Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"

"FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"

Item# 169144
"This Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator is a great choice for those times when you need a little extra power to get the job done in a package that is as safe and reliable as the larger models. Rated Watts 2,000, Start Type Recoil, Dimensions L x W x H in. 22 x 12 x 18, Engine Displacement cc 127, Fuel Capacity gal. 82, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Engine OHV 4-stroke, Receptacles qty. 3, Run Time 4.7 hrs. @ 1/4 load, Surge Watts 2,200, Fuel Type Gasoline. Three receptacles two 5-20R and one 12V DC"
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (93 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
7
82 of 93(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

,
July 30, 2015
By
from Orlando Florida
" I bought 2 of these generators, mainly because they were cheaper than the Honda's, and Generac normally are decent units, however these are JUNK. The first one ran for about 3 hrs and quit, since I bought them on line I took it to the local authorized service center, they said it would take 4 weeks to get the parts to fix it, at a week old the second one quit, not even bothering taking it to the repair shop, they are both going back to Northern and I will get Honda's. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
By GeneracAugust 6, 2015
We are sorry to learn of the issues that you have experienced with your portable inverter generator. While experiencing these issues would certainly be frustrating, please know that we would, in fact, recommend working with a certified service provider if any issues are ever experienced with your personal unit. For further information on your warranty coverage, or to discuss your personal experience with us in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). We do apologize for any inconvenience that this unfortunate scenario may have caused. Generac
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac Portable

,
July 15, 2015
By
from Newton, NJ
" Used the generator this past weekend while camping. Great product. Very quiet for a 2000 watt generator, compared to the contractor style ones. I also liked how light it is. Powered the 6,000 btu ac in my trailer with no trouble. Very pleased with it, and would recomend it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
By GeneracJuly 16, 2015
Thank you for providing us with your review of the iX2000 portable inverter. We are pleased that you found the unit to be helpful during your camping endeavors! If you haven't done so already, please also be sure to use the information provided in the unit's original packaging to register the unit and initiate the product's warranty. If you no longer have access to this documentation, please contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) for further assistance. Again, we thank you for your positive feedback. Generac
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bad to the Bone for its size

,
July 2, 2015
By
from Tyler, TX
" Purchased for using as power supply for product demo's of Misting Fans from Demo Trailer. Was suprised how lightweight, easy to start unit was. Had looked at much more expensive unit from Honda but didn't feel the need to spend the extra $$$$ for the Name. Great unit for the price. Because Fuel issues are #1 cause of engine failure, I use premium fuel and fuel stablizer to prevent any "Headaches" down the road and I strongly suggest you do same on any Power Equipment. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac ix series

,
May 25, 2015
By
from NY
" This generator provides all the power I have needed, it will run portable heaters or air conditioners as well as any power tools in my work area I have required for home use. It runs relatively quietly but I have no first hand experience with other brands so can not make a comparison. I will use this in the future when camping or in other environments where power is not readily accessible. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac gen.

,
May 21, 2015
By
from Riverton, Wy
" This product is just as good as a Honda for about hafh the price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

ix2000 generator

,
April 17, 2015
By
from Akron Ohio
" Bought 2 generators a 12500 what that I fantastic I lone it and a ix2000 generator. I have run 6 tanks of gas thru it did everything I wanted it to do but this year it did not start. Service told me the inverter was broken and the new part was $540.00 to fix more than the cost of a new one plus my warranty was expired a lot of money for such a small amount of use. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
By GeneracApril 20, 2015
We are sorry to learn of the issues that you have experienced with your portable inverter generator. While such an occurrence would not be considered a commonality, we would like to encourage you to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) if you would like to discuss your personal case with us directly. Generac
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Little Unit

,
December 19, 2014
By
from Rhinebeck, NY
" Bought for charging the battery on my Camper. Works like a charm. Solid built and it ran on battery charge mode all night.
Yes you do have to prime it 5-6 times. Don't prime 5 times and it won't start IE: follow the directions...
Only drawback is the alligator clip plug for 12VDC. Leads are too short. Would have given 5 stars otherwise.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

,
December 4, 2014
By
from Fuquay Varina, NC
" I debated about this generator for a long time. It was priced competitively and seemed to be on par with features when compared to other generators in its class. However I kept seeing drastic differences in opinions on its quality and functionality. The last thing I wanted to do was order a generator only to find out it was junk. So I narrowed my choices to this one, or a relative new comer made by Hyundai. Generac has a great reputation when it comes to generators but it also has a slightly higher price point. Hyundai isnt very well known for generators, yet it seemed to have better stats on paper.
My requirements were at least 2000 watts, decent run time, and quite noise levels.
Both the Generac and Hyundai listed at 2000/2200 so that was a draw.
Run time for both were somewhat comparable, however these number differed greatly depending on the source. For example the numbers for the Hyundai according to Amazon were better than Hyundai's website. Then the Generac's numbers according to their website were better than what was posted here. So with both engines having nearly the same displacement I'm going to call this a draw as well. I dont know full run time yet but I will test it out at some point.
Finally, the noise level was another huge factor for me. I wanted something I could take out with my pop up camper without annoying everyone around me. Honda's seem to be the gold standard in this area but they run 1000 for a unit that only produces 1800/2000. The other issue is with how sound is measured. There is no standard test so even if you find a Db rating, its impossible to know if they are going to be comparable to someone elses numbers. This is why Generac will not publish Db levels. Now that I've had the generator running I can say its well within my acceptable level for noise. When its running at full RPM its a bit noisier than I would like, but its still not bad. Then in ECO mode its just a dull background noise.
I did find a youtube video where a guy did some additional sound dampening by adding insulation to key areas of the case. I might try this as well if the noise gets to be an issue, but I doubt it will come to that.
All in all I dont want to discount those that have had issue, but I'm able to say I'm very satisfied with my unit so far. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

