Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Purple Martin House - 12 Room

Purple Martin House - 12 Room

Item# 169351
"Constructed of polypropylene for long lasting use. Easy assembly. Mounts on a Tri-tele pole Item number 169350. U.S.A. Material Polypropylene, Mounting Type Pole mount, Application Bird housing, Assembly Required Yes, Capacity 12 rooms, Compatible With Northern item# 169350. Holds 12 family capacity"
Average Customer Rating:
4.261 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (23 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
20 of 23(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Review 1 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great birdhouse that brings in birds, bit pricey

,
June 3, 2010
By tubergonz
from Denton, Tx
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I've had mine up for three years now. Purple martins have colonized it every year. I have mine on a electrical conduit pipe and it seems to work just fine. Mounting it to the ground or a fence is a concern though. The pipe needs reinforcing. I had mine break the first time I installed it. The birds were OK so I redid all the snap together connectors, fixed the pole stronger and they came right back to it. It is a bit hard to swallow the fact that they're asking for $50 for something that is all plastic."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Martin birdhouse

,
July 13, 2009
By macktractor
from Indiana
"The birdhouse assembled well, but I was not pleased with its durability. It has a guarantee but excludes weather related damage- well that is what damage I am worried about. I bought it to mount on a 1 inch pipe, but saw in the instructions that if I purchased a factory center post, the house would be more durable, so I did purchase this separately. It cost half of what the house cost but I would recommend buying it as it does make the house more rigid. I mounted the house 15 feet in the air and it is still up without any wind damage so far. I believe I already have some purple martin residents living in it-did not take them long to find it. I like this house but expect to someday see a strong wind tear it apart."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Better off with gourds

,
August 20, 2008
By JCinTrafalgar
from Trafalgar, Indiana
"We purchased a house that looks exactly like the one above, with one modification; our house has 14 rooms. The extra 2 rooms are in the roof. I am rating as a 3 (middle of the road) given I am sure this would be a great product for some, just not us. The product is "average", not spectacular.
Things we like:
- Very pretty
- Kids enjoy watching the birds on the rails
- Fun to assemble
Things we do not like:
- Difficult to check on nest activity (possibly the biggest complaint we have)
- House sparrows seem to enjoy the house more than Martins
- Walls between "rooms" move around alot
- Hard to attract Martins to house with 6x6 rooms. Had better luck changing to 6x12. Next time will block one side of the 6x12 room too (6x12 has a double entrance).
We found that gourds are easier to use and maintain over the house. We really love the house idea, looks good, just was not pratical for us from a maintenance perspective."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Purple Martin House

,
August 12, 2008
By Rick53
from S.E. Wisconsin
"This house looked better on paper than on the pole. It seems a bit flimsy (corrugated plastic), and wasn't that easy to assemble. It is supposed to lock into the pole, but mine seems to be pivoting around. I should probably take it back down and check it out, but don't want to disturb the birds, none of which are purple martins, sadly. Overall, I think I could have done better, although it has survived the summer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

purple martin house

,
August 11, 2008
By teeder9
from Spruce Grove, Alta, Canada
"This purple martin house is well made, very easy to assemble. Easy to follow instructions.The purple martin house adds beautiful decor to the yard and is very eye catching. I have had the house up for almost 3 months, the martins have visited. Nice product. Recommended to anyone looking for a great purple martin bird house."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purple Martin House

,
August 11, 2008
By JeffInSyracuse
from Syracuse, NY
"Assembly was pretty straight forward and reasonably quick. Price was reasonable, and quality was better than expected. A second set of hands would have been a big help with putting it up. I put it up a little late in the season, but have seen some interest in it. We've had a few heavy duty storms this summer and the house still looks brand new, no less for wear and tear. Hopefully next spring we can remove the vacancy sign. I would recommend the telescopic pole which I will cover in another review. Further, they sell a sleeve that get cemented into the ground first, then the pole drops into it, I wish I had bought that as well, would have been easier and would have looked nicer."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

martin house design

,
April 14, 2008
By birdman88
from fountain inn , sc
"this bird house was very easier to snap together! and pole i ordered also fit very pleased with this product! i already have a squirrel away bird feeder from northern tool and have been using it for 8 years! so this is the reason i ordered the martin house. i would recommend this bird house to my friends and neighbors!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purple Martin Bird House

