Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001

Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001

Item# 1681517
The Nite Guard solar-powered night predator light is a maintenance-free unit that keeps nocturnal predators away from your birds, livestock and property. Product Style Repellent, Material Type Sealed temperature resistant plastic, Dimensions L x W x H in. 3 x 1 x 2, Power Source Solar, Removal Of Multi-animal, Single, Pair, or Set Single, Indoor/Outdoor Use Outdoor, Includes Auto on/off. Protects against owls, coyotes, opossum, raccoons, fox, bobcats, muskrats, bears, cougar, wild boar, mink and weasels
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (26 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
24 of 26(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Review 1 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Nite Guard Predator Light

,
October 15, 2012
By ktd79
from Idaho
"This really keeps the predators away. I am the only one in my area who has not lost my free range chickens to predators because of this Nite Light. Affordable, well made, and a long life. I have recommended it to my neighbors who have chickens. I may buy more and place them where I can keep the raccoons away from my grapes also."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
October 8, 2012
By immyjay54
from Hopwood, Pa.
"I had a coon come to visit my chickens. Didn't realize it the first day or two but thought that my numbers were going down. After examining the flock I saw there were quite a few laying hens missing. After that, it seemed each morning I was find 1 or 2 chickens laying dead outside the coops with all their insides eaten. Bought 4 of the night guards and placed them around and haven't had one go missing since the first night of installing them around the coops. They say they last about 4 years so I will be getting a few more later on. I sure do appreciate these little wonders.
Thanks,
Jim
P.S. All pro's, no con's on this product. I have them about 15 inches off the ground on different corners of two coops and they are working fine.;
I am a total beginner with this product but have had chickens many many years.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great and keeps predators away

,
September 3, 2012
By RENEF
from NS
"We have installed the nite guard solar lights around our chicken coops a few months ago. Although we live in the woods with plenty of predatory animals we did not once have a problem with animals trying to get into the coop or houses. The lights work all night and I don't need to do anything, rain or shine they just work. We will get more for our house as well!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Mod

,
August 13, 2012
By rjrice14
from Lucasville, OH
"It works wonderfully to keep raccoons, coyotes, deer and such out of the garden. We love the solar power since our garden isn't close to electric. We have another brand that eats batteries."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Deer Protection

,
August 13, 2012
By Mugsie
from Lake Elmo, MN
"We bought 4 and mounted them around the sides of a 4" piece of 4x4 post. This hangs from a shepherd's hook, which can be moved around the yard for deer protection. They charged right up and are blinking intermittently all night. So far, so good.
Not so sure about moving this around all winter though, when the shrub browsing is generally the worst......"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

No predator blocker is 100%

,
August 13, 2012
By kubotafoot
from Burlington, CT
"I bought multiple items as suggested to surround barn area and set them at different heights for different predators. Have not had any bears in the area (and we had in the past) but still get an occasional shorter predator (not sure if weasel, raccoon or fox) in the area, but not as we'd had before. I tend to think moving the guards around every few days might also be a help in confusing the predators. Some reviews I have read say these are a hoax. I disagree. Not sure they are 100& effective, but they have certainly cut down on what comes into the yard since they were installed and for me that is a big win. Very little light causes the solar to recharge and that is great since we are in a wooded area and do not have direct sunlight on them when leaf canopy is out. Our chickens are safer thanks to using it. Try them., yourself. If they don't do what you'd like, they have a great return policy, but I bet you, as I did, will keep them as I really believe they DO help."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No More Coyotes

,
August 13, 2012
By sony
from Morrison, TN
"We live in the country and have livestock and a coyote problem. We have hunting dogs but the coyotes are not scared of them either. I had no idea how to deter them and while looking on the internet came across the Nite Guard Solar Light and thought why not try it. I installed them on the corners of my property according to directions and have no more problems with the coyotes coming up so close. They think it is something bigger than them!! They work great, no changing batteries because they are solar, and even work on mostly cloudy days. I have no complaints with this product, Love it!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar powered predator light

,
January 17, 2012
By Sgtsam05
from Texas
"The solar powered predator light, I purchased was just what the doctor ordered, I set it up about 24" inches above the ground facing away from my chickens, and quail, and have not had any more problems with predators, I was thrilled to know that they were available through northern tool and equipment, they are my go to company for all my tool and equipment needs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fewer cats in wife's flower bed

