Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

Item# 167981
"The BatteryMINDER Plus is a 3-mode maintenance charger/desulfator that extends performance and life of all types and sizes of 12 Volt lead acid batteries, including all starter, deep cycle, maintenance-free, sealed AGM, gelled or dry-type batteries, regardless of size or make. The Model 12117 automatically dissolves harmful power-robbing sulfation using safe, low voltage, patented high-frequency pulse technology. UL listed. Maintains Yes, Power Cord ft. 11, Desulfates Yes, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Works With 12V lead-acid battery, Power Source 120VAC, Trickle Charge Amps 5mA-1A determined by battery demand, Conditioner Yes, Amps 1.33, Charges Yes, Overcharge Protection Yes, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 4. Full-time battery monitoring automatically tests battery every microsecond, supplying only the current needed to maintain battery at full charge Charges and maintains from 1 to 4 batteries at a time 12V batteries parallel-connected or 6V batteries series-connected Does not overcharge, regardless of time connected High-frequency pulses safely remove sulfate from battery's plates that prevent the batteries from holding a full charge No need to add water to maintenance-type batteries during long, non-use storage Stops boil-out and ends water loss Isolation transformer and smart chip technology ensures safe, long-term performance Automatic reset thermostat prevents damage to charger when unit is connected to faulty battery Weatherproof when used with an approved outdoor electrical receptacle conformal-coated circuitry ensures trouble-free life even in high-moisture marine environments Blinks when charged Allows battery to be stored safely at 0 to 120F Made to ISO 9002 Quality Certified Standards Comes complete with Quick connect/disconnect battery clips Not for use with aircraft batteries"
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(568 Reviews) 568
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (568 reviews)
5 stars
488
4 stars
72
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
563 of 568(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Review 21 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looking good

,
January 19, 2016
By
from Heart Of Dixie
I saw these on a 50% off deal. Adding a coupon or two made it an even better deal.
I can't vouch for them long term. But, so far, they seem to be working just as they should. Simple to use - Unpack, read directions, connect it to your battery. Wait a day of two for the green light to start flashing. After that, you're all set.
I have high hopes for the three that I bought. Battery prices have gone through the roof in recent years. If these things can make my batteries last longer while keeping them topped up and ready to go, I'm thinking I'll come out way ahead.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 22 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great charger

,
January 19, 2016
By
from Columbus, Ohio
The charger is as described and works great. Only complaint is that they don't include the "optional" cord to connect to battery terminals with the plug. Only have the clips and they don't tell you where/how to get one. I would have paid a few bucks more to have it included. (I found a plug and made one but that shouldn't have been necessary).
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 23 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good deal

,
January 19, 2016
By
from Gulfport, Ms
I've had this for 2 months now and I have had it in use that long. It has kept a couple of my batteries charged up.and plan on maintaining a few more. I think this is a good product at a very good price
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 24 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dosen't work that well!

,
January 19, 2016
By
from Macomb MI
Wasted my money, two batteries and couldn't help either! One car and one lawn rider. NO LUCK.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 25 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charger Maintainer Desulfator

,
January 19, 2016
By
from New Jersey
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
It works. Ok I did run an extension cord from the garage door opener. The riding mower is stored in the rear. Just plugged it in to my dead every spring battery, it auto charged for a bit then on desulfator. Bought a 2008 Pontiac Grand Am a few weeks ago (super clean) came out one morning and the battery was completly dead. Worked great the night before. Switched it over (after giving it a good traditional charge) it lets you know the condition of the battery automatically then does its thing. Haven't had a problem since. ( even with old battery )
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 26 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

,
January 19, 2016
By
from Spokane, Wa.
I am very happy with the two units I purchased. They both are working well and I have not had any issues. One is on my car I store every winter (it's fast with rear wheel drive so it will kill me in the winter). The other is on my riding mower.
The ability to extend the life of my batteries more then offsets the cost of buying two of these chargers.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 27 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks solid

,
January 19, 2016
By
from Dallas
I haven't had a chance to use it yet, but the product came well packaged and looks to be a pretty solid item.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 28 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generators need this.

,
January 18, 2016
By
from The Granite State
I install standby generators, and I recommend to my customers that I also install this charger to keep the starting battery ready, in case of a power outage. These batteries stay out in the cold for long periods of time, and this charger keeps them at full charge. I believe the desulfator helps make the batteries last longer too.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 29 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

,
January 18, 2016
By
from arkansas
I just run an extension cord under the garage door and under the car hood and leave it connected to whatever vehicle isn't being driven for a few days or more.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 30 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

charger

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Greeneville
this is a very good product. It will add life to a battery that sits idle for long periods of time.
battery has cranked truck every time
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 31 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

battery saver

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Joshua, Texas
I have used this charger for several years now and have been able to extend battery from one year to threes years on mower batteries and for years on tractor batteries.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 32 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product / great price

,
January 18, 2016
By
from elberton ga.
I plugged this battery minder to my boat during the winter to keep my battery in great shape while my boat is just sitting. I don't have to go check on my battery because this unit is totally automatic.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 33 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Fairlawn, Va.
works well, have used on riding mowers and farm tractors will purchase another one.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 34 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BATTERY TENDER

,
January 18, 2016
By
from YELLOW SPRINGS, OHIO
I bought the battery tender to use on a car that sits a lot. It has a gel battery and they aren't cheap. Without this tool, I have to use a 24 volt charger to get it to start.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 35 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Maintenance Charger

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Apple Creek, Ohio
I own 6 so called battery tenders, but this one does more then just keep your battery's fresh. None of my other battery tenders can do what this one does.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 36 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, great price.

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Maryland
I use one of these on my ATV and have just added one for the starting battery on my bass boat. I received a recommendation from a local battery distributor to keep a charger/maintainer hooked up all the time and that the worst time for batteries is outside during the winter months. This will prevent the battery from freezing, an expensive lesson I learned two winters ago. Saw these on sale at NT and jumped on the deal.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 37 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too Early to tell but so far so good

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Hammonton ,NJ
Bought this product to maintain a deep cycle battery in the off season. So far, so good, but this coming spring will be the test when I go to use it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 38 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder

,
January 18, 2016
By
from South Dakota
Works as advertised. Great price. I hooked it up to two batteries and it went to work.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 39 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT!!!!

,
January 18, 2016
By
from La Pine, Oregon
This charger is exactly what I needed. It not only tells when it is charging, but a green light blinks to let you know that your battery is being maintained!! I will order another when they have more!!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 40 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Paid for itself on first use

,
January 16, 2016
By
from So MD
I purchased this to use on my antique car over the winter but used it first on my RV battery. I thought the battery needed replacement but this maintainer brought it back to life saving me over $100.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points