Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

"BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

Item# 167981
"The BatteryMINDER Plus is a 3-mode maintenance charger/desulfator that extends performance and life of all types and sizes of 12 Volt lead acid batteries, including all starter, deep cycle, maintenance-free, sealed AGM, gelled or dry-type batteries, regardless of size or make. The Model 12117 automatically dissolves harmful power-robbing sulfation using safe, low voltage, patented high-frequency pulse technology. UL listed. Conditioner Yes, Overcharge Protection Yes, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Power Cord ft. 11, Power Source 120VAC, Desulfates Yes, Amps 1.33, Charges Yes, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 4, Maintains Yes, Trickle Charge Amps 5mA-1A determined by battery demand, Works With 12V lead-acid battery. Full-time battery monitoring automatically tests battery every microsecond, supplying only the current needed to maintain battery at full charge Charges and maintains from 1 to 4 batteries at a time 12V batteries parallel-connected or 6V batteries series-connected Does not overcharge, regardless of time connected High-frequency pulses safely remove sulfate from battery's plates that prevent the batteries from holding a full charge No need to add water to maintenance-type batteries during long, non-use storage Stops boil-out and ends water loss Isolation transformer and smart chip technology ensures safe, long-term performance Automatic reset thermostat prevents damage to charger when unit is connected to faulty battery Weatherproof when used with an approved outdoor electrical receptacle conformal-coated circuitry ensures trouble-free life even in high-moisture marine environments Blinks when charged Allows battery to be stored safely at 0 to 120F Made to ISO 9002 Quality Certified Standards Comes complete with Quick connect/disconnect battery clips Not for use with aircraft batteries"
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(358 Reviews) 358
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (358 reviews)
5 stars
312
4 stars
40
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
355 of 358(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 113 Answers
Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Review 1 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great battery maintainer

,
January 29, 2015
By bob213
from Fresno,CA
" I use this to keep my RV and boat batteries charged all winter. Maintainence modes keeps batteries from sulfating. Northern's price makes it a GREAT deal! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder 12117

,
January 29, 2015
By Mike17701
from Williamsport, PA
" I bought one of these five years ago to restore a sulfated battery and it is still working quite well. Just bought two more to keep some seven year old batteries up to power. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeping the wife charged

,
January 29, 2015
By GarageBuddy
from Fargo ND
" Easy to use product to protect the wife's mid-life crisis charged and ready to go when spring comes and she wants to drive around with her top down. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ALLOW YOUR BATTERIES YEARS

,
January 28, 2015
By g5483
from north west florida
" This device functions as advertised. Most of the public are not aware that to desulfate a battery will allow it to last more years than they are used to. By using this charger/maintainer/desulfator my tractor battery lasted 11 years. Have 2 batteries in my boat that were lasting just 2 years. Have used this product since heard about it and the batteries in my boat are starting a 6th year. This device has saved enough money to fly to Washington DC for the weekend including a moderate hotel to stay in and get a DC t-shirt. I strongly believe that if the general public knew of the effectiveness of this device there would be more of them purchased. Great little device. Thanks guys! G "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

battery tender 21117

,
January 28, 2015
By Thunder321
from Garrett IN
" Only used for a month now but performs as advertised at reasonble price "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Price & Product

,
January 27, 2015
By CM21
from Saint Cloud, Mn
" I use this baby all the time, hence why I bought three more, large tractors and semi trucks I use this on and I have no complaints:) "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality charger! Top Notch maintainer!

