Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793

FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793

Item# 169144
This Generac iX Series Inverter is a great choice for those times when you need a little extra power to get the job done in a package that is as safe and reliable as the larger models. Engine OHV 4-stroke, Surge Watts 2,200, Rated Watts 2,000, Receptacles qty. 3, Start Type Recoil, Run Time 5.3 hrs. at 1/4 load, Engine Displacement cc 127, Dimensions L x W x H in. 22 x 12 x 18, Fuel Capacity gal. 1, Fuel Type Gasoline, Low Oil Shutdown Yes. Three receptacles two 5-20R and one 12V DC
Average Customer Rating:
4.391 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (64 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
58 of 64(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wouldn't start out of the box

,
September 21, 2014
By gwood
from houston tx
"Wouldn't starry right out of the box Its been at local generic distributor for about three weeks now no word yet"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy little Generator

,
May 6, 2014
By mcnght9
from Jonesboro, AR
"Bought this generator to run a portable light system and so far it has worked well. This generator isn't as quiet as a Honda but is a fraction of the cost so for me it was the best solution. The eco power mode works well as the generator revs according to the load being drawn."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fish house generator

,
February 4, 2014
By J148
from Central Minnesota
"This generator works perfectly for our application, it runs two fish houses at the same time, it handles lights , tv and chargers. It is also fairly quite."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't power what it should

,
July 7, 2013
By fayetteville123
from Fayetteville, NC
"we purchased this a week ago and it doesn't have the power it claims to have.  We have tried run a 5000 BTU AC with 4.8 amps and it won't keep the compressor runinng. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
15out of 31found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

owner

,
June 20, 2013
By Loel
from Spicer, mn
"I have a 3 year old 2000 watt inverter which we have used a total of 12 hours. This spring I started it to test it out and it ran a trouble light for 20 minutes and smoke came rolling out of unit. Took it to a Generac repair shop and it will cost more to repair then to buy a new one. Generac has been no help in getting this resolved.
Buy a Honda!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good unit

,
April 23, 2013
By Chickm1
from Orange, Texas
"This unit is a bit heavier than the Honda 2000 inverter, and it is a bit louder, but it runs a bit longer on the same amount of fuel. Overall, it is ok."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Underpower/Overload issues

,
August 13, 2012
By gffc66
from West Deptford, NJ
"On June 5, 2012 a Generac inverter was ordered. The unit was quickly shipped and delivered on June 8. The unit started and ran with a small load but would trip on overload when anything over 60 watts was powered. Upon calling Generac they indicated even though the unit was only a day old it had to be transported to an authorized repair center.
The unit was taken to the repair center who advised it would be a week or two before they could work on it. After a month I called the repair center who said they found the control board was bad. The board costs over $400.00 which is about 2/3 of the cost of the inverter. They contacted Generac several times and they were waiting for the part or a new unit. It’s now at 8 weeks and still no generator.
This appears to be a common problem as the repair center said they have seen it before and another reviewer had the same issue.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator

,
July 23, 2012
By IHAC
from Helena,Mt
"Used on job sites for a light weight and compact generator. Has never given a single issue!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Understated power, overload glitch.

,
June 4, 2012
By TC597
from TX
"First...the power rating may be technically true because I don't think they could state it otherwise, however in reality this generator pushes very little power. This units is meant for running a fan, a few lights if needed etc. I first realized it would not run by Dewalt air compressor, then I was running one electric circular saw and/or Jigsaw and it could not run them at full speed and they're rated at 1,500. I ended up just using it on remote location to charge my Dewalt batteries and my 18volt Dewalt saws cut like butter.
Second - I had to retrun my first one because after only 4 months and a few uses the generator would stay in "overload" at start up without any connections - run, but no power. I googled this and apparently others have had the same issue. Since I was invested...I merely swapped it out...but I know the capacity of it now, which isn't much, and I suspect this one fail also.
The generater is not quiet as it may look, it's underpowered regardless of the rating, has a known "overload" issue, and it's expensive for the watt rating...BUY another brand or step up the next watt rating - it will be cheaper and you'll be happier. (BTW, I am a Generac fan as I have the 27,000 watt portable to run my entire cabin...but advise against this this model...it's a rip off)."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good after it starts

,
March 22, 2011
By smfelect
from new york
"I use this generator at work from time to time. It works well as long as you can get it started, If you follow the directions and prime it and set the choke after the first time you use it the generator most likely will flood. after the first use it seems if you turn it on and pull the cord it will usually start."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
16out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good generator

,
November 23, 2010
By mtngoat520
from colorado
"I purchased this generator for use while camping. I have a pickup camper and use remote campgorunds. This generator is rated 200 watts more than the honda, is just slightly larger, and a bit heavier but is very manageable and starts very easily. It is just as quiet as the honda and the circuitry seems to be the same, it runs all of our electronics just fine, as well as a toaster oven and coffee maker."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+48points
52out of 56found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Different type of generator

,
June 1, 2010
By FortWorthJeff
from Fort Worth, TX
"This unit operates unlike most other generators on the market. The engine speed does not remain constant like standard generators but increases based on the power demand of the equipment connected. Very different & will take a little getting used to."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
19out of 40found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good purchase

,
May 24, 2010
By toolcrib
from North Central Texas
"Bought this a couple of months ago, still only used once. Choke lever is plastic, but seems to function fine. Arrived with no damage, and started on second pull. A friend had a Honda, lower output that was really quiet. This unit, at double the power, is not much louder. Much quieter than the standard style generator I had borrowed before I puchased my own! It is also easier to move around...it weighs about 50 lbs, but can easily be carried with one hand with the central handle. Standard styles are clumsy at best, or require two people because of the awkward frames (or wheel kits). For my usage, the fuel tank and consumption is fine, around four hours. It's only used as back-up power for a TV, lights, and a refrigerator during storm power outages."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+55points
55out of 55found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.