Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kitchener French Fry Cutter

Kitchener French Fry Cutter

Item# 168687K
"Save money on fast food fries by making them at home Kitchener French Fry Cutter has two stainless steel grids with 25 or 49 holes for making large or small cut fries. Makes 1/2in. and 3/8in. fries. Suction base provides extra support. Base Suction, Cutting Thickness in. 1/2, 3/8, Dimensions L x W x H in. 9 1/2 x 3 7/8 x 4 7/8. Wire handle grip for easy slicing Includes two slicing blades, choose between 1/2in. and 3/8in. fries Suction base for extra stability"
Average Customer Rating:
3.643 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (42 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
6
35 of 42(83%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Review 1 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nifty Kitchen Toy!

,
January 10, 2015
By RockyT
from North Florida
" Bought a deepfryer and what could be more natural to go with that. Not to mention it was really affordable on sale, so I decided to try it. Honestly, I was pleasantly surprised!! It does do an excellent job of cutting fries.
Won't take a real big potatoe, baseball diameter, 3 1/2 - 4 inches long. If they're bigger than that, simply cut them so they fit. No directions with the unit to explain, but if you aren't peeling your potatoes, cut the end off them so you aren't trying to push through the skin on the end of the potato, it'll start much easier that way!! If peeled, it's not a problem.
Aside from that:
-- Suction lock on the bottom is tough!! Once locked on the counter, you won't move it.
-- Comes with 2 different size slicers, one for shoe strings, one for regular fries.
-- Would also work great for potatoes in soups, run them through the fry slicer and simply cut them to length.
-- Kids love it, wives love it! Bought half a dozen of them, and everyone thought they were a really cool gift! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

inexpensive and it works!

,
January 2, 2015
By jagofjax
from Jacsonville florida
" paid under $20 for the fry cutter and it works great!
suction cup holds it to the counter for ease of use and it's easy to clean. oh by the way my fries were great.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fry cutter

,
December 18, 2014
By gue2121
from AL
" This unit works well and cuts great fries. It can be used to cut other vegs such as onions. Can be a little hard to clean but overall good! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

OTHER USES THAN FRIES

,
February 4, 2014
By FancyIdeas
from Nebraska
" I knew when I bought this product that it wouldn't easily handle large potatoes for fries, and probably wouldn't easily cut very dense vegetables like sweet potatoes - and I was right. HOWEVER - I use this more to 'prep' foods for the dehydrator: green peppers, onions, tomatoes....'softer' foods that can be evenly diced, so they dehydrate at about the same time. I seed the peppers, then put in pieces that fit the cutter and dice! For onions, tomatoes, and similar items, I slice them the approximate size, then 'dice' them. It is a great time saver - and I know that the equally sized pieces will not only dry in the same time, but will also rehydrate more quickly. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

French Fry Maker

,
September 19, 2013
By SHarley
from Cleveland, Oh
" Blades are sharp; product is sturdy; however, it is only good for making french fries if you use small potatoes like red russet. Unfortunately red russet potatoes make very short fries.
Red russet are good for potato salad so you can slice them with this product then use a knife to dice them.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

fry cutter

,
May 7, 2012
By wayne1
from helena
" great for fish frys and parties for friends. can serve people fast "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

The metal cutting blades bent on the first use

,
January 20, 2012
By LWalker
from DFW Metroplex, TX
" We like sweet potato fries so I bought this product as a means to make them. We attempted to use the larger fry attachment and it bent on the first attempt. I would not recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Waste Your Money

,
January 19, 2012
By Reasonnable
from Louisville, KY
" Completely disappointed. Very cheaply made. Very low quality plastics and blades. I distroyed one of the blades trying to cut a fresh potato. Although, it worked better with less fresh. Also it only accomodated small potatoes. There was not enough leverage to push and cut the fries. Kept coming off the counter. Fought and fought and then give up - piece of junk. Back to the knife and board. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hard to please!

