Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Solar Moler

Solar Moler

Item# 168361
Solar powered deterrent covers 6,000 sq.ft. The Solar Moler emits a vibrating sound underground every 30 seconds to repel moles, gophers, voles and shrews. Internal Ni-Cd battery is recharged daily in sunlight for continued night operation. Easily stakes into ground for installation and removes for lawn maintenance. Indoor/Outdoor Use Outdoor, Removal Of Burrowing rodents, Material Type Plastic, Coverage 6,000 square feet, Assembly Required No, Includes Internal Ni-Cd battery, Power Source Solar. Amorphous panel
Average Customer Rating:
2.853 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (34 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
14
17 of 34(50%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solar Moler
Review 1 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste of money

,
February 6, 2014
By bm32828
from Orlando, FL
"Not sure if it had any effect but i could hear the mechanism vibrate occasionally when I was walking by it, however it only lasted about 1 month and 1/2. BIB waste of $!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

solar moler

,
May 20, 2013
By BoggyBoy69
from destin, fl
"Used 3 of these last year in a small area of infestation. I think they had the same effect as a vibrating mattress in a cheap motel. I think the moles went into a breeding frenzy. I am now thinking thermo-nuclear devise or WMD."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Solar Molar . . . Waste of money

,
April 30, 2011
By JanH
from Queen Creek, AZ
"I bought 4 of these to cover a very small area of my back yard. They were place approximately 35 feet apart. They do absolutely NOTHING to help. Same holes, same problem. Do NOT waste your money!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rodent control

,
September 2, 2010
By dol31
"I found the product to work but was disappionted that it didn't hold up better.
I purchased six of them in the spring i think maybe two are still working. They also didn't cover near the area that they said it would. 20ft from the working chaser is a lot of rodent activity. Also it had no affect on ground squirrels.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

solar moler

,
October 19, 2009
By snakeyed
from Oklahoma City
"I used 3 of these to cover 5,000 sq. ft. and they seemed to work for a couple of weeks. When moles came back I moved the moler into the new tunnels and they just pushed dirt up around the stake. Now I am "chasing" them around the yard, placing all three molers around the new mounds, then waiting to see where they will come up next. All 3 are making the noise but it doesn't bother the moles anymore. Save your money for poison."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

solar moler

,
October 19, 2009
By BillinNJ
from south central NJ
"Darn close to useless...moles use the beeping to find their way home. Buy an owl for your yard or feed the neighbor's cat for a few days and the moles will go somewhere else."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar moler

,
August 27, 2009
By bigblazin
from bayside ca
"i was a bit skeptical at first, but after about 2 weeks, i didn't have any gopher, mole hills in my yard, it's been a couple of months now, and still no gophers,mole hills. I have a little over an acre of property, and 4 of these is did the trick."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

2 out of 2 don't function

,
July 13, 2009
By caposto
from East Bay, CA
"I bought two of these and neither work. The first one I installed at my parents house and it didn't work from the start unless you had the top solar panel disc off the rod and upside down. ??? Now it seems to be working, but I don't trust it will or does continuously. The second one functioned initially for about 8 months, but has since stopped. Maybe the rechargeable battery is done, but who knows. I'm too frustrated with these to even investigate at this point. Oh, and there was no impact on the gophers from what I can tell. Still in the same places making the same holes. I guess I'll have to get a dog."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Moler

,
March 18, 2009
By rattler
from New York
"I've had trouble with moles for years. Itried baits and traps and all sorts of home remedies, with no sucess. Last Fall, I put in a solarmoler in my front yard and could not have been happier this spring when the snow melted and I had absoulutely no sign of any moles. Typically the ground is covered with trails from their winter "manuevers" , but not this spring!!!! I can start my yard work with half the battle won."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Solar Moler Does Not Work!

,
March 15, 2009
By DaveinMassachusetts
"I purchased six of these, in an all-out effort to rid my yard of moles. I placed them exactly as directed (even closer together than "necessary"), and while they do vibrate, they simply don't have any impact on the moles! The moles laugh at them!"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Like a Champ

,
January 1, 2009
By NWestBear
from Camano Island, WA
"We have two units, one in the front yard and the other in the back yard - they cover all of the 100-foot width of our property and part of the neighbors, too. Great product, works well in both moist and porous soils here on Camano Island, WA where soil varies from dense, moisture retentive to porous, rapid percolating. It banished the invasive moles that used to plague us."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar moler

,
November 17, 2008
By ohioric
from Williamsburg, Ohio
"I hate the damage moles do in the yard. We just put in a above ground pool and placed some of these around the outer edges of pool to prevent moles from damaging the liner. Inexpensive and easy!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Moler is aces

,
August 27, 2008
By NorthStar
from Southern Maine
"This works great! I put two it my lawn and they cleared a huge mole population out of my lawn in a couple of days. No batteries to replace either. Thumbs Up!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Moler

,
August 13, 2008
By PackMan1
from New England
"Unit does emit a high pitch sound about every 40 seconds. I have (2) units 20 feet apart in the landscaping and I can't say that the ground rodents have been driven out, because they are still living within 8 feet of (1) of the units!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Moler

,
August 11, 2008
By GrandpaJim
from El Cajon, Ca.
"I purchased this product in the hopes that it would stop the gophers from eating all of my garden plants. I am happy to say that ever since I put the solar moler in the ground I haven't had any sign of a gopher, not one... I would recommend this product to everyone..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works, I think

,
August 11, 2008
By bi1737
from Ohio
"Moles are really bad in our area, and I was willing to try anything. We bought 2 Solar Molars, 1 for the front and 1 for the back flower beds. After a few months of having them, I can't tell 100% if they work on the moles. Every morning I go out to the beds, and there are new mole holes, and the mulch is dug up again like before. However, the flower bulbs that they used to snack on are now uneaten. So the flowers have been spared, but the moles are still around. One important note, and I wish Northern Tool would have printed this from the directions on the website, that for best results you are to use 2 withing a 50' distance apart. So, I'm going to buy 2 more and see what happens."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

solar moler

,
August 3, 2008
By bigdogdaddy
from franklin,tn
"The solar moler does not work. if anything it has brought more moles into my yard. the only thing that works is the solar battery and the buzz every thirty seconds. the moles seem to have made a game of these."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Solar moler

,
June 26, 2008
By madmurphy1001
from Phoenix AZ
"I purchased 3 of these units and in the Arizona sun, the sun burnt out one of the solar panels,1 just quit working and the other one I tossed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It' worth trying

,
April 14, 2008
By GRodman
from Yorktown, VA
"I have tried many things from Juicy Fruit in the tunnels to milky spores. They always seem to find thier way to my yard. I have treated the yard again with milky spores and places 2 Solar Molerss in the yard, so far so good. They need to package them better when shipped out, the box looked like a scene from "The Cable Guy", but they work and hope they do the trick."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Solar Moler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
January 14, 2008
By biggen
from Orlando Fl
"This is the best thing I have used. No more chemicals that don't work. And are costly. Would recommend this to anyone with mole problems."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.