Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder

Item# 168620
The Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder grinds 176 lbs. of meat per hour! Turns fowl, beef, vegetables and other foods into tasty meat loaf, sausage, sauces and more. 110V motor has on/off switch, plus reverse. Fine, medium and coarse plates, Kubbe and sausage stuffer attachments for a variety of outputs. 16in.L x 7 7/8in.W x 13 5/8in.H. This model now comes with round buttons. Capacity Per Hour (lbs.): 176, HP: 1/2, Watts: 350, Neck Size: #12, Volts: 110, Motor Speed - No Load (RPM): 1,725, Hopper Size (in.): 11 1/2 x 7 1/4 at wide end and 6 1/2 at smaller end, Inlet Diameter (in.): 2 1/2 at top and 1 3/4 at bottom, Outlet Diameter (in.): 2 1/2, Plate Diameter (in.): 2 3/4, Size of Plate Holes (in.): 3/16 (medium coarse), 5/16 (coarse), 3/8 (very coarse), Stuffing Tubes Included: Yes, Compatible With Item Number (s): 1686200, Overall Dimensions L x W x H (in.): 16 x 7 7/8 x 13 5/8 Speed of motor without loading: 1725 RPM. After going through gear reduction the speed comes down to 300 RPM Internal parts are all metal for greater durability Gear: 2-pc. carbon steel Shaft: carbon steel Knife: carbon steel Corkscrew: cast aluminum Hopper Plate: cast aluminum Has reverse switch
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(243 Reviews) 243
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (243 reviews)
5 stars
200
4 stars
34
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
2
237 of 243(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Review 1 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Grinder/Stuffer

,
March 7, 2007
By Sausageking
from Annapolis, MD
"I did a great deal of research before selecting this grinder. Suffice it to say, this is a great product at a great price and I have found no others that come close in quality in this price range. My Grinder/Sausage Stuffer came with 3 stuffing tubes while the product specs listed only one ( pleasant surprise). I use it primarily for grinding and stuffing all types of sausage. It is a superior product with all metal food contact parts. The "ON" switch can also be "pulsed" by pushing it in partway, an important feature when stuffing sausage. All the critical parts can be easily removed for cleaning (and boiling) if you sterilize the unit after using (which you should).
The only improvement that could possibly be made is not with the product, but with the instruction manual. The manual instructs you to remove the grinder plate and cutter when installing the stuffing tube for stuffing sausage. This will not work as the grinder plate also serves as the front bearing surface for the auger. When removed, the auger is not supported at the front and will work its way out from the motor housing connection socket. (no big deal as it comes out for cleaning anyway, but you can't stuff sauges in this configuration). So, I put the grinder plate and blade back in, then put on the stuffing tube and "wala", it worked like a charm. So if you choose, grind and stuff in one operation. If you choose not to do it this way, put in the larger grinding plate when you get ready to stuff so you don't get a "double grind" that is finer than you desire!
I can't say enough good about this machine. It is heavier duty than any I have found in this price range, has a powerful motor and the grinding disks (3 sizes come with the machine) and cutter blade appear to be made from tool steel. The auger, collar, auger housing, and meat tray are all cast aluminum. It has built in cord storage and wieghs more than you would expect. Kudos to Northern Tool, they scored a winner with this product!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
22out of 28found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Corpusfishing
Corpus Christi, TX 
 
Please wait while more information about Corpusfishing is loaded.
Additional information about Corpusfishing could not be loaded.
Sausage Stuffing Double Grinding
March 2, 2011
"I found a solution to my "twice grinding" casing stuffing problem using the kitchener #12 grinding plates. LEM makes grinders and said their grinding plates fit other models. I went to Academy and saw a "sausage stuffing" grinding plate that had three big wide holes. I got one of my kitchener plates and it matched the #10/12 LEM sausage stuffer grinding plate and it fits so I will have to give that a try. Now I can make thicker textured sausages by not having to put the mixture through once to grind it and another grind to get it to push into the sausage casings."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value, great product-Highly recommend.

