Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"

"BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"

Item# 167988
"The BatteryMINDER is an ideal choice for handling 12 Volt battery charging requirements. The 5-stage smart microprocessor-controlled BatteryMINDer has a built-in desulfator that automatically dissolves harmful power-robbing, life-shortening sulfation using safe high-frequency 'sweep pulse' technology. Safely charges all sizes, types, and brands of 12V sealed Gel, AGM, maintenance-free and flooded filler-cap batteries including, but not limited to GEL, maintenance-free flooded filler cap and sealed, deep cycle, marine, hybrid, valve-regulated lead-acid VRLA, sealed lead-acid SLA and standard AGM - with no overcharging. For specialty sealed AGM 12V types such as Odyssey, Lifeline, Deka, MK, Universal Power, and Interstate, see model 2012-AGM Item# 21309. Overcharge Protection Yes, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Power Cord ft. 6, Power Source 120V, Desulfates Yes, Maintains Yes, Amps 2, 4, 8, Charges Yes, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 6, Conditioner Yes, Trickle Charge Amps 200m-4, Works With 12V lead-acid battery. Safely charges 70 to 200 faster than other conventional constant voltage chargers Maximizes cycle life and performance of all three types of lead-acid storage batteries, including flooded filler caps, maintenance-free sealed AGM and Gel, regardless of size, type or brand Push-button selectable type and charge rates for all size, type or brand 12V batteries including flooded filler caps, sealed AGM, Gel, Interstate, Exide and Optima branded 'spiral-cell' constructed dry batteries 5-stage constant current bulk/constant voltage absorption/pulse with modulated float ensures 100 full charge capacity of all battery types U.S. patented full-time random sweep desulfation means faster and more effective desulfation Spark-proof, short circuit, reverse polarity and over-temperature protected Automatically detects defective batteries and rejects them Polarity reversal error indicator Auto reset thermal breaker protects both battery and charger under abnormal conditions such as a shorted cell and/or excessively high ambient temperatures Manual override for maintenance/desulfation-only long term storage mode Rejects a damaged or open shorted battery Watertight enclosure with conformal-coated circuitry Lightweight and compact at 5 1/2in. x 5 1/2in. x 2 1/4in. Portable or onboard mountable Built-in battery condition indicators detect and display charge level modes, charge retention and existence of sulfation Temperature range of 0F to 130F Can maintain up to six 12V batteries at one time when connected in parallel by using the SmarTECHnology Y-Connector Item# 27879, sold separately Can double battery life when used with 12/24/36/48 Volt, At-The-Battery Temperature Sensor, Item# 167953 included Not for use with 12V aircraft battery Battery clip and ring terminal assembly have replaceable fuses IMPORTANT INFORMATION ON USING PRODUCT OUTDOORS Always mount units in vertical position with cord sets exiting downward to ensure weather tight integrity. Unit must be mounted this way to ensure long term trouble-free life including weather-resistant integrity. Mounting in any other manner or using unmounted parallel to ground except indoors may cause unit to fail due to water intrusion that is unable to drain correctly to avoid damage."
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (80 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
76 of 80(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Review 1 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product

,
August 11, 2014
By Theoriginalgeek
from Denver, CO
" Besides being an excellent charger, this product extends the life of your batteries by providing desulfation. Look that process up - it really works! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BatteryMINDer

,
February 7, 2014
By MrOrganizer
from Mpls, MN
" This is an excellent product. I used it to maintain 6 deep cycle batteries and it helps extend their life "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great charger

,
February 4, 2014
By wallzwallz
from Cape Cod,MA
" Have had no problems, works great, easy to use. I like that it Automatically detects defective batteries and rejects them so you don't waste time trying to charge it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Charger

,
February 4, 2014
By Redbird7
from TN
" I bought this charger after seeing a review on it in the GWRRA motorcycle magazine. After having the charger for about a year I noticed that it would not stay on the type of battery I would select. I called the manfg. of the charger and they said just send it back and I did. It took about a week and they sent a new on back to me. All is well with the charger now and it just stays on the battery that I want to maintain. It will not overcharge any battery. I also use the Batter Tender brand and this Battery Minder is just as good if not better. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slick operation

