Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"

Item# 167981
"The BatteryMINDER Plus is a 3-mode maintenance charger/desulfator that extends performance and life of all types and sizes of 12 Volt lead acid batteries, including all starter, deep cycle, maintenance-free, sealed AGM, gelled or dry-type batteries, regardless of size or make. The Model 12117 automatically dissolves harmful power-robbing sulfation using safe, low voltage, patented high-frequency pulse technology. UL listed. Maintains Yes, Power Cord ft. 11, Desulfates Yes, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Works With 12V lead-acid battery, Power Source 120VAC, Trickle Charge Amps 5mA-1A determined by battery demand, Conditioner Yes, Amps 1.33, Charges Yes, Overcharge Protection Yes, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 4. Full-time battery monitoring automatically tests battery every microsecond, supplying only the current needed to maintain battery at full charge Charges and maintains from 1 to 4 batteries at a time 12V batteries parallel-connected or 6V batteries series-connected Does not overcharge, regardless of time connected High-frequency pulses safely remove sulfate from battery's plates that prevent the batteries from holding a full charge No need to add water to maintenance-type batteries during long, non-use storage Stops boil-out and ends water loss Isolation transformer and smart chip technology ensures safe, long-term performance Automatic reset thermostat prevents damage to charger when unit is connected to faulty battery Weatherproof when used with an approved outdoor electrical receptacle conformal-coated circuitry ensures trouble-free life even in high-moisture marine environments Blinks when charged Allows battery to be stored safely at 0 to 120F Made to ISO 9002 Quality Certified Standards Comes complete with Quick connect/disconnect battery clips Not for use with aircraft batteries"
Average Customer Rating:
4.832 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(567 Reviews) 567
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (567 reviews)
5 stars
487
4 stars
72
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
562 of 567(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Review 1 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item

,
April 20, 2016
By
from Houston, Texas
I have several of them. They are still working as advertised after several years.
Great to use on vehicles that are not used regularly. I have brought batteries back to life that were not working properly. I believe in the desulfator.
I also use an aviation specific BatteryMINDer on my aircraft. Aircraft batteries are very expensive and mine exceed the average life cycle of other pilots.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 2 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

,
March 5, 2016
By
from BD
This is the 3rd charger I purchased.......very nice
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 3 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

battery minder

,
March 1, 2016
By
from pc fla
so far seems to work. does not help dead batteries but knew they were beyond help.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 4 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use it all the time

,
February 29, 2016
By
from Northern NY
I have used this charger on many vehicle batteries, truck, tractor, 4-wheeler. Works well and keeps the battery like new charge. Connect it and forget it. Works great on batteries that sit out in the cold and aren't used every day.
Simple to use and the indicators are easy to see.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 5 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saves batteries!

,
February 27, 2016
By
from new tripoli, pa.
I now have 3 of these chargers. Started for my boat batteries, and my deep cycle trolling battery will be going on its 4th year.They never lasted more than 2 and with a 6 month layover here in Pa. I credit the trickle desulfator for its long life I've put one on my 36 volt(3-12volt) golf cart and one on my farm equipment for the long winter.Beats buying $100 batteries every year..
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 6 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

just purchased

,
February 18, 2016
By
from New Freedom PA
so far so good I purchased seven of them and all are working as described
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 7 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

You need this if you care about your batteries!

,
February 14, 2016
By
from Buffalo,NY
I love this product!!
I have them on all of my batteries from my rider,my camper, to all of my classic cars.
I have had one battery since 2008...using the battery minder, cheap insurance.
My advice...get the "Battery Minder" for your batteries.(not the cheap one from an off-shore store). I plug them in and don't ever worry about anything going wrong.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 8 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

,
February 9, 2016
By
from Minnesota
I've used battery tender jr. in the past to keep my equipment batteries healthy. Northern had a great sale price on this brand, so I decided to give it a try. So far, this product works just as good as the others I've used. Highly recommended!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 9 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery Minder

