Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

"BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

Item# 167981
"The BatteryMINDER Plus is a 3-mode maintenance charger/desulfator that extends performance and life of all types and sizes of 12 Volt lead acid batteries, including all starter, deep cycle, maintenance-free, sealed AGM, gelled or dry-type batteries, regardless of size or make. The Model 12117 automatically dissolves harmful power-robbing sulfation using safe, low voltage, patented high-frequency pulse technology. UL listed. Conditioner Yes, Overcharge Protection Yes, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Power Cord ft. 11, Power Source 120VAC, Desulfates Yes, Amps 1.33, Charges Yes, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 4, Maintains Yes, Trickle Charge Amps 5mA-1A determined by battery demand, Works With 12V lead-acid battery. Full-time battery monitoring automatically tests battery every microsecond, supplying only the current needed to maintain battery at full charge Charges and maintains from 1 to 4 batteries at a time 12V batteries parallel-connected or 6V batteries series-connected Does not overcharge, regardless of time connected High-frequency pulses safely remove sulfate from battery's plates that prevent the batteries from holding a full charge No need to add water to maintenance-type batteries during long, non-use storage Stops boil-out and ends water loss Isolation transformer and smart chip technology ensures safe, long-term performance Automatic reset thermostat prevents damage to charger when unit is connected to faulty battery Weatherproof when used with an approved outdoor electrical receptacle conformal-coated circuitry ensures trouble-free life even in high-moisture marine environments Blinks when charged Allows battery to be stored safely at 0 to 120F Made to ISO 9002 Quality Certified Standards Comes complete with Quick connect/disconnect battery clips Not for use with aircraft batteries"
Average Customer Rating:
4.863 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(284 Reviews) 284
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (284 reviews)
5 stars
252
4 stars
28
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
281 of 284(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 108 Answers
Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Review 1 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder

,
December 17, 2014
By cdc1214
from Cedar Falls, IA
" I've used these before and was so satisfied that I bought 2 more. Good device that works the way it is advertised. i keep them on all my tractors and other vehicles that do not get much use. I'm satisfied with this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

There is no ring terminal cord with these

,
December 15, 2014
By Anonymous
from KCMO
" Just got this today 12/15/2014 and there is no ring terminal cord with this model 12117 that is on sale .
In the Q/A there is a question about this and a staff reply says it is included. The instruction manual link in the add also says one is included. Get it home, no ring terminal cord, the instruction manual included says the cord is OPTIONAL. So if you don't want what is advertised on there web site, buy it
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder

,
December 13, 2014
By DicktheDogMan
from Michigan
" I took my new sports car (Miata) off the road for the Winter. This unit is everything I was hoping for. Seems like 4 times the quality at half the price of locally available products in the big box and auto stores. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

batteryminder/charger

,
December 12, 2014
By todman
from washington
" I HAVE 5 OF THESE ON DIFFERENT VEHICLES, RVS,LAWN TRACTOR ETC..... THEY WORK GREAT NO PROBLEMS "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Charger

,
December 12, 2014
By EdAdmin
from Chattanooga, TN
" Great price. I like the set it and forget it ability of this charger. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice unit a must have

,
December 12, 2014
By miboater
from Orion,Michigan
" Recently found one of the two tenders I had Died on me. I purchased this unit hook up the two boat batteries in parallel and connected the charger.
Now only have one tender two do both great.
The cords are plenty long plus a quick disconnect.
I have checked the charge on both batteries after two months good.
I use 2 number 4g starter pre - made cables to tie the batteries together.
I would recommend this to a friend or family member!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keepes Your Batteries Maintained

,
December 11, 2014
By Doughboy51
from SC
" I purchased two of these Battery Minders for two reasons: 1) to keep batteries maintained,2) price was great. I have three other battery tenders to keep other batteries charged at all times. IMO the battery tenders help to extend the life of battery. I highly recommend this product because I know it works. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great !

,
December 11, 2014
By kewlmike
from atlanta,ga
" ive used these on my cars that sit for months at times and on my riding mower.
the batteries that used to lose their charge now maintain like new.
all you do is clip leads to battery terminals and plug it in.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Tender

