Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher

Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher

Item# 16880
SIX TIMES FASTER than ordinary crushers Wall-mounted can crusher holds up to 10 aluminum cans, feeds them automatically into chamber and ejects each after crushing Makes it easy to store and transport cans for profitable recycling. Mount Type Mounts to wall, Material High strength nylon resin, Capacity 10 Cans, Color Black.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
13 of 20(65%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Review 1 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great can crusher!!

,
February 4, 2014
By 23flavors
from Many LA
"Very easy to set up and use. I love the fact that you can put multiple cans in it. I have been using this for over a year and haven't had any issues with it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Can Crusher is junk

,
December 8, 2013
By joelm
from PA
"I used this for a couple months, I got rid of the top feeder basket day one, because you have to hold can in place and line up or can falls out. After a couple months and less than 100 cans crushed the plastic broke that holds the pin between the can holder and crusher handle. This is a waste of money and your time."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mediocre at best

,
October 22, 2013
By dave2311
from Loxahatchee, Fla.
"Overall i think the concept is great, but the materials need improvement. The plastic cage that forms the hopper is fragile, subject to break, and flexes when in use. The user has to guide the cans with one hand, while operating the handle with the other so cans don't get jumbled up. Many times a can will shoot out of the bottom during the crushing process, when it isn't totally crushed. To prevent this from happening, the user must guide the ram square with the can during the crushing process. Also,won't accept tall cans. Make the hopper out of aluminum, or a stiffer plastic, and provide a guide for the ram so it will square up on a can. It has a tendency to catch the cans above it during the crushing process, thus jumbling up the cans in the hopper."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

bends and breaks in all the wrong places places

,
June 12, 2013
By CarpeDiem
from San Antonio TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We bought the Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher at northerntool and I have to admit, for the first time I am very disappointed in an item I bought there
The sides are only snapped together and come apart all the time, so I tried to superglue them somehow, but the type of plastic is not binding with the glue. We constantly had to hold the plastic sides together, even worse , after 3 month of use the plastic part which pushes the cans in now twists in any possible direction , making it almost impossible crushing a can. You have to hold the pushing piece down, try keeping it in place so the can gets crushed.
Like I said it’s the first time, but I am disappointed.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

reviews are skewed

,
December 3, 2012
By charlie7005
from newtown sq, pa
"Bought this after reading reviews. The all plastic body could not stand up to even one mild winter in Pa. Handle broke after maybe 6 months of use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can Crusher

,
October 17, 2012
By Ranlred
from Cunot, In.
"I had reservations due to this item being made of plastic but to my enjoyment, it works very well mounted to a post in my garage! Much better than a sledge hammer!!! I did read the other reviews before I ordered the crusher & decided to not even attach the basket, which I think works just as fast loading one can at a time than loading the basket anyway? If your tired of smashing cans with your feet, hammers or driving over them, this is the one for you!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Recycle It

,
October 27, 2011
By SOS3
from Donalsonville, GA
"If you are tired of throwing away easy money, this might be the perfect product for you. Easy 2 screw installation on any wall or post. I have used mine for about 6 years and it is still going strong. You just cant tear it up. I have bought this product for several friends and family.
The basket is a little flimsy so I took it off mine and use it as a single can crusher. I assure you that it doesn't take any thing away from the usefullness of this can crusher."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelent

,
December 8, 2010
By Hvotruba
from Eastern Colorado
"I bought this product for our Scout recycling program. We have crushe several thousand cans and it has held up well. it is easy for one kid to crush while another feeds cans in to it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good Idea, but...

,
November 24, 2010
By RecycleSally
from St. Cloud, MN
"I really like the idea of being able to stack more than one can, however, the crusher is not made out of quality materials and is very flexible and unstable. This product simply does not stand up to heavy use and I don't believe it is a good value."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
November 24, 2010
By KeithC90
from Memphis, TN
"Works great! load it up and crush away and they fall into a can. Only have to handle the cans once. A Lot easier than 1 at a time. I have 2 of them. Great value"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job

,
November 22, 2010
By PossiblyHappenstance
from Virginia Beach, Va
"I do wish the crusher was made out of quality metal, but it is plastic. The shute that holds the cans is a little flimsy, but can be overlooked.
It saves A LOT of time compared to the single can crusher. Sometimes the cans do get stuck, but for the most part fix on their own. You can crush 16 oz cans as well (one at a time), but no Joose or 4 Loko Cans, as they are too tall. I collect cans from work, my bf, sodas I drink, picking up off the ground, so I make money off this. Obviously you don't make much, but it's money, and I'm recycling as well.
Love it."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Can Crusher

,
July 3, 2010
By RaleighRick
from NC
"Very flimsy and the cans tend to jump around in the hopper.
The part the holds the handle to the base broke after 200 cans. It can' be fixed
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Automatic Feed Can Crusher

,
February 15, 2010
By TboneVA
from Virginia
"This product works as advertised. It is very easy to quickly crush cans. This is much easier than crushing them on the floor as a bucket can be placed under the device to catch the output."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Can Crusher

,
November 30, 2009
By rlmillerjr1
from Salisbury, MD
"Easy to install and 5 times faster than a single can crusher."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent Can Crusher

,
March 16, 2009
By seedplanter
from Sutter Creek, Ca
"Works ok. the holder is kind of cheap. the crusher works good"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can Crusher

,
November 17, 2008
By LouAnn
from Tampa, FL
"Although we are not using the "automatic" part of the can crusher, the unit is wonderful as part of our school recycling project. Each and every student who has attempted to crush cans has been able to and we are so happy with the project, we are planning on purchasing another one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

can crusher

,
August 11, 2008
By pujane11
from St. Joseph, La
"Live in the south and you know we love our cokes. I keep a box under the crusher.
When it is full donate to a charity that sells them. It is easy to use and like that I can put more than one can in it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad for the price

,
April 15, 2008
By ronkar
from NC
"Yes this item is made of rubber. But for the price, its a great little item. It works well enough for what we use it for at home. It smashes the cans fine. Cans can sometimes get stuck, but it clears easily. Now granted there are better made ones, but you pay for it too. If you want something for small jobs, this is the ticket."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Crusher

,
December 13, 2007
By Mcfly
from Missouri
"I have had several different kinds over the years and have been unhappy until i found this one. I have 3 of these and I'm going to buy another one. these crushers work great, aside from the occasional clog and the plastic construction hasn't let me down yet."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Can Ram Automatic Feed Can Crusher
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

U get what U PAY for

,
April 29, 2007
By NiNEty
from OC CA
"I bought this exact product... the " CAN RAM " or what not.. it's a 2 piece system with a very flimsy can holder.. it is mounted by two screws located top and bottom of the main holder of the cans. i was not impressed with the way it handled the cans that where added to the " Magazine " they often fell on their face and would jam up .. you almost have to keep atleast 4 cans in the shute to make adding additional cans load properly
i would not recomend this product to a serious can customer
besides ... its made of plastic
heh"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.