Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

Item# 167981
"The BatteryMINDER Plus is a 3-mode maintenance charger/desulfator that extends performance and life of all types and sizes of 12 Volt lead acid batteries, including all starter, deep cycle, maintenance-free, sealed AGM, gelled or dry-type batteries, regardless of size or make. The Model 12117 automatically dissolves harmful power-robbing sulfation using safe, low voltage, patented high-frequency pulse technology. UL listed. Maintains Yes, Power Cord ft. 11, Desulfates Yes, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Works With 12V lead-acid battery, Power Source 120VAC, Trickle Charge Amps 5mA-1A determined by battery demand, Conditioner Yes, Amps 1.33, Charges Yes, Overcharge Protection Yes, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 4. Full-time battery monitoring automatically tests battery every microsecond, supplying only the current needed to maintain battery at full charge Charges and maintains from 1 to 4 batteries at a time 12V batteries parallel-connected or 6V batteries series-connected Does not overcharge, regardless of time connected High-frequency pulses safely remove sulfate from battery's plates that prevent the batteries from holding a full charge No need to add water to maintenance-type batteries during long, non-use storage Stops boil-out and ends water loss Isolation transformer and smart chip technology ensures safe, long-term performance Automatic reset thermostat prevents damage to charger when unit is connected to faulty battery Weatherproof when used with an approved outdoor electrical receptacle conformal-coated circuitry ensures trouble-free life even in high-moisture marine environments Blinks when charged Allows battery to be stored safely at 0 to 120F Made to ISO 9002 Quality Certified Standards Comes complete with Quick connect/disconnect battery clips Not for use with aircraft batteries"
Average Customer Rating:
4.832 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(567 Reviews) 567
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (567 reviews)
5 stars
487
4 stars
72
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
562 of 567(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Review 1 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charger Maintainer Desulfator

,
January 19, 2016
By
from New Jersey
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
It works. Ok I did run an extension cord from the garage door opener. The riding mower is stored in the rear. Just plugged it in to my dead every spring battery, it auto charged for a bit then on desulfator. Bought a 2008 Pontiac Grand Am a few weeks ago (super clean) came out one morning and the battery was completly dead. Worked great the night before. Switched it over (after giving it a good traditional charge) it lets you know the condition of the battery automatically then does its thing. Haven't had a problem since. ( even with old battery )
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 2 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Be Patient

,
January 31, 2015
By
from Portland, OR
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This will do the job you bought it for, but don't expect it to do other chores. Bought to maintain dual trailer batteries - as it WILL NOT bring a severely discharged battery to life. I had batteries that were down to about 7 volts and this charger would not start, but it's not supposed to. You have to bring the battery up to about 10 volts with another charger, THEN this will kick in. And it will take days to get them to full charge, maintenance level - but then it just keeps them charged and ready to go. I need to keep my batteries fresh in the winter before heading out in Spring, and this does that!! IT WILL NOT charge your battery overnight so you can get to work, use your 10amp/2amp for that.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pontton boat

,
May 7, 2012
By
from Atlantia Ga.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have a pontoon boat with Brigg and Statton 48 volt motor, soI have 4 12volt marine battery. i use 4 BatteryMinder Carges the maintane the batter and thier small I do not have alot of room, so they fit my needs.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Review 4 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great charger that keeps my boat's batteries good

,
June 3, 2010
By
from Denton, Tx
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I use this charger on the starting and deep cycle batteries on my boat. These batteries are three years old and are still charging great. I occasionally switch the charger to the other battery so they both can take advantage of the desulphation feature. Wish they had a marine/boat version.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charger

,
July 23, 2009
By
from Southern NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This works great! Easy to use. Restores and protects battery. Perfect for my MG with two 6-volt batteries in-series. The charger takes the voltage goes up to about 14.10 vdc then automatically drops back to about 13.54 vdc and stays there.
The instruction book is clear and adequately detailed. It is a good idea to measure the resting voltage of the battery after hooking up but before plugging in the charger. The charger wants to see over 11 vdc before it will start its work.
I really like and trust this product!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item

,
April 20, 2016
By
from Houston, Texas
I have several of them. They are still working as advertised after several years.
Great to use on vehicles that are not used regularly. I have brought batteries back to life that were not working properly. I believe in the desulfator.
I also use an aviation specific BatteryMINDer on my aircraft. Aircraft batteries are very expensive and mine exceed the average life cycle of other pilots.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 7 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

,
March 5, 2016
By
from BD
This is the 3rd charger I purchased.......very nice
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 8 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

battery minder

,
March 1, 2016
By
from pc fla
so far seems to work. does not help dead batteries but knew they were beyond help.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 9 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use it all the time

,
February 29, 2016
By
from Northern NY
I have used this charger on many vehicle batteries, truck, tractor, 4-wheeler. Works well and keeps the battery like new charge. Connect it and forget it. Works great on batteries that sit out in the cold and aren't used every day.
Simple to use and the indicators are easy to see.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 10 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saves batteries!

,
February 27, 2016
By
from new tripoli, pa.
I now have 3 of these chargers. Started for my boat batteries, and my deep cycle trolling battery will be going on its 4th year.They never lasted more than 2 and with a 6 month layover here in Pa. I credit the trickle desulfator for its long life I've put one on my 36 volt(3-12volt) golf cart and one on my farm equipment for the long winter.Beats buying $100 batteries every year..
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 11 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

just purchased

,
February 18, 2016
By
from New Freedom PA
so far so good I purchased seven of them and all are working as described
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 12 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

You need this if you care about your batteries!

,
February 14, 2016
By
from Buffalo,NY
I love this product!!
I have them on all of my batteries from my rider,my camper, to all of my classic cars.
I have had one battery since 2008...using the battery minder, cheap insurance.
My advice...get the "Battery Minder" for your batteries.(not the cheap one from an off-shore store). I plug them in and don't ever worry about anything going wrong.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 13 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

,
February 9, 2016
By
from Minnesota
I've used battery tender jr. in the past to keep my equipment batteries healthy. Northern had a great sale price on this brand, so I decided to give it a try. So far, this product works just as good as the others I've used. Highly recommended!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 14 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery Minder

,
February 7, 2016
By
from Greater Washington DC
The product arrived as described, the wires are a little stiff but the product works as expected. It would be beneficial to have an adapter terminated in ring lugs for a permanent attachment to the battery.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 15 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple, but it works

,
January 28, 2016
By
from Indiana
This is my 3rd BatteryMINDer. I have one on my Tahoe that I drive on rare occasions, and one on my boat's battery. The price was so right that I decided to purchase another BatteryMINDer to extend the life of an 8 year old battery in my Toyota 4 Runner.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 16 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
January 23, 2016
By
from Mass
I have owned this product for approximately 5 years and
it has performed very well extending my Rider Tractor battery for about 2 more years than expected.
The first one purchased came with the Quick Connect/Disconnect Ring Terminal Assembly and now its a separate purchase which would have been great if they still included one. I purchased 2 more to charge my car battery and my new motorcycle battery. Looking to make them last a few more years than the normal life span as well
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 17 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder Plus Review

,
January 22, 2016
By
from Illinois
Excellent Product I bought 2, 1 for my Mustang and 1 for my zero turn mower
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder

,
January 22, 2016
By
from Tennessee
I have three and they work great. The batteries last twice as long and no build up. Great product.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 19 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

WORKS WELL SO FAR

,
January 20, 2016
By
from CO
Works well so far only time will tell .. i will update review after this charger gets used for a while
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 20 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It does what it supposed to.

,
January 20, 2016
By
from Va.
It does what it is supposed to. Hardest thing about it is getting it out of the package.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points