,
March 7, 2007
By romova
from Leesburg VA
"The meat grinder has worked very well for me, better than I expected for the cost of the unit compared to other models I evaluated. I bought it as an interim solution until I could get a larger HP unit, but am thinking now I won't need it. I was very surprised how quickly it ground a deer without cutting it into small pieces, as i'd had to do previously with a comparably priced unit. I also didn't have any problems with it clogging with connective tissue or tendon-surprisingly as I just ran the meat through to give it a good test. It didn't even slow down. The cutter was clean when done, unlike others I had to clean out several times while processing a deer. It is also an unusual cutter blade, shaped like a propellor pushing the meat towards the cutting disk, unlike others that were just a flat knife. It saved alot of time and aggravation. I never got a chance to try to reversing switch as it wasn't needed, but if/when it will be good. The storage area that allows keeping the parts with the unit was something I really like too. Cord storage was nice too. A great value, I would highly recommend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gettin' it done fast

,
November 23, 2006
By CaptE
from Missouri
"My good friend and hunting buddy recently used my newly purchased grinder to process meat from two deer we took during the high power season here in MO. We ground a little over 60 pounds of venison in a little over 20 minutes. Last year with a hand grinder it took well over two hours to grind a comprable amount of meat. The grinder preformed flaulessly. It never strained no matter how fast we were pushing the meat into it, and the strainer never clogged. The three strainers along with the metal pan, and grinding head make this a very versitile product. Clean up was easy, just put all of the moving parts in the dish washer. I would recommend that the steel strainer head be removed after the wash cycle and hand dried then coated with some oil to prevent rusting.
P.S. My friend was so impressed with the performance of my grinder, he has asked me to order one for him. .
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Meat Grinder

,
March 16, 2011
By Lsundevils
from Phoenix, AZ
"I bought this for my husband and I am surprised how much capacity it can handle as well as the sturdy design. This is a quality grinder and is very easy to use and clean up."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feeding raw dogs

,
March 15, 2011
By Haili
from Seattle,WA
"I am the proud owner of two 31/2 mo. old Chihuahua puppies. Having just lost both of my great dogs very suddenly, I was determined to have my new pups as long as health would allow. This particular grinder came highly recommended by the author of RAW DOG FOOD. I want to take this opportunity to thank her and Northern Tool. This is a great and necessary tool to have when you've got a bone to grind! I use it to grind chicken & turkey backs,necks,wings&feet. Small pork,lamb and beef meaty bones as well. What a breeze, I couldn't manage w/o it. It makes super fast work of grinding up a months' worth of meaty bones for freezing. The clean-up is very easy & the machine is quite easy to sanitize. I am so very happy with this purchase. Thanks, Northern Tool! P.S. I wish it came in black too--the only negative, in my opinion."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grinder Best Buy!

,
March 14, 2011
By Grampie
from Jayess, MSa
"Last fall at the start of deer season we realized we needed a grinder to process our deer. After checking several on line sites and talking to friends that had bought grinders from other sources I decided that the one we saw on Northern Tool looked like the one that would meet our needs.
I ordered it and it came the same week that we needed it to process our first deer. It worked great with no hitches. Later we used it to process a second deer and it worked flawlessly. We used it to make deer sauage and ground venison for chili and hamburgers.
I have told several friends about it and would recommend it to anybody needing a grinder at a fair price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power Grinder

,
March 14, 2011
By Cobia02
from Destin, FL
"Easy to use right out of the box (after a good cleaning). Plenty of power at a great bargain. Now I don't have to use the wifees grinder which makes it a 10! I use it for venison and pork with no issues whatsoever."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chicken Sausage

,
March 14, 2011
By RichardJS
"I could not believe how easy it was. We made about 10 pounds in about 15 minutes not counting the reciepe."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it, but be careful of rust!

