Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117

BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117

Item# 167981
The BatteryMINDER Plus is a 3-mode maintenance charger/desulfator that extends performance and life of all types and sizes of 12 Volt lead acid batteries, including all starter, deep cycle, maintenance-free, sealed AGM, gelled or dry-type batteries, regardless of size or make. The Model 12117 automatically dissolves harmful power-robbing sulfation using safe, low voltage, patented high-frequency pulse technology. UL listed. Conditioner Yes, Overcharge Protection Yes, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Power Cord ft. 11, Power Source 120VAC, Desulfates Yes, Amps 1.33, Charges Yes, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 4, Maintains Yes, Trickle Charge Amps 5mA-1A determined by battery demand, Works With 12V lead-acid battery. Full-time battery monitoring automatically tests battery every microsecond, supplying only the current needed to maintain battery at full charge Charges and maintains from 1 to 4 batteries at a time 12V batteries parallel-connected or 6V batteries series-connected Does not overcharge, regardless of time connected High-frequency pulses safely remove sulfate from battery's plates that prevent the batteries from holding a full charge No need to add water to maintenance-type batteries during long, non-use storage Stops boil-out and ends water loss Isolation transformer and smart chip technology ensures safe, long-term performance Automatic reset thermostat prevents damage to charger when unit is connected to faulty battery Weatherproof when used with an approved outdoor electrical receptacle conformal-coated circuitry ensures trouble-free life even in high-moisture marine environments Blinks when charged Allows battery to be stored safely at 0 to 120F Made to ISO 9002 Quality Certified Standards Comes complete with Quick connect/disconnect battery clips Not for use with aircraft batteries
Average Customer Rating:
4.871 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(271 Reviews) 271
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (271 reviews)
5 stars
241
4 stars
27
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
269 of 271(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 100 Answers
Customer Reviews for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Review 1 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pontton boat

,
May 7, 2012
By blusbrother
from Atlantia Ga.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have a pontoon boat with Brigg and Statton 48 volt motor, soI have 4 12volt marine battery. i use 4 BatteryMinder Carges the maintane the batter and thier small I do not have alot of room, so they fit my needs."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great charger that keeps my boat's batteries good

,
June 3, 2010
By tubergonz
from Denton, Tx
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I use this charger on the starting and deep cycle batteries on my boat. These batteries are three years old and are still charging great. I occasionally switch the charger to the other battery so they both can take advantage of the desulphation feature. Wish they had a marine/boat version."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charger

,
July 23, 2009
By 61Tombo
from Southern NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This works great! Easy to use. Restores and protects battery. Perfect for my MG with two 6-volt batteries in-series. The charger takes the voltage goes up to about 14.10 vdc then automatically drops back to about 13.54 vdc and stays there.
The instruction book is clear and adequately detailed. It is a good idea to measure the resting voltage of the battery after hooking up but before plugging in the charger. The charger wants to see over 11 vdc before it will start its work.
I really like and trust this product!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

a one time buy that will extend and save u $$

,
August 26, 2014
By moneysaver
from l.a. cal
"had one of these exact units for years lost in move. worked great. had several 6 and 7 yr old batteries as good as new, atvs,jet ski,etc. once back from ride hook up and remove next morning. It really does what it sayes. even if you don't have atvs, or rec. vehicles at todays costs if your a local commuter and don't spend enough time driving to replace your discharge from starting, put on the speed connectors, easy hook up once every few months , leave it on overnight no chance of overcharge and your battery will out last your car. hers an idea, while visiting my parents, how often do they clean or maintain their battery , i hook it up, next morning unhook DONE their car is a 2004, with its ORIGINAL battery .really."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder Model# 12117

,
April 28, 2014
By BracketRacer
from Hesston, Ks
"This is a very good product. Easy to use and understand. I have used it on regular lead acid batteries and also AGM batteries and has always topped off the charge as expected."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product if you can get it

,
April 26, 2014
By RoloTomasi
from Soddy Daisy, TN
"I tried to buy this product recently but Northern was out of them. However , I have one of these I bought earlier from Northern and have been using it for over a year and really like the performance I have received from it. I actually have 3 of these and have had no battery problems with any of them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery maintainer