,
December 11, 2014
By lwrd81
from Stockbridge, Ga
" This is by far the best charger/maintainer on the market.
Northern usually has the best prices on them as well.
I recommend these and these only to all my bike and 4 wheeler customers. Also good for boats and cars also.
Do Not buy the cheaper ones, they will cook up your batteries. I've had cheap filled batteries last up to 8 years
using this unit.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

no miracles, but they maintain batteries well

,
December 11, 2014
By OffGrid9
from Davenport, WA
" This is my 2nd review of this product. I just bought two new ones at closeout price, but I've had my first one for about 4 years, and it has served me well.
I've tried to desulfate over a dozen 12V batteries that had moderate-to-severe buildup of lead-sulfate crystals. Early on, it seemed like I had more success, but I think it was more that those batteries were not severely sulfated, so the little 12117 was able to "blast" off the sulfation and bring them back to near perfect.
In my experience, once a battery has been left at less-than-full-charge repeatedly, or for a long time, the lead-sulfate crystals get bigger and harder to blow away. A severely sulfated battery is likely beyond saving, and will need to be replaced. But if the sulfation is not too severe, these little units will bring them back to life.
I think the best use for these little units is to maintain batteries that aren't too far gone, rather than to resurrect badly sulfated batteries. If you have several vehicles that won't be used during the winter, and they all have decent 12V batteries, you can remove the batteries, clean them, check the fluid levels, charge them until they all have about the same state, with a resting charge of at least 12.4V. Then sit them on a bench and hook up two, or three, or even four batteries to one of these units. You can jury-rig simple wires & clamps to connect them in parallel. Come spring, all your batteries are topped off and with some or all of the sulfation gone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
December 9, 2014
By oldcattracks
from Norton,VA
" Have used one for over a year on two atvs and batterys stayed strong. Another one is connected to two farm tractors, a dozer, and a track loader and doing great. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder

,
December 8, 2014
By Bobjames
from Des Moines
" The BatteryMinder does the job for keeping batteries freshly charged on infrequently used equipment such as riding mowers and generators.
It not only keeps the charge but also removes sulfate from the battery plates. Sulfate will build up in the battery and shorten its life. Considering the cost of replacing batteries, the BattteryMinder will pay for itself and give you reliability when you need the equipment.
Once connected the BatteryMinder charges the battery and than switches to a maintenance mode and
monitors the battery using very little power.
There are indicator lights on the unit so you can see the process.
You can leave the battery in the equipment and clip the poles or you can remove the battery and attach the clips.There is an optional quick connector set you can buy which will save you from un-tightening the battery pole nuts. You just plug and unplug.
You can charge more than one similar battery using this unit. The unit is small and plugs into any outlet.
I have found this product to be reliable and of good value. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
December 6, 2014
By CS12
from Springfield,IL
" I live on a farm and have lots of machinery that sits idle during the winter. I have 7 of these keeping the batteries fully maintained. Have definitely noticed my batteries last longer now--and I do not have to worry about winter freezing of the batteries. Great product at a great price "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

maybe its this particular unit??

,
September 5, 2014
By usmcbiker
from northern calif/
" recently purchased this unit # 12117 used them before always happy, my question is when hooked up to an older battery i pushed the desulf. button and the light blinked, ok good, as soon as i stopped pushing button the light went right back to the green mode, before on others itr would blink going through the desulf. mode for while, sometimes a full day, not this unit. tried on a few batteries, same? seems to be charging fine but the desulf. button only blinks when im pushing it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder Model# 12117

,
April 28, 2014
By BracketRacer
from Hesston, Ks
" This is a very good product. Easy to use and understand. I have used it on regular lead acid batteries and also AGM batteries and has always topped off the charge as expected. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product if you can get it

,
April 26, 2014
By RoloTomasi
from Soddy Daisy, TN
" I tried to buy this product recently but Northern was out of them. However , I have one of these I bought earlier from Northern and have been using it for over a year and really like the performance I have received from it. I actually have 3 of these and have had no battery problems with any of them. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery maintainer

,
April 26, 2014
By JBM124
from west palm beach Fl
" I use this to maintain 2 8D truck batteries in a diesel fishing boat, it has brought the voltage up from 12.6v to 13.5 over 3 weeks & as a bonus is de sulphating both batteries constantly, great little charger for stuff that doesn't run everyday. I leave it on all the time and so far seems to be doing a good job. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder Plus

,
April 25, 2014
By Killshot49
from San Antonio, Tx
" I have installed this product on several cars that our shop maintains for a client. They have been in use for several years. The batteries are always charged and ready to go by disconnecting the quick connector. I purchased this product to install on my classic car. It has maintained the battery in a fully charged state since I installed it. I wished it had contained both quick connectors that either clamp to the battery terminals or can be installed on the battery cable bolts for a more permanent installation. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for storage

,
April 20, 2014
By Jamie14616
from Rochester,NY
" I've been looking for a maintainer/charger for my summer car for some time but everything I found at local auto parts stores was too expensive and/or didn't do what I wanted and typically had bad reviews. I came across this one online and after reading the reviews decided to make the buy and what a great price and product. Definitely recommend this to anyone storing a vehicle; can't go wrong with it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder

,
April 18, 2014
By Anonymous
from va.
" I have two of these little buggers and they work very well. I use them on my lawn equipment and my auto and truck. They do everything that is advertised. I would highly recommend them for home use. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.