,
January 17, 2012
By jodsaf
from worcester, ma
" my dad could not find this item in any stores to our area so i went on line and googled. it led me here and he is so happy with his new slicer. couldnt believe the quality for the price we paid. thanks we ll be back again for sure! jodie worcester,ma "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Get this if you love to make French Fries!

,
January 17, 2012
By junkyvan
from Dallas, TX
" This is a great buy ... plus it works super great! The attachments are super easy to remove, and clean up is a snap! French Fries are a family favorite in my house... so this keeps the hungry kiddos quiet!
:-)
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

fast french fries

,
January 9, 2012
By som122940
from Kingsport, TN
" When using the Kichener French Fry Cutter you place the potato in the cutter and apply pressure to the handle. Smooth easy and not much mess. The vacuum devise is a great way to hold the cutter while using.
The draw back to this cutter is the fact that you have to cut the potato to get it in the cutter or use very small potatoes.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

french fry cutter

,
October 10, 2011
By bettylou2
from San Antonio,Texas
" It works good, the only thing is you have to use small potatoes. Some timesthe potato gets stuck because it is to big and it's hard to get it unstuck. I would recommend to someone that is buying this product to buy the bigger one.Yes it cost a little more but I think it would be worth it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for small potatoes,watch out for sweet or big

,
March 14, 2011
By popcornlover2
" this works great for small regular potatoes. sweet potatoes are too hard, don't try unless you want to pull a muscle. large potatoes won't fit so need to cut down "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

dissapointed in fry cutter

,
March 14, 2011
By MTfrymaker
from Brainerd, MN
" I am disappointed in the quality of the fry cutter. It is of cheep quality. The bed is too short to supply proper leverage to easily push the potato through the knives. The metal that the sides and slides are made of is so thin that it bends under the pressure of the push needed because of the shortness of the bed to get the potatoe through the knives. The suction cup on the bottom doesn't hold. I don't like it. Ibought 3 for Christmas gifts. All recipients are dissapointed. By a bigger better one. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great addition to kitchen

,
November 23, 2010
By df2329
from texas
" This is a great addition to the kitchen to make perfect shaped fries. Not as good as the larger fry cutter but for smaller potatoes is an excellent alternative at lesser cost saves money but get the benefit of perfect sized fries. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
JESSETROT
GEORGIA 
 
Please wait while more information about JESSETROT is loaded.
Additional information about JESSETROT could not be loaded.
owner
February 26, 2011
" hey this is a great french fry cutter, you might have to cut bigger potatoes in half but how much trouble is that? it does a great job "
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Like it, but.....

,
November 16, 2010
By skidad1985
from Boston, MA
" A great kitchen gadget. Makes quick work of home-made fries. However, during my second use the large blade broke and I was unable to fix it. Not sure if spare blades can be purchased. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Cutter

,
November 15, 2010
By Sue1962
from Holton, Kansas
" I ordered this for my husband and it works great :) He loves it ...easy to use and easy to clean .... "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

More like a kids toy

,
May 25, 2010
By AndrewO
from Louisville, KY
" I tried this cutter for the first time this weekend and couldn't even slice thru the 1st potato. It felt like i was going to break the slice due to its very flimsy construction. The opening for the potato is so small most of the ones in the bag wouldn't fit in the slicer. If you do find a potato small enough your fries are going to be about 3" long max. You get what you pay for and i should have told myself that before i ordered wasted my money on this.
The other reviewers giving this thing positive reviews must be incredibly muscular and using miniature potatoes. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not what it looks like

,
May 24, 2010
By cobalt55
from Cape cod Mass
" When I went to use this slicer I found it would not hold a full size potato I had to cut them twice to get theme to fit in the shoot, I also ended up with a broken cutter blade, and I felt that the return shipping was not worth the cost or the price to send back "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kitchener French Fry Cutter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

french fry cutter

,
February 22, 2010
By Anonymous
from wando sc
" i like the product very well,it is a little hard for my girlfriend to use.but i can handle it to make beautiful french fries. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.