Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631

Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631

Item# 168908
The Victor Out OSight Mole Trap features malleable iron jaws for superior strength and durability. Ideal for sandy soil. Fully assembled. Material Type Iron, steel, Removal Of Moles, Assembly Required No, Includes Iron jaws, Dimensions L x W x H in. 2 5/16 x 5 1/2 x 8 3/8, Indoor/Outdoor Use Outdoor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (22 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 22(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Review 1 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Trap!

,
June 12, 2013
By tnbison
from Memphis, TN
"Great trap once you figure out the best way to set it. I suggest checking out youtube videos. I bought 4 to place more than one at a time. I could have gotten by with 2 or 3. Very sturdy and will last a long time. I've gotten probably 12 moles in the past year and a half using these traps."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

i got em

,
October 8, 2012
By finished
from Seattle, WA
"Been chasing this mole for two months - even my 'professional' mole catcher wasn't finding him on his weekly visit to check traps. I purchased 4 traps (just like the one the professional used) and spent most of my time searching for tunnels and my moles 'grand central' station, if you will. Found it, and set up the traps - easy, wore gloves to avoid human scent on them, placed them and within 30 minutes one of them (the grand central location) snapped! Caught him. I'm so happy that I now am rid of this pest, and if one of his buddies or family members comes looking for him.....I've got the traps to get them too. They worked perfectly!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Victor Mole Trap

,
August 13, 2012
By Raptor85
from Boone, Ia
"I bought 4 of these to battle mole problems on my new acreage; I had good luck with this style trap growing up on the farm. I've caught seven moles in a month, so they work well. Make sure you get them deep enough or you'll end up catching a tuft or paw instead of the body and they can get out (once out of the seven, the rest were dead on inspection) These are tough to set with heavy spring pressure.
1) Make sure you get the set hooks around the spring and not lower on the trap for maximum leverage
2) set the trap on the safety hook before you put it into the ground, making sure the release lever isn't stuck up in the arms and is free to rotate
3) put it into the ground with the center of the trap on the center of the run. It should be pretty easy to "feel" this is in the right spot; make sure it is deep enough 4) Use one of the spring sets to push the release lever down into the top of the mole run so it has enough travel to catch the release pin.
5) Use the spring sets to set the trap locking the release pin into the release lever
6) Remember to swing the safety latch out of the way
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mole trap

,
May 14, 2012
By jfgoody
from Oak Ridge, NC
"We have had a problem with moles in our yard in NC. I had tries pellets, liquids and several other means of ridding ourselves of these pests.
I read other reviews on the Northern website and decided to order three.
I only needed one. Within 2 weeks of installing the traps we were mole free and several moles were no longer free.
Great product. Easy to put together and very effective.
I would highly recommend them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Victor is a Great Mole Trap

,
January 9, 2012
By Nashvile
from Nashville,TN
"Purchased three of the Victor mole traps. I could not be more satisfied. They do take a little effort to set but when the trap springs, it catches a mole...every time. Very durable construction. Excellent value."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE INDUSTRY STANDARD

,
November 18, 2010
By GeorgiaWildlifeServices
from Hampton, GA
"I am a professional mole trapper and have over the years used all styles. Currently within the industry there are only three different styles of traps seeing major use by professional mole catchers, of these the Victor OOS is by far the industry standard nationwide. This is the trap all successful mole trappers rely upon for ease of setting, dependability and the longest service life of any. This is also the only bi-directional trap of the three able to catch moles coming from either direction, the others require the use of two traps facing in opposite directions to acheive the same result. This trap is so successful that it has spawned imitators, STAY AWAY FROM INFERIOR COPIES especially the plastic ones.
While other designs may have applications in very limited and specific circumstances the OOS is the best trap for 99% of the mole work out there.
If you need to trap moles then you need to BUY THIS TRAP.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best mole trap that exists

,
August 23, 2010
By sbosscher
"In the last 3 years I spent hundreds of dollars on every kind of mole trap out there, with no success. With this trap I caught my first mole and I was elated! I just ordered 3 more and have officially declared war on the moles. Now I can finally get my yard back. This trap is a little difficult to set but once you get the hang of it IT WORKS!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

VICTOR OUT O SIGHT TRAP MODEL # 0631

,
June 3, 2010
By GWIN77
from St. Louis, Mo.
"In my opinion this is the best trap on the market. The instructions that come with it are very clear. I have caught 6 moles in three weeks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro Mole Trapper

,
February 22, 2010
By MoleInOne
from Central Missouri
"I caught moles in my own yard so easily with these traps, that I started a business. I started trapping moles 2 years ago. The 1st year I caught 134 moles. Last year I caught 369 moles. I now have almost 5 dozen Victor Out-O-Sight traps. Once you learn the proper technique, moles don't have a chance. I have searched many sources and have found Northern Tool and Equipment to be my best choice for price AND service."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent

