Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"

"FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"

Item# 169144
"This Generac iX Series Inverter is a great choice for those times when you need a little extra power to get the job done in a package that is as safe and reliable as the larger models. Engine OHV 4-stroke, Surge Watts 2,200, Rated Watts 2,000, Receptacles qty. 3, Start Type Recoil, Run Time 5.3 hrs. at 1/4 load, Engine Displacement cc 127, Dimensions L x W x H in. 22 x 12 x 18, Fuel Capacity gal. 1, Fuel Type Gasoline, Low Oil Shutdown Yes. Three receptacles two 5-20R and one 12V DC"
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (68 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
61 of 68(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

,
December 4, 2014
By FVHandyman
from Fuquay Varina, NC
" I debated about this generator for a long time. It was priced competitively and seemed to be on par with features when compared to other generators in its class. However I kept seeing drastic differences in opinions on its quality and functionality. The last thing I wanted to do was order a generator only to find out it was junk. So I narrowed my choices to this one, or a relative new comer made by Hyundai. Generac has a great reputation when it comes to generators but it also has a slightly higher price point. Hyundai isnt very well known for generators, yet it seemed to have better stats on paper.
My requirements were at least 2000 watts, decent run time, and quite noise levels.
Both the Generac and Hyundai listed at 2000/2200 so that was a draw.
Run time for both were somewhat comparable, however these number differed greatly depending on the source. For example the numbers for the Hyundai according to Amazon were better than Hyundai's website. Then the Generac's numbers according to their website were better than what was posted here. So with both engines having nearly the same displacement I'm going to call this a draw as well. I dont know full run time yet but I will test it out at some point.
Finally, the noise level was another huge factor for me. I wanted something I could take out with my pop up camper without annoying everyone around me. Honda's seem to be the gold standard in this area but they run 1000 for a unit that only produces 1800/2000. The other issue is with how sound is measured. There is no standard test so even if you find a Db rating, its impossible to know if they are going to be comparable to someone elses numbers. This is why Generac will not publish Db levels. Now that I've had the generator running I can say its well within my acceptable level for noise. When its running at full RPM its a bit noisier than I would like, but its still not bad. Then in ECO mode its just a dull background noise.
I did find a youtube video where a guy did some additional sound dampening by adding insulation to key areas of the case. I might try this as well if the noise gets to be an issue, but I doubt it will come to that.
All in all I dont want to discount those that have had issue, but I'm able to say I'm very satisfied with my unit so far. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

GENERAC I X INVERTER GENERATOR

,
November 28, 2014
By burnhambill
from central pa
" I JUST PURCHASED THIS GENERAC IX GENERATOR. I LIKE TO KEEP AN EXTRA SPARK PLUG ON HAND. I HAVE YET I FIND ONE I CALLED THE FACTORY AND THEY TOLD ME THEY DO NOT SELL ANY PARTS DIRECT. I HAVE SO FAR CHECKED WITH SEVEN CO. I FOUND ON THE INTERNET THAT SELL GENERATOR PARTS AND NONE OF THEM HAVE THEM. IF YOU CANT GET A SIMPLE SPARK PLUG I AM JUST THINKING HOW HARD IT WILL BE TO GET OTHER PARTS ALSO CHECKED ALL LOCAL AUTO STORES NO LUCK. SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT THE HONDA. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wouldn't start out of the box

,
September 21, 2014
By gwood
from houston tx
" Wouldn't starry right out of the box Its been at local generic distributor for about three weeks now no word yet "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy little Generator

,
May 6, 2014
By mcnght9
from Jonesboro, AR
" Bought this generator to run a portable light system and so far it has worked well. This generator isn't as quiet as a Honda but is a fraction of the cost so for me it was the best solution. The eco power mode works well as the generator revs according to the load being drawn. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fish house generator

,
February 4, 2014
By J148
from Central Minnesota
" This generator works perfectly for our application, it runs two fish houses at the same time, it handles lights , tv and chargers. It is also fairly quite. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't power what it should

