Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"

"Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"

Item# 1681517
"The Nite Guard solar-powered night predator light is a maintenance-free unit that keeps nocturnal predators away from your birds, livestock and property. Material Type Sealed temperature resistant plastic, Includes Auto on/off, Indoor/Outdoor Use Outdoor, Power Source Solar, Product Style Repellent, Dimensions L x W x H in. 3 x 1 x 2, Removal Of Multi-animal, Single, Pair, or Set Single. Protects against owls, coyotes, opossum, raccoons, fox, bobcats, muskrats, bears, cougar, wild boar, mink and weasels"
Average Customer Rating:
4.175 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (63 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
9
54 of 63(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Review 1 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nite Guard

,
June 27, 2016
By
from minnesota
We put several of these devices around the property and apparently, they work. We had many fox running around challenging our cat, crapping in the yard, and digging holes. They have disappeared.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Mod

,
June 26, 2016
By
from Silver Springs, Fl
I got this Solar Powered Night Predator Light because we had some kind of 'critter' under our home scratching at the (outside) bottom of our floors & driving us nuts!!
We put the light in a good spot facing under the home towards where the noise was coming from & (knock on wood) we haven't heard any more scratching noises!! I am very happy with this product.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Mod

,
June 23, 2016
By
from OK
Purchased to keep raccoons and hogs out of our orchard. I placed six of them in various places throughout the orchard at 15-18 inches off the ground. In the three weeks that they have been active, I have only captured deer and fox on my game camera. I can see evidence of the hogs and raccoons still on the property, but not in the orchard! I think the key is to keep moving them around. I only move them once a week.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

garden protection

,
June 6, 2016
By
from orangeburg,sc
We purchased two of these about a month ago. My husband changes their location weekly. So far they have kept the deer out of our garden. They were reasonably priced and do not cost anything to operate. We are satisfied with their effectiveness!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

These work!

,
May 26, 2016
By
from NW Arkansas
A friend recommended these and boy do I wish I had talked to him before I went to the trouble to build an 8' tall fence around our new garden. We put the first set of 4 by some landscape shrubs the deer had almost killed. Three months later the shrubs are thriving.
I just ordered twelve more lights (3 sets of 4) for other areas around our house . . . one set to put near the garden so I can expand it without building more fence, one to cover some more landscaping in the back yard and one set on standby for another project or to loan to a doubting neighbor. I do notice the reviews sometimes mention that the lights lose their effectiveness after a few weeks: these were probably written by users that did not read the instructions . . . Move the lights a few yards ever two weeks or so. The deer will get used to them if you don't move them but if you do move them as the instructions say they will work indefinitely.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy installed and low maintenance

,
December 23, 2015
By
from Los Angeles
Arrived on time and easily installed and no maintenance required at all. will definitely recommend this product.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats

,
November 22, 2015
By
from Ca
Bought it to stop the feral cats from driving my dog crazy at night. Had it about 3 weeks and it seems to be working - no late night visits by the cats. I am going to buy another one to place at another location/
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Repels the raccoons

,
November 8, 2015
By
from Illinois
I have been using Nite Guards successfully for about 5 years. The solar cell finally failed on one because of water leakage, so I ordered two more units. They have been very effective for me in repelling raccoons. Be sure to move them around the area or point them in slightly different directions at least once a week.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wish I could say they worked.

,
September 14, 2015
By
from Atlanta
I desperately wanted these to work to keep the deer and rabbits away from the ground cover I am trying to grow on our bank on our commercial lot. They may have worked a bit right at first, but after a month, the problem has not diminished at all. We still have plants that have been stripped and deer and rabbit droppings everywhere.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nite guard

,
September 10, 2015
By
from Andover CT.
Great Idea, Have not had a problem, heard a fox, but nothing has come close sense installed!!!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Simple review: Doesn't work.

,
September 4, 2015
By
from Santa Ana, CA
Since putting it in our back yard at the recommended placement, we've been invaded by skunks (three of whom now live under the deck) and by possums. Simply put, it did not work for us. I does blink as stated, but to no purpose. Waste of money. Blink, blink, blink.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

well made

,
August 29, 2015
By
from Northern,Ct
They work as intended,but don't know if they scare the predators away,We hav'nt had any that we know of ,So hopefully they are working.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nite Guard Solar-powered predator light

,
August 8, 2015
By
from Baton Rouge, LA
I don't know for sure if it works or not. I have it installed at our fish farm. Since I put the light up, I have caught three racoons in our traps. One trap is about 30 ft from the light and the other trap is about 70 ft from the light.
I have no idea if the light helped catch these fish stealing critters or not.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Night Guard

,
July 24, 2015
By
from california
Seems to do the trick. Had a probem with deer eating plants and shrubs. They are staying away. Haven't seen them lately.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
June 18, 2015
By
from Jacksonville, North Carolina
Have had these placed around garden for a couple years and appear to keep the varmints away. Last order was to replace units that had gotten tired and expired.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Appears to be working as advertised.

,
June 16, 2015
By
from Olive Hill, KY
Easy to place and install, charges adequately, and flashes rapidly during the entire night. I think that, maybe, it need not flash so rapidly, but I don't know that the flash rate can be changed. Appears to be protecting my garden and small orchard, but I don't think the critical time/season for protection is here yet.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light

,
June 9, 2015
By
from texas
This product has the easiest set up, pull the protective
tab and screw it to a surface. Can be seen from a great distance and really seems to work well. The small size lets you install it anywhere. Looks like a winner !!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blinking red light

,
May 22, 2015
By
from Mount Ida, Ar
I really like it ...it seems that the critters are scared of it. Even when I forget to close the gate. I have been checking it for a while and it works after sunset till dawn. The nice part about it is that I don't have to put batteries in it, it is totally solar. Great gadget!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never worked

,
November 20, 2014
By
from Bainbridge, GA
The light never worked. Haven't had time to return but will! Very disappointed.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clever Insurance

,
October 29, 2014
By
from Kitty Hawk, NC
Good product and placed at HUMAN eye level, a very good and clever deterrent for anyone who might be thinking of coming on your property at night. Cheaper than an alarm system, Nite Guard emits a VERY bright red light which you can't help but notice. If I was a crook looking for an easy house and saw Nite Guard flashing, I would definitely take a pass.
Solid construction and my first one is still going strong after 3 years!
I have purchased many more Nite Guards and they are worth it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.