Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage

Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage

Item# 168360
Eliminate moles quickly and easily without batteries or electricity. Wind powered blades creates a constant vibration to effectively and humanely rid your yard of moles. Made of rust proof, zinc-plated steel. Requires 8 feet. of 1/2in. galvanized water pipe not included. Stands 8ft. when connected to water pipe. Removal Of Moles, Indoor/Outdoor Use Outdoor, Includes Rustproof finish, Material Type Zinc-plated steel, Power Source Wind, Coverage 4,000 sq. ft. Wind-driven blades create constant vibration that drives moles away Strong 20-ga. steel 18in. Diameter blade 18in. Length/Depth
Average Customer Rating:
3.964 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (56 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
12
43 of 56(77%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Review 1 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

does not work

,
August 1, 2014
By sunshine1959
from canton, texas
"I bought 2 of these and while I like the way they look on my property, it does not do the job it purports to accomplish. The moles have been busier and doing much more damage to my st augustine grass since I installed them in the ground."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scare those varmints away

,
July 20, 2014
By whackamole61
from Hernandez New Mexico
"We have use the mole chaser windmill for about three years and when the bearings wore out, obtained new bearings and two more windmills. This gadget has chased away the gophers from our garden and lawn without the use of chemicals. I think they all moved about 1000 feet away to a dry patch near our tenant's trailer. We'll have to get them one too! Reasonably priced, and delivered quickly, and quite effective. I highly recommend this tool made in Tiger, Georgia, USA."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Falls apart

,
March 28, 2014
By Jeffy40us
from Omaha, Ne
"I have had several of these and even ordered replacement parts from the Manufacturer. These things last about 3 weeks in a good wind. They seem to work when they are together, but it's expensive to replace the blades once a month."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Novelty Item

,
October 8, 2012
By rckteer
from Southern California
"I bought two of these and put them up in my back yard. Look good as windmills and decorative items. They did not function as mole chasers as I found fresh mound of dirt right underneath one of the windmills. I recommend not to buy these if you want real results."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Poor Dizzy Little Moles

,
August 14, 2012
By Deckstrom
from Bastrop Texas
"My husband noticed the mole tracks in our front yard and announced "We have moles". I went on line to find a solution that didn't involve in anyone's 'death'. The reviews for this product were amazing and a lot less mess than any other product.
We ordered the windmills (3), they arrived very quick. We put them together as directed and stuck them in our yard.
After the first day we noticed a difference. The little critters were tunneling in circles around the windmills. Two days later and all our dizzy mole had moved on."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

molechaser windmill

,
August 13, 2012
By CharlieMc
from Whitwell, TN
"The product was easy to assemble and install. The pipes were already in the ground because these were replacements for units which had worn out over several years.
They do a good job of repelling moles and other burrowing animals from the banks near my father's garden."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not effective in sandy or less dense soils

,
May 14, 2012
By keviwe
from Florissant C)
"I have read good reviews but when I installed 3 of these about 30 FT apart there was no affect on my mole activity. I believe it has to do with my very sandy & gravely soil which does not transfer vibration very well. I live in a very windy area and these have held up for a year now. We enjoy them to show us wind direction and approximate velocity."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mole-less

,
May 9, 2012
By Whizzer
from Lewisburg, TN
"This product works as advertised. Moles were destroying my lawn, and within 3 days of installing the device, there are no signs of new mole activity."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product Information

,
March 22, 2012
By toollady7
from NC
"Purchased and placed in problem area. Within a couple days all signs of the mole was gone! This really does work. Excellent product!!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

We're Back For More...

,
February 28, 2012
By KandC
from Portland, Oregon
"We've been using the same gopher-chaser windmill at our past two homes. Now that we've moved to a third, larger home and yard, we're back for 2 more. Our gopher population is already fleeing to more comfortable yards--- these things really work! Oh my, what will our new neighbors think?"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality product. Don't waste your time

,
January 9, 2012
By Moleman
from MN
"This device is made without a sealed, lubricated bearing. So guess what happens after a couple of weeks? The "dry bearing" burns up and the blades fall off. I purchased four of the chasers. They all fell apart. The factory sent bearing replacement kits. I tried greasing them before installation. They all failed too due to the same problem. Until a better designed bearing is used, don't buy this product. They won't last long enough to chase anything away -- except your money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy!

,
October 10, 2011
By Lynn15
from Miller, In
"This was the best purchase I made this summer to relieve the mole problem we had. I can truly say that within weeks our problem was solved. We are very happy witth this product & will recommend this for getting the job done. GREAT!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

moles

,
June 15, 2011
By molemanbob
"last year the moles were the worst and i knew they were still here they just went deep so i bought two mole chaser wind mills and installed them WOW the moles started moving within two days!!!! i have already killed 3 and my yard is not that big,these are a great concept BUT VERY POORLEY MADE after 5 days i already need to replace the fan bearing BUT THEY WORK!!!!!!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work!

,
June 6, 2011
By 1957
"In our sandy soil the windmill not only didn't work...the moles made their runs right up to and around the galvinsed pole holding the windmill. However, I must say the windmill itself was well made, sturdy and arrived well packed. We would use this company again."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good idea for me

,
November 16, 2010
By Hedge
from NE Pennsylvania
"I bought two a few months ago. They never worked at all, but I think that it was more a problem a placement than anything else. I live in a hollow and never get a strong wind at ground level. As a result, the windmills never really had a chance! Maybe they are fine for someone who lives in a location with a good strong breeze, but I had to send them back!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a charm

,
July 26, 2010
By FarmerJ
from Shenandoah, VA
"I bought one and figured it was worth a try. I put it together, set it on a pole where I have lots of moles. I tell you, within two days, the moles had left that area. So I bought 2 more and got the same results. I passed this neat item onto my neighbor and now he is getting rid of his moles.
Like I said, it really works."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mole chaser

,
May 25, 2010
By Vantheman
from Chowchilla CA
"The Mole Chaser was easy to assemble and put up on the pipe, It seems to work although I have seen mole digging one time, it did not stay in the area. It is attractive in the area where it is and lets you know what direction the wind is blowing. It is a good conversation piece."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Mole Chaser...did not work.

,
February 17, 2010
By Moby
from Grand Lake, Colorado
"Built well, did not chase away any moles. In fact they just got worse"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Moles are gone

,
February 15, 2010
By Smoy
from South Central NE
"Purchased three after moles nearly destroyed our blue grass in a couple of weeks. Took two weeks and they were all gone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mole Chaser Windmill - Up to 4000 Sq. Ft. Coverage
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

voles are gone

,
October 19, 2009
By betula
from northern Idaho
"I purchased 2 mole chasers this summer after being unsuccesful with solar mole stakes. the small windmill's started working right away because I live in a fairly windy area. I had bought my house in the winter when the yard was covered with snow. When spring came and the ground was exposed I was horrified at the sight of mounds of soil everywhere in the yard. My dogs were going crazy digging at the piles of dirt trying to catch whatever was down in the ground. I still hav'nt seen what it is that is making these tunnels, neighbors say they are voles. Whatever they are, they have moved far from the windmills. They are still on the far edges of grass. I plan on purchasing a few more of these mole chasers to drive the creatures further away."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.