,
January 27, 2015
By DT27
from PA
" I go threw batteries like crazy with lawn mowers and other equiptment. It seems like every year you need a new one and they really do add up. I used these chargers on four batteries and they were up to full charge quickly. this runs at about 13.47 volts or so when topping off your batteries. I have several very old and very dead batteries that I'm bring back to life as a regular charger tells you that you have an open cell or your battery has sulfacation ... this little charger works to break that down and I have one right now that was at 0 volts that's been brought back very nicely. They say this isn't going to work when a battery is so low but it's working for me! Thanks for paying yourself off and saving me $100. bucks in the second week of owning this charger. Also, the litttle super cheap chargers that suppose to desalfate and maintain don't work ... not like this one! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator

,
January 27, 2015
By Kneedeep2
from Alabama
" US on Riding Lawn Mower kept inside closed garage. Quick disconnect allows for battery access just to hook up as the battery box is under seat and is difficult to access. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Solution

,
January 26, 2015
By RegularUser
from Memphis TN
" I've been using these since 2006; first one still on my motorcycle. 2nd one on my lawn tractor. 3rd on is a gift to my son for his lawnmower. Most certainly increases the battery life. Got 6 years out of the first motorcycle battery. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BatteryMinder charger 12117

,
January 26, 2015
By WiconsinJohn
from Northern Wisconsin
" Easy, simple, fool proof to use. Everyone wants their battery to work when needed, but if you're like me you don't give it any thought until it fails. Well, this neat little package takes care of all the battery worries. You can read through the technical stuff if you like, bottom line it is hard to believe you can get all that battery maintenance/care expertise for the price of this charger. I emailed a question on the warranty (my own fault, I should have read the included manual more closely) and the company got back to me promptly. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent charger

,
January 25, 2015
By Rocco60
from Long Island
" Excellent product. Keeps my motorcycle charged and easy to use do not hesitate buy one "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great charger

,
January 25, 2015
By dr1234
from kansas
" Great charger. I keep two boat batteries charged all the time. Buying another for mower and atv batteries "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

battery minder

,
January 25, 2015
By Tnshooter
from S E Tennessee
" Very handy. I can leave the clamps hooked onto the terminals of the batteries in the boat and just separate the inline plug for quick hookup next time. I am using as trickle charger mostly. Doing very well in the cold weather. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

winter problems

,
January 25, 2015
By dennyg123
from colorado mountains
" When it gets cold in the mountains of Colorado while machines are not being used during the winter freeze it is hard on battery life. For me, the battery minders are the solution for my battery problems. By using the battery minders and cranking the machines at least monthly, it has been a long time since I lost a battery. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hassle free battery storage

,
January 25, 2015
By CubmasterMike
from Northfield,IL
" For the summer toys that need to go into winter hibernation. I used to use a manual charger, and have to remember to occasionally charge these batteries in storage to top them off. I like to be able to connect this charger to the battery and forget about it until spring. So far this winter, by batteries all meter out and load test as if they were new, and have been hooked to the chargers all winter. We'll see in a few years if the batteries stay happy, but so far, this looks like a great purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Charger

,
January 24, 2015
By mda11
from Alliance, NE
" I have purchased about 30 of these chargers. They work great and are a super buy. They keep all of my equipment ready to go. I use them year round on equipment that does not run on a constant basis. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job for batteries not totally gone

,
January 23, 2015
By WhidbeyGuy
from Langley, WA
" It may require a few days or weeks, but these gadgets will restore the charge storage capacity of many batteries that you might otherwise send to the recyclers. For batteries in good condition, the product does a good job of keeping them topped up and ready to go. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

For use on 4-wheelers

,
January 23, 2015
By poparu
from Arkansas
" As the battery is hard to reach on most 4-wheelers, you need to sell a method to hard wire the charger for when they sit idle for times. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
January 22, 2015
By stricklr
from Aberdeen, Ms.
" I hooked 1 up to my tractor and 2 up to my 2 mowers and 1 up to my diesel truck witch has 2 batteries. They charge for a few minutes then switch to float. They work great everything cranks even in 9 degree weather thats the coldest we've had so far. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
January 22, 2015
By Tlott
from Chesapeake Va
" The battery tender worked great. Had a low battery for my car and put the tender on for a few days and it has been good ever since. Bought it primarily for my riding lawnmower but good to see I can get other uses also. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.