,
October 19, 2009
By SouthJerseyMike
from Clarksboro, NJ
"Excellent Product for Trapping Moles. I would have given it 5 stars if the set-up instructions were a little clearer. Once you understand how to set the trap it's very easy to use and effective."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mole Trap

,
July 14, 2009
By eassterncolorado
from Eastern Colorado (rual)
"We have trouble with these moles in many areas of our grounds.
The trap is not east to spread and lock.
It is also very difficult (though this is not fully a knock on the product) to find the active runway to place the trap.
This may work better for smaller yards We have approx 2 acres of landscaped yard and it would take quite a bit of time in my case to chase down the areas we have issues.
I need to hire Bill Murray to visit Colorado and help out with the issue."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buyers Best Choice

,
July 13, 2009
By HomeGuy
from Hampton, Virginia
"I've had problems with moles for years and I've used other methods and found them very limited and not very useful. On the other hand the Out OSight Mole Trap has been by far my greatest discovery on trapping and ridding my yard of mole's.
Don't waste your money on poison peanuts they're too expensive and not very effective. The spear type traps while effective are hard to set are very inconsistent and temperamental at best. The Out Osight should always be the buyers first choice because once you learn how to set them, they work. My biggest suggestion is to be patient and don't let yourself think that it doesn't work. Just because the trap wasn't tripped overnight doesn't mean that your on the wrong trail. Just remember that one or two moles can tear your yard up and make it look like a war zone. So patience should be your motto, they'll run into the eventually.
Take the advise from other reviewers on how to set the traps. I've found that a medium wide bladed putty knife works just great for digging your holes to set the trap.
I'd wish you good luck with your hunting, but with Out OSight you don't need luck just a little patience."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Mole Trap

,
August 11, 2008
By md66
from Cincinnati, OH
"Within 2 weeks of setting up two of these traps in my backyard, I cought 4 moles. It requires some trial and error to setup trigger sensitivity, but once it is placed properly in mole tunnel, it definitely works!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NoMoMoles

,
June 4, 2008
By mach1mick
from South Jersey
"3 weeks and no more moles! In sod, step on tunnel, make two slots with a square nose shovel or a wide putty knife, same width as jaws, push trap jaws in slots with trigger on crushed tunnel (foot print) push slots closed around jaws! or fill slots with sand, U must keep out any light, then Remove safety devise ! These things don't miss."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Victor Out OSight Mole Trap

,
April 15, 2008
By JohnRoss
from Port St. Lucie, FL
"I live in Southern Florida and have an enormous mole problem. I live near a heavily wooded area and moles tunnel there way throughout my entire lawn. I tried all kinds of mole traps including plunger and chocker styles with very limited success. I am an accomplished trapper of other critters that invade our property such as Raccoons, Rabbits, Possums and Armadillos, which I return to the wilds, but I had real problems trapping moles. I recently purchased a Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631 and I can say NOTHING works better. I have nearly eliminated all the moles from my property in only 3-4 weeks. I highly endorse this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gopher/Mole Trap

,
April 14, 2008
By retired2004
from Juniper Hills, California
"I have tried everything to trap the gophers on our property. These traps get them every time. I bait it with chunky peanut butter and tie a long string to the trap. I bury it in their hole and put a rock or piece of wood over the hole and trap so our dog won't dig it up. Keep the string long enough so you can pull the trap out in a few days. Gets them everytime for me. We don't like to use poison on the property so this is our best way to catch them and then we dispose the carcas to the coyotes/ravens. Everybody is happy!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scissor trap

,
November 18, 2007
By kory1
from Alton, Il
"I started with the harpoon style traps, six of them, with some success. Purchased the scissor traps about four weeks later, with greater success. I recommend the scissor style, after the learning curve is accomplished they become the superior choice, easy. In four months I killed 23 moles on 18,000 sq ft of yard. I rarely use the harpoons now. They must be set correctly and carefully, but if you spend the time, and have the patience the moles become easy targets.
Happy Hunting.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mole trap

,
October 4, 2007
By ranpam
from springfield mo
"i have had alot of problems with moles this year and spent several$ on products that did not work. my brother-in-law had a professional trapper come out to set traps and paid him several $$$ to catch his moles. the professional use these traps so i thought i would give a try. set the trap about 3 days ago and today i cought my mole. i would buy this trap."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The One the Pros Use

,
August 18, 2007
By HomeownerPete
from Twin Cities
"I have had moles for the last couple years in our suburban neighborhood yard. I bought a different style of traps and had no luck. Then I finally decided to call a wildlife service to remove them. They came out and put these traps in several spots in my yard and have caught 2 moles so far. If the pros that get paid based on the number of moles they catch are using these traps they must be the best!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Victor Out OSight Mole Trap, Model# 0631
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Kill in Less Than 24 Hours

,
June 13, 2007
By chadblist
from Metropolis, IL
"I've tried everything on the market to get rid of moles in my yard. In less than 24 hours after installing one of these traps, I had my first kill. That says it all!!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.