,
April 14, 2008
By betsyone
from Baton Rouge, LA
"The house was relatively easy to assemble following the directions. I left twelve openings for the birds. I had a hard time putting the house up by myself at the edge of the pond, since I have to do everything by myself and the fully assembled house was too heavy and cumbersome for me to lift into the top telescoping section of the pole. However, the gas meter reader person happened by as I was pondering my dilemma and he made short work of putting it up. Within days the purple Martins were inspecting it and I felt sure they would return to make their home. However, the sparrows were also inspecting it and decided they also liked it. When the Martins did return, the small sparrows chased them away everytime they tried to land. After numerous days of attempts, they finally gave up and let the sparrows have it. They little sparrows were greedy and took the homes facing the Eastern side, but still wouldn't let the Martins have the Western side. I now have several families of small sparrows."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purple Martin Bird House

,
April 14, 2008
By JR1004
from Brooksville, Florida
"Delivered quickly and complete with no damage. House was easy and quickly assembled with the instructions that are furnished and once done is a very sturdy structure. This last one was my third, I already had the aluminum pole which is best to order with the house. 1st House is six years old, 2nd is four and between them have with stood four category III hurricanes and several tropical storms and are still in use, no reason to not expect the same from the third. The older houses have maintained an acceptable outside appearance and are the sixteen apartment variety while the third is the twelve apartment style. All three are now at full capacity at this time but this year the Brown-Headed Cow Birds got here first, the Purple Martins just showed last week. Since then it has been a good show as to who is going to leave or stay."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purple martin house

,
April 14, 2008
By Murray1
from Eastpointe MI
"Not very mechanically inclined here but this house was so easy to assemble and install. I had it all finished in about 45 minutes. Trust me its very easy and a great product for the price as well. Highly recommend this to any nature lover"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purple martin House - 12 Room

,
February 1, 2008
By JOJO295
from North Carolina - Relocated from NY
"Bought 4 of these for my new home in North Carolina. My first home and first bird houses. Simple and easy to build. Works best with the "Telescoping pole hovever if you are handy you can make your own pole"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

lure some birds to your house

,
January 21, 2008
By yardhacker
from Monticello, Florida
"I had one of the old style tin bird houses until the wind did it in last year. I ordered this house this year and it is a real improvement over the old style and I hope to lure a bigger flock of birds this year to the improved house. It was not hard to assemble and looks good."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

not in season

,
October 8, 2007
By 2242003
from LAFAYETTE, LOUISIANA
"I order the purple martin house in the middle of the season. I did not put the house up, I'll wait until the spring when they come back into the area."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Martin House

,
October 8, 2007
By Bilbo
from Oklahoma
"My old Martin house is one of the octagonal aluminum ones that I've had up for several years and I get martins to nest in it but not with great gusto. This new house comes in kit form and went together with no problem at all. When I was getting ready to raise the house on it's telescopic pole I noticed that a pair of nesting martins in the old house, about 75 feet away, were intently watching what I was doing. As soon as the house was raised and I had walked away, the nesting martins started chattering and soon the area was alive with about a dozen other martins. They would land on the new house, look it all over, fly away and then soon return chattering all the time. These birds, I suspect, were from the previous hatch of my nesting adults. They stayed around for about half an hour and then flew off to do their martin thing but would return again, a few at a time, for another day or so. I'm sure that they will remember where that new house that they liked is and will return next year. If they nest well in it next year, that old octagonal house will be a gonner and be replaced by another of these new houses. Another thing, this house was several dollars less at Northern than the same house at other suppliers and about half the cost of one of the octagonal houses."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Purple Martin House

,
October 8, 2007
By willowtony
from North Dakota
"Very good product. Order was received in a short period of time after I ordered. Product was easy to put together. Looks good for the amount paid."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Purple Martin Houses

,
July 12, 2007
By Luree
from La Cygne, KS
"we purchased two of these for our new property and in one week we already have a couple nesting in one of them. They are a great deal and better than we expected for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to put together

,
July 10, 2007
By Lori
from Michigan
"The house was very easy to put together, the instructions were very easy to follow and understand."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purple Martin House-12 Room

,
July 9, 2007
By MikeND
from Jamestown, North Dakota
"Wow!!!! Whoever designed this Martin House really had their act together. Easy to follow directions, accurate cutting of all parts, excellent design and finish. I am not easially impressed but this product is an exception. I look forward to many years of usage. Accurate fit to the triangular pole that I ordered with the house. The additional information about Purple Martins was a nice surprise.
Would i purchace another??? You bet!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Martin bird house

,
July 9, 2007
By gorilla
from Sumas WA
"I was really surprised at how easy it was to assemble this bird house...The pieces just snap into place and it is very strong...And what a deal...My neighbors are envious of it and I told them where to purchase it...You cannot go wrong with this item."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Purple Martin House - 12 Room
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Naturelover

,
July 9, 2007
By naturelover
from McHenry County Illinois
"I hesitated on this house because it was so light weight but it is very well engineered and has stood up to high winds with no problems. It is very easy to clean and check. I would buy another of this house once this one is fully occupied."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.