Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Earthway Kentucky High Wheel Walk-Behind Cultivator, Model# 6500

Earthway Kentucky High Wheel Walk-Behind Cultivator, Model# 6500

Item# 16836
The Earthway Kentucky High Wheel Walk-Behind Cultivator is a work-saving tool has greater operating stability than its imitators. Handles a number of garden jobs, from light plowing hilling to furrowing and cultivating. Three tools included Twin End Furrow Plow to channels seed rows Mold Board Plow works as plow and tiller and the 5 Tine Cultivator handles weeding and soil loosening. Tines qty. 5, Application Cultivator, Tire Size in. 24. Handles and framing are constructed of long-lasting heavy-duty powder-coated tubular steel 24in. steel wheel gets the cultivator through soil with ease 3-position adjustable height handle and tool bar depth 5-tine cultivator for weeding and soil loosening
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Earthway Kentucky High Wheel Walk-Behind Cultivator, Model# 6500
Review 1 for Earthway Kentucky High Wheel Walk-Behind Cultivator, Model# 6500
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cultivator works OK but not easy

,
February 4, 2014
By Frannie
from Hartford, CT
"The cultivator works best of soft soil. Have to work hard at it on other. I haven't tried the other attachments yet. I think if I had to do it again, I would have put the money towards a power tiller."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Earthway Kentucky High Wheel Walk-Behind Cultivator, Model# 6500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool!

,
April 23, 2013
By Womaninthewoods
from Florida
"This cultivator is great for a small home garden! Ours is about 40' x 40'. We had someone come in with a tractor initially and till up the soil. This cultivator will pull up the rows with one attachment. We have planted now and use the other "tined" attachment to loosen the soil to get the grass out between the rows. It was easy to put together. We love it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Earthway Kentucky High Wheel Walk-Behind Cultivator, Model# 6500
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Walkbehind cultivator/weeder

,
August 13, 2012
By Briteeyes
from va
"The Walk-behind cultivator/weeder worked prefect for the job of weeding in early spring. As the soil became dryer, it was harder to use, but if the soil was moist it worked great. It's a must-have for gardeners."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Earthway Kentucky High Wheel Walk-Behind Cultivator, Model# 6500
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

oldfashion plow

,
May 14, 2012
By farmercherry
from SmithPoint texas
"Great product; however, many years ago I used my grandfathers plow and it appered to be more comfortable to walk behind. I found the angle was uncomfortable to my back. I found the product made beautiful rows in my garden, made covering seed easy and helped with weeding. I inverterd the handles and found it more comfortable to use. I would recommend this plow to be used in an existing garden site instead of breaking new ground."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Earthway Kentucky High Wheel Walk-Behind Cultivator, Model# 6500
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy to have around

,
September 1, 2010
By NRStrong
from Tolland County, CT
"I have used this product this summer to help cultivate the garden. It is light weight and easily stored. It works best on light fluffy soil. On hard, weedy soil you have to work at it. It does get close to the plants. I haven't tried the other attachments yet. It does not replace our big cultivator, but handy to have around."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Earthway Kentucky High Wheel Walk-Behind Cultivator, Model# 6500
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Incorr4ect parts in box

,
October 19, 2009
By rlc02061
from Buford Ga.
"When i got the product and opened the box there were two left side frame parts instead of one right and one left. Instead of returning it and waiting on another to be shipped, I modified one of them to use as aright side frame. Wonce assembled it worked great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Earthway Kentucky High Wheel Walk-Behind Cultivator, Model# 6500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

100% all natural

,
August 11, 2008
By Hayne
from Edgewater Florida
"The wheel I layed out 16 75ft rowes in less than 15 minuets, no gas ropes to pull,no fumes and enviromental impact 100% natural NO POLLOTION. I have bought 3 high wheels in the past 40 years allhad wood handles and steel parts they are long gone . This one is all alunimum and will be passed on to my children. I say if you garden get one and see how easy it is to use. Roto till your garden then get out the wheel which will be the only tool you will need untill you are ready to harvest your crops. Weed with the tine ,open seed trench with plow attachements , cover the seeds with the big plow blade then run the wheel over the seed row to firm soil water and get a glass of tea and sit back and watch your graden grow.. good luck ! Farmer Joe in Florida."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Earthway Kentucky High Wheel Walk-Behind Cultivator, Model# 6500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kentucky High Wheel Walk-Behind cultivator

,
August 11, 2008
By eikens
from Southwestern Ohio
"With the need to conserve and/or not use gasoline I was looking for some alternative to using my garden tiller so much. I remembered that my dad had a high wheel cultivator over 50 years ago, so I went looking ono the net to find one. Northern Tool had exactly what I wanted at the lowest price and, as I began to use it, exactly what I needed. The Earthway cultivator was easily assembled by someone with basic tool knowledge and who has previous experience putting together Christmas toys. It works beautifully, provided low impact weeding and cultivation and has cut my tiller usaged by over 70%. The all tubular design is lighter than the older wood handled model and provides not only effective cultivation and weed control, but a pretty good upper body workout. My garden space is pretty large and the walk behind cultivator works close in to the plants without disturbing growth. Great product at a great price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.