,
March 14, 2011
By JTRay
from Brooklyn, NY
"This thing is awesome. For the price, it surely can't be beat. Make sure the meat is slightly frozen/chilled when grinding, it makes it a lot easier. Only reason it gets 4 instead of 5 stars is because the metal plates (the ones with the holes in them where the meat gets pushed through) will rust immediately after use if you don't wash, dry and oil them. Ours rusted pretty bad after about 10-20 minutes of sitting in the sink, but I was able to get most of it off with some fine sandpaper. Other than that it's great, easy to clean and very easy to use. It's relatively cheap too!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Effective and Convenient

,
March 14, 2011
By Agador
from Manassas, VA
"This modestly-priced meat grinder is perfect for the occasional hunter/homeowner who doesn't process game and meat products more than "once in a while". Easy to use, and easy to clean - good deal!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Grinder / Average Sausage Stuffer

,
January 24, 2011
By SCSchmidt
from James Island, SC
"First of all, this thing will really grind up some meat fast. I purchased this only a couple of months ago, but have used it to grind venison, chuck roast, pork and chicken. That has worked flawlessly.
Just remember to coat the grinding plates with vegetable oil when you are done, because they will rust very quickly if you do not. You can wash a grinding plate, leave it wet on the sink and thirty minutes later it will be developing rust - seriously.
Now, as far as a sausage stuffer, the machine leaves a bit to be desired. The manual is confusing and the machine doesn't really come with the parts to make this an easy job.
Here is the issue - the auger, or feed screw as it is technically called (Part #8 in the manual), needs to have a grinding plate (Parts #10-14) inserted in order to be supported. Without the grinding plate the auger lays on the bottom of the tube where the sausage comes out, which is called the head (Part #7) so you get metal rubbing on metal without a grinding plate.
Therefore, you have to have a grinding plate, which really slows down the amount of sausage that comes out. What many sausage machines use is a spacer, which is like a grinding plate, but only has two large gaps rather than a bunch of small holes for the sausage to squeeze through. The spacer supports the auger, but allows the sausage to freely move out of the head and through the sausage tubes and into your sausage casings.
This machine doesn't come with a spacer. However, it does come with what is called a Kubbe Attachment (Part #13). This is meant to be used for Kubbe as you might have guessed, but unless you plan on making this Middle Eastern pastry like thing, you won't need it. With a little home engineering you can use it as a spacer.
Now, I am not recommening you do the following, because this will probably void your warranty and I don't want to be the one to make that happen. But, if you take an angle grinder or small saw you can cut the "nipple" off of the Kubbe Attachment and voila, you have a spacer. I tried this last night and made about 30 lbs of sausage much quicker than what we did previously with the grinding plates."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

#12 meat grinder

,
January 15, 2011
By rocknj
from north Idaho
"This is my first electric only meat grinder. I have been using hand grinders for years and even used kitchen aid mixer for grinding. Two years ago I purchased this machine and have used it extensively for deer and Elk, here in Idaho making hamburger, and sausage. It has worked flawlessly and clean up is a snap. The only reason I give it a (4) instead of a (5) is I would have liked to seen a heavier base to keep it from slipping. Other than that it works great with a great price now-a-days. Well worth the money! Thanks Northern Industrial for good products at a great price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with the grinder's performance.

,
December 13, 2010
By Butcherjohn
"I purchased this same unit 2 years ago and have been very happy with its performance. On average, I process 4 deer each year and grind all of the trimmings through twice - once through the large hole breaking plate and then a second time through the smaller holed plate. The engine handles the grinding well, especially if the raw meat is in strips versus chunks (the feeder opening is not very large). I expect this grinder to last another 10 years. One note, do not excessively force the meat through the grinding unit and remember to use the larger breaking plate for the first grind. Also, make sure the plate is correctly in place."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tried it out yesterday