,
January 9, 2012
By guardian
from Portland OR
"The solar power was what caught my attention first. No batteries to change! Placed at eye level of the critters, we do have fewer cats using the flower bed and no sign of returning raccons. A side benefit is that my neighbors think I have some kind of "people intruder detection" system. Maybe the prowlers do as well?!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Mod

,
October 10, 2011
By tgunn43
from MO
"Kept some of the Deer out of the vineyard, probably need more!
But they sure look cool hanging on each side of our house. Not one plane has hit us!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

predator light

,
March 14, 2011
By rhea
from MD
"this was recommended to me by a friend who was losing sheep to coyote. Once she installed several, she non longer lost sheep.
I have bought several and recommend them to all my friends.
It is important to have several at different levels (eye level). We lost a chicken to a raccoon I thing because we had only one light set for a fox height. No problems since we installed one more at a lower level.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
October 4, 2010
By CyndiM
from Brandywine, MD
"I was having alot of trouble with very destructive and determined racoons in my horse barn. Nothing was working to keep them and possums out of my feed room. I purchased 2 Predators and within a week not a sign of any creature. I am planning to purchase a few more for other areas around my barn. My cats are not bothered at all by the devices."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Coyote control

,
August 30, 2010
By carlbrrt
from Rolla, MO
"Purchased 2, would not charge, Returned for 2 more. Second set worked perfectly. Work all night even in winter. Coyotes use to come up to yard, even chase deer across yard. Now they stay 300-400 yards away at night. We plan on placing 3 on chicken house that is 150-200 feet from home. Raccoons need more discouragement. Will update results after next three installed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Predator night light controller

,
December 14, 2009
By Camdog
from Wyoming
"Read all reviews before I purchased this item. Sounded good. Have serious deer problems destroying young trees. Placed product as suggested (height and location) with no success. In the snow you can see the deer tracks right next to the red blinking lights where they have been browsing and rubbing the tree branches all evening. Back to fencing the trees..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nite Guard

,
October 19, 2009
By RGIndiana
from Valparaiso Indiana
"This product failed to meet my standards, I lost 3 more chickens placing the nite guard at different locations at the door before I went back to locking them up at nite.
I left the nite guard out by the chicken house for a couple of weeks before I removed it and you could see where a predator was tring to get into the house with the nite guard in place.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light,

,
October 19, 2009
By thor24
from Hot Springs Arkansas
"I bought two of these light to keep Racoons and oOppossums away from my outside cat house on the deck where my three cats live. The smell of food was just too much for the Racoons. I gotta tell ya, at first I thought they were junk, because the first night a young racoon walked right by them and up to the food. But that was way this spring, and to date that has been the only wild animal that has gone in there. It does not bother the cats at all either. I went from from very displeased to very pleaseed now. I would install more if needed. The lights are all automatic. They come on every night and last all night. I haven't had to do anything to them now in at least five months."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stupid Raccoons

,
July 20, 2009
By evaD
from Kersey, Pa
"I got this to stop raccoons from gettting my birdfeeder. It works most of the time. The company does say that you would need 4 or more for it to work. I only have 2. For the most part, the coons stay away, but occasionally they come from the sides that don't have the lights. I think that's what's happening."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent for deer

,
July 20, 2009
By soybeanfarmer
from Lake Cormorant, MS
"This has been the most successful way I've had so far to deter deer from my soybeans. The lights must be moved around every 3 to 4 days but not in any particular pattern. I have gone to the fields at night to check on activity and the deer are still there but they keep to the edge of the woods thinking they aren't being seen. I highly recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light

,
July 13, 2009
By RLH2
from Kerrville, TX
"A friend recommended these lights to me because we have deer in our area. The deer prohibited me from enjoying potted plants in my rather large back yard. I ordered two of these lights and I am extremely pleased with them. They charge quickly and the blinking red lights are very bright. I placed the lights at different angles at eye-level to the deer. I have not had another plant eaten, except for the day that I forgot to put out the blinking lights! They really work and I will recommend them to others."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nite Guard Solar-Powered Night Predator Light, Model# NG-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nite Guard Solar Power Predator lite is great!

,
July 13, 2009
By blondefilly
from Winona, Texas
"We have 6 of these solar powered lights around our hen house and property pointed in all directions and we have not had one chicken disappear since we put them up! Plus it adds a dimension of atmosphere when you drive up at night and see these red flashing lights."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.