Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Telescopic Pole for Purple Martin House

Telescopic Pole for Purple Martin House

Item# 169350
Triangular-shaped, aircraft aluminum pole for Item #16935 Purple Martin house. Snaps together easily and extends up to 15ft. 2in. Application Bird accessory, Assembly Required Yes, Material Aircraft aluminum, Length ft. 15, Compatible With Northern item# 16935.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Telescopic Pole for Purple Martin House
Review 1 for Telescopic Pole for Purple Martin House
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Telesopic Pole

,
June 7, 2011
By Bob1936
from Manteno, Illinois
"Needed a pole to mount on my deck to mount an array for a weather station. Old system used antenna tubes and I didn't think they would be strong enough for this weather station array.
Also wanted a pole that could be lowered without removing the mounting hardware. This pole really works well for my system, would recommend this pole to anyone, would be a great flagpole."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
9out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Telescopic Pole for Purple Martin House
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

not just for bird houses

,
March 14, 2011
By dmouse
from Missouri
"I purchased this item to get my new weather station up in the air. I decided that using ALL sections would let it wobble a little too much at the top, so I removed the last (top) section and then mounted the instrument. In this configuration is is acceptably solid and does what I need it to, plus it allows me to lower the unit to change batteries and make adjustments. A good item for a reasonable price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Telescopic Pole for Purple Martin House
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Martin House Pole!

,
August 20, 2008
By JCinTrafalgar
from Trafalgar, Indiana
"We have two of these poles in our backyard. One is equipted with six big bio gourds and another pole with a 14 room PVC martin house.
Overall we love the poles for a few reasons:
- Poles do not rust
- Triangle shape adds strength over round pole
- In the winter, the poles are easy to store (three piece model)
- Martins are paticular on moving house position (direction of door). Triangle pole addresses that problem.
A word of advice. If there is a wind storm coming your way, lower the center section at the very least! We did not lower one pole during a 40+ mph wind storm and the center section was damaged beyond repair. We have seen the poles take 20-30mph winds without damage. Would not advice anything over 20mph. Well, that is our experience. :-)
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Telescopic Pole for Purple Martin House
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Pole

,
August 12, 2008
By Rick53
from S.E. Wisconsin
"Used this pole to suspend a purple martin house. I like the pole a lot better than the house. Fairly heavy aluminum and went up easily. Somewhat pricey, but what isn't?"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Telescopic Pole for Purple Martin House
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Telescopic Pole for Purple Martin House

,
August 11, 2008
By JeffInSyracuse
from Syracuse, NY
"The pole was of very nice quality and went together easily. Bird house fit it perfectly. I would highly recommend the optional sleeve that you cement in the ground first, then slide the pole into. I wish I had gotten that as well, and I might still if i relocate the bird house. As I stated in the review for the purple martin house, a second person would have made this a lot easier."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Telescopic Pole for Purple Martin House
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Telescoping pole

,
April 21, 2008
By Collegemom3x
from NE Arkansas
"Works very well with the Martin house. Very sturdy and holds up to wind and weather well. I do find it difficult to release the plastic pins to raise and lower the pole, but once I finally get clip depressed, pole is easy to adjust. Much better overall than any other pole I have used."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Telescopic Pole for Purple Martin House
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Martin house Pole Review

,
April 14, 2008
By sgtstew
from LOWER ALABAMA
"This telescoping pole for a companion martin house is a neat way to put the house about fifteen feet up in the air. Each of the five sections fit snuggly into its' adjacent triangular extruded aluminum tube. The main weakness, however minimal, are the molded plastic spring pins that lock the tube sections in place when it is either collapsed all together, or extended to its' full height. The plastic stubs that extend through and lock the tube walls together are not strong enough to withstand the shock of the center tube sliding down into retract, when the house is affixed to the top end of the center tube. Fortunately, there was a spare spring pin included with the order, and I did not have to try to obtain replacements before I could erect the martin house. Otherwise, it's a great device, well designed to withstand the rigors of severe thunder and wind storms that are prevalent in this area."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Telescopic Pole for Purple Martin House
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

finally a good telescoping pole

,
January 21, 2008
By yardhacker
from Monticello, Florida
"I always bought the old style round poles in the past and have had nothing but trouble with them because they start rusting the first year then are impossible to make telescope so you can take the house down to clean it. This new style triangular pole works much better and I think I will get many years of good service out of it. The price is very competitive with what you would have to pay for a lesser quality pole elsewhere."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Telescopic Pole for Purple Martin House
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

out of season

,
October 8, 2007
By 2242003
from LAFAYETTE, LOUISIANA
"I order the telescopic pole in the middle of the season, for the purple martin. The pole will not be installed until the spring of 08."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Telescopic Pole for Purple Martin House
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Telescopic Pole

,
October 8, 2007
By Bilbo
from Oklahoma
"My old Martin house has a three section, tube steel, telescopic pole. After several seasons corrosion has set in and the clearances are so tight that it is very, very difficult to get this pole to telescope. This new pole is aluminum and I do not think that corrosion will ever be a problem with it. It snapped into my new Martin house with no problem and went up without a hitch. It seems very sturdy and has survived some pretty high winds as I am in Oklahoma and you know how "the winds come racing down the plains"."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
REL11
Southern Ohio, on the River 
 
Please wait while more information about REL11 is loaded.
Additional information about REL11 could not be loaded.
Telescopic Pole
January 2, 2012
"I have this pole with a Double set of Purple Martin (24 condos) houses mounted on top . It works well with both houses on top . Only problem is the Chimney Swifts move in first and won't let the Purple Martins around it . That's just fine with me . Guess I will have to get another for the Martins."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Telescopic Pole for Purple Martin House
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Telescopic Pole- Four Sections #169351

,
July 9, 2007
By MikeND
from Jamestown, North Dakota
"Very well done. Accurate fit of all sections. Excellent coating. Easy to follow directions.
I would recommend that any purchaser also buy the in ground accessory base which allows the pole to be removed. The directions state to concrete the base accessory level with the ground for mowing but I recommend leaving it above ground at least 4 inches to prevent the base from filling with clippings and other trash. The company could make the fit tighter but I find no major fault with the somewhat sloppy fit. between the base and the lower pole section.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Telescopic Pole for Purple Martin House
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

,
July 9, 2007
By gorilla
from Sumas WA
"This item works very well with the martin bird house....It is easy to assemble and very strong..Highly recommended."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Telescopic Pole for Purple Martin House
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Sturdy

,
July 9, 2007
By naturelover
from McHenry County Illinois
"I thought this pole might not stand up to winds very well but so far it has been great. We have had several high wind storms and the pole has come through very well. It is easy to raise and lower for cleaning out the martin house or to just check on what is going on. Would buy again."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Telescopic Pole for Purple Martin House
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

martin houses in the air

,
March 7, 2007
By rengarp
from North Carolina
"Easy to assemble, easy to install. Oops! lost a v-clip mfg. responded immediately sent another. Appear to hold up even in the wind................"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.