Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 850 Surge Watts, 800 Rated Watts, 38cc OHV Engine, CARB-Compliant, Model# 5791"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 850 Surge Watts, 800 Rated Watts, 38cc OHV Engine, CARB-Compliant, Model# 5791"

Item# 169142
"This Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator is a great choice for those times when you need a little extra power to get the job done in a package that is as safe and reliable as the larger models. Start Type Recoil, Engine OHV 4-stroke, Engine Displacement cc 38, Parallel Ready No, Rated Watts 800, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Fuel Capacity gal. 1/2, Receptacles qty. 2, Run Time 5 5/16 hrs. @ 1/4 load, Surge Watts 850, Fuel Type Gasoline, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 x 10 x 15. Two 5-20R 120V circuit breaker-protected receptacles CARB-compliant"
Average Customer Rating:
3.895 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
15 of 19(79%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 850 Surge Watts, 800 Rated Watts, 38cc OHV Engine, CARB-Compliant, Model# 5791"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 850 Surge Watts, 800 Rated Watts, 38cc OHV Engine, CARB-Compliant, Model# 5791"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Product

,
June 11, 2015
By
from Houston, TX
" Purchased Item and was able to run one tank of gas thru it, after initial use it would not generate a power and runs on choke on choke off and just has overload light.
Unable to get replacement Unit or Return. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
By GeneracJune 15, 2015
We are sorry to learn of the issues that you have experienced with your portable inverter generator. Please note that if any issues are experienced with your unit, we would recommend having any required diagnostic or servicing work performed by a local certified electrician. For assistance locating servicing options in your local area, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). We apologize for any inconvenience that your experience may have caused. Generac
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 850 Surge Watts, 800 Rated Watts, 38cc OHV Engine, CARB-Compliant, Model# 5791"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac 800 W inverter portable generator

,
June 10, 2015
By
from Indiana
" I purchased this unit to supply power for a merchant's tent for a county fair.
The unit started on one pull and ran quietly and consistently. The fit and finish of the unit is very good. The oil fill is a bit of a challenge, but a specially shaped funnel is supplied with the included oil.
The unit also includes a small tool kit.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
By GeneracJune 11, 2015
Thank you for providing us with your review of the iX800 portable inverter generator. If you haven't done so already, please be sure to register your unit with Generac Nation by using the documentation provided in the unit's original packaging. If you no longer have access to this documentation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) for further assistance. Generac
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 850 Surge Watts, 800 Rated Watts, 38cc OHV Engine, CARB-Compliant, Model# 5791"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac 850

,
June 3, 2015
By
from NC
" This is the second unit I have purchased. Had to replace the one from 2 years ago because it was stollen. Like the first it starts usually in only one pull.
Great running unit. During crappie season I will run these all night long for a week at a time. Never has failed. My brother even purchase one after seeing mind run with such ease. This unit can be purchase for 1/2 the price of others and runs just as well.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 850 Surge Watts, 800 Rated Watts, 38cc OHV Engine, CARB-Compliant, Model# 5791"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

generac ix850

,
January 16, 2015
By
from saucier,ms
" this is a very good machine, would like to get a larger one in the future for my home. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 850 Surge Watts, 800 Rated Watts, 38cc OHV Engine, CARB-Compliant, Model# 5791"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just works as advertised.

,
November 1, 2014
By
from Houston, TX
" I use this at the race track for cooling fans for the car after runs, charging laptops, circulating fans for the pits, ect. Owned it for about a year. It sits-up for long periods but when it's needed, it starts right up and runs. It is very quiet. Maybe not quite as quiet as a Honda that costs twice as much, but darn near, and a much better value. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 850 Surge Watts, 800 Rated Watts, 38cc OHV Engine, CARB-Compliant, Model# 5791"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy, quiet, reliable

,
January 24, 2014
By
from Portland, OR
" I purchased this 800W Generac inverter for residential use during power outage. As recommended, I attached a grounding wire to an 8' aluminum grounding rod, then routed the power cord to a back-to-back wall box (a house 'passthrough'). The intent was to power the refrigerator during a prolonged outage. Yesterday's windstorm disrupted power for 8 hours, so I had a chance to test this product. It worked, but 800W is a bare minimum necessary to power a refrigerator. When set to 'Eco' mode, the refrigerator compressor cycle would trigger an 'overload' and stop the generator. This happened rarely with 'Eco' mode disabled. A full tank of fuel lasted almost 6 hours. In summary, the 800W Generac accomplished what I intended, but now that I know a bit more about the refrigerator power requirements, I wish I had purchased the 1600W model (#5792). "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 850 Surge Watts, 800 Rated Watts, 38cc OHV Engine, CARB-Compliant, Model# 5791"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worked OK...For awhile

,
September 16, 2013
By
from Maine
" I bought this Generator a couple of years back to be used as a backup to my main Generator. We have no power available, so we employ a Solar array but we need to Supplement the batteries with an AC Charger from time to time. It has been used from time to time in this fashion..I have probably put 10 to 15 tanks of gas through it. This weekend I started it to do a quick battery charge and the unit completely burned up. The power module just fried for no reason with NO LOAD on it. The motor runs OK but the gen portion is now JUNK...not repairable save for an entire module replacement....Sorry...but do not buy this thing. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
12out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 850 Surge Watts, 800 Rated Watts, 38cc OHV Engine, CARB-Compliant, Model# 5791"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light weight

,
June 24, 2010
By
from East Tennessee
" fishingincomfort is dead on about sound and value. couple of things. the gas fill filter makes it about impossible to refuel without spilling. the gas cap/tank pressurizing pump displaces a lot of gas so dont fill to the top. The off switch/fuel shutoff valve is a great idea. Instruction manual is pretty good. Vibration is low. It has a lot of power for the weight. For my needs 800 watts is plenty, but size up if you are going to be running power saws and drills. as always go out looking for other sites for reviews, etc. 5 stars if the sound was a little better. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 850 Surge Watts, 800 Rated Watts, 38cc OHV Engine, CARB-Compliant, Model# 5791"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

IS it quiet?

,
December 16, 2009
By
from Anoka MN
" After recieving this generator i had to test it for sound and here are the results.
It is quiet but not as quiet as a honda or even better a yamaha inverter.
Im in my ice shack I can humm and dround out the noice of this generator exspecialy if im running the Eco mode(Half throttle). I would say that this is perfect for a guy that doesnt want to spend $800+ on a generator for fishing or camping. Honda and yamaha generators are rated @58 dbls this would probably get a rating around 62 dbls. That might not sound like muck but thats about 30 feet distance to get the same sound.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Tattoohank
Long Island, NY 
 
Please wait while more information about Tattoohank is loaded.
Additional information about Tattoohank could not be loaded.
Oil Access
February 10, 2012
" It is very hard to check the oil level or add oil. The plug is way back in a very tight spot that you need either real skinny fingers of a good long needle nosed pair of pliers to reach and screw in or out. "
0points
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)