Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900

Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900

Item# 168433
The Molechaser is the easiest, most environmentally friendly way to get rid of moles, voles, gophers, shrews, ground squirrels and other burrowing rodents. Simply bury the sturdy aluminum Molechhaser in your lawn and rodents will be on their way Unit produces a penetrating underground sonic impulse that irritates rodents and motivates them to move to a quieter area. Assembly Required No, Indoor/Outdoor Use Outdoor, Includes Irritating sonic pulse, Material Type Aluminum, Power Source Battery, Removal Of Burrowing rodents, Coverage 11,250 square feet. Unit produces a penetrating underground sonic impulse at 300 Hz at 15-second intervals Pets are not affected Unit can be buried flush for easy mowing 100 waterproof 16in. long Batteries can be changed while unit is in ground Operates for 4-6 months on 4 D alkaline batteries not included Lab tested and approved by consumer groups Cost-effective, convenient and reliable
Average Customer Rating:
3.489 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (47 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
13
33 of 47(70%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Review 1 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great!

,
August 16, 2014
By Velox
from Yukon, OK
"Mole chasers works great, it takes a few weeks before it starts to take effect. Yes, I too had mole mounds literally next to it as well. It took 3-4 weeks to start working, set them along or on a tunnel for best results. I'd say they are good for half of the square footage it claims to cover."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work

,
July 31, 2014
By UnhappyMolechaser
from Naples, ID
"I followed all directions and put this item into clay ground where Moles had been digging. It says it will take a few days for it to chase the moles away. After it had been in the ground for a week the moles dug another hole within three feet of it!
Don't waste your money. It would probably cost me half of what I paid for it to return it, so I won't waste my time.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Molechaser

,
June 26, 2014
By GM60
from Bradenton,FL
"I have tried many different methods to releave us of these pesty varmints. Inside of two weeks the signs of daily damage have slowed to almost nothing and we are seeing signs of recovery in the front yard, I which I had purchased these sooner."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Useless

,
April 23, 2014
By Tater12
from Howard City, MI
"Defiantly not worth the money. The moles thought it was playing their song. Product only covers about 200 sq. ft."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Batteries needed

,
April 14, 2014
By Vork
from Camden, tn
"Batteries didn't last long in one if these, not sure if they chase moles yet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Was skeptical, but it works!

,
October 8, 2012
By Gopherh8er
from Northern Calif
"This product really works. I deal with gophers pretty much on a continuous basis. Recently I had gophers that made holes too small to insert the gopher gasser. So I decided to try the Sonic Molechaser. I was skeptical, but it really does work! I had gophers in the front and back lawns. Since putting the Molechasers in, I haven't seen gophers in either lawn in 2 months! I bought the metal ones. Very glad I bought the Sonic Molechaser."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It did work

,
August 14, 2012
By shopmgr
from Louisiana
"Purchased two of them in June and here it is August and no moles. I couldn't even get mine all the way in the ground like instructions state, but no moles and it's so easy to maintain my lawn now. Thank you NTE"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Molechaser

,
June 6, 2011
By alphawolf
from West Virginia
"Before I bought the sonic molechaser, I had tunnels all over my yard. My dog would even hear the moles digging, and he'd pounce on the ground and pull one out once or twice a week. I used a hole punch for fenceposts to make a hole for the device, because I don't think it would take much pounding. It's been going for a few months now, and I haven't had to replace the batteries yet. And best of all, no moles at all. This product does exactly what it says it will do."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
18out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
momcarol
Belvidere, NJ 
 
Please wait while more information about momcarol is loaded.
Additional information about momcarol could not be loaded.
molechaser does not work
September 20, 2011
"moles just go around them. waste of money"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool to Ward off Unwanted Voles / Moles. NC.

,
January 13, 2011
By quackycalls
from Eastern NC
"I reside in Eastern North Carolina in the rural community where voles have always been prevalent in my yard. I bought one of these for my front yard and it has worked wonders.
I always had voles tunneling all over the yard almost throughout the entire year, tried many other avenues all to no avail. This unit works, however, you have to be patient and give the voles a chance to satisfy their musings.
They will undoubtedly inspect this new noise intrusion in their domain for up to 1- 2 weeks with continued tunneling in very close proximity to the device. Then after that they leave the area for good, tunneling activity in my front lawn has completely stopped.
I can always tell when my batteries get weak in the device for some activity will begin to surface once again. Sure enough, i check the batteries and the device isn't sounding off very loudly.
MY ADVICE:
- replace with high quality, brand name batteries every year
- sometimes very cold weather will warrant replacement of the batteries
- utilize the Long Beeping Function for best results, it seems to work better for me on this LONG BEEP function, so i just have it set their permanently
- give the voles / moles a chance to inspect the device. For a short period of time, increased daily activity close to the device will occur but after a few days the tunneling and activity will 'dry' up.
Chris
Eastern NC
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
17out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

