Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

"BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

Item# 167981
"The BatteryMINDER Plus is a 3-mode maintenance charger/desulfator that extends performance and life of all types and sizes of 12 Volt lead acid batteries, including all starter, deep cycle, maintenance-free, sealed AGM, gelled or dry-type batteries, regardless of size or make. The Model 12117 automatically dissolves harmful power-robbing sulfation using safe, low voltage, patented high-frequency pulse technology. UL listed. Maintains Yes, Works With 12V lead-acid battery, Trickle Charge Amps 5mA-1A determined by battery demand, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Power Cord ft. 11, Desulfates Yes, Power Source 120VAC, Overcharge Protection Yes, Conditioner Yes, Amps 1.33, Charges Yes, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 4. Full-time battery monitoring automatically tests battery every microsecond, supplying only the current needed to maintain battery at full charge Charges and maintains from 1 to 4 batteries at a time 12V batteries parallel-connected or 6V batteries series-connected Does not overcharge, regardless of time connected High-frequency pulses safely remove sulfate from battery's plates that prevent the batteries from holding a full charge No need to add water to maintenance-type batteries during long, non-use storage Stops boil-out and ends water loss Isolation transformer and smart chip technology ensures safe, long-term performance Automatic reset thermostat prevents damage to charger when unit is connected to faulty battery Weatherproof when used with an approved outdoor electrical receptacle conformal-coated circuitry ensures trouble-free life even in high-moisture marine environments Blinks when charged Allows battery to be stored safely at 0 to 120F Made to ISO 9002 Quality Certified Standards Comes complete with Quick connect/disconnect battery clips Not for use with aircraft batteries"
Average Customer Rating:
4.854 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(419 Reviews) 419
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (419 reviews)
5 stars
367
4 stars
46
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
416 of 419(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 118 Answers
Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Review 1 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charger

,
April 7, 2015
By
from Somers, CT
" Great little trickle charger. I use it on my lawn mowers over the winter, keeps the battery desulfated and fully charged. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
April 2, 2015
By
from Hereford TX
" i use this to keep a generator battery ready. so far it has worked well. my battery is always ready and charged when needed. it has a charging indicator and i can tell at a glance that it is working. i do like the fact that it desulfates the battery also good deal for the price "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder Model 12117

,
March 22, 2015
By
from Woodstock, Al
" I am impressed so far with the function of this battery maintainer. I have not been using it long enough to review its ability to desulphate batteries. In the past I have always used trickle chargers on farm, and lawn equipment that is not used frequently to prolong battery life. These chargers put out a steady 2 amps with no desulphating cycle. After researching this battery charger and its capabilities I wanted to see how well it performed. In the past I have used the small lawn tractor batteries for as long as four seasons before the battery died. When I used no trickle charger I have consistently only had 1 season service. I look forward to finding out if the "Battery Minder" works as described in extending battery life. Will post results in a future review. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
March 19, 2015
By
from Arkansas
" I now have 5 of these. They are used on everything I have with a battery from RV chassis & coach, car, truck, lawn equipment, to UTV. Since the RV isn't driven often, I keep one on the chassis and on the coach. The others I rotate periodically. The desulfator works and I consider it a must. I have given these as gifts and highly recommend it. . "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
March 18, 2015
By
from Grimstead,Virgina
" Works great on my motorcycle,in the winter the bike sits,this will save the battery life. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
March 18, 2015
By
from North Carolina
" I have an El Camino truck that sits in my garage a lot and the battery had become weak. After 3 days on this charger it really winds it up.
Just what I needed!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder - charger

,
March 18, 2015
By
from Cape Coral, FL
" I bought this charger to maintain my motorcycle battery but have since used it on my lawnmower too. It's perfect! It works fine, charges quickly and safely and it's small so there's less space taken up in my already crowded toolbox. I hope it lasts a long time. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

set and forget

,
March 18, 2015
By
from Flint, MI
" Reasonably priced quality product for maintaining your batteries during the off season "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice unit