,
August 20, 2012
By 4897782
from Iowa
" I bought one of these because it gets old replacing batteries in small equipment. This unit really does the trick every few days I just move it to another battery and so far all mine have lasted through more than one season Including some sealed batteries I use to operate my sprayer.
That alone it has paid for it's self vs battery replacements not to mention the hassle of going to the store to get them and the delay in getting things done.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
January 16, 2012
By 1thundr
from Chicago
" I bought two of the battery tenders for a company with a bunch of small 12 volt start pumps. We had problems with the batteries being dead when a job was starting. This has taken care of the problem and we have had no problems with dead batteries. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

battery minder

,
January 9, 2012
By pilke66
from new york,ny
" easy to use.good for charging new battery on slow charge. .rejuvinate old battery. maintaine battery over long storage. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent battery maintainer

,
August 17, 2011
By SteveB07
from Oklahoma City
" This is one of the few battery maintainers available that will de-sulphate a battery. It's simple to use and it's capable of charging multiple (same type) batteries as well. The first time I used it was to charge a small AGM battery. It charged to a perfect 13.1 volts before automatically switching over to the float/maintenance mode. Don't let the highly detailed owner's manual scare you off. Read it and understand it, and do the job right. In the end you'll realize that for most batteries you simply attach it to the battery, plug it in, select the amps (2,4, or 8 depending on the size of the battery), select the type of battery, and then let 'er go. The solid green "charge light" will automatically switch to a blinking green light when the battery is fully charged and is being maintained with a float charge. This can take anywhere from a few hours to a few days depending on how good or bad the condition of the battery. A decent digital volt-meter is very useful for assessing the state of your battery before and after charging. The BatteryMINDer's customer service is excellent. If you have a question, just email them and expect to get a quick reply back. In my case, just a few hours. It's not too often I use something and it goes beyond what I expect. Such is the case with this charger. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Used on RV Battery

,
June 13, 2011
By 1sleeper
from Ardmore, OK
" I always had problems keeping water in my RV battery during storage. After using this charger I have had no problems. Water stays in and the battery is kept in great condition. It is easy to use and has not required any maintenance. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer

,
June 13, 2011
By trtech
from Morrisville, Pa.
" I bought this product to mantain and extend the life of the battery I use to power a battery back up sump pump in my new home. Also used it to restore some deep cycle golf cart batteries with good sucess. Work as it is supposed to, I have recommended it to friends with RV's to maintain their onboard batteries in top shape. "
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!

,
June 10, 2011
By AnthonyC
from Sparta, NJ
" This is an excellent product. I currently own four of them. I use them to keep the batteries charged in our construction equipment during the off season. I have original batteries that are eight or more years old that start every time the key is turned. Great product! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BatteryMinder Model #12248

,
June 8, 2011
By MrPita
" I've blown through three "on sale" name-brand chargers over the years and bought many a battery. Charging overnight when boating has been a hassle too, with changeable weather and the threat of rain. The BatteryMinder #12248 was my choice now since it's weather resistant and can easily put out anywhere from 8 amps to a trickle charge, and desulphate my battery to boot. I like the fact that it's not only safe to leave connected long term, but desulphates as it maintains charge. In my experience, the extra cost of this feature is going to pay for itself just on my existing group 27 battery alone. I've found that some things are appropriate to cheap out on, and that on others, you're much better off paying extra for quality or performance. The BatteryMinder 2/4/8 Amp with Desulphator is one item I wish I'd had years ago. "
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
June 6, 2011
By Capt4503
from North Idaho
" I have had this charger hooked up to 2-250 AHR batteries for over a month. It works absolutely wonderful. I would recommend this if you want to keep your batteries in tip top shape. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Batteries saved!!!

