Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582

Item# 168198
Designed for industrial, commercial or residential use, this powerful, long-lasting Generac OHVI® engine packs enough power for hours of use. Air-cooled engine features electric start and life-rated for 3000+ hours. 2-year residential warranty; 1-year commercial warranty; 90-day rental warranty. EPA and CARB certified. U.S.A. Engine: Generac OHVI, HP: 30, Engine Displacement (cc): 992, Rated Watts: 15,000, Surge Watts: 22,500, Run Time: 10 Hr at 1/2 load, Receptacles (qty.): 9, Fuel Type: Gasoline, Fuel Capacity (gal.): 16, Start Type: Electric, Low Oil Shutdown: Yes, Battery Required: Yes, Battery Included: Yes, Dimensions L x W x H (in.): 38 1/2 x 30 3/4 x 35 1/2 Two 120 Volt 20 Amp outlets with GFCI Two 120 Volt 20 Amp outlets Two 120 Volt 30 Amp locking plug outlets One 120/240 Volt 30 Amp locking plug outlet One 240 Volt 50 Amp outlet One 12 Volt DC 10 Amp outlet Uses NEMA 5-20R, NEMA L5-30R, and NEMA L14-30R locking plug receptacles 125 Amps at 120 Volts or 62.5 Amps at 240 Volts Cast iron sleeve 100% Copper windings Conveniently located control panel Push button circuit breakers Full Pressure Lubrication Single Point Lifting Spin-on Oil Filter Automotive 3-stage Air Filtration Lifetime Carbon Excitation Brushes Automatic Voltage Regulation (AVR) Solid State Volt. Regulator GFI Protection Antivibration System Battery Charge Cables Full 1 1/4in. Tubular Frame Pneumatic Wheel Kit Electronic Governor Plugs sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Review 1 for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent equipment

,
October 30, 2007
By candoit
from South East Texas
" I bought my 30 hp Gaurdian Generator after being without power during hurricane Rita. I have lost power once since my purchase, for about six hours. The unit took about 5 minutes to roll out of storage and start up. It started my four ton AC unit and ran my refrigerator, freezer, TVs and enough lights, etc., to make us comfortable. It starts right up every time I do my monthly maintenance check. I would also recommend buying the following Northern Tools recommended accessories, digital tachometer, battery maintainer and dust cover. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than I had hoped for!

,
November 19, 2008
By Thommy
from North Dartmouth,MA
" I bought this generator thinking I was going to be able to power a few things in my house during a power outage but this generaror has really come thru for me. I got power to every essential appliance and much more. If your planning to buy a generator this is definitely the one to buy! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

15k/22.5k 30 hp genset

,
October 28, 2008
By generatornut
from Novi, MI
" I have used the 15k generator and loved it. The idle down option is a real gas saver. I exercise the unit a few times/year and keep it charged with a battery minder. I keep it covered and 1/2 tank of fuel with sta-bil and premium gas. Even with its size - being on wheels makes it semi-portable
Items I have added: hour meter, separate 30 amp plug for my 4.5 Ton AC unit, cover, 220 v plug for direct plug into house outlet.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sanity at last

,
September 30, 2008
By Powerjunkie
from Huffman Texas
" Purchased summer of 08 just before Ike visited Houston. Used other smaller units and unable to start a 4 ton a/c. This baby does along with lights, freezer, fans, tv, laptops, even able to run pool!!! (This was our battub for 12 days). I have used the loading eye many times to load in truck, this is very heavy.
I have a few items I can wish for, an hour meter and a propane conversion kit.
Found a conversion kit to propane and doing research now, seems like about $375.00 will do it. I will post my review of this kit when installed and tested.
Folks, This is the real deal! If Generac added an hour meter and a conversion kit to the options for this unit it would be a homerun. How else can you run an entire house and be able to load up and take with you if needed?
Thanks Generac and please look into the hour meter and propane kit. I would have paid for these in a heartbeat if available. Gasoline is hard to get after a bad storm when power is out.
Karl
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac Guardian Generator Model# 04582

,
August 18, 2008
By Research
from Albany, NY
" Great Generator!! Have used numerous times to run my entire 4 bedroom house. Never skips a beat. Always starts immediately. Noise level is very acceptable. Can't hear it running inside the house. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great during hurricand

,
June 7, 2008
By steelman
from palm bay, florida
" Bought this unit in 2004 between hurricanes and it ran the whole hoouse a 3-1/2 ton ac never missed a beat great unit and just cranked it up again for 2008 hurricane season still runs grreat.. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great piece of equipment

,
May 20, 2008
By homecheapo
from Westchester County, NY
" I purchased this generator 2 years ago, and it has been put to the test numeous times (including an 8 hour outage) and has yet to fail me. If you do the proper maintenance each year on this generator, such as changing the oil, checking the filter, start it up once a month, etc. then you are pretty much ready for anything. My generator is on a trickle charge, to prevent the battery from running down. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just one complaint

,
April 21, 2008
By Cowman2
from Brownsville, Oregon
" This unit needs a single "total power" outlet to make it more useful as an occasional farm backup power source. To have more than 50 amps available, two pigtails must be supplied to the transfer switch: a parallel connection for both the 30 amp and 50 amp output.
As a portable power source for my welder and air compressor and power tools, it works very well, and the fuel saver feature reduces the engine to an idle when the tools are not being used. It runs for almost eight hours on a tank of fuel when operating in this manner.
Plenty of power, and no problems in more than a year. This is a solid unit, and I feel it was well worth the price.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Guardian Portable