,
April 26, 2014
By JBM124
from west palm beach Fl
"I use this to maintain 2 8D truck batteries in a diesel fishing boat, it has brought the voltage up from 12.6v to 13.5 over 3 weeks & as a bonus is de sulphating both batteries constantly, great little charger for stuff that doesn't run everyday. I leave it on all the time and so far seems to be doing a good job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder Plus

,
April 25, 2014
By Killshot49
from San Antonio, Tx
"I have installed this product on several cars that our shop maintains for a client. They have been in use for several years. The batteries are always charged and ready to go by disconnecting the quick connector. I purchased this product to install on my classic car. It has maintained the battery in a fully charged state since I installed it. I wished it had contained both quick connectors that either clamp to the battery terminals or can be installed on the battery cable bolts for a more permanent installation."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for storage

,
April 20, 2014
By Jamie14616
from Rochester,NY
"I've been looking for a maintainer/charger for my summer car for some time but everything I found at local auto parts stores was too expensive and/or didn't do what I wanted and typically had bad reviews. I came across this one online and after reading the reviews decided to make the buy and what a great price and product. Definitely recommend this to anyone storing a vehicle; can't go wrong with it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder

,
April 18, 2014
By Anonymous
from va.
"I have two of these little buggers and they work very well. I use them on my lawn equipment and my auto and truck. They do everything that is advertised. I would highly recommend them for home use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BatteryMinder

,
April 17, 2014
By gt51
from Kansas City
"Very good product, excellent service from Northern Tools ship-to-store."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BatteryMinder Model#12117

,
April 13, 2014
By RJ0105
from Pinehurst, ID
"Very pleased
A friend had this & bragged about, so I bought one. Considering purchasing another.
This one was on sale, and made my mind up to purchase.
Thank you
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best tickle charger/desulfator

,
February 8, 2014
By Kenmjohn
from Oak Park, Mn 56357
"I like this unit well enough to have two of them. I prefer to charge only one battery at a time. I can charge the boat batteries, then the R/V batteries, then the tractors, then the lawn mowers and the four-wheeler. I bought extra connectors so I can just plug them in easily. I have had the batteries last much longer since using these battery minders. It is also nice to have the engines and crank and start without the boost from the big charger unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Charger

,
February 7, 2014
By cr363
from Gilbert, SC
"I have several of these. My first one is over 5 years old and has been in constant use since it was bought charging a battery used in an electric starter for a racing go kart."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BatteryMindDer Plus

,
February 6, 2014
By Doc2
from Tex
"I am a motor sport hobbyist and farmer. As a result I have quite a number of batteries. I purchased my first BatteryMindDer Plus, about 3 years ago to maintain a couple of batteries in my diesel tractors. They have been a life saver in keeping the batteries fully charged and prolonging the life of the batteries. Today I have five of these maintainers in use on various applications such as tractors, lawn tractors, and street rods. They have performed very well. I highly recommend them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 6, 2014
By Dave167
from Prior Lake, MN
"Works so well I bought a second. They keep my tractor and classic car batteries in great shape over the winter. Come to think of it, I'll need a third for my motorcycle battery..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

helps your battery- wallet- and sanity

,
February 5, 2014
By jayfish1
from nissouri
"What a great deal I got on the battery minder and they work awesome helps your battery by keeping them fresh - your wallet by saving and rejuvenating your batteries and your sanity cause we all know how mad you get when your battery is dead and it usually happens at the worse time"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery minder charger is great.

,
February 5, 2014
By Stimey1
from Morganton. NC
"I'll be the first to say it is the best little charger you will ever need. I have a friend that has one and this charger is so good that his cheap battery is over 9 years old and I'm a believer as your lucky to get 2 or 3 years out if a small lawn mower battery ( 300 cca ) it is so good at doing its job that I bought 3 of them. Go ahead get one as I have my experience on this as it works GREAT."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works perfectly..!

,
February 4, 2014
By BelleBoy
from Southern Maryland
"I'm using this to maintain the batteries on a bucket lift. I'll use the machine non-stop for two weeks at a time, but then it sits for maybe a couple of months. The on-board charger is great for an overnight charge, but doesn't allow trickle-charge for extended idle time. Since connecting the Battery Minder, the batteries have remained fully charged and ready for use. I am trusting the advertisement that the batteries are being de-sulphated."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good inexpensive charger

,
February 4, 2014
By Stromrider
from rual PA
"Nice charger that can also maintain and will also desulfate. Can charge and maintain multiple batteries."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.