GENERAC I X INVERTER GENERATOR

,
November 28, 2014
By
from central pa
" I JUST PURCHASED THIS GENERAC IX GENERATOR. I LIKE TO KEEP AN EXTRA SPARK PLUG ON HAND. I HAVE YET I FIND ONE I CALLED THE FACTORY AND THEY TOLD ME THEY DO NOT SELL ANY PARTS DIRECT. I HAVE SO FAR CHECKED WITH SEVEN CO. I FOUND ON THE INTERNET THAT SELL GENERATOR PARTS AND NONE OF THEM HAVE THEM. IF YOU CANT GET A SIMPLE SPARK PLUG I AM JUST THINKING HOW HARD IT WILL BE TO GET OTHER PARTS ALSO CHECKED ALL LOCAL AUTO STORES NO LUCK. SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT THE HONDA. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
By GeneracMay 15, 2015
We are sorry to learn of the issues that you have experienced in your attempts to locate a spark plug for your unit. So that we can help identify a location from which you can purchase replacement parts from, please contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). Generac
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wouldn't start out of the box

,
September 21, 2014
By
from houston tx
" Wouldn't starry right out of the box Its been at local generic distributor for about three weeks now no word yet "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy little Generator

,
May 6, 2014
By
from Jonesboro, AR
" Bought this generator to run a portable light system and so far it has worked well. This generator isn't as quiet as a Honda but is a fraction of the cost so for me it was the best solution. The eco power mode works well as the generator revs according to the load being drawn. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fish house generator

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Central Minnesota
" This generator works perfectly for our application, it runs two fish houses at the same time, it handles lights , tv and chargers. It is also fairly quite. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't power what it should

,
July 7, 2013
By
from Fayetteville, NC
" we purchased this a week ago and it doesn't have the power it claims to have.  We have tried run a 5000 BTU AC with 4.8 amps and it won't keep the compressor runinng.  "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
17out of 36found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

owner

,
June 20, 2013
By
from Spicer, mn
" I have a 3 year old 2000 watt inverter which we have used a total of 12 hours. This spring I started it to test it out and it ran a trouble light for 20 minutes and smoke came rolling out of unit. Took it to a Generac repair shop and it will cost more to repair then to buy a new one. Generac has been no help in getting this resolved.
Buy a Honda!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good unit

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Orange, Texas
" This unit is a bit heavier than the Honda 2000 inverter, and it is a bit louder, but it runs a bit longer on the same amount of fuel. Overall, it is ok. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Underpower/Overload issues

,
August 13, 2012
By
from West Deptford, NJ
" On June 5, 2012 a Generac inverter was ordered. The unit was quickly shipped and delivered on June 8. The unit started and ran with a small load but would trip on overload when anything over 60 watts was powered. Upon calling Generac they indicated even though the unit was only a day old it had to be transported to an authorized repair center.
The unit was taken to the repair center who advised it would be a week or two before they could work on it. After a month I called the repair center who said they found the control board was bad. The board costs over $400.00 which is about 2/3 of the cost of the inverter. They contacted Generac several times and they were waiting for the part or a new unit. It’s now at 8 weeks and still no generator.
This appears to be a common problem as the repair center said they have seen it before and another reviewer had the same issue.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
19out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator

,
July 23, 2012
By
from Helena,Mt
" Used on job sites for a light weight and compact generator. Has never given a single issue! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Understated power, overload glitch.

,
June 4, 2012
By
from TX
" First...the power rating may be technically true because I don't think they could state it otherwise, however in reality this generator pushes very little power. This units is meant for running a fan, a few lights if needed etc. I first realized it would not run by Dewalt air compressor, then I was running one electric circular saw and/or Jigsaw and it could not run them at full speed and they're rated at 1,500. I ended up just using it on remote location to charge my Dewalt batteries and my 18volt Dewalt saws cut like butter.
Second - I had to retrun my first one because after only 4 months and a few uses the generator would stay in "overload" at start up without any connections - run, but no power. I googled this and apparently others have had the same issue. Since I was invested...I merely swapped it out...but I know the capacity of it now, which isn't much, and I suspect this one fail also.
The generater is not quiet as it may look, it's underpowered regardless of the rating, has a known "overload" issue, and it's expensive for the watt rating...BUY another brand or step up the next watt rating - it will be cheaper and you'll be happier. (BTW, I am a Generac fan as I have the 27,000 watt portable to run my entire cabin...but advise against this this model...it's a rip off). "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good after it starts

,
March 22, 2011
By
from new york
" I use this generator at work from time to time. It works well as long as you can get it started, If you follow the directions and prime it and set the choke after the first time you use it the generator most likely will flood. after the first use it seems if you turn it on and pull the cord it will usually start. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
17out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Generac iX Series Portable Inverter Generator - 2200 Surge Watts, 2000 Rated Watts, 127cc OHV Engine, Model# 5793"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good generator

,
November 23, 2010
By
from colorado
" I purchased this generator for use while camping. I have a pickup camper and use remote campgorunds. This generator is rated 200 watts more than the honda, is just slightly larger, and a bit heavier but is very manageable and starts very easily. It is just as quiet as the honda and the circuitry seems to be the same, it runs all of our electronics just fine, as well as a toaster oven and coffee maker. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+49points
53out of 57found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.