Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Bird-X Bird Spikes - 10ft.L Strip, Model# SP-10-NR"

"Bird-X Bird Spikes - 10ft.L Strip, Model# SP-10-NR"

Item# 168357
"Birds naturally fly to landing strips where they congregate roof ledges, windowsills, signs, statues or building projections. Now you can effectively block birds from landing with Bird X Bird Spikes, a long-lasting, transparent plastic needle strip that easily attaches where you need it. U.S.A. Color Clear, Mounting Type Attach w/adhesive to roof ledges, windowsills, signs, statues, building projections, Common Usage Bird repellent, Material Type Plastic. Can be installed with nails, screws or staples"
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Bird-X Bird Spikes - 10ft.L Strip, Model# SP-10-NR"
Review 1 for "Bird-X Bird Spikes - 10ft.L Strip, Model# SP-10-NR"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stop birds from nesting

,
August 3, 2014
By EggArtist
from Wisconsin
"Last year I bought several sets of these Bird-X Spikes and applied them with zip ties, rather than the included glue, to the rear two 2 x 2 wood strips that help to form the pergola attached to my garage. I wanted to stop robins from nesting on the pergola under the eaves because they make a mess of the paint job and because the poor robins feel obligated to fly off the nest every time I pass by, which is fairly often in the spring. The spikes worked for that area but the robins just nested further along the pergola, so I have purchased more spikes to apply this fall. The plastic strips of spikes are fairly sturdy for this use, and disappear when the grape vines leaf out. A neat humane solution, I think."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Bird-X Bird Spikes - 10ft.L Strip, Model# SP-10-NR"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value

,
April 23, 2013
By KKP58
from Kansas
"Works great will buy again if needed!
Good value! Fast shipping!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Bird-X Bird Spikes - 10ft.L Strip, Model# SP-10-NR"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets the job done

,
November 16, 2010
By Rod330
from Atlanta, GA
"We've had major problems with birds building nests on our large wrap-around porch. Sometimes we'd find four or five nests a year and the bird droppings made it nearly impossible to enjoy relaxing on the porch. I placed three fake owls on the porch but only worked for a short time period. These little plastic barbs make it impossible for birds to land and nest. Since they are clear in color, they are nearly impossible to see-- great idea and wish we had them years ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Bird-X Bird Spikes - 10ft.L Strip, Model# SP-10-NR"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Effective and Affordable

,
August 11, 2008
By NOLADave
from New Orleans, LA
"I needed to keep pigeons off of the tops of brick and wood columns on my front porch. The plastic bird spike strips were easy to handle and included plenty of glue which has held up fine so far (about 4 months). The ledges I had to protect are fairly narrow (about 2 and a half inches) so a single strip has been effective. I'm very please with the inconspicuous appearence, easy installation and total effectiveness of this product."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Bird-X Bird Spikes - 10ft.L Strip, Model# SP-10-NR"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bird-X Bird Spikes

,
April 14, 2008
By WhiteDogs
from San Jose, CA
"I bought several boxes of the Bird-X bird spikes because I happened upon a box of them locally and they worked great. The spikes are translucent plastic and very sharp (be careful). We needed to discourage birds from landing and nesting on the 1.5" framing around some of our doors and windows. These spikes fit perfectly on such a narrow spot. I attached them with the included epoxy. Once in place the spikes are not very noticeable, although they are not invisible.
I recommend them to anyone looking to keep birds from landing or nesting on horizontal places."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Bird-X Bird Spikes - 10ft.L Strip, Model# SP-10-NR"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
July 9, 2007
By Tim1
from Reading, PA
"Bought the product to put above a wooden swingset as birds were messing on the swings below everyday. Installed the product above the swings (single wide) with screws (not supplied) instead of the provided glue. To install with screws you are suppose to use the spikes double wide, therefore I drilled holes in the plastic. Also, I needed to becareful with the screws as if I pushed too hard I think the plastic would have cracked. Product works great, have not had any bird mess on the swings since."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Bird-X Bird Spikes - 10ft.L Strip, Model# SP-10-NR"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

bird x spikes

,
July 9, 2007
By brick
from texas
"easy to install. effective. "junk" catcher such as leaves, webs....but it is the nature of the product. Hopefully will last."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Bird-X Bird Spikes - 10ft.L Strip, Model# SP-10-NR"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

100% effective on balcony railings

,
March 26, 2007
By eric2629
from Newark, New Jersey
"The Bird X spikes were 100% effective in keeping pigeons off a balcony in a luxury high-rise apartment building in the City of Newark, New Jersey. I’m sure the glue provided in the kit works, but I didn’t use it. Instead, I bought a pack of cable ties from a known national retail store. I used 2 ties per foot on the spikes, and ran them along the perimeter of the balcony railing.
I also bought some 1” hexagonal mesh chicken wire, 24” high, and ran it along the outside edge of the balcony railing. And I also used cable ties for the chicken wire. This stops pigeons from landing on the balcony edge and walking in. For the picture windows facing the balcony, I leave the blinds up, and this also deters them. They don’t like to roost on a window sill in front of a clear window, meaning one without any mini-blinds.
I previously tried an ultrasonic device that was a total failure.
Theoretically pigeons could still land, by air, right onto the balcony itself, BUT THEY DON’T. They must feel insecure, because the area is now semi-enclosed. In their own not-so-stupid bird brains, they realize that if they wanted to take off in a hurry, they would need to gain a couple of feet in height to clear the railing. This would take much more time than flying straight, and they know that a predator (or resident) could catch them.
Thanks to the Bird-X Bird spikes, now I can paint my balcony, install pots with landscaping, etc. I can actually enjoy my balcony and my unrestricted sunset views."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.