Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

Item# 167981
"The BatteryMINDER Plus is a 3-mode maintenance charger/desulfator that extends performance and life of all types and sizes of 12 Volt lead acid batteries, including all starter, deep cycle, maintenance-free, sealed AGM, gelled or dry-type batteries, regardless of size or make. The Model 12117 automatically dissolves harmful power-robbing sulfation using safe, low voltage, patented high-frequency pulse technology. UL listed. Conditioner Yes, Overcharge Protection Yes, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Power Cord ft. 11, Power Source 120VAC, Desulfates Yes, Amps 1.33, Charges Yes, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 4, Maintains Yes, Trickle Charge Amps 5mA-1A determined by battery demand, Works With 12V lead-acid battery. Full-time battery monitoring automatically tests battery every microsecond, supplying only the current needed to maintain battery at full charge Charges and maintains from 1 to 4 batteries at a time 12V batteries parallel-connected or 6V batteries series-connected Does not overcharge, regardless of time connected High-frequency pulses safely remove sulfate from battery's plates that prevent the batteries from holding a full charge No need to add water to maintenance-type batteries during long, non-use storage Stops boil-out and ends water loss Isolation transformer and smart chip technology ensures safe, long-term performance Automatic reset thermostat prevents damage to charger when unit is connected to faulty battery Weatherproof when used with an approved outdoor electrical receptacle conformal-coated circuitry ensures trouble-free life even in high-moisture marine environments Blinks when charged Allows battery to be stored safely at 0 to 120F Made to ISO 9002 Quality Certified Standards Comes complete with Quick connect/disconnect battery clips Not for use with aircraft batteries"
Average Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(401 Reviews) 401
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (401 reviews)
5 stars
350
4 stars
45
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
398 of 401(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Review 1 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Be Patient

,
January 31, 2015
By Ordinary88
from Portland, OR
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" This will do the job you bought it for, but don't expect it to do other chores. Bought to maintain dual trailer batteries - as it WILL NOT bring a severely discharged battery to life. I had batteries that were down to about 7 volts and this charger would not start, but it's not supposed to. You have to bring the battery up to about 10 volts with another charger, THEN this will kick in. And it will take days to get them to full charge, maintenance level - but then it just keeps them charged and ready to go. I need to keep my batteries fresh in the winter before heading out in Spring, and this does that!! IT WILL NOT charge your battery overnight so you can get to work, use your 10amp/2amp for that. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pontton boat

,
May 7, 2012
By blusbrother
from Atlantia Ga.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I have a pontoon boat with Brigg and Statton 48 volt motor, soI have 4 12volt marine battery. i use 4 BatteryMinder Carges the maintane the batter and thier small I do not have alot of room, so they fit my needs. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great charger that keeps my boat's batteries good

,
June 3, 2010
By tubergonz
from Denton, Tx
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I use this charger on the starting and deep cycle batteries on my boat. These batteries are three years old and are still charging great. I occasionally switch the charger to the other battery so they both can take advantage of the desulphation feature. Wish they had a marine/boat version. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charger

,
July 23, 2009
By 61Tombo
from Southern NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" This works great! Easy to use. Restores and protects battery. Perfect for my MG with two 6-volt batteries in-series. The charger takes the voltage goes up to about 14.10 vdc then automatically drops back to about 13.54 vdc and stays there.
The instruction book is clear and adequately detailed. It is a good idea to measure the resting voltage of the battery after hooking up but before plugging in the charger. The charger wants to see over 11 vdc before it will start its work.
I really like and trust this product!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

BatteryMinder small

,
March 2, 2015
By nblackfo
from North Ridgeville, oh
" This is going to be used for my RV. I have a larger model for my suv, truck and motorcycle. So far it is working as expected. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great battery helper

,
February 27, 2015
By Bert3rd
from Indiana
" This is one of the easiest battery charger/minders that I have seen. Plug it in, attach it to the battery(s), and forget it. It checks the battery, charges it, and desulfanates it. Great!! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder

,
February 27, 2015
By LSM100
from Saranac, NY
" I have now five (5) of these battery Minders. I have them installed on atv's, lawn tractors, snow throwers, etc. Once the batteries are fully charged the minders hold the charges all winter long. The desulfator keeps the battery at it's strongest. I would highly recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Maintainer

,
February 25, 2015
By DWRV
from Roanoke, VA
" Great for keeping seldom used batteries up to full charge. Desulfator function seems to work well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery Tender

,
February 22, 2015
By rwbailey2
from TX
" Keeps my side by side UTV charged and ready to start without worry of a dead battery. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Batterymindr

,
February 22, 2015
By 1957dw
from northern mn.
" used to maintain a number of battery started outdoor products. Tractor, dozer, etrc, "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT

,
February 17, 2015
By 455rocket
from buffalo,ny
" First one I got worked so good I got TWO more. I will install one permanently in motorhome. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder

,
February 16, 2015
By chif
from mass
" Incorporates a proven and excellent technology for revivng sulfated batteries. After much searching I found the best price and best service from Northern Tool "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for golf cart

,
February 16, 2015
By batteryminder
from north carolina
" I use this for golf cart, battery for camper, and everything ! I keep everything running great. After not using golf cart for weeks at a time, I can get in it and take off !
I have very pleased with it.... so much that I ordered a second one for me and also order one for my son's motorcycle !
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery minder

,
February 14, 2015
By SIdo
from East texas
" Great for my airplane battery so bought more for my house 4 wheelers riding lawn mowers and tractors. Good price so I bought one for each barn "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you want reliable starts and increased life....

,
February 13, 2015
By RestorationMan
from Maryland
" If you want reliable starts every time and the added value of increasing the life of your lawn tractor, generator, motorcycle, jet ski, all wheeler, tiller or any other battery that is stored for any period, then buy this Battery Minder!
I have 4 of the #12117, 1 of the large 12V models and 1 of the 24V models. Every one has brought back week batteries and maintained my stored units amazingly well and i consistently get extended life out of my batteries. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder

,
February 13, 2015
By Waleball
from Remus, MI
" I have one and wanted a second. When it went on sale couldn't miss the opportunity to get the second unit. I use it for my classic car when stored for the winter and keep other batteries in good condition that are not used a lot.
I would recommend it to anyone.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Price - Works Perfect

,
February 13, 2015
By AlabamaLobo
from Athens, AL
" I picked up 2 of these on the 1/2 price sale, I should have gotten 3 or 4. Wow do these work good!
I've got a zero turn mower that doesn't get a lot of action in the winter and my hotrod Mustang that is NOT a daily driver. I was always having to recharge the batteries to get them started, that of course kills off the battery way before its time.
With these, the batteries are maintained and ready to go anytime. I can't believe I hadn't gotten one earlier.
The price is right and if you've got something with a battery that can end up sitting for a couple weeks or a month at a time, this is perfect for you. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good!

,
February 13, 2015
By yar895
from US
" Great Price,
Battery Minder has excellent features and works as advertised. I purchased 2 of these.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
February 12, 2015
By Bait4bears
from Iowa
" I ordered 2 of these. One for our backup generator and on for a tractor. They are well constructed and work great. Maybe not the cheapest trickle charger but worth the little extra. Will be ordering more. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery minder

,
February 12, 2015
By CMH123
from Newton, ia
" These work very well....I have a car and a truck that sit in the garage for weeks at a time and the batteries tend to run down.....since using these I haven't had a problem with either of them starting! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.