Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810

P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810

Item# 168334
High-pitched frequencies deter cats, dogs and other animals from invading your space. Great for keeping raccoons away from the garbage. The signal is inaudible to humans but animals find the signal uncomfortable and leave. Other devices emit a constant sound, but Animal Away saves batteries with its infrared motion activation. Indoor/Outdoor Use Indoor/outdoor, Includes Infra-red motion detection, Single, Pair, or Set Single, Power Source 9V, Product Style Repellent, Removal Of Multi-animal, Material Type Sealed temperature resistant PVC, Dimensions L x W x H in. 5 x 3 x 4. Saves batteries by utilizing a motion detector that activates the powerful 23,000 Hz signal only when an animal approaches within range Mounts on wall, fence or even wooden stake
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
7
10 of 19(53%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Review 1 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

hahaha

,
March 16, 2011
By NoBull
from Seattle, WA
"I used this product to keep the cats out of the shed and the trash. It worked about as well as me yelling at the them. It worked, till they got use to it. They dont even care that its there any more. It goes threw alot of 9V batterys. Like one a week. Total junk if you ask me. But its your money, so watse it how ever you want."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

,
February 14, 2011
By JohnPr
from Omaha, NE
"This thing does not repell dogs at all. My dog will do their business right in front of this. Don't buy!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Well on Cats

,
November 16, 2010
By friart
from Southwestern Virginia
"We have four indoor/outdoor cats. I cut a 12" piece of 4x4, attached the animal repeller and placed the unit on top of our attached carport. It's directly under our bedroom window. No more scratching at our bedroom screens when they want to come inside. I stuck the tab of one into the box and set it on the dining room table. They don't get on the table any more and it doesn't seem to affect the cats on the floor. Three of the four don't even attempt to get on the table. Alas, the fourth one keeps trying so if we move the repeller for half a day he is back on the counter."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Animal Repeller

,
August 23, 2010
By ifxit123
from Dse Plaines ,IL
"GREAT for getting rid of stray cat's. I had issues w stray cats using dog run as personnal toilet area. since I installed this the issue is gone !!! My dog's do not go out to cat fecus and I do not smell cat urine every time it rains out. It is by FAR the best unit I have found so far."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

animal away model#P7810

,
June 16, 2010
By tim1527
from Shinnston,West Virginia
"I bought three of them to keep cat out of the yard. And neither 1 of them worked. The product did not work anyway I tried to put them. I even took one of them up to a cat while it was in its food bowl and it didn't even move or react to the animal away. My neighbor said he wished he had a camera when he looked over and seen a cat sitting 2 feet in front of one of the animal away."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

animal repeller

,
February 22, 2010
By meow
from MS
"The animal repeller seems to work well against cats. I placed one under the carport to keep them from crawling on my cars, and have not noticed their presence lately. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to see their direct reaction to the device. It doesn't seem to affect dogs at all. My biggest drawback is that it needs a power cord, but the battery seems to last OK."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Works Great!

,
February 15, 2010
By bwborg
from Dallas, TX
"A neighbor has befriended all kinds of stray cats, and they used my yard as a littler box and to hang out and fight. They'd also go by the windows and upset my indoor cat. Didn't have the heart to call the pound and was desperate to do something so I tried this repeller. I put three in my backyard so it is all covered, and one across the front of my house, each about a foot off the ground. I was able to witness each cat's reaction as it ventured into the "zone." Much to my delight they couldn't get away fast enough and haven't returned. And it doesn't affect my indoor cat at all. I still need to get a couple more and I should be pest-free. I strongly recommend this Animal Away Animal Repeller!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

disappointed

,
December 1, 2009
By BigBuck71
from Indiana
"seemed to work fine for the cats but did nothing for dogs. i kinda knew it wouldnt work on the dogs because when i first turned it on i aimed it at my dog and he just sat there and looked at me like "what?" oh well at least no cat doo - doo in my landscaping"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

attic repeller

,
May 4, 2009
By yogibear
from VA
"I had trouble with racoons and squirrels in my attic. They were starting to come downstairs despite my dogs. I place 2 of these directed at the areas where I thought they were getting in; and 1 year
later I have yet to see or hear any animals in my attic. I just bought 2 more to keep the deer from eating my azaleas. The trick is in the placement.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Animal Repeller, Model P7810

,
August 11, 2008
By hairball
from Yuma, AZ
"I purchased the Animal Repeller to discourage cats from marking my home. The device did nothing to keep the cats away that I cuold detect. I could see the pilot light turn on so it was working presumably. It probably did not have enough output power to deter cats. Not worth the money, I'm afraid."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cats,Dogs begone

,
August 11, 2008
By guardian
from Portland OR
"Until I installed the Animal Repeller, my many neighborhood cats used the garden as a public privy. NO MORE. It took several attempts to place the repeller where it does the most good. Not perfect, but it workds quite well. Now, if it had a solar charger for the battery, then I wouldn't forget to change batteries!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a charm!

