Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B

EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B

Item# 16837
The EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder allows you to plant a variety of vegetable seeds with one continuous operation - opening the soil, planting the seed, covering and marking the next row. Manufactured of rugged aluminum with a polyethylene hopper for years of troublefree operation. Hopper Material Polyethylene, Spread-able Material Vegetable seeds, Spreader Type Seed planter, Walk or Pull Walk. Extended life thanks to all aircraft aluminum frame Retaining clip secures the row marker Rustproof wheels roll smoothly through garden soil Comes with six precision seed plates for sweet cord, radish/leek/spinach, carrot/lettuce/turnip, bean/small peas, jumbo peas and beet/okra/Swiss chard seeds 30in. aluminum row marker makes it easy to plan the next row Adjustable ground opener helps plant seeds at the correct depth for optimal growth Cover chain drags behind to cover seeds with soil
Average Customer Rating:
4.652 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (23 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 23(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Review 1 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

planter review

,
August 12, 2014
By likesgoodfood
from Indiana
"I like the product and tried it for some fall planting. Beets, spinach, and turnips. the thing I noticed is the land has to be very smooth and clean or it is hard to keep straight. and the depth of which you plant needs to be paid attention to."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

poor stand

,
August 4, 2014
By Retiredfarmerguy
from Illinois
"This is 1st time I used a planter like this --I need a lot more experience--I got about 40% stand it seemed to me like a very light and fragile piece of equiptment--next year I will only try it on about a third of my garden --I do have a lot of plates and the special cucumber plate--I guess I was lucky on the poor stand because the cucumbers and pumpkins are doing well being space so far apart."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seed planter

,
July 16, 2014
By qazwsxedc1
from New jersey
"Very nice works great for planting seeds very fast which is great that you don't have to plant by hand"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gear

,
June 26, 2014
By Dirtman06
from Virginia
"This tool is the bomb for making a straight line and looking like a pro."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a time (and back) saver

,
March 6, 2014
By Farmun
from Maypearl, TX
"This product comes mostly assembled. It took all of 15 minutes from the box to the garden. My wife watched the assembly and announced that she could have done what I did. Very well built and extremely easy to use. My garden is very well tilled and this machine goes through the planting process like butter. The seeds are exactly where they need to be, depth, distance, etc. Once you have one straight row it is clear sailing after that. Anyone with a large garden, mine is 50' by 185'', should not be without this garden seeder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Precision Garden Seeder

,
April 23, 2013
By bre6
from IN
"Very pleased with the new seeder. Saves time, easy on the back, no more bending and guessing at seed spacing. Good investment."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Garden Seeder

,
August 20, 2012
By HarPet
from Haubstadt, Indiana
"Definitely worth it. Makes planting the garden so much easier. It arrived quickly and just works great. Comes with different seed plates. Very light weight and easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Planter

,
March 21, 2011
By bowater
"I have used one of these planters for years. Have never had a seed that it could not plant. When not in use it hangs on a nail in my shed. Extra plates stored in side the seed hopper."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST YET

,
June 3, 2010
By Forry
from Apple Valley ca.
"I Have owned and used several seeders over the last 30 years, but this EarthWay seeder is the very best, I have used or purchased. I bought one of these 25 years ago and loanded it to a neighbor. who unexpectedly expired, it was passed on to his son without my consent, So I purchased 2 very similar copies. but they were lousey, and when I ran across this same EARTHWAY, seeder that I had liked so much at Northern Tool, I was exstatic. I garden approx. 1/4 acre every year, and I just would,nt do it without this little baby. I can plant my 1/4 acre in just over an hour. I also have afew extra seed plates for good measure. this seeder digs the furrow, drops the seeds, covers them , & the wheels pack the soil over them. Great design, and easy to use too. what else could you ask for, and a good price to boot !! I also have the Earthway big wheel cultivator, & I love it too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seeder - Best time saver

,
June 1, 2010
By GS28
from Newark, NY
"I bought this seeder just in time to plant over 5000 sunflowers...thank God!!!! This was the best timesaving and back saving investment I could have made. Worked incredable well and my plants are all up and spaced just as I wanted them.
Great product"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great in well-prepared soil

,
May 31, 2010
By hillbilly1
from TN
"We've enjoyed using this garden seeder this year. It has saved a lot of bending and it spaces the seeds well. The only bad side we've found is that in our rocky soil, we had to make sure the ground was well worked with the tiller before we used this. This wasn't a big deal as we usually tilled before making rows anyway. We look forward to many years with our seeder!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

gardening

,
October 19, 2009
By chibiabo
from Wisconsin Dells, WI. & Trego, WI.
"Using the garden seeder has been a god-send. Easy to use and it simplified the spacing of the seed as well as the rows. Saves torment from bad back and knees and all the usual bending. It also keeps my hands much cleaner. Saves an enormous amount of planting time as well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works good on prepared ground

,
July 20, 2009
By JR1Y
from NC
"Works good if ground is fine and well prepared, I had tilled cover crop under this year and found that the seeder would hangup on the stuff I had tilled under, other than that no problems. Seeding is much faster and I like that my rows and plant spacing is even now."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seeder

,
July 14, 2009
By MrDavid
from Huntsville, Alabama
"This works great and plants seed easily in a straight evenly space row. This was a lot faster than what I was doing before were I just trench a small row and drop the seed. The drag chain that is supposed to cover the seed does not do a great job, I had to go back over some of the seed with the rake."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow - what a seeder

,
March 29, 2009
By wuzup45
from Midville Georgia
"I just planted a pound of purple hull peas with no back ache. I was done in less than a half hour. Great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Earthway Precision Garden Seeder

,
March 18, 2009
By Jaws
from Greensburg, IN
"This is a great product. We used this to plant our seeds for our large garden. I cannot imagine having to plant the seeds without this! The only possible setback is we, at first, had a problem with too many (or not enough) seeds coming out, but we made adjustments (aka learned to use the product better) and have great turnouts each year!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Earthway Garden Seeder

,
March 7, 2009
By ridgerambler
from Greer SC
"I purchased my first earthway seeder in 1976 and have used it plant anywhere from 1 to 1.5 acres every year since. I use for fall and spring planting, so it plants beans, corn, cabbage, carrots, etc.. almost year round. It is the best planter I have ever used and I have a tractor mounted planter for larger fields I use for corn and peanuts, but the earthway is accurate and fast--so much so that I now use it entirely for anything under 1.5 acres where I am planting different varieties. I just bought a new one, but it just like the older 76 model which still works good and has never missed a beat. You can buy parts like the belt, etc.. if it breaks. It is just good quality garden tool--the fool thing may just outlast me!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

EarthWay seeder

,
August 18, 2008
By Migdi
from Yauco,Puereto Rico
"I bought the seeder to farm a small farm of 31 acres. I use it to seed lot of about one acre at a time and it is very useful for that purpose. Using it to seed small lots save me a lot of fuel since I do not have to a tractor. The seeder operation is very simple and fast for the small lots."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Precision garden seeder

,
August 11, 2008
By Deuceowner
from Idaho
"Terrific product with a modest price. Well built quality product that works amaizingly well. Plants with suprising precision, and the marking system keeps rows evenly spaced and in a nice straight line. It was Very easy to assemble and took very little effort to use. Took hours off of my planting time. Would highly reccomend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for EarthWay Precision Garden Seeder, Model# 1001B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
April 24, 2008
By LittleFarmer
from Idaho
"This is the first year using my new seeder I think it is great. it could use a heavy chain to cover seed better. so I added some fishing weights to the chain and set the seed depth one half inch deeper. works great no other upgrading needed. shure is better than hand planting"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.