Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001

Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001

Item# 1681517
The Nite Guard solar-powered night predator light is a maintenance-free unit that keeps nocturnal predators away from your birds, livestock and property. Material Type Sealed temperature resistant plastic, Dimensions L x W x H in. 3 x 1 x 2, Includes Auto on/off, Indoor/Outdoor Use Outdoor, Power Source Solar, Product Style Repellent, Removal Of Multi-animal, Single, Pair, or Set Single. Protects against owls, coyotes, opossum, raccoons, fox, bobcats, muskrats, bears, cougar, wild boar, mink and weasels
Average Customer Rating:
4.341 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (41 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
37 of 41(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Review 1 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

a dud of a purchase from Northern Tool

,
September 16, 2014
By Quickie
from CT.
"Installed this flashing LED lite aimed at my small garden @ the reiquired height from the instructions to keep deer from eating my tomato plants & cukes w/o any luck."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

so far so good

,
August 25, 2014
By CoachP52
from North Richland Hills, TX
"I have had a problem with opossums . I got one of these a few months ago and have not had a problem since. Plus its seems to be keeping the stray cats away as well. I liked it so much that I bought 3 more to make sure my entire back yard is covered."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rabbit chasser

,
August 22, 2014
By Driver2874
from Plano, Tx
"Before I purchased this product we were having several issues with rabbits digging and eating my wife's plants in the flowers beds. After I purchased the "Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light" the rabbits seamed to be going to the flower beds next door. This product is well worth the price and the piece of mind not having to keep replacing my wife's flowers.
Thank you"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nite Guard Solar Night Predator Light

,
August 20, 2014
By KSHOBBIT
from Southeast Kansas
"The lights work perfectly from the time I installed them.
If a 70 y/0 woman can do it anyone can do it. They began blinking the first night and continue to blink. The bane of my poultry's existence are possums. I installed the lights at the recommended height and have not had a single predator attack since the first night. I very pleased with this product. I plan on purchasing more to put up high for owls. Solar powered so no extension cords and the brochure says they last for 3 years. This is a win/win deal for me and my poultry.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nite Gard

,
August 9, 2014
By cooljoe
from MCdonough GA
"Had issues with raccoons eating thru the barrel off feed for my chickens trap about 5 and they keep coming back till I found this product feature on Norther tool page got one and installed their gone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

,
August 8, 2014
By 207Farmer
from New England, USA
"still blinking every night, even when installed in a shady place. It wont protect the Hens from daylight fox / fisher attacks but it may be discouraging evening activity."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works for Us!

,
August 6, 2014
By DrAofOhio
from Ohio
"We placed several of these around a barn that seemed to be calling all kinds of critters. They loved to picnic and leave us little (and not so little) presents. After placing them around our groundhog, gofer, and raccoon issues have stopped. We're pleased!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NG 001 Critter Getter

,
August 3, 2014
By Dusty26
from Alexandria Va.
"A simple concept, Blinking Light to keep out pests. In my case Oppusiums. Solar powerd, no setting or switching on or off. I anchored mine on on a line so that it will rotate. So far so good. Idid have to place a weight on the back to keep the light level. I am waiting to see how long it will last."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps varmints away

,
July 21, 2014
By TFS1
from Marion, KS
"Placed first unit where skunks & opossum dig under out building. Have not had a problem with varmints since placing light as instructed a year ago.
Purchased two additional Night Guard units to discourage rabbits from eating garden plants. Installed in garden only a week ago and so far they seem to be discouraging the rabbits. Too early to be conclusive how effective the lights are in the garden but look promising.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

does the job

,
July 17, 2014
By bobaletti
from ct
"I installed myself very easily, does the job it says it will do"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

not working

,
July 14, 2014
By LLL1946
from Auburn Twp, Ohio
"I purchased these lights for a use that was not listed in the instructions and they are not doing what I thought they would do. I have a den of muskrats in my pond and it did not deter them at all. I guess I will have to trap them as I have done in the past. I wish there was a better way than killing them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light

,
July 12, 2014
By Ed33
from Lake Arrowhead, CA
"I am using these items at my mountain cabin where we have racoons, coyotes and bears. We've had invasions in the past but since installing these lights...no problems"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cheap security

,
July 12, 2014
By jdyer
from Maine
"I can't say for sure that the strobe light is responsible; but, I haven't had any bear visits to my hives or deer damage to my fruit trees since I've been using the Night Guard system. I have two units- one in an upstairs and one in a downstairs window facing toward the bee yard and orchard. Needless to say, I am pleased with the result."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor results

,
July 9, 2014
By LLODDS1
from Sussex County, NJ
"I read the mostly favorable reviews of this product and purchased it to deter the local wildlife from feeding on my trash when placed curbside the night before the early AM collection.
It was installed on a post facing the trash cans about 25 feet away. There was no effect. Trash all over the ground. Don't know if the culprit was a raccoon or bear.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Predator LIGHT

,
June 16, 2014
By FranLB
from Pownal VT
"works great. no problem with any animals, had them for about a month now."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Nite Guard Predator Light

,
October 15, 2012
By ktd79
from Idaho
"This really keeps the predators away. I am the only one in my area who has not lost my free range chickens to predators because of this Nite Light. Affordable, well made, and a long life. I have recommended it to my neighbors who have chickens. I may buy more and place them where I can keep the raccoons away from my grapes also."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
October 8, 2012
By immyjay54
from Hopwood, Pa.
"I had a coon come to visit my chickens. Didn't realize it the first day or two but thought that my numbers were going down. After examining the flock I saw there were quite a few laying hens missing. After that, it seemed each morning I was find 1 or 2 chickens laying dead outside the coops with all their insides eaten. Bought 4 of the night guards and placed them around and haven't had one go missing since the first night of installing them around the coops. They say they last about 4 years so I will be getting a few more later on. I sure do appreciate these little wonders.
Thanks,
Jim
P.S. All pro's, no con's on this product. I have them about 15 inches off the ground on different corners of two coops and they are working fine.;
I am a total beginner with this product but have had chickens many many years.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great and keeps predators away

,
September 3, 2012
By RENEF
from NS
"We have installed the nite guard solar lights around our chicken coops a few months ago. Although we live in the woods with plenty of predatory animals we did not once have a problem with animals trying to get into the coop or houses. The lights work all night and I don't need to do anything, rain or shine they just work. We will get more for our house as well!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Mod

,
August 13, 2012
By rjrice14
from Lucasville, OH
"It works wonderfully to keep raccoons, coyotes, deer and such out of the garden. We love the solar power since our garden isn't close to electric. We have another brand that eats batteries."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Deer Protection

,
August 13, 2012
By Mugsie
from Lake Elmo, MN
"We bought 4 and mounted them around the sides of a 4" piece of 4x4 post. This hangs from a shepherd's hook, which can be moved around the yard for deer protection. They charged right up and are blinking intermittently all night. So far, so good.
Not so sure about moving this around all winter though, when the shrub browsing is generally the worst......"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.