Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Victor Mole Trap Plunger, Model# 0645

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Victor Mole Trap Plunger, Model# 0645

Item# 168907
Place in ground above mole tunnel. Equipped with safety pin to eliminate false firing. Material Type Steel, Removal Of Moles, Indoor/Outdoor Use Outdoor, Assembly Required No, Includes Safety pin.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
5 of 8(62%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Victor Mole Trap Plunger, Model# 0645
Review 1 for Victor Mole Trap Plunger, Model# 0645
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

They work if you know how to use them.

,
November 7, 2012
By AmazonTrish
from Minnesota
" My boyfriend and I have 4 of these set in our backyard. He has been using them since he was a teenager, I am a beginner with these. After watching one youtube video about how to set them I had no real problems. They can be a bit tricky since the trigger mechanism is fairly sensitive but I set the traps and go out to the yard with 2-3 of the 4 tripped a couple times a week. It gives me great satisfaction to pull the trap out and find bloody tines :-)
The only "problem" that I have is the fact that I have to reset them so often because they work so well at killing the little buggers.
We have always used these traps, and we will continue to use these traps for as long as they're successful. They're great... if you know how to set them appropriately.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Victor Mole Trap Plunger, Model# 0645
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ineffective

,
January 9, 2012
By Moleman
from MN
" In several years of trapping, this worked only once for me. The most effective method I found is to insert a poison bait worm in the tunnel. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Victor Mole Trap Plunger, Model# 0645
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

mole trap plunger type

,
October 19, 2009
By crawfish
" I have set this type of trap all over my yard trying to stop mole,it will not trip . I find this type of trap to be a bad product, I would rate it a (0), it"s a waste of money.................................................................... "
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Victor Mole Trap Plunger, Model# 0645
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Victor Mole trap

,
July 20, 2009
By RandyFudge
from Manchester, mo.
" Works great, easy to set. No contact with animal. Just step down a portion of new tunnel and set trap according to directions and leave alone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Victor Mole Trap Plunger, Model# 0645
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk. Keep looking for a better solution.

,
March 23, 2009
By JVander
from Indianapolis, Indiana
" This trap is junk. The spring mechanism is too weak to push the spikes through the dirt AND a mole. The critters set this off about 10 times, it never caught a one. Most times it didn't even push the spikes all the way into the dirt. The spikes are quite short too. I switched to a scissors trap that you set by stepping on it, caught a mole within 24 hours and about four more in the next week. But really, I was fighting the mole problem until I treated the lawn with a grub killer. That took away their food supply and they haven't been back since. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Victor Mole Trap Plunger, Model# 0645
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to set, easy to place, and effective

,
August 12, 2008
By hmwave
from Seattle
" Forget digging to locate mole tunnels, placing a dangerous trap that misused could remove a finger, and carefully filling in the hole. This trap stays on the surface, sets easily in seconds, and is effective at eliminating the mole menace.
I keep three on hand to quickly place traps on new mole mounds increasing the chances of ridding my lawn of these unwanted guests..
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Victor Mole Trap Plunger, Model# 0645
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Trap that mole!

,
January 16, 2008
By AnneinCO
from Monument, CO
" This trap is well made and will probably last my lifetime! It is a great tool for trapping moles here in Colorado! It does take a little practice to master it. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Victor Mole Trap Plunger, Model# 0645
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Victor Mole Trap

,
October 9, 2007
By Beetle
from Greenville, MI
" Sorry to say this mole trap did not perform as well as anticipated, although
the moles were the most rapant we've seen in many, many years, I have
yet to kill one with either of the 2 traps I bought earlier this season.
Even though they were set with the most hair-trigger setting allowed, they
still were unable to put a dent in my mole population! I have used this same
product years ago, and felt my old traps were rusted and would ill-perform.
For a product made in the USA, I had higher hopes that it would do the job,
but I will try lubricating the motion mechanisms on my new traps, and hope
it will solve the problem, even though this was not advised by the manufacturer.
My rating of 3 stars actually is based on past experience with the exact same
manufacturer and trap I used 15 years ago - I hope this company did not cut
corners somewhere along the line to cheapen their product!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.