Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

Item# 167981
"The BatteryMINDER Plus is a 3-mode maintenance charger/desulfator that extends performance and life of all types and sizes of 12 Volt lead acid batteries, including all starter, deep cycle, maintenance-free, sealed AGM, gelled or dry-type batteries, regardless of size or make. The Model 12117 automatically dissolves harmful power-robbing sulfation using safe, low voltage, patented high-frequency pulse technology. UL listed. Maintains Yes, Trickle Charge Amps 5mA-1A determined by battery demand, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Works With 12V lead-acid battery, Power Cord ft. 11, Desulfates Yes, Conditioner Yes, Amps 1.33, Charges Yes, Power Source 120VAC, Overcharge Protection Yes, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 4. Full-time battery monitoring automatically tests battery every microsecond, supplying only the current needed to maintain battery at full charge Charges and maintains from 1 to 4 batteries at a time 12V batteries parallel-connected or 6V batteries series-connected Does not overcharge, regardless of time connected High-frequency pulses safely remove sulfate from battery's plates that prevent the batteries from holding a full charge No need to add water to maintenance-type batteries during long, non-use storage Stops boil-out and ends water loss Isolation transformer and smart chip technology ensures safe, long-term performance Automatic reset thermostat prevents damage to charger when unit is connected to faulty battery Weatherproof when used with an approved outdoor electrical receptacle conformal-coated circuitry ensures trouble-free life even in high-moisture marine environments Blinks when charged Allows battery to be stored safely at 0 to 120F Made to ISO 9002 Quality Certified Standards Comes complete with Quick connect/disconnect battery clips Not for use with aircraft batteries"
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(558 Reviews) 558
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (558 reviews)
5 stars
480
4 stars
70
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
553 of 558(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Review 21 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

battery saver

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Joshua, Texas
I have used this charger for several years now and have been able to extend battery from one year to threes years on mower batteries and for years on tractor batteries.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 22 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product / great price

,
January 18, 2016
By
from elberton ga.
I plugged this battery minder to my boat during the winter to keep my battery in great shape while my boat is just sitting. I don't have to go check on my battery because this unit is totally automatic.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 23 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Fairlawn, Va.
works well, have used on riding mowers and farm tractors will purchase another one.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 24 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BATTERY TENDER

,
January 18, 2016
By
from YELLOW SPRINGS, OHIO
I bought the battery tender to use on a car that sits a lot. It has a gel battery and they aren't cheap. Without this tool, I have to use a 24 volt charger to get it to start.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 25 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Maintenance Charger

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Apple Creek, Ohio
I own 6 so called battery tenders, but this one does more then just keep your battery's fresh. None of my other battery tenders can do what this one does.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 26 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, great price.

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Maryland
I use one of these on my ATV and have just added one for the starting battery on my bass boat. I received a recommendation from a local battery distributor to keep a charger/maintainer hooked up all the time and that the worst time for batteries is outside during the winter months. This will prevent the battery from freezing, an expensive lesson I learned two winters ago. Saw these on sale at NT and jumped on the deal.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 27 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too Early to tell but so far so good

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Hammonton ,NJ
Bought this product to maintain a deep cycle battery in the off season. So far, so good, but this coming spring will be the test when I go to use it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 28 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder

,
January 18, 2016
By
from South Dakota
Works as advertised. Great price. I hooked it up to two batteries and it went to work.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 29 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT!!!!

,
January 18, 2016
By
from La Pine, Oregon
This charger is exactly what I needed. It not only tells when it is charging, but a green light blinks to let you know that your battery is being maintained!! I will order another when they have more!!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 30 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Paid for itself on first use

,
January 16, 2016
By
from So MD
I purchased this to use on my antique car over the winter but used it first on my RV battery. I thought the battery needed replacement but this maintainer brought it back to life saving me over $100.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 31 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

battery Minder

,
January 15, 2016
By
from PA
Excellent product. Works as advertised. Easy to install. Monitors the charge, Handy LED lights gives you the status of the charge at a glance.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 32 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is good

,
January 14, 2016
By
from Norwich NY
This is a very good little charger/maintainer. I bought one first and liked it so much, that I bought two more a week later. I don't know yet is the desulfator function will increase the battery's life four times as it is claimed here, but even if it just doubles it, it is worth the price.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BatteryMinDer

,
January 12, 2016
By
from Cochtanton, Pa
Have only had two months but is working like it should, good unit.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 34 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
January 11, 2016
By
from Richmond, Indiana
This is a great product. This is my fourth unit. I keep one on each tractor during winter months and one on my 66 mustang.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 35 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still the best

,
January 10, 2016
By
from Hibbing, MN
I have used this battery maintaining system for a number of years and it has never failed to work exactly as promised. It keeps the batteries ( I have it on 3 right now) fully charged and conditioned and ready to go at a moments notice. I have tried other trickle chargers, but none can compare to the battery Minder.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 36 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

,
January 10, 2016
By
from Space Port
A well engineered and solidly constructed device that does everything that it claims to do. A refreshing occurrence in todays world.
Great Pricing from Northern Tool!
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 37 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery minder Plus charger

,
January 6, 2016
By
from Shiloh ga
i like these so much, this is actually the third battery minder I have purchased. I operate a small farm and have several vehicles that don't get used every day. In an effort to ensure the vehicles will crank when I get ready to use them I purchased the battery minder plus. So far they are working great and my batteries have a full charge when I need them. I am curious to find out how the battery minder will work in the extension of the life of my batteries. I would think keeping them charged, rather than letting them die and recharging them over and over would positively effect the life of a battery.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 38 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saves batteries

,
January 5, 2016
By
from Saluda, VA
Been using these for lawn tractors over the winter months. Nice to be able to fire the engine up in the spring with no dead battery. Been a long time since I have had to buy new batteries.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 39 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A-OK

,
January 5, 2016
By
from Virginia
Excellent piece of necessary shop equipment. Used for overall maintenance of motorcycle and tractor batteries. I've needed an upgrade for a while and this fit the bill.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 40 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice

,
January 5, 2016
By
from Shelby,MI
The product was simple to use and will keep my smaller units charged perfectly
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points