Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B

Item# 168280
The Advantek 2-pk. of galvanized live animal traps features two sizes of live animal traps in a single pack. Catch & release traps are a humane and efficient means of relocating unwanted and troublesome animals. Reliable and safe for use around the home, on the farm, or at the ranch. Dimensions L x W x H in. 1 24 x 7 x 7, 1 32 x 12 x 10, Material Type Galvanized steel, Single, Pair, or Set Pair, Product Style Live trap, Power Source Manual, Indoor/Outdoor Use Indoor/outdoor, Removal Of Multi-animal. Two sizes of live animal traps Traps come fully assembled Catch and release traps are humane and efficient Made of corrosion-resistant galvanized steel
Average Customer Rating:
3.967 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (30 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
24 of 30(80%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Review 1 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spectacular

,
November 14, 2013
By Jeffey
from Greensburg PA
"Works great. I don't know how anyone would be disappointed by these traps. I ordered these to replace an older trap that I bought from 'the world's foremost outfitter.' It is slightly heavier-duty, but became all rusty and the trap mechanism was far from smooth. Now... I think that these traps 'may' rust also, if left outside for a long time. But they work great, and for the price, cannot be beaten!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly made and the metal bends

,
October 2, 2013
By swcat
from Tampa, FL
"I bought these after getting tired of borrowing a neighbors trap to rid myself of Armadillos. My neighbors Trap worked great but these did not hold the pest. After "trapping" the animal, the medium size Armadillo was able to escape by bending the cage with it's force. Armadillos aren't very strong. The trap was a complete mess afterwards.
I went to the store to return the item, which they did after telling me there was nothing wrong with the trap. I had to speak up at this point to get a refund. On the box is says "Animal Trap" not 'A bunch of bendable metal for Rodents to ruin'. The manager held his position and I let it go after getting the cash in hand.
I wish I'd taken a picture."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needs a reinforced handle

,
December 6, 2012
By VTYankee1863
from Mountains of Los Angeles
"Trap(s) delivered on Monday p.m. - set and baited Tuesday evening. Trying to rid the yard of 2 good-sized raccoons. Half an hour after sunset, heard rattling up on the roof, got up there and found a 12 lb. 'coon thrashing around in my trap. Was going to take it to a relocation site 25 mi. away in the morning, so stored it on the driveway behind the truck up against a porch step with a large weight in front so it couldn't escape - well, throughout the night, it managed to loosen the tabs holding the handle plate on and popped one side of the handle clean off. I had to repair the handle with heavy-duty needle noses and an LED headlamp while a very unhappy raccoon kept trying to bite me through the wire. I managed to pull the handle back up, reset the plate, and get the 'coon relocated. Everything else worked flawlessly on this trap, however, the handle and plate need a redesign to something stronger. This was the larger trap in the 2-pack. You should use something like a long zip-tie to both secure the trap gate at the bottom between the cage sides and to pull up the trap gate in order to prop it open with a dowel or rod."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Advantek live animal traps

,
October 8, 2012
By afscme
from montana
"This product works very well and is easy to set up the trap. My seven year old can set both traps and release animals that are caught if he needs to. The only thing that we found to not work well was the wire safty hook latch to hold the cage door when you are placing bait in the trap so we just made a heaver one. Thank You"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
August 20, 2012
By thorze
from Meredith,NH
"I borrowed large Have a Hart trap from a buddy before buying my own set and although the quality overall is better, you also get what you pay for and this set is a fantastic deal! With a little tweaking they work just as good and have very strong springs to keep critters in."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Useful

,
August 14, 2012
By johndig
from New Jersey
"It works, but is a bit flimsly. I used it and caught my pest."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

One will work, the other will not

,
June 10, 2012
By brian55a
from California
"The large trap is fine - works as designed. The small trap doesn't - poor design. By itself however, the large trap is worth the price of both. So, if you want a large trap fairly priced - buy both as a package, and throw the small one away. If you are after two traps, be prepared to be disappointed on the small one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for the money

