Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Solar Moler

Solar Moler

Item# 168361
Solar powered deterrent covers 6,000 sq.ft. The Solar Moler emits a vibrating sound underground every 30 seconds to repel moles, gophers, voles and shrews. Internal Ni-Cd battery is recharged daily in sunlight for continued night operation. Easily stakes into ground for installation and removes for lawn maintenance. Indoor/Outdoor Use Outdoor, Removal Of Burrowing rodents, Material Type Plastic, Coverage 6,000 square feet, Assembly Required No, Includes Internal Ni-Cd battery, Power Source Solar. Amorphous panel
Average Customer Rating:
2.853 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (34 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
14
17 of 34(50%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solar Moler
Review 21 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Solar Moler

,
November 12, 2007
By bigal1
from Panama City, Fla.
"Product slowed down moles, until they tunneled around it. Guess my moles are deaf!! Hunk of junk!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

,
October 12, 2007
By dave39
from Ohio
"The product in itself did a good job while it lasted, however the battery gave out in the second year and I have not been able to find one to replace it. I contacted Northern and was advised that there was no replacement available."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Solar Moler

,
July 18, 2007
By Ronald
from CO
"The product isn't very reliable as it fails to work satisfactorily after 3 months. This is the 6th I've owned and they all don't work very well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

solar moler

,
July 12, 2007
By scott54
from long island,NY
"I found the solar moler to be extremely effective at repelling moles.
The device does exactly whats promised.the solar moler is easy to set up and easy to use.I wish i bought it sooner, also it blends in with the landscape so no unsightly looks. The solar moler gives off a very low vibration so only the moles are scared away, KUDOS to you northern tool.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar Moler

,
July 11, 2007
By stormyjean
from Otis, Oregon
"We purchased this mole deterant out of deperation and was pleased with the results after my husband had to go into the yard and push the unit further down into the ground as it didn't seem to be doing much. Than it worked much better. Everyone around us had moles and not us!!!
The only downfall to the unit came when my husband went to remove the unit from the ground to place it in the back yard (I had just ordered an additional one for that purpose) to use until the new one came and it broke in two when he tried to move it. The lead line came out of the ground, but the poles remained in the ground. It was useless. Our ground is very soft.
However, to Northern's credit, I called and was given a couple of numbers to call and they quickly assured me that they would send out a replacement that next day as well as sending me my newly ordered unit.
The cool thing was that I didn't have to dig up my yard to try and find the remaining part in my yard to send back, I simply was told to throw it away and not worry about the hassle of sending it back.
I was very impressed with how they back up their merchandise and quick replys. I'll be ordering more from them for sure.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Solar Moler

,
July 10, 2007
By HFD047
from Rochester, NY
"I am disappointed in the Solar Moler. I thought that it was working, due to not seeing many moles in the area, but the other night when we were sitting outside, there were 2 moles that ran from under a bush within 4 feet of the unit to a hole in the ground near the house foundation. I do not believe it works as advertised."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar Moler

,
July 10, 2007
By Gardener
from Monroe New York
"The product works well keeping MR GOPHER away in my Garden that is 15 feet X 30 Fett. The only problem I had was with shipping. The packing needs to be better. It took three replacements until I got one that worked. The first was damaged in shipment and did not work the second did not work out of the box. the third worked but as with the other packaging during shipment caused the failures. The original boxes need to be sealed with tape and then the shipping container needs better stuffing to prevent damage.
The product works well and cover the 15 x30 foot garden that I have.
Northern was excellent handling the returns even though it took multiple attempts to get one that worked. The service rep was helpful and handled the transaction quickly with out having to check with anyone else. THAT IS CUSTOMER SERVICE with empowered employees.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

solar Moler

,
July 10, 2007
By DenM
from Florida
"Didn't put much faith in these type of products in the past, but I'm sold on this solar moler. Purchased two for my yard and even found one dead mole in grass on second day. No more mole tunnels in my yard. Solar power keeps it "ticking"."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Perhaps I have deaf moles

,
July 10, 2007
By Darnmoles
"I have six of these spread throughout my yard. They seem to kind of work, except for three of them. Around those three, there seems to be a high instance of trenches. Perhaps I have deaf moles."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
July 9, 2007
By Mathman
from Indianapolis, IN
"This really works. I am no longer troubled by moles, but my neighbor, 2 houses away, still has problems. Well worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Satisfied in TN

,
June 16, 2007
By Molefree
from Ooltewah, TN
"After a family member said their windmill didn't work for getting rid of their moles, and that they'd had success with the solar moler, I thought about giving it a try. I was almost dissuaded, as the reviews seemed to be 50% for and 50% against. I decided to go for it.
With the ground being so hard, at first I jammed the solar moler into an existing chipmunk hole, near the mole holes. It wasn't in very far, and wasn't packed with dirt. I filled in all the mole holes to measure the success of the this thing. Two days later two mole holes had been redug. I was ready to join the negative reviews, saying it didn't work. But before giving up I used a post-hole digger and buried the solar moler to the head, at an angle, following directions. I packed it in with dirt. A week has gone by. No more holes so far. I'm hoping the little critters have moved for good!
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

solar molar

,
March 7, 2007
By rickref
from Bellevue, WA
"I have replaced 18 battery powered mole chasers with 3 solar molars and have not ahd signs of moles for the past three weeks. My yearly mole chasing expenses have been cut in half."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mole/gopher solar item

,
January 30, 2007
By jwedgar
from Oklahoma City Area
"I bought 6 of these & its the only item that I've bought that keeps golphers away.
I've tried poision,traps,smoke bombs,traps & really these do work. I've got 5 acreas & I place these on each side of my land & it keeps them from coming onto my land!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Solar Moler

,
November 16, 2006
By Fisherman
from Virginia Beach, Va
"I bought this product because of all the moles in my front and back yard after a strong storn took some trees down next door to me. I bought 4 and this should have been enough to cover my entire yard and my neighbors too but I could not see any change in activit from the time I placed them until now and that has been a couple of months. They do vibat and put out a low sound but as stated before did not work.
I would not recomend this product.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-34 of 34