,
March 18, 2015
By
from NY
" Seems to do a pretty good juob for such a small unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A 'Must Have' for Every Garage

,
March 15, 2015
By
from Central Florida
" I have 4 BatteryMINDer products. One for each vehicle I own (autos, boats, motorcycles).
They pay for themselves many times over by charging and conditioning you vehicle's battery to maintain charge and service life. They include both alligator- clips and permanent ring clips, and when on sale they include a Battery Monitoring System that attaches directly to the battery.
Simple to use, plug-and-play, save hundreds of $'s by maintaining, and conditioning the heart of your vehicle.
Spend hundreds on a new battery or maintain what you have for 10s of $'s.
Highly recommended! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BatteryMinder charger---perfect product

,
March 15, 2015
By
from Boston, MA
" works perfectly to keep a battery topped off if vehicle is left idle for several days or weeks--indicator light indicate charging status--woud highly recommend to a friend---Best price for this item is right here at Northern Tool---greaat products at huge savings "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does it's job!

,
March 13, 2015
By
from Waco, Texas
" This Battery Minder keeps my tractor battery charged up, but doesn't boil out the water. While I like that it does it's job, I only give it a 4 star rating because you have to refer to the printed instructions to understand what the LEDs on the transformer box indicate. No operating instructions are printed on the transformer case. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
March 13, 2015
By
from Beaufort SC
" I now own 3 of these, and they have all worked perfect. Great for use over the winter on lawnmowers or on anything that doesn't get used a lot. They are also great for bringing old tired batteries back to life, buy one, you won't be disappointed! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It does work and very well !

,
March 13, 2015
By
from Texas
" I have had one for about 6 mos and hooked to my backup generator and RV. After 2-3 months the batteries were better and lasted longer on the current draw. SO this is my 2nd one and it is being hooked to my riding mower and 40 hp Kubota tractor. Very well pleased with desulfating functionality. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

save some batteries

,
March 8, 2015
By
from Madison, Al
" These batterty tenders are always getting top reviews. This was a good investment verses paying high prices for batteries these days. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Paid for itself already

,
March 7, 2015
By
from Tampa
" In one week, it brought my 220 CCA tractor battery from a 3 day off the charger- standing voltage of 12.1 volts,, up to a standing voltage of 12.7 after 3 days off this trickle/desulfator unit. And the battery will now start my old Allis Chalmers B-10. It has only been on my Kawasaki for a few days now and it has revived it from 11.8 volts up to 13.3 and climbing, but it will now atleast start the bike quite well after this short amount of time. And thats a AGM battery on top of it. Excellent bang for the buck. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet and discrete

,
March 6, 2015
By
from Saint Charles, MO
" I purchased this for my mom. She doesn't drive but a couple of times a year so I've always asked her to leave the charger on the battery. Problem was she would go into the garage and the charger would cycle and she didn't like the noise so she would unplug it.
With this charger, it is so quiet and small that she doesn't pay any attention to it. I also acquired the leads that fasten to the battery so I wouldn't have to worry about the clips coming off. She has used the car one time since I got this and was able to unplug it and she remembered to plug it back in when she got home. In addition, it was easy enough for her to do so which I REALLY appreciate.
Mom's happy so I'm overjoyed. I already owned the higher end model for my use to keep a couple batteries charged and have since purchased on more for my use. I've been extremely happy with the Battery Minders.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
March 5, 2015
By
from Kansas
" Works as advertised. I have brought back 2 batteries so far, neither one would take a charge. After a few days on this charger they both take and hold full charge ! It's now hooked up to the third battery. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

BatteryMinder small

,
March 2, 2015
By
from North Ridgeville, oh
" This is going to be used for my RV. I have a larger model for my suv, truck and motorcycle. So far it is working as expected. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "BatteryMINDer Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great battery helper

,
February 27, 2015
By
from Indiana
" This is one of the easiest battery charger/minders that I have seen. Plug it in, attach it to the battery(s), and forget it. It checks the battery, charges it, and desulfanates it. Great!! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.