,
May 7, 2012
By Vibration
from Louisianna
"This 2 pack live animal trap package is a great value and they work very well. I had a racoon problem getting into everything. These traps caught the 2 bandits in 3 nights. No more problems. You can search but you wont find a better deal anywhere. Shipping was very fast also."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
February 26, 2012
By Kcrunchone
from NY
"I purchased the traps in-spite of a few negative reviews that I read and I am glad that I did. They are good quality and have helped me with possum and racoons and cat problems in the area."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

box traps

,
October 10, 2011
By howdy68
from bar harboe maine
"these traps work very well after renforceing them. the fastening is not enough i added at least two dozen hog rings to each trap. i have not used the larger trap, but the smaller one catches squirrels to beat the band. they seem to be very good traps except for the fastening."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Price, Good Product

,
October 10, 2011
By Spongebobb
from South Jersey
"The price for these two traps is less than what you would pay for one Have-A-Heart trap. They are intended for lighter duty, with smaller wire and lighter doors, but tight springs and robust mechanisms will keep most critters from escaping. I'm using them for catching feral cats for a trap-neuter-release rescue operation and they have held up just fine. It is also quite easy to adjust the trigger to increase or decrease the sensitivity."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

,
October 10, 2011
By SamK
from Chandler, TX
"We have caught quite a few "critters" and hauled them off to safer locations. The possums were reaking havoc and we were able to trap them and relocate them. Some others reviewed the traps and had problems, but we have found them to be very sturdy and NO problems at all. Thanks for a great product!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for pest

,
November 20, 2010
By BadBrainsHR
from Texas
"used a few of these and caught possums that same night finally got rid of them"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised.

,
September 6, 2010
By yardguy
from Russellville, AR
"Decent quality cage with positive trigger setup. If the bait is in the back the animal can't miss the trigger. The linkage required a little repositioning but was easy to do. I've used it to capture feral cats terrorizing the neighborhood so they could be moved to a better location. My only concern is how to handle the cage if I accidently captured a skunk."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Caught a Racoon on First use

,
September 6, 2010
By Oldracer
from Decatur, Texas
"Good quality traps. Caught a coon the first use, baited it with apple slices. Moved the critter inthe cage to a safe release area and let him go."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk.,

,
August 31, 2010
By kcm1024
from Concord, NH
"Great traps to have around. Not only caught skunks but also other critters that were going in the night"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is not worth buying

,
August 30, 2010
By Rednva
"These traps were on sale. I purchased them in hopes of catching rodents. The catches on the doors are made in such a way that if you set the trap so the door doesn't snap shut in a breeze, the prey can get in, step on the trip plate and get away with the bait without tripping the door to close.
I cannot recommend this product.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
DKST
Las Vegas, NV 
 
Please wait while more information about DKST is loaded.
Additional information about DKST could not be loaded.
Could you shield it?
May 10, 2012
"Place a tarp over it to keep the wind off."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
August 30, 2010
By likeit
"Great product! Gets rid of pests with no harm to them. Simply relocate them."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Live Animal Traps

,
August 23, 2010
By piperunner
from West Chester, PA
"Have Caught several groundhogs. For the price this is a good trap. I have not used the smaller one yet but it looks like it will do just fine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Advantek Galvanized Live Animal Traps - 2-Pk., Model# 20050B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality - Doesn't Hold Raccoon

,
July 26, 2010
By Daryl1
from Allentown, PA
"I frequently have raccoons in my yard ... they raid my garbage cans and are just generally a nuisance around the house. Typically, I use a havaheart brand and had mine for a long time. I needed to buy a new one and I saw the price on this trap and thought I would give it a try. When I recieved the trap, it looked similar to the havaheart I had bought in the past so I was pleased. But as soon as I started to set it, I noticed that it was all wobbly and felt really cheap. I gave it a shot anyway ... bait it ... set it out ... but I was unsucessful. Day after day I would check the trap and the door was down, bait gone ... so frustrating. Then finally I caught one... I walked outside and literally watch this raccoon sneak out the 2 inch gap between the door and the rest of the trap. I finally figured out how these buggers have been getting out! I checked out the trap close up and the raccoon was actually able to bend the door because there was too much play in the door ... wobbly... like I said earlier. What a waste of money ... waste of my time..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.