,
April 14, 2008
By HappyGardener
from Northwest Washington State
"The Animal Away Repeller advertises that it drives cats, dogs and raccoons away. The neighbor's cats have been using our camellia garden as a litter box. We were unable to tend the garden for the awful smell and nasty lumps of feces. We tried several home remedy repelling techniques including mothballs in a plastic container and bleach in an open jar all to no avail. Various flavors of commercial repellent didn't work either. We were resigned to giving up the camellia garden since the neighbors feel like their cats were simply following the natural order of things and refused to keep them indoors, which is required by the neighborhood covenants. It always amazes me that the neighborhood cats never bother their home ground.
We ordered and installed two of these ultrasonic devices and the cats immediately abandoned the camellia bed in favor of the flower bed under our home office window which gets the full afternoon sun. The stench became unbearable! So we ordered two more devices, one of which was defective. The working repeller was strategically placed to intercept the cats approach. Viola! No more cats making our gardens unusable.
Interestingly, the units do not bother the mallard ducks at the base of our bird feeders nor do the feeding birds seem bothered. I don't know if the ducks are sensed by the unit's motion detector or not, but we are pleased the the birds and ducks are not repelled.
We are pretty sure that the resident raccoons in our underbrush have developed a new route to avoid the Animal Away Repeller as we no longer see tracks in the soft dirt where they used to pass by the camellia beds.
OF SPECIAL NOTE: I contacted Northern Tools about the defective device so that I might exchange it. I was told to simply toss the defective unit and they would send me a new unit, no charge. 10 days later, a new, fully functional device arrived in the mail. I was very pleased with Northern Tool as well as the animal repellers.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not meet expectations.

,
October 15, 2007
By Anonymous
from Missouri
"Did not affect (effect) racoons, squirrels nor dogs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Animal Away

,
August 5, 2007
By southeast
from Sitka, Alaska
"I used this product to keep the neighborhood cats from digging in my garden after trying other methods which failed. So far they have stayed out of what used to be their favorite spot all spring and summer. I am now going to try it on the blacktail deer that love to eat the rasberry bushes. If you have a cat problem I'd say this product works GREAT."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Can't Get It To Work

,
July 10, 2007
By desertman
from Southern California desert
"I bought one to put by my front gate thinking it might deter the rabbits. I moved it up. I moved it down. I changed the batteries. I can't get it to work. The rabbits just ignore it and come on it to feast. I bought a second one. Still no luck. I wish they had a test mode or light so you could be sure it is working. Oh well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Animal Repeller

,
July 9, 2007
By JackM
from Central PA
"It may be a tad early, as the second stand of corn is awaiting visits by assorted bandits.
However, the first stand was picked clean by varmints while my Animal Away Repeller stood ... guard?? Whether or not it will actually repel animals remains to be seen. Unfortunately the first battery only lasted four days -- until the day of eminent ripeness, which the varmints anxiously await.
A good dog may have been cheaper in the long run.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellant

,
July 9, 2007
By igiveup
from LA, Ca.
"I bought this for my Jeep, the place where I work there are a lot of stray cats. I like to drive my Jeep with the top and sides removed during the warmer months. the repeller does an excellant job of keeping them out of my vehicle. in fact they don't come within 10' of my car. I have had the opportunity to observe them from afar. and as soon as either one of them or someone happens to walk near my vehicle, the sensor goes off and away they scatter"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Animal Away Animal Repeller and the Racoon

,
July 9, 2007
By icemann
from Texarkana, AR
"A Racoon kept coming on our fenced back porch eating our cat's food. The vertical bars are 2" a part and the Racoon kept gettting in. I purchased three of these hoping they would deter him. Pointed one to the left, one straight on, and one to the right. Still the Racoon came and ate the cat's food. Finally used a live trap and after catching another cat the first night I caught the Racoon and called the animal control who took it far away and turned it loose. I can't really say they worked. But the shipping and servcei for Northern Tools has always been great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for P3 International Animal Away Animal Repeller, Model# P7810
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scare away coons and dogs.

,
May 20, 2007
By honery2cuss
from Jacksonville, IL
"When i first got this item I had it installed up too high. We neded up placing them about 2 foot above ground level. The next door neighbors dog has finally stopped pooping in our yard and the raccoons haven't gotten into our trash."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.