,
March 16, 2011
By Sawman12
from CT
" So far this charger has worked great. I have charged batteries from Flooded cell to AGM with no problems. The charger has successfully saved two of my batteries. One was an AGM that was no longer taking a charge from a regular die hard charger. After a few days on the MINDer the battery was able to again crank my jeep with no problem. All in all great charger! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

MINE CHARGER

,
March 14, 2011
By GOODTOGO
from NORTH FLORIDA IN THE WOODS
" THIS DEVICE HAS RECONDITIONED 5 BATTERIES I WAS NEEDING TO REPLACE. FOR THE PRICE (REASONABLE) THIS CHARGER HAS PAID FOR ITSELF IN JUST 2 MONTHS. I HAVE TOLD MANY PEOPLE ABOUT WHAT THIS CHARGER CAN DO AS A BIG MONEY SAVER. GREAT PRODUCT. EVERYBODY NEEDS ONE. THANKS GLEN "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Maintain RV & motorcyle batteries

,
March 14, 2011
By Maverick50
from Woodstock, IL
" "I bought his product to maintain batteries that I remove in the winter from my RV (deep cycle AGM) and motorcycle (gel). Instructions provided with this product were very good. The unit is light weight. I attached mine to a wall to keep it near where I store my batteries. I use my deep cycle batteries in my RV. This charger takes them to peak performance and maintains them perfectly. I would recommend it to anyone needing to recharge and maintain batteries multiple times." "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery charger/desulphernator

,
March 14, 2011
By Louonthekey
from Siesta Key, Florida
" I would recommend this to anyone who wants to double the life of any auto battery. Regular use has proven in the past that this product doubles the life of your battery. This is my third unit I have owned. I have been using this product for over five years. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Charger But Tends To Outsmart Itself.

,
February 3, 2011
By Commissioner
from Orcas Island, WA
" Under normal circumstances this unit performs like a champ. It has restored to near 100% several batteries that wouldn't hold a charge of much more than 50% of capacity.
The built-in test/safety functions do, however, create difficulties under certain circumstances. The charger won't accept any battery with a beginning voltage of less than 3v. The instructions say this battery is toast and should be replaced. Well, you should be cautious about any battery so deeply discharged. But if the discharge is because of lights left on for an extended period of time or a serious electrical leak in the equipment in which the battery is installed, the battery may still be recoverable. Without help, however, this charger won't do it.
My solution is to connect the discharged battery to both a fully charged battery and to the charger for several hours. The charger senses the charge and accepts its assignment. It will soon switch to float/maintenance mode but between the charger and the good battery, the discharged battery will often take enough of a charge so that the charger will accept it on its own. I then start over charging the discharged battery. There are safety issues in this approach so it shouldn't be attempted without a good familiarity with lead/acid batteries and 12v systems.
The second issue is less troublesome. Deep cycle batteries tend to take a charge more slowly that ordinary starting batteries. The unit will sometimes "time out" before charging is complete which requires a reset and another charging sequence.
All in all, however, I would buy it again in a heartbeat.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best on the market

,
November 16, 2010
By mopris
from Sunrise , Fl
" It brought back ,,the dead"
From ,,Change Battery" to 50% restore in 3 weeks and is keep improving
It is the best on the market at my knowledge
Goes slowly but surly
They have great tehnical support also
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "BatteryMINDer Battery Charger / Maintainer with Desulfator - 12 Volt 2/4/8 Amp, Model# 12248"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Charger/Maintainer

,
November 16, 2010
By Shenandoahan
from Shenandoah County, Virginia
" I bought his product to replace older battery chargers that didn't perform adequately. Instructions provided with this product were very good. The unit is light weight. I attached mine to a wall to keep it near where I store my batteries. I use my deep cycle batteries to run a trolling motor and to run a power inverter for my hunting camp. This charger takes them to peak performance and maintains them perfectly. I would recommend it to anyone needing to recharge and maintain batteries multiple times. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.