,
April 21, 2008
By JoePro
from Greenwich, CT
" I use this to energize my entire 1500sq ft cabin during power outages. Runs well pump, appliances, gas forced air furnace and all lighting. Easy to start and large gas tank make it ideal. Easy hook up and simple to move with the included wheel kit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Generac Guardian

,
April 21, 2008
By Biker
from Florida
" The Generac performs as advertised. It does a good job of provideing backup power for the house when the lines are down. When unpacking the unit, there were several issues. The unit is very heavy, so I recommend you have some muscle monkeys available to move it around. Amoung the issues, the tires were flat in the crate, so I had to make a run to the gas station to put air in them before I installed them. The starting battery was bad and required replacement. The battery is not warrantied. It a standard "350 CCA" lawnmower battery. Beware of buying a smaller "cca" battery. They look the same. Note the generator cannot be started without an operational battery. Generac's output panel is second to none, but I have had problems with extension cords viberating out of the plugs. I solved this by using bungee cords to add a little support to the cables. Maintenance issues include a lack of hour meter, as oil and filter changes are based on hours run. Also, there is no fuel drain valve. I added one, as well as an additional in line gas filter. Keep a log of everything including the last time you changed out standby fuel.
I run the Guardian at near capacity much of the time. This results in a gasoline burn of approxiamtely 2.2 to 2.7 gallons per hour. You will need about 50 gallons per day to operate the Guardian 24 hours. It is wise to keep the 16 gallon tank full to minimize condensation. Be sure to use fuel stableizer and drain old fuel after 6 months. You may burn this in your auto. DO NOT ALLOW OLD FUEL TO "ROT" IN THE TANK. USE FUEL STABLEIZER. I said this twice on purpose.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
January 24, 2008
By swn30
from Oklahoma
" This generator is great. It runs my totally electric house with ease (hot water tank, 3 ton a/c & heater, refrigerator, freezer, etc). "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Notch

,
January 21, 2008
By Kaizenal
from Connecticut
" After years of using a 3000 watt unit for emergency power to my house and shop, I grew tired of "cycling" my water pump, then my refrigerators, then my furnace, my two freezers, (forget about hot water), and using a propane camp stove on top of the electric range to get by in a power failure, I decided to stop the insanity. I purchased a Guardian 15K / 22.5K watt generator so I could start it, switch over, then actually either relax or focus on the weather conditions and any damage that may have caused the power outage.
This baby really delivers! It's worth every dollar for the peace of mind and security it brings! It runs just about everything without worrying about drain. The only drawback is it only runs on gasoline- a commodity that you have to consider keeping around (PREPARATION) for a prolonged power outage event. It uses considerably more fuel than my 3000 watt unit, so I keep a 55 gal. drum at hand.
@ 16 gals. a tank full, it doesn't take very long to use that up. It would have been nice if it had a propane option or after market multi fuel kit, but as it stands, it gets the job done when you need it most. This is the right tool for the times you need it most.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator

,
January 15, 2008
By Anonymous
from Alabama
" This generator works great and it was a really good price. It has wheels and even though it is very heavy it is not hard to manuver around. I highly recommend it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Full House Generator Power

,
November 3, 2007
By JByrd
from Daytona Beach, FL
" During the 4 hurricanes of 2004 in Florida, we were without power for weeks at a time. I purchased the Guardian 30hp generator for my family and my sanity! This lifesaver of a unit powered the entire house. Our home is a 2 story 1400sq/ft home. The generator had no problem powering the central A/C, water heater, all lights, t.v./entertainment, refrigerator, and anything else we needed power for.
I've used it off and on since 2004 and it is still running strong with no difficulties or problems to speak of. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great generator

,
November 2, 2007
By cuppys
from CA
" mother in law uses to power a portable coffee kosik does not have any problem running 220 cappo machine and 110 blenders and 220 rv a\c unit two refregators only issue is very loud. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super

,
October 30, 2007
By shadefx
from Joplin, MO
" After the ice storms in the midwest in 2007 and living in a total electric house a generator was very much needed. Working with a limited budget and no propane or natural gas for one of the bigger ones this fit perfect into my plans. This little baby will run my entire home with the exception of the heat pump, but it fires a whole lot of small electric heaters to keep my home very comfortable, my food cold in the fridge and lets me watch TV until power is restored. I can run my heat pump as long as the rest is shut down. Has worked great for the AC when those bothersome squirrals run the lines and get caught on a transformer. Pefect solution for total electric with no chance of a gas back up. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Choice

,
October 29, 2007
By Clousecom
from Ohio
" I purchased this generator to provide backup emergency power to my whole house. I have a 2157 square foot all electric home, and have used this generator to power the complete house. I have a geothermal heat pump, and as long as it does not get cold enough that the total load of electric resistance backup heat kicks in, then this unit is more than adequate. In other words, under normal loading conditions, this generator will provide backup power for my complete house, and we have used computer and had internet cable access while using this generator. We are in the country where we have our own well, not city water, and the generator handles the load nicely. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Generac Guardian Generator — 30 HP, 22,500 Watt, Gasoline, Model# 04582
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac Gaurdian Generator

,
October 29, 2007
By Roofer
from Minneapolis, MN
" Nice generator. We use many large wattage units on a daily basis for around 10 solid hours a day. Not many last too long in our field of work, however the Generac has proven a cost effective, sturdy unit we have had for over two years now with little to no issues. Most generators we buy, regardless of type, rarely last that long. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.