Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117

Item# 167981
The BatteryMINDER Plus is a 3-mode maintenance charger/desulfator that extends performance and life of all types and sizes of 12 Volt lead acid batteries, including all starter, deep cycle, maintenance-free, sealed AGM, gelled or dry-type batteries, regardless of size or make. The Model 12117 automatically dissolves harmful power-robbing sulfation using safe, low voltage, patented high-frequency pulse technology. UL listed. Works With 12V lead-acid battery, Power Cord ft. 11, Conditioner Yes, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Power Source 120VAC, Trickle Charge Amps 5mA-1A determined by battery demand, Overcharge Protection Yes, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 4, Amps 1.33, Maintains Yes, Desulfates Yes, Charges Yes. Full-time battery monitoring automatically tests battery every microsecond, supplying only the current needed to maintain battery at full charge Charges and maintains from 1 to 4 batteries at a time 12V batteries parallel-connected or 6V batteries series-connected Does not overcharge, regardless of time connected High-frequency pulses safely remove sulfate from battery's plates that prevent the batteries from holding a full charge No need to add water to maintenance-type batteries during long, non-use storage Stops boil-out and ends water loss Isolation transformer and smart chip technology ensures safe, long-term performance Automatic reset thermostat prevents damage to charger when unit is connected to faulty battery Weatherproof when used with an approved outdoor electrical receptacle conformal-coated circuitry ensures trouble-free life even in high-moisture marine environments Blinks when charged Allows battery to be stored safely at 0 to 120F Made to ISO 9002 Quality Certified Standards Comes complete with Quick connect/disconnect battery clips Not for use with aircraft batteries
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(263 Reviews) 263
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (263 reviews)
5 stars
233
4 stars
27
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
261 of 263(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Review 1 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pontton boat

,
May 7, 2012
By blusbrother
from Atlantia Ga.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have a pontoon boat with Brigg and Statton 48 volt motor, soI have 4 12volt marine battery. i use 4 BatteryMinder Carges the maintane the batter and thier small I do not have alot of room, so they fit my needs."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great charger that keeps my boat's batteries good

,
June 3, 2010
By tubergonz
from Denton, Tx
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I use this charger on the starting and deep cycle batteries on my boat. These batteries are three years old and are still charging great. I occasionally switch the charger to the other battery so they both can take advantage of the desulphation feature. Wish they had a marine/boat version."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charger

,
July 23, 2009
By 61Tombo
from Southern NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This works great! Easy to use. Restores and protects battery. Perfect for my MG with two 6-volt batteries in-series. The charger takes the voltage goes up to about 14.10 vdc then automatically drops back to about 13.54 vdc and stays there.
The instruction book is clear and adequately detailed. It is a good idea to measure the resting voltage of the battery after hooking up but before plugging in the charger. The charger wants to see over 11 vdc before it will start its work.
I really like and trust this product!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BatteryMinder Model#12117

,
April 13, 2014
By RJ0105
from Pinehurst, ID
"Very pleased
A friend had this & bragged about, so I bought one. Considering purchasing another.
This one was on sale, and made my mind up to purchase.
Thank you
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best tickle charger/desulfator

,
February 8, 2014
By Kenmjohn
from Oak Park, Mn 56357
"I like this unit well enough to have two of them. I prefer to charge only one battery at a time. I can charge the boat batteries, then the R/V batteries, then the tractors, then the lawn mowers and the four-wheeler. I bought extra connectors so I can just plug them in easily. I have had the batteries last much longer since using these battery minders. It is also nice to have the engines and crank and start without the boost from the big charger unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Charger

,
February 7, 2014
By cr363
from Gilbert, SC
"I have several of these. My first one is over 5 years old and has been in constant use since it was bought charging a battery used in an electric starter for a racing go kart."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BatteryMindDer Plus

,
February 6, 2014
By Doc2
from Tex
"I am a motor sport hobbyist and farmer. As a result I have quite a number of batteries. I purchased my first BatteryMindDer Plus, about 3 years ago to maintain a couple of batteries in my diesel tractors. They have been a life saver in keeping the batteries fully charged and prolonging the life of the batteries. Today I have five of these maintainers in use on various applications such as tractors, lawn tractors, and street rods. They have performed very well. I highly recommend them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 6, 2014
By Dave167
from Prior Lake, MN
"Works so well I bought a second. They keep my tractor and classic car batteries in great shape over the winter. Come to think of it, I'll need a third for my motorcycle battery..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

helps your battery- wallet- and sanity

,
February 5, 2014
By jayfish1
from nissouri
"What a great deal I got on the battery minder and they work awesome helps your battery by keeping them fresh - your wallet by saving and rejuvenating your batteries and your sanity cause we all know how mad you get when your battery is dead and it usually happens at the worse time"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery minder charger is great.

,
February 5, 2014
By Stimey1
from Morganton. NC
"I'll be the first to say it is the best little charger you will ever need. I have a friend that has one and this charger is so good that his cheap battery is over 9 years old and I'm a believer as your lucky to get 2 or 3 years out if a small lawn mower battery ( 300 cca ) it is so good at doing its job that I bought 3 of them. Go ahead get one as I have my experience on this as it works GREAT."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works perfectly..!

,
February 4, 2014
By BelleBoy
from Southern Maryland
"I'm using this to maintain the batteries on a bucket lift. I'll use the machine non-stop for two weeks at a time, but then it sits for maybe a couple of months. The on-board charger is great for an overnight charge, but doesn't allow trickle-charge for extended idle time. Since connecting the Battery Minder, the batteries have remained fully charged and ready for use. I am trusting the advertisement that the batteries are being de-sulphated."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good inexpensive charger

,
February 4, 2014
By Stromrider
from rual PA
"Nice charger that can also maintain and will also desulfate. Can charge and maintain multiple batteries."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value

,
February 4, 2014
By ok2eme
from Denison, TX
"Good unit for a unbelievable price. The long cord makes it very user friendly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

batterie maintainer

,
February 4, 2014
By chasmack
from DeSoto, Mo.
"it does a good job of keeping the battery charged but it seams to over charge a small amount which discharges a small amount of acid out of the battery.
."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good description

,
February 4, 2014
By C7385
from Nebraska City, NE
"Very easy to use plug and play. I have my deep cycle marine batteries wired in a loop and I check them with a meter once a week and it work great!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
February 4, 2014
By wallzwallz
from Cape Cod,MA
"Bought 2 for my boat, will be buying more for generators and seldom used machines"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Maintainer

,
February 4, 2014
By LanceH
from Los Angeles
"Dandy product, works well. You can see the lights change as it charges up the battery and then maintains it. Put this on 1 of my cars where I figured the battery was getting old, when running it showed around 15 volts. After a week on this it is now showing 14.7 volts while driving around. I'm switching it around to different vehicles when they aren't going to be used for a week or more to help them all out."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

esstential for off-season batteries

,
February 4, 2014
By Vermonta
from northern VT
"I own 8 of these- some handle one battery and some handle as many as four.
Easily doubles the life of a battery used seasonally.
If you use this item on a small battery- such as a motorcycle battery, it is better to do 2 days on followed by one week off, as the small batteries will not function well if you disconnect after a long period of use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

One bad one good

,
February 4, 2014
By DustyF
from Calder, ID
"Ordered two. One worked, one didn't. 50% fail rate is not good."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Restores batteries

,
February 4, 2014
By CM23
from Delano, MN
"Restores batteries, even large agricultural batteries that you are sure need replacing. I thought this product would never charge some of the old batteries I had laying around, but it has worked on every one. Wish I had bought this much sooner."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.