great. I occasionally switch the charger to the other battery so they both can take advantage of the desulphation feature. Wish they had a marine/boat version. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charger

,
July 23, 2009
By 61Tombo
from Southern NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" This works great! Easy to use. Restores and protects battery. Perfect for my MG with two 6-volt batteries in-series. The charger takes the voltage goes up to about 14.10 vdc then automatically drops back to about 13.54 vdc and stays there.
The instruction book is clear and adequately detailed. It is a good idea to measure the resting voltage of the battery after hooking up but before plugging in the charger. The charger wants to see over 11 vdc before it will start its work.
I really like and trust this product!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator

,
January 27, 2015
By Kneedeep2
from Alabama
" US on Riding Lawn Mower kept inside closed garage. Quick disconnect allows for battery access just to hook up as the battery box is under seat and is difficult to access. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Solution

,
January 26, 2015
By RegularUser
from Memphis TN
" I've been using these since 2006; first one still on my motorcycle. 2nd one on my lawn tractor. 3rd on is a gift to my son for his lawnmower. Most certainly increases the battery life. Got 6 years out of the first motorcycle battery. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BatteryMinder charger 12117

,
January 26, 2015
By WiconsinJohn
from Northern Wisconsin
" Easy, simple, fool proof to use. Everyone wants their battery to work when needed, but if you're like me you don't give it any thought until it fails. Well, this neat little package takes care of all the battery worries. You can read through the technical stuff if you like, bottom line it is hard to believe you can get all that battery maintenance/care expertise for the price of this charger. I emailed a question on the warranty (my own fault, I should have read the included manual more closely) and the company got back to me promptly. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent charger

,
January 25, 2015
By Rocco60
from Long Island
" Excellent product. Keeps my motorcycle charged and easy to use do not hesitate buy one "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great charger

,
January 25, 2015
By dr1234
from kansas
" Great charger. I keep two boat batteries charged all the time. Buying another for mower and atv batteries "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

battery minder

,
January 25, 2015
By Tnshooter
from S E Tennessee
" Very handy. I can leave the clamps hooked onto the terminals of the batteries in the boat and just separate the inline plug for quick hookup next time. I am using as trickle charger mostly. Doing very well in the cold weather. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

winter problems

,
January 25, 2015
By dennyg123
from colorado mountains
" When it gets cold in the mountains of Colorado while machines are not being used during the winter freeze it is hard on battery life. For me, the battery minders are the solution for my battery problems. By using the battery minders and cranking the machines at least monthly, it has been a long time since I lost a battery. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hassle free battery storage

,
January 25, 2015
By CubmasterMike
from Northfield,IL
" For the summer toys that need to go into winter hibernation. I used to use a manual charger, and have to remember to occasionally charge these batteries in storage to top them off. I like to be able to connect this charger to the battery and forget about it until spring. So far this winter, by batteries all meter out and load test as if they were new, and have been hooked to the chargers all winter. We'll see in a few years if the batteries stay happy, but so far, this looks like a great purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Charger

,
January 24, 2015
By mda11
from Alliance, NE
" I have purchased about 30 of these chargers. They work great and are a super buy. They keep all of my equipment ready to go. I use them year round on equipment that does not run on a constant basis. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job for batteries not totally gone

,
January 23, 2015
By WhidbeyGuy
from Langley, WA
" It may require a few days or weeks, but these gadgets will restore the charge storage capacity of many batteries that you might otherwise send to the recyclers. For batteries in good condition, the product does a good job of keeping them topped up and ready to go. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

For use on 4-wheelers

,
January 23, 2015
By poparu
from Arkansas
" As the battery is hard to reach on most 4-wheelers, you need to sell a method to hard wire the charger for when they sit idle for times. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
January 22, 2015
By stricklr
from Aberdeen, Ms.
" I hooked 1 up to my tractor and 2 up to my 2 mowers and 1 up to my diesel truck witch has 2 batteries. They charge for a few minutes then switch to float. They work great everything cranks even in 9 degree weather thats the coldest we've had so far. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
January 22, 2015
By Tlott
from Chesapeake Va
" The battery tender worked great. Had a low battery for my car and put the tender on for a few days and it has been good ever since. Bought it primarily for my riding lawnmower but good to see I can get other uses also. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keep it Hot

,
January 22, 2015
By Sprayfaced
from North Texas
" I had two deep cycle batteries that I used only once or twice a year. I purchased the battery minder to keep these "topped off" and ready for use. The battery minder did the trick. By connecting the two I am able to "set it and forget it." "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

battery minder review

,
January 22, 2015
By dogwalkertwo
from Rochester,MN
" I have 2 battery minders and this is my third. Device came and had only the clamps for the battery,unlike the other 2 I have. I had to order the ring terminal connector for the application I was using it for. Then, the cord was only 24 in long, not long enough for the application.I now have a back-up for the 2 older devices. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best maintainer on the market.

,
January 22, 2015
By isparky
from CA
" I get 6 to 8 years of dependable service out of my Harley batteries. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery MINDer

,
January 21, 2015
By DenDoc
from Pa.
" Works great at keeping unused batteries ready for use. Use them on all my cars and equipment that set some between use. Great price too "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.