,
July 7, 2013
By fayetteville123
from Fayetteville, NC
" we purchased this a week ago and it doesn't have the power it claims to have.  We have tried run a 5000 BTU AC with 4.8 amps and it won't keep the compressor runinng.  "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
15out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

owner

,
June 20, 2013
By Loel
from Spicer, mn
" I have a 3 year old 2000 watt inverter which we have used a total of 12 hours. This spring I started it to test it out and it ran a trouble light for 20 minutes and smoke came rolling out of unit. Took it to a Generac repair shop and it will cost more to repair then to buy a new one. Generac has been no help in getting this resolved.
Buy a Honda!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good unit

,
April 23, 2013
By Chickm1
from Orange, Texas
" This unit is a bit heavier than the Honda 2000 inverter, and it is a bit louder, but it runs a bit longer on the same amount of fuel. Overall, it is ok. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Underpower/Overload issues

,
August 13, 2012
By gffc66
from West Deptford, NJ
" On June 5, 2012 a Generac inverter was ordered. The unit was quickly shipped and delivered on June 8. The unit started and ran with a small load but would trip on overload when anything over 60 watts was powered. Upon calling Generac they indicated even though the unit was only a day old it had to be transported to an authorized repair center.
The unit was taken to the repair center who advised it would be a week or two before they could work on it. After a month I called the repair center who said they found the control board was bad. The board costs over $400.00 which is about 2/3 of the cost of the inverter. They contacted Generac several times and they were waiting for the part or a new unit. It’s now at 8 weeks and still no generator.
This appears to be a common problem as the repair center said they have seen it before and another reviewer had the same issue.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
18out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator

,
July 23, 2012
By IHAC
from Helena,Mt
" Used on job sites for a light weight and compact generator. Has never given a single issue! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Understated power, overload glitch.

,
June 4, 2012
By TC597
from TX
" First...the power rating may be technically true because I don't think they could state it otherwise, however in reality this generator pushes very little power. This units is meant for running a fan, a few lights if needed etc. I first realized it would not run by Dewalt air compressor, then I was running one electric circular saw and/or Jigsaw and it could not run them at full speed and they're rated at 1,500. I ended up just using it on remote location to charge my Dewalt batteries and my 18volt Dewalt saws cut like butter.
Second - I had to retrun my first one because after only 4 months and a few uses the generator would stay in "overload" at start up without any connections - run, but no power. I googled this and apparently others have had the same issue. Since I was invested...I merely swapped it out...but I know the capacity of it now, which isn't much, and I suspect this one fail also.
The generater is not quiet as it may look, it's underpowered regardless of the rating, has a known "overload" issue, and it's expensive for the watt rating...BUY another brand or step up the next watt rating - it will be cheaper and you'll be happier. (BTW, I am a Generac fan as I have the 27,000 watt portable to run my entire cabin...but advise against this this model...it's a rip off). "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good after it starts

,
March 22, 2011
By smfelect
from new york
" I use this generator at work from time to time. It works well as long as you can get it started, If you follow the directions and prime it and set the choke after the first time you use it the generator most likely will flood. after the first use it seems if you turn it on and pull the cord it will usually start. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
16out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good generator

,
November 23, 2010
By mtngoat520
from colorado
" I purchased this generator for use while camping. I have a pickup camper and use remote campgorunds. This generator is rated 200 watts more than the honda, is just slightly larger, and a bit heavier but is very manageable and starts very easily. It is just as quiet as the honda and the circuitry seems to be the same, it runs all of our electronics just fine, as well as a toaster oven and coffee maker. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+48points
52out of 56found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Different type of generator

,
June 1, 2010
By FortWorthJeff
from Fort Worth, TX
" This unit operates unlike most other generators on the market. The engine speed does not remain constant like standard generators but increases based on the power demand of the equipment connected. Very different & will take a little getting used to. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
19out of 40found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Inverter - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good purchase

,
May 24, 2010
By toolcrib
from North Central Texas
" Bought this a couple of months ago, still only used once. Choke lever is plastic, but seems to function fine. Arrived with no damage, and started on second pull. A friend had a Honda, lower output that was really quiet. This unit, at double the power, is not much louder. Much quieter than the standard style generator I had borrowed before I puchased my own! It is also easier to move around...it weighs about 50 lbs, but can easily be carried with one hand with the central handle. Standard styles are clumsy at best, or require two people because of the awkward frames (or wheel kits). For my usage, the fuel tank and consumption is fine, around four hours. It's only used as back-up power for a TV, lights, and a refrigerator during storm power outages. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+55points
55out of 55found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.