WOULD NOT BUY AGAIN

,
November 21, 2010
By Anonymous
"THIS MOLE CHASER DOES NOT WORK. I PUT TWO IN THE GROUNG AROUND MY POOL. THE MOLES GOT WORST .IT ATTRACTED THEME THEY WOULD DIG TUNNELS RIGHT NEXT TO THE MOLE CHASER AND WILL NOT LEAVE . THIS PRODUCT IS JUNK PERIOD."
-3points
5out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sonic molechaser

,
August 30, 2010
By red9798
from Michigan
"this product seems to work great, its been two weeks and the moles are gone. you really need to wait like it says in the paperwork and the product will work. i am waiting to see how long the batteries really last though. good product, seems well made."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sonic Molechaser

,
June 30, 2010
By Jon6299
from Norfolk, Ne
"I have a vole problem in my 3.5 acre backyard. So I tried the aluminum style, as it covers more square feet. I was very disappointed as the voles seem to be more inquisitive than frightened. The mounds are literally right on top of them. I do NOT recommend."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
quackycalls
Eastern NC 
 
Please wait while more information about quackycalls is loaded.
Additional information about quackycalls could not be loaded.
Moles are inquisitive at First.
January 13, 2011
"It has been my experience that the moles are inquisitive at first due to this "New" sound transmission in their neighborhood.
They will usually continue to check it out for up to 2 weeks, with lots of tunnel activity in close proximity to the device. After this brief inspection period, they will disappear from the area completely.
This product is in my front yard and it works wonders, no more activity after the initial introduction.
just give yours some more time with good batteries and i am certain you will have a different opinion about it."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

don't waste your money

,
June 28, 2010
By tiredad
from Tulsa, OK
"Call me an optimist--I liked the idea of these, had bought the plastic version at a farm and garden store, but had had difficulty keeping them running. Put batteries in, slipped them into pre-drilled holes in my yard, and they'd stay active for a day or two, then stop working. Pull them out, mess with cap and/or batteries, get them buzzing again, put 'em back in yard and....repeat every day or two until you get tired of the hassle.
Thought the aluminum version must be better quality than the plastic, and they were rated to cover a larger area, so took the chance and ordered 5. Again, will only work for a few days, best case, before they stop working and you have to pull them out and mess around with them---and even when they're working, I've got gopher/mole trails right up to them. Guess the critters are more curious than repelled by the intermittent buzzing noises.
An great concept, and more appealing than poisons, but not effective at all. Gave a one-star rating as there is no zero star option.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more moles

,
June 1, 2010
By DustyDave
from Fox,Arkansas
"I live in North Central Arkansas and HAD a terrible problem with mole in my front yard and vegetable garden. I had tried poison gas and bait, but had no success with either. I didn't want to use too much of either product since I have 7 dogs and didn't want to have them getting around the stuff.
I purchased 2 of the aluminum mole chasers and placed one in the middle of the garden and the other at the edge of the front yard close to the house to keep them out of the flower beds. THEY WORK!!! I haven't seen one mound this year and I plan on buying some more.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sonic molechaser

,
May 24, 2010
By swaff
from Graford, texas
"We got 2. One for the front and back. They work great. We used to have dirt mounds all over our yard, now we do not. Just keep current batteries in them and no more moles no traps, just a neat yard. We live at a lake and these work great since neighbors have domestic pets that roam, these do not harm anything, just derters the ground diggers."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sonic Molechaser

,
October 28, 2009
By sr20det
from Lebanon, NH
"This product really works. If you have a mole problem the Mole Chaser will solve that problem. I had a serious mole problem for years until I purchased this product. I installed 3 on about 3/4 acre around my house and the moles disapeared within 2 weeks. The batteries last a about 5 months."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Molechaser

,
October 22, 2009
By CousinWill
from Southbury, CT
"This item seems to work. I leave it in a location for 4 weeks and the moles seem to be gone. I then move it to another location with success. However, you wind up playing cat and mouse with the moles because they move back to where it was before. If you have a big yard, 1 acre, then you may need several of these to be effective."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste of money

,
October 22, 2009
By 031946
from crystal city, Mo
"I purchased two of the sonic mole chasers. Planted one and waited three weeks with no results. Planted
the other 15 feet away, still with no results. The moles seemed to have doubled. My yard is a mess.
I was very disappointed.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sonic Molechaser

,
October 19, 2009
By odw1934
from Missouri
"I purchased 2 Sonic Molechasers and used them this summer. I could not see any difference, in fact the moles continued to borrow, even next to the Molechasers. I could not recommend these to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sonic Molechaser - Aluminum, Covers 11,250 Sq. Ft., Model# 7900
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work for me

,
October 19, 2009
By Okie
from Okay, OK.
"I bought two of these and installed them. Within the second month I saw signs of mole activity in my yard, worse than that were signs of my two Terriers trying to dig up the moles.
I would not be able to say anything good about my experience with this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.