,
December 10, 2010
By Jaybogg
from Houston, Tx
"I needed a game processor and purchased this unit after much online education/searching on all brands available. I made a 25 lb run of deer/pork pan sausage last night and was very pleased with the results. Working by myself, this unit is always waiting on me, not the other way around. Based on the reviews I have read about the flash rusting on the blade and grinder plates, I immediately cleaned these parts and placed them in an olive oil bath for storage. Hopefully, this will prevent the flash rusting. I've read comments on some units where people complain about the noise. I considered the noise level to be normal for what I expected, having never used one to have a reference to compare it to. It reminded me of the noise level of the mixer my mom used when I was a kid.
I would recommend this unit while it is still available at this great price. I was told by the store personnel that it is the identical unit that Northern Tools sells under a vendor's name. I was told that Northern was probably clearing out their units and then you will have to buy the vendor's identical model, which currently sells for $20 more."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1 st. place meat grinder

,
December 8, 2010
By Hunky
from S.E. Oklahoma
"I have owned one of these for about 5 years now, No trouble what soever, I have ground about 20 deer and several hogs and never a problem from this grinder !!!! I Highly recommend this to anyone, makes a great Christmas gift."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workhorse

,
November 30, 2010
By love2shop
from Plymouth, MI
"This grinder works wonderfully for grinding up raw meat to make our homemade cat food. Have been using for quite some time and never had an issue with it. Highly recommended if you do a lot of meat grinding."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

For Rookies and seasoned folks alike.....

,
November 27, 2010
By ScottyM
from Virginia Beach, VA
"WOW what a great price on a GREAT product!
First I must say that I am new to hunting and game processing all together. I shopped around and Northern did it again. This grinder worked through deer meat with no problems at all. I tried a manual grinder and it broke while trying to grind.
This machine ground effortlessly and easily as I ran meat through all day long. It is a very stable machine and it's nice to have the ability but put a large bowl under the discharge to catch product. It never jammed, or bogged down as I fed Venison in, it has plenty of nice accessories included, onboard accessory storage, it's easy to operate and clean, and you can put it anywhere unlike a clamp or bolt down manual grinder. Best of all you can get replacement blades on the cheap from Northern Tools. Every manual grinder that I shopped for parts where an issue as well as rust. All the parts on this puppy are aluminum and steel, a light coat of vegetable oil after use will solve that. The only advice I can give is to take ten minutes and read the instructions thoroughly! If you run it without meat in it, you can damage the machine.
The only problem with this machine is the noise. Hey folks put on some music and wait until the wife and kids are out and you're good to go! That, to me, is a fair trade for such a great grinder!
Not only would I recommend this to a friend, I told my Dad, a hunter for over 40 years, and he's on his way to scoop one up for himself!
Save the money on processing, use it on this, and enjoy!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful "work horse" for making pets raw diet

,
November 25, 2010
By regalairbengals7
from southwest, TN
"This meat grinder is exactly what we've been looking for. It was our first time to make homemade raw diet for our bengals, using an electric meat grinder. This "work horse" allowed us to make 200 pounds of raw diet in just three hours from starting from scratch to finishing with bagging. It would have gone even faster if we had been experienced in chopping.
It ground up our whole chickens and leg quarters as fast as we could chop the pieces to fit into the grinder. We also added beef kidneys, stew meat and venison. This grinder zipped right thru all & waited for more. We would recommend this product to anyone wanting to make raw diets for their pets. Next we will use it to make deer sausage in the next week or two. :-)"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Grinder

,
November 24, 2010
By Budndawn
from New Iberia, LA
"This grinder is well worth the money. I was skeptical because of the cheap price but it chews up anything I put in it. It doesn't bog down for skin or frozen meat. This is a great home grinder for processing deer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial #12 Electric Meat Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice

,
November 24, 2010
By elkdeerduck
from Houston, TX
"i was a bit concerned about the amount of meat this would grind PER MINUTE, but, after buying and using it, all concerns left. i have processed 2 elk and many deer and it works wonderfully. 176 lbs per hour is a lot of meat! the only area i might like to see improvement on is the hopper size, slightly larger and more angle so it would somewhat fed itself."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.