,
February 7, 2016
By
from Greater Washington DC
The product arrived as described, the wires are a little stiff but the product works as expected. It would be beneficial to have an adapter terminated in ring lugs for a permanent attachment to the battery.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 10 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple, but it works

,
January 28, 2016
By
from Indiana
This is my 3rd BatteryMINDer. I have one on my Tahoe that I drive on rare occasions, and one on my boat's battery. The price was so right that I decided to purchase another BatteryMINDer to extend the life of an 8 year old battery in my Toyota 4 Runner.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 11 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
January 23, 2016
By
from Mass
I have owned this product for approximately 5 years and
it has performed very well extending my Rider Tractor battery for about 2 more years than expected.
The first one purchased came with the Quick Connect/Disconnect Ring Terminal Assembly and now its a separate purchase which would have been great if they still included one. I purchased 2 more to charge my car battery and my new motorcycle battery. Looking to make them last a few more years than the normal life span as well
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 12 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder Plus Review

,
January 22, 2016
By
from Illinois
Excellent Product I bought 2, 1 for my Mustang and 1 for my zero turn mower
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Minder

,
January 22, 2016
By
from Tennessee
I have three and they work great. The batteries last twice as long and no build up. Great product.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 14 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

WORKS WELL SO FAR

,
January 20, 2016
By
from CO
Works well so far only time will tell .. i will update review after this charger gets used for a while
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 15 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It does what it supposed to.

,
January 20, 2016
By
from Va.
It does what it is supposed to. Hardest thing about it is getting it out of the package.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 16 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

battery minder

,
January 20, 2016
By
from E.Lyme, CT
Just hooked up the battery minder to my tractor battery which is stored with the tractor over the winter, and I'll be interested in seeing how well it maintains the charge and how well the desulfator works.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 17 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
January 20, 2016
By
from Georgia
I purchase 4 each of this battery maintainer. I have a cattle farm and I have 15 to 20 batteries that need taken care of and this item dies an excellent job of taken care of my batteries. I wish I had bought several more of them. Thanks Northern tools.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 18 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works As Advertised

,
January 20, 2016
By
from Novi, Michigan
Instructions are simple and straight forward. However, I suggest reading them a few times, just to make sure you fully comprehend them. The starting voltage of your battery or batteries must be above a minimum level specified in the instructions. In other words, this product is not going to rejuvenate a totally dead battery. If your starting voltage is above the specified level, the charger will connect and begin charging. It will continue charging for however long it takes to achieve a cut off voltage and then switch to a maintenance mode. Depending on the initial charge level, this could take as much as three days because the charger is only putting out a little over one amp. Desulfation occurs at all times the unit is connected. There are lights to tell you whether its charging or maintaining and you can check progress with a DC volt meter. You can hook up multiple batteries in parallel as long as they are the same type. I have been reviving some five and six year old batteries with good results.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 19 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery Minder Plus Review

,
January 20, 2016
By
from Watrloo,NY
I have only had the unit for a short time but so far it has proved to work as advertised. I like the fact that it is weatherproof and has a sturdy 11 ft. cord with a quick disconnect. The main reason I purchased it is that it has circuitry to recover batteries that have become sulfated. The only reason I did not give this product 5 stars is that I have not owned it long enough to prove its longevity. It does however come with a 1 year full warranty and 5 year limited warranty.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 20 for "BatteryMINDer Plus Charger/Maintainer/Desulfator - 1.3 Amp, 12 Volt, Model# 12117"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looking good

,
January 19, 2016
By
from Heart Of Dixie
I saw these on a 50% off deal. Adding a coupon or two made it an even better deal.
I can't vouch for them long term. But, so far, they seem to be working just as they should. Simple to use - Unpack, read directions, connect it to your battery. Wait a day of two for the green light to start flashing. After that, you're all set.
I have high hopes for the three that I bought. Battery prices have gone through the roof in recent years. If these things can make my batteries last longer while keeping them topped up and ready to go, I'